More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.41

Awesome58.12%
Worth A Look: 33.33%
Average: 2.56%
Pretty Bad: 3.42%
Total Crap: 2.56%

5 reviews, 87 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

Art of Self-Defense, The by Jay Seaver

Crawl by Peter Sobczynski

Swallow by Jay Seaver

Perfection, The by Rob Gonsalves

Luce by Jay Seaver

Last Black Man in San Francisco, The by Jay Seaver

Farewell, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Warriors, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Can't say anything good about this, yet it rules!"
4 stars

Ya gotta laugh at this hokey flick. A lot. Those 70's folks were so goofy. "Oh, look out, that gang dresses as mimes! Oh no! HEre come the baseball players! Egads! The Frenchmen are coming!!!"

In case you've never actually seen this film, it's about all the gangs in the city coming together for a peace agreement, when suddenly their leader is shot by an unknown assassin. When the shooter blames a band of lads known as The Warriors, our heroes have to fight their way across town so that they can get home.

But in order to differentiate the gangs, the makers of this film have stretched reality to an absurd extent. Okay, guys wearing purple jackets is reasonable - some gangs wear colours. But when was the last time you saw a gang dress up in full baseball gear, paint their faces multicolours and run down a street (in cleats) swinging baseball bats? When was the last time you saw your local homeys in full mime regalia, acting tough? A karate gang? A gang of guys wearing purple berets? It's like a wrestling tournament, everyone has to have a gimmick to get on screen.

The acting is laughable. Totally and completely awful. The scripting is your average 70's scripting - utter tosh. The plot is as one note as it gets.

But this movie is freakin' entertaining. So many weird things, so many stupid things, ya won't look away. Much.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1003&reviewer=1
originally posted: 03/31/99 01:17:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/15/18 LEON INSTANT CLASSIC 5 stars
11/04/17 Outspeaker reminds me of the Chicago I grew up in, back in the 1940s. 5 stars
10/04/17 Maurizio I dug it ! 4 stars
4/24/17 David H. A little trite, but still a great time capsule of late '70s New York. 4 stars
6/16/13 RS Eerie view of a frightening NYC scene-over the top, but engaging. 4 stars
9/11/11 Rob Great action, great soundtrack, even if it is silly. 4 stars
11/08/10 Luke One of the best HORROR movies of all time... 5 stars
5/04/10 PAUL SHORTT SLICK IF VIOLENT ACTION-ADVENTURE WITH TOUGH ACTION SEQUENCES 3 stars
6/27/09 okgatsby A cult classic pulp joyride. If this doesn't rock you bopper then take off your colors. 5 stars
3/17/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess ACTION-PACKED!!!! 4 stars
7/26/08 Ace I don't know...I just like doing things like that 5 stars
6/13/08 DM It's silly but entertaining - and James Remar looks hot. 4 stars
4/19/08 Karrie Millheim I LOVE THIS MOVIE, old school gangs and a great story 5 stars
3/09/08 Bubba O'Reilly I like it, but... FOR GOSH SAKES, SOMEBODY HAIL A CAB!!! 4 stars
1/27/08 Jeffrey Gardner Watch this with Streets of Fire for the full 80's dystopian effect 5 stars
10/25/07 Andre original, & beautiful on blu-ray 4 stars
10/20/07 Roger Ebert You either like it or you don't. What else needs to be said? 4 stars
8/13/07 andrew gerges can u digit,can you digit,CANYOU DIGGIT!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/15/07 specialK i've been wanting to see it since '79....i'm sorry but this was total crap. 1 stars
6/20/07 Mick My fav' film of all time - a masterpiece. 5 stars
6/17/07 David Cohen A suspenseful and engaging thriller 4 stars
4/18/07 Mandrakegray The greatest CULT film of all time. A classic. Period. Can You Dig It? 5 stars
2/18/07 David Pollastrini kinda dull 3 stars
2/11/07 action movie fan lame silly adaption of sol yuricks far better and realistic book-movie pales to the book 2 stars
2/06/07 AJ Muller The Coney boppers still get it done over 20 years later; they're not good, they're the best 5 stars
1/13/07 Tank Murdoch The Orphans were thebaddest gang,thats why the warriors ran from them! They're chickenshits 1 stars
9/19/06 Dan Weiss A great film from virgin actors. Ajax was the best. 5 stars
8/01/06 Joe CAAAAAAAAN YOOOOOOOOOU DIG IT?!? I sure as hell do. 4 stars
6/04/06 michael Come out and play definatly worth watching 5 stars
6/02/06 San Lamar i say take a look 4 stars
6/01/06 Bails Still as fresh now as the first time i saw it! A true classic 5 stars
4/22/06 ted lindsay greatest action film ever can you dig it 5 stars
4/05/06 Ajax If I was warlord we would have all made it back alive! Swan and Cleon went fagget! Wimps! 2 stars
3/24/06 Sugarfoot One of Hill's greatest movies. 5 stars
2/10/06 Dave Fucken Awesome shit, 5 stars
12/14/05 deadfishrman warriors come out and playyyyyyyyyaayyy 4 stars
12/02/05 George a beautiful film,you just root for these warriors from start to finish 4 stars
11/23/05 C Vega a surpingly brilliant movie....DO NOT REMAKE THIS CLASSIC! 5 stars
10/21/05 Wisamane wow i didnt know the movie was made in the 70's it looked like from the 90's! amazing Fx! 5 stars
10/07/05 Curtis My favorite film, even the trailer kicks, over the top costumes, but there be tigers here 5 stars
6/05/05 Dave A fast pace film that keeps you entertained even if it has weaknesses. 4 stars
4/26/05 Trinere Tes performs Warriors live soundtrack set ! ! ! 5 stars
1/27/05 tatum Gangbangers a little TOO stylish; still rewarding 4 stars
1/24/05 Jeff Anderson WALTER HILL'S TRUE MASTERPIECE! Please, I beg you, do NOT remake this film! You'll be sorry 5 stars
1/03/05 bill jingle the movie is so sweet, ODB RIP 5 stars
5/20/04 Proteus from Warriors to 321 Contact for two cast members. Astonishingly fun. 5 stars
1/28/04 LIAM JACKSON great movie.the best scene is when cyrus is shot. it's so funny when he gets killed. 5 stars
12/19/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. "THE GODFATHER" of gang movies. Best gang: The Lizzies. 5 stars
11/28/03 john one of the best action movies ever made 5 stars
9/27/03 Alan Far more style than substance, but when it has this much style................ 4 stars
9/25/03 Stefan Halka Who ever a thought a plot about a gang trying to get back could be such a good watch? 4 stars
9/09/03 Laura Stuart James Remar Is So hot in this one! If you don't like this movie you suck 5 stars
8/30/03 Christian Adair Mann One of my favorite movies! Great action scenes! Kind of far-fetched, but great fun. 5 stars
4/01/03 Jack Sommersby Stylish and suspenseful, but it's still pretty cliched. 4 stars
10/21/02 Stacey Ouch. 2 stars
7/12/02 KMG Waaarriors....it's time to playay.... 5 stars
6/11/02 TLsmooth Inpired me to found The Crips. 5 stars
4/06/02 Tantive7 The People's opinion is, Awesome!! Nuff Said.. The critics are wrong in the end. THE BEST!! 5 stars
1/16/02 Ringer(big dog) A stunning,fantastic film AWESOME!!!!! 5 stars
11/14/01 King James One of the best ever 5 stars
11/13/01 marmy the best 5 stars
8/01/01 Allan Awesome, gripping, Swann's my man 5 stars
7/06/01 Bobby Hill Critics of this satire are clueless. The acting is in the movement: I can dig it! 5 stars
6/24/01 joelee Stylized violence & great art direction make up for hokey story. 4 stars
6/03/01 Tbone Awesome!!! one of my favorites of all time. 5 stars
4/28/01 Doug This must be a very old site COOL MOVIE THOUGHAus 4 stars
4/23/01 Skip Young I know it's highly revered, but it's never done anything for me. 2 stars
4/21/01 ReservoirDog2001 the greatest movie i ever saw 5 stars
3/06/01 Wanja Seifert Can you dig it??? 5 stars
2/02/01 ray pua a fukin well thought up movie for a film that was filmed in 79,this is the best gang movies 5 stars
12/23/00 irfan mirza entertaining and violent 5 stars
10/18/00 Will Marks Totally Brilliant 5 stars
9/26/00 Paul This movie makes you want to join a gang and kick butt! 5 stars
7/30/00 Rogue Librarian Best "Gotta fight every theme-oriented street gang" movie ever! 5 stars
7/06/00 francisco ponce all a chant to virility, 5 stars
6/28/00 HUSKER IN MY TOP FIVE OF ALL TIME!!! 5 stars
3/06/00 Neil Hawkins This film rocks, shout "CAN YOU DIG IT" on the vinegar stroke 5 stars
3/05/00 juan jaramillo GREAT MOVIE! MICHAEL BECK'S AWESOME 5 stars
8/23/99 Cyrus This film is brilliant! 5 stars
7/27/99 Pete Rios This movie ROCKS! 5 stars
4/13/99 Jon Jackson I stumbled on this movie by accident, it's a lot of fun, I can dig it! 5 stars
2/01/99 Original Gangsta word. this movie rocked. cool how they portrayed the NYPD as yet another gang 5 stars
11/29/98 Mike F SHIT! 1 stars
11/25/98 little jerry Poor Man's Kubrick.Hill's little known HARD TIMES[aka.The Streetfighter] is much better. 3 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob 'No reason...I just like doin' things like that!' 5 stars
9/28/98 Brandon B. Hillarious Broadway dancers portray long island gangs. 5 stars
9/17/98 Chuck-D this movie rules - campy 70's gang fun 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Feb-1979 (R)
  DVD: 04-Oct-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Aug-1979




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast