More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.66

Awesome82.61%
Worth A Look: 9.78%
Average: 2.61%
Pretty Bad: 1.3%
Total Crap: 3.7%

5 reviews, 430 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Guardians of the Galaxy by Lybarger

Guardians of the Galaxy by Brett Gallman

One I Love, The by Jay Seaver

Get On Up by Peter Sobczynski

Guardians of the Galaxy by Peter Sobczynski

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Shawshank Redemption, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"What's the deal here? Does it deserve to be at #2?"
4 stars

As I write this in February 2007, over a decade after its initial release, 'The Shawshank Redemption' has taken on the status of a modern classic.

People have paid website tributes to it; it routinely appears near the top of the Internet Movie Databases Top 250 Movies list (as of this moment it holds steady at #2, trailing behind The Godfather; in the past it has resided at the very top). All this for a movie that flopped theatrically, won no Oscars, and had a decidedly mixed critical reception. It has become, if you will, the Forrest Gump that is acceptable to worship because it didnt take the box office and Academy by storm. People can gush over the movie (which is really no less manipulative than Gump) and feel theyre backing an underdog. It is the large found object of mainstream movie fans, a cult phenomenon that your grandparents could appreciate.

Not having seen it since its 1994 debut, I popped in the DVD just tonight, to see what the fuss was about. Had I missed something all those years ago? I remembered it as a good, solid, well-crafted drama, but certainly not one of the greatest films of all time. Having now revisited it, I stand by my 1994 assessment. The Shawshank Redemption, the first theatrical feature written and directed by Frank Darabont (hed previously directed Buried Alive, a nastily entertaining made-for-TV thriller starring Tim Matheson and Jennifer Jason Leigh), is based on a 91-page story by Stephen King called Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption, which he wrote shortly after finishing The Dead Zone and eventually published in his collection Different Seasons. (The same collection has also yielded the fine films Stand by Me and Apt Pupil.) Darabont had also, in the early 80s, adapted the King story The Woman in the Room as a short film, and of course he went on to direct The Green Mile, another King prison drama. All King has to do is write one more, and Darabont can adapt it and complete the trilogy.

The aspect of The Shawshank Redemption that its admirers seem drawn to, first and foremost, is its transcendent theme explicitly stated in the films tag line: Fear can hold you prisoner. Hope can set you free. (Indeed, the section containing the King story in the collection is headed Hope Springs Eternal. Its interesting to note that Apt Pupil is headed Summer of Corruption, while The Body basis for Stand by Me is headed Fall from Innocence.) Hope is a major motif in story and film the dangers of hope, the necessity of hope. Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins) appears before us as one of fictions dustiest archetypes, the unjustly imprisoned saint (King dusted it off again for The Green Mile with John Coffey). Andy spends nineteen years in jail for a double murder he didnt commit; his friend (and the story/films narrator), Red (Morgan Freeman), is actually guilty of murder though in Kings story were told what he did, whereas in the movie we dont find out, presumably to preserve our sympathy for Red. For much of the film were watching two sane, civilized men forging a friendship among savages, which include a cartoonishly brutal guard (Clancy Brown) and a weaselly warden (Bob Gunton) who in this telling isnt merely a corrupt hypocrite hes also a murderer.

Darabont lets the movie breathe; he takes his time, though the film still feels compressed (its amusing to watch Robbins and Freeman age over the years, getting only a little more stylishly gray every 20 minutes or so). Hes a gifted director, but Im not sure of him as a writer. His dialogue, when it doesnt come verbatim from King, sounds inspired by King; when the guard refers to God and sonny Jesus, which he never does in the original story, its a classic King-ism. What sticks in the craw, though, are the scenes he adds to the story none of which do much except lengthen the film and add plastic pathos.

The major addition, of course, is Brooks Hatlen (James Whitmore in a terrific twilight performance that takes some of the starch out of the character), an old-timer inmate who runs the prison library and keeps a pet crow. Brooks (under a different name) is only alluded to in Kings story, in an anecdote about a prisoner who set his pet bird free upon being released; the bird was later found dead in the prison yard it couldnt survive on the outside. King meant this to symbolize the lifers who, upon release, cant deal with life outside prison walls theyve gotten too used to the routine and dont know how to function in a world where theyre no longer respected for their lengthy time in jail. Darabont had originally planned to have Brooks crow die, but decided against it.

As it is, Brooks gets his own subplot in which he is released and we see the tough, sad time he has in his brief existence outside Shawshank. This is touching in and of itself, but the movie seems to stop dead for a few minutes so that we can follow Brooks to his lonely end. Later, much too coincidentally, Red will be released, get a job at the same supermarket where Brooks worked (it looks like hes even bagging at the same terminal), and get the same room where Brooks stayed he carves his own name next to Brooks Was Here on the wall. If the crow had been found dead (symbolizing Brooks own inability to survive outside), and if Red had stumbled upon Brooks old room later, we wouldve been able to deduce Brooks fate without Darabont slamming the brakes on his movie to spoonfeed it to us.

In the other addition, Andy locks himself in the prison library and plays some classical music over the loudspeakers. Every scarred hardcase in the yard stands stock still, presumably moved to their souls. This isnt remotely credible, and hints at Darabonts Capra-esque streak, later to be given full bloom in the execrable The Majestic. Darabont has taken Kings rather hardboiled, Papillon-style tale of escape and upgraded it to uplifting Oscar bait. As it happened, Oscar didn't bite, being too distracted by Gump and its opposite number Pulp Fiction that year. Darabont is a humane director, as he showed in the rather touching "Woman in the Room" (his best work to date), and he and master cinematographer Roger Deakins map out some appealing compositions of Kubrickian symmetry. He gets a convincingly haunted yet (sorry) hopeful performance out of Tim Robbins, though he also polishes Morgan Freeman's halo a bit too much. This great actor deserves richer meat to sink his teeth into.

The bit where Dufresne stands in the rain and lets it wash off the mud and grime of imprisonment is presented without irony, though 'Raising Arizona' had already parodied the clich seven years earlier. Darabont is sincere to a fault, and that sincerity is what the movie's fans cherish it's an old-school melodrama at heart, sturdy and forthright and upstanding, but without a whisper of complexity or wit. Perhaps movies have gotten so cluttered, sarcastic, and insecure that a movie so simple and squarely certain of its own virtue can be lionized as a classic.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1011&reviewer=416
originally posted: 02/11/07 13:27:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/24/14 Justin R. A movie that's not to be missed at all. 5 stars
6/03/13 Ron An unforgettable classic. Whoever didn't like this film has problems. 5 stars
4/18/13 bobalou One of the best films ever 5 stars
4/17/13 BALLS I FUCKED MORGAN FREEMAN IN THE FACE 1 stars
12/09/12 Simon Knife-to-my-throat favorite movie. That ending would make the devil shed a tear. 5 stars
5/30/12 keith miron Good prison drama 4 stars
2/08/12 stanley welles astonishing tale of endurance, courage, life and perspective 5 stars
1/31/12 Devski This is the only movie in a decade where my dad stayed awake throughout. True classic 5 stars
3/28/11 11 Damn fine film. Reminds me of Cuckoo's Nest. 5 stars
2/15/11 millersxing the prototypical example of a film that hits a cultural nerve and soars above its pedigree. 5 stars
12/31/10 David Green Immense film, detailed and intelligent review. 5 stars
11/11/10 Lundon Bond Stephan king at his best, you wouldn't even know that he wrote the book by watch the movi 5 stars
9/01/10 BOB GAY! 1 stars
3/07/10 Marc Kelly Awesome...story telling at its finest. 5 stars
10/30/09 Omar Please go see this movie, if you haven't seen it. It's excellent and you won't regret it. 5 stars
9/19/09 Steven An absolute masterpiece of a movie. A must see for all 5 stars
7/23/09 Meatbog Simply Beautiful 5 stars
6/22/09 Domiique Very good movie. Not much into action like car chasing, Hollywood style or US first level 5 stars
5/15/09 Yoda This is one of the most morally bankrupt movies I have ever seen. 1 stars
4/10/09 old Al i managed to stay awake all the way through this film. 5 stars
2/27/09 Tom To all you haters. Go watch Meet the Spartans then you jerkoffs!! I'm watching Shawshank! 5 stars
2/10/09 Lord Savage Outstanding in all aspects of this movie, i've seen it i think, 11 times now. Never bored. 5 stars
9/22/08 don Great 5 stars
9/20/08 pallabi its undoubtedly one of the greatest movies made in d history of film making!!! 5 stars
8/24/08 PAUL SHORTT THIS BLOATED AND SOGGY PIECE OF WORK IS ONE OF THE MOST OVERRATED FILMS OF THE 1990'S 1 stars
7/22/08 the dork knight A little bit too feel good, but a good story nonetheless 4 stars
7/09/08 Farnsy Over rated. First half is enjoyable next half the plot doesn't have focus 3 stars
7/03/08 h8-i95 Overrated? This movie wasn't rated at all, much less "overrated". GREAT movie....... 5 stars
6/15/08 C A One of the greatest movies ever!! well acted, written and presented! Morgan Freeman shines 5 stars
5/06/08 Heather Classic. Fantastic acting, heavy emotional impact, interesting plot. My favorite. 5 stars
4/16/08 jayputter29@hotmail.com Once in a while, a great movie comes along. No doubt one of the best films of all time. 5 stars
3/31/08 Taulago Beautiful movie about HOPE.. 5 stars
3/26/08 >_< Excellent plot, good emotional journey brought by the film to the viewers, worth seeing 5 stars
3/08/08 bruce best film ever made 5 stars
3/08/08 Nate Excellent writting...Excellent acting 5 stars
2/09/08 Chris A must see, classic movie. 5 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic overrated, cliche ridden drama with good perforamances but bad narrative 2 stars
1/08/08 david desoto my favorite film of all time. 5 stars
1/05/08 Pamela White plot excellent and Freeman has great role 5 stars
11/21/07 Amy best movie ive ever watchd. 5 stars
10/16/07 sLiver One of the few films I can watch over and over. GREAT FILM MAKING! 5 stars
9/16/07 Miss Murf Have seen many, many times over. One of the greatest movies I have seen. 5 stars
8/14/07 allen ergie d best 5 stars
7/29/07 Go Stros one of the 10 best movies of all time 5 stars
6/24/07 tribz gotta do it for an religion assessment...shits me! 4 stars
6/11/07 LSUBill Gets better every time I see it. I notice symbolism and analogies all the time.Masterpiece 5 stars
5/16/07 sean i love this movie, inspirational, a rollercoaster of emotions from beginning to end 5 stars
5/01/07 gg sentimental, conformist bullshit 1 stars
4/30/07 kuldeep simply superb 5 stars
4/25/07 David Cohen Proof that not every movie based on a Steven King story has to suck 5 stars
4/20/07 metto fuck yeahhhhh its off the hook =]] 5 stars
4/03/07 shantanu Suparb music...greate entertainer 5 stars
4/02/07 chris f the best movie ive ever watched a true masterpeice 5 stars
3/25/07 Anthony Zoppo Howe nails it in his review. Quite simply, this is the greatest movie ever made. 5 stars
3/05/07 action movie fan boring and overrated-bad boys (1983) and fortune and mens eyes are far better 2 stars
2/23/07 mark darth vader eat shit and die 5 stars
2/18/07 dmitry Yawn...sentimental tripe 2 stars
2/12/07 eric was ruined for me before i saw it 4 stars
12/28/06 Darth Vader Along with LOTR 3, most overrated movie of all time 1 stars
12/07/06 Christina Second to none for composition! 5 stars
11/06/06 David Pollastrini very faithful adaptation 5 stars
10/17/06 Quigley how often do movies with stories this amazing come along? superb on every level possible 5 stars
10/08/06 Biker_373 Best prison film made that i have seen! 5 stars
10/03/06 katie i am watchin it in english media it it fantastic film ever 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies Good movie, awesome ending 4 stars
9/26/06 SABO The best movie ever PERIOD ! 5 stars
9/26/06 Luisa Beautiful, moving film, great actors!! 5 stars
9/16/06 Ben Wielandt No film from the 90ties matches this pearl, no this diamond of a film 5 stars
8/20/06 Devin Brines Fucking good. 5 stars
8/11/06 David Cohen Robbed at the Oscars, proof that winning an Oscar means nothing nowadays! 5 stars
8/08/06 Albert I'm just gonna say it-- best movie I have ever seen 5 stars
8/05/06 nicklor24 One of the greastest movie ever 5 stars
7/24/06 Quazar good movie. he should've killed more people tho 4 stars
7/20/06 moops fantastic review 5 stars
7/05/06 daveyt excellent, work of art, genius 5 stars
7/04/06 blueangel A movie with a message of hope. 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty Loved it 5 stars
5/29/06 delores brown morgan freeman should have won the oscar 5 stars
5/08/06 chienne Bloody great film, Freeman doesn't look like the world's oldest cotton bud. 5 stars
4/24/06 Andrew Shaver One of the best movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
4/12/06 anthonyuk beautiful and moving,certainly in my top ten films of all time 5 stars
3/17/06 HL A Movie Jewel...One of the Best Ever. 5 stars
2/27/06 ahmed the best movie in the world 5 stars
1/09/06 sweetgrrl1972 Movies just don't get better than this. 5 stars
12/13/05 Karen Hawes This was a powerful movie and gives hope 4 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. This movie pulls you in and doesn't let go until the end. "Quickest" 3 hour movie ever! 5 stars
11/23/05 adam Best film ever made period! 5 stars
11/03/05 cooler The most beautiful film I have ever seen.Simply Stunning 5 stars
10/29/05 Courtney Greatest film ever 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Can pass as the best movie ever made. 5 stars
10/02/05 ALDO well made movie..never boring 5 stars
9/08/05 Johnny Excellent. Anyone who says this movie's boring should go lick themselves! 5 stars
8/31/05 ES It's great, the characters are deep and real, the story harrowing and heartwarming at once 5 stars
8/20/05 Derek Morse Absolute classic, one of the few 3 hour movies I can sit through. 5 stars
8/18/05 Jake A brilliant spiritual and emotional journey. Anyone who says this is crap is an idiot! 5 stars
7/17/05 ! Beverly Hills, that's where I want to be. ...livin' in Beverly Hills! 1 stars
7/15/05 yo fucking borefest, more excitement taking a diarrhea shit. 1 stars
7/11/05 Burt Ward OVERRATED! 1 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma The best film I've ever seen. Period. 5 stars
7/03/05 jimmy the shittist movie I have ever seen. *SNORE* 1 stars
6/29/05 Fan Life changing... the best movie ever made 5 stars
6/25/05 blonde not as boring as i thought it would be 4 stars
6/17/05 Manu Ginobli Good film, it ain't shit compared to Pulp Fiction though. 4 stars
6/15/05 CHEESENACHOS great movie, should be seen by everyone 5 stars
6/08/05 me fuck this movie 2 stars
5/25/05 Jake A Wonderfull masterpiece 5 stars
5/19/05 oHFD overrated, good acting yes, but simple/boring plot keep it an average film. 3 stars
5/18/05 Cindy Lovell Absolutely fantastic...a classic 5 stars
5/17/05 what? surprisingly boring. 3 stars
5/10/05 Vince As close to perfection as it gets. Top of my list. 5 stars
4/09/05 Joe Better than Stand By Me 5 stars
4/03/05 fhf more overrated morgan freeman rubbish. 1 stars
3/12/05 Richard Betts The greatest movie of all time. Fuck the Godfather. 5 stars
2/23/05 lol sry but JAWS is the best movie ever. even prt 2 is better!!!!!! 2 stars
2/19/05 whackie Best movie ever 5 stars
2/09/05 908 eh, okay. Stand By Me is better though. 3 stars
2/02/05 Smitty By far, the best movie that didn't win an oscar 5 stars
1/31/05 oooop I wouldn't call it the best movie ever, but it's a good film nonetheless. 4 stars
1/30/05 Albero Castillo The Greatest Film I Have Ever Seen 5 stars
1/28/05 New Jersey Rules One of the shittiest movies, ever. 1 stars
1/14/05 David May Amazing 5 stars
12/27/04 mjoc It most definitely is the best movie ever. Or maybe a close 2nd to The Godfather 5 stars
12/07/04 Kurt Cobain Arguably Best Film of '94, there's no other movie I'd rather watch on a boring day. 5 stars
12/01/04 richard betts pulp fiction is good, but this is the best movie ever. honestly. 5 stars
11/20/04 Bianca A. de Gracia at my age 16, this film is good and unbelievable it has a good twist in the story 4 stars
11/17/04 Gooey ........ 1 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Overrated 1 stars
11/05/04 Rich Strickler great storytelling, beautifully acted, top shelf 5 stars
10/29/04 amanda this movie coulnt get any better 5 stars
10/25/04 UMER best movie of 1994 with pulp fiction and forrest gump running just behind 5 stars
10/23/04 Olaitan Olanipekun This is a demontrative act of balance between justice and injustice. 5 stars
10/21/04 Deanna It's a stop and watch whenever I see it on TV. 5 stars
10/17/04 Jean Great. Uplifting, hopeful movie, set in prison! Not sugercoated; man spent yrs in prison. 5 stars
10/15/04 Jim interesting 3 stars
9/28/04 Patricia Excellent film. I think it' teffirfic. It deals with serious problems It's very witt at the 5 stars
9/07/04 Littlepurch A perfect cast in a nearly perfect film. A bit harrowing but still fantastic. 5 stars
9/03/04 Vince A masterpiece on every level 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton A great movie 5 stars
8/27/04 albert the best of mr. king! 5 stars
8/12/04 David alright... 3 stars
8/03/04 Santhosh Battar Beautifully pictured movie 5 stars
8/03/04 Bojan exelent 5 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton one of the best movies ever 5 stars
7/29/04 anton I like this movie 5 stars
7/23/04 JASON FISKE One of those movies that you can turn on in the middle and want to finish watching 5 stars
7/14/04 Samurai Z Dumb Ass Great Movie! 5 stars
7/11/04 Paul Carone "Cock! Cock! Cock! Cock! Cock! Cock!" 5 stars
7/07/04 Saigo Instant classic. Nothing else to say. 5 stars
6/30/04 Anita Excellent. This is why Tim Robbins is my favorite actor. 5 stars
6/25/04 Gray if you aren't moved by this seek help (no joke) 5 stars
6/15/04 Lizzy Can you say emotion overload! Damn good movie! 5 stars
6/03/04 Angel My favorite King story, my favorite King movie. 5 stars
5/28/04 coco Hope is the most importantI 5 stars
5/26/04 Gretchen Ross Great film but lacking SOMEthing. Hard to say what it is. 4 stars
5/23/04 Mitch Without a doubt one of the greatest films of the 90s. 5 stars
5/11/04 greg winn will be one of the alltime greats 5 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot liam loves it,i think it is fantastic but not for repeated viewing. 5 stars
4/29/04 Jim dull 1 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley one of the top ten films ever made...this movie is fantastic 5 stars
4/07/04 kristy garcia it was a good film with a good story 4 stars
3/31/04 sansho A pleasing film but...is it really among the best ever? 4 stars
3/31/04 Laura Ward Quietly powerful! It's rare to see a Stephen King movie well done, but this movie is one 4 stars
3/27/04 ann berry Poweful story and acting is superb 5 stars
3/27/04 michowl Excellent, be prepared to experience nearly every emotion possible during this movie. 5 stars
3/26/04 S-P The Perfect Movie- Inspires Every Emotion 5 stars
3/26/04 Kimberly Kay Crellin Only from the mind of Stephen King... 5 stars
3/24/04 Angel touching and unbeliveable I loved it and still do 5 stars
3/20/04 Marcia Scurfield Heroes can be found anywhere--even in a prison. 5 stars
3/17/04 Jamy Williamson everyone I know loves this movie, myself included! 4 stars
3/08/04 Helen Bradley Great film acting script excellent 5 stars
3/04/04 kelly Great movie... everyone should watch it at least 3 times to turly understand everything it 5 stars
2/25/04 Brian Zhang two thumbs up 5 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley A poem of a film 5 stars
1/22/04 Abe Giesbrecht Work of art 5 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Overlong, but who cares? This is a sensationally good masterpiece! 5 stars
1/10/04 Rod Johnston Hope, it is the qunitessential human delusion. 5 stars
1/07/04 Two-G - horror_blood2 (aka Double G) (1 G) Awesome but still not better than STAND BY ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/04/04 Desperado Robbins, Freeman=Incredible, story=First Rate, Movie A+ 5 stars
12/27/03 Plums Beaten by Forrest Gump at the Oscars! LMAO 3 stars
11/25/03 MelissaNYC Robbins=gorgeous. Morgan=brilliant. Remains my favorite movie of all time. Amazing! 5 stars
11/23/03 Mary My daughter and I have watched this;together the million times it's been on cable! 5 stars
11/16/03 Shane Smith Greatest film ever - suicide scene drives me to tears 5 stars
11/15/03 eddie the best iv'e seen in ages 5 stars
11/12/03 Baker Awesome 5 stars
10/30/03 I Would Better than The Green Mile, but hasn't got shit on Carrie or The Shining. 4 stars
10/14/03 natasha williams very real 5 stars
10/05/03 Samuel Justus A touching story, i liked it! 4 stars
9/29/03 Doc Hollywood Fantstic 5 stars
9/22/03 John Bale The most plausable Steven King adaption yet thanks to Darabont and a brilliant Freeman 5 stars
9/15/03 i hate george bush and tony blair superb 5 stars
9/04/03 newman fan this is a shameless rip of cool hand luke, with a more satisfying (see: unlikely) ending 4 stars
8/28/03 anna One of Top 10 Best Movies with a Prison setting ever made. 5 stars
8/04/03 Putski Nothing Groundbreaking 3 stars
8/02/03 coolwave quality filmaking... 5 stars
8/02/03 Bob I just never got the hype. Seemed like an average prison drama that didn't move me. 2 stars
7/27/03 DIRTYHARRY WITH MAGNUM FORCE a fine film esp that last walk on the beach when red meets dufresne 5 stars
7/25/03 Patrick Uplifting. So cool. 5 stars
7/22/03 P.Rodriguez I think needs Jules needs to have a brain scan 5 stars
7/21/03 comtose brilliant! 5 stars
7/15/03 Mark Sentimental, brilliantly acted, just great 5 stars
7/08/03 Bob Prigel One of the best films ever! 5 stars
7/06/03 john_cord okay 3 stars
7/05/03 Mike Best movie ever 5 stars
7/04/03 T3 Pretty good. 5 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway Very good. One of Stephen Kings better books. 4 stars
6/17/03 Scott Incredible 5 stars
6/07/03 Jules boring 1 stars
6/01/03 Persephone genius: it's at times sobering, exhilerating, ironic, inspiring 5 stars
5/02/03 Dan_A One of the best ones out there 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Incredible. 5 stars
4/17/03 Fonq35 I love this film. Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things...C'MON! You gotta love it 5 stars
4/01/03 Mr. Do this story is so genius. 5 stars
3/07/03 YES The best film of all-time, the ending is just brilliant. 5 stars
3/06/03 Derrick One of the best movies I've ever seen! 5 stars
3/06/03 KOOOL MUSLIM KID I HOPE THE PACIFIC IS AS BLUE AS IT HAS BEEN IN MY DREAMS - - SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL!! 5 stars
3/04/03 Jay Will probably go down as one of the bst films of our generation 5 stars
3/01/03 mc Watch this movie again whenever you need your sense of life refreshed. 5 stars
2/28/03 Ger Coughlan Pure Class - Well written & Directed - Top Marks! 5 stars
2/25/03 blake best movie ever made 5 stars
2/13/03 acidman Super super super 5 stars
2/08/03 natasha_theobald inspiring in the best possible, least saccharine way 5 stars
1/29/03 Alex Flynn This masterpiece didn't get one oscar! Not one! 5 stars
1/29/03 wintermute They say the Pacific has no memory - I wish it stood up to mul. viewings better tho 4 stars
1/29/03 filmshot fantastic 5 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer You really can't help but love this flick. Flawless. 5 stars
1/25/03 LORD OF THE RINGS I HOPE THE PACIFIC IS AS BLUE AS IT HAS BEEN IN MY DREAMS!! --- SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL 5 stars
12/31/02 Jack Sommersby A near-perfect masterpiece. 5 stars
12/29/02 Melahn all about doing the impossible 5 stars
12/16/02 3-Legged Spider A Terrific Mindjob !!! Best film ever made. Period. 5 stars
12/08/02 Michael Flynn ****: Three Words: Best. Movie. EVER. 5 stars
11/29/02 Clint Eastwood INCREDIBLE!! 5 stars
11/27/02 Mason BEST FILM EVER MADE...REALLLY!!!! 5 stars
11/26/02 Brilliant really Mason 5 stars
11/23/02 RED THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER 5 stars
11/22/02 harold superb!!!!! 5 stars
11/22/02 dead fantastic 5 stars
11/12/02 Fonq35 Get busy livin' or get busy dyin'... God I love this film! 5 stars
11/10/02 Stevo All right, but totally overrated. 3 stars
11/07/02 melbourne im only joking,THIS IS THE BEST MOVIE EVER MADE 5 stars
11/04/02 jeremy Best movie EVER 5 stars
10/27/02 Mr. Hat What I tell ya?! Frank Darabont is a fucking master director! 5 stars
10/21/02 kool muslim guy i hope the pacific is as blue as it has been in my dreams!! - a simply magnificent film 5 stars
10/20/02 Flounder One of the most delightful movies I have ever seen. 5 stars
10/14/02 red best movie ever 5 stars
9/27/02 Gracy Lionheart A wonderful film that stays with you after you've seen it. 5 stars
9/23/02 comatose brilliant ending 5 stars
9/18/02 Getchell Williams My #1 Movie of all time 5 stars
8/28/02 Hessian 1 of the best movies I've ever seen. #1 in my top 20. 5 stars
8/26/02 snowconehead Incredible 5 stars
8/14/02 Wlater Higgins Legislation should be passed requiring all people to see this movie once a month. 5 stars
8/05/02 David Thorman Full of cliched characters. And the escape plot was hatched with Sergeant Schultz in mind. 1 stars
8/03/02 DREW BEST MOVIE OF THE 90'S, IF NOT EVER. PERIOD.. 5 stars
7/30/02 Bookonmarx Can't disagree here - fabulous film, simple yet full of pathos 5 stars
7/09/02 gunter thats disgusting, and it was 500 yards 5 stars
6/12/02 Hulahula Crawling through 300 yards of shit deserves 5 stars! 5 stars
5/25/02 Charles Tatum Recycles too many cliches from other prison flicks 3 stars
5/21/02 Bob Jimmy marley its like sex 5 stars
5/18/02 Doc Holiday amazing film 5 stars
5/16/02 Melissa Better than any movie I've seen before or since! 5 stars
5/14/02 Joegurt This movie is the epitome of the word "clever" 5 stars
4/27/02 Melissa in NYC Best movie ever made. Morgan Freeman is a jem! 5 stars
4/03/02 girl wonderful movie! 5 stars
3/30/02 Paul Meade Remarkable film, great ending. 5 stars
2/27/02 Maintain santity Awesome movie 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Top quality acting here. An actual improvement on the novella. 5 stars
2/17/02 Clarance One of my favorite movies of all time! 5 stars
2/01/02 Alex Moir I loved the rape scene!! It is so realistic... It brought back so many fond memories! 5 stars
2/01/02 Alex Great Movie!!!! 5 stars
1/15/02 paul one of the best of all-time 5 stars
1/03/02 Scream-Mania A touching film. 5 stars
12/29/01 Marius This film is the greatest flm ever, none above none beside 5 stars
12/13/01 Dominik Duprelle There are few films about frienship like this one. A Classic. 5 stars
12/02/01 Flip Kromer I still get choked up and I've seen it 5+ times... 5 stars
12/01/01 Cracked head Overrated but enjoyable. It just isn't as great as some put it. 4 stars
12/01/01 Mark Conway One of the greatest movies ever, very emotional ending. 5 stars
11/20/01 alex holland Great movie!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/06/01 Jordan Nutson A Triumph in Film Making 5 stars
10/29/01 Croweater Dull script? This is a totally engrossing movie experience. 5 stars
10/26/01 James Horton Superb!!!! My favourite Movie 5 stars
10/09/01 Mark Conway This film is a true classic, very touching and fantastic acting, its my all time favourite 5 stars
10/05/01 Nick Marlette IT is the best movie in the whole world....i know it from the first word to the last word!! 5 stars
10/03/01 Butterbean A touching, mindblowing film that lives up to the hype 5 stars
10/03/01 Jorge Couceiro Oh, yeah! 5 stars
9/30/01 Moog the Goog One of the most under-rated masterpieces of the 90s 5 stars
9/23/01 Henry Ginsberg I just saw this film for the second time.It fucking rules. 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith MORGAN FREEMAN - one of century's finest actors! 5 stars
9/21/01 Tim Smith What hasn't already been said? There is NO better film than this one! And never will be! 5 stars
9/17/01 mohamed ali 5 stars
9/17/01 Jaames Redford This is THE best film EVER!!! I can't believe it didn't get 1 oscar it's fucking awesome 5 stars
9/13/01 Steph Ward gr8 film! cause it has all the emotions: happy,sad,angry etc. could watch it agen an agen! 5 stars
9/11/01 Dave Good, but too many walruses are in the jail. 5 stars
9/11/01 michael rock one of the best films ever made 5 stars
9/09/01 Donnie Mulki This movie ruled! 5 stars
9/05/01 Hiten Dhruv One of the all time greats! 5 stars
9/03/01 spaceworm I saw it before you did. 5 stars
8/29/01 RSpears One of the most watchable films of the '90s 5 stars
8/15/01 david ellertsson one of the best movies ever made 5 stars
8/11/01 IP_Freely this is probably one of the top 20 movies ever made..maybe even top 10 5 stars
8/04/01 sarah I've watched this 3 times now & its still entertaining 5 stars
8/03/01 Paren My favourite movie of all time! 5 stars
7/31/01 DMF Good acting, but it seems designed to go for the tears. Too pushy. 4 stars
7/29/01 Jennifer Gaissert Loved it. Own it. 'Nuf said. 5 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Compeling and well acted . 5 stars
7/14/01 TLsmooth Freeman is classic. What a fucking story!! 5 stars
7/10/01 Ted Halm Narration by actor Freeman keeps this movie timeless. Great writing 5 stars
7/10/01 Brian E. absolutely one of my 10 best films 5 stars
7/08/01 Reini Urban More a 3 1/2 star then a five-star. 4 stars
7/05/01 scott weber an inspiration to those who have the courage to live free 5 stars
7/03/01 taj Hypnotic, heartfelt and fascinating. I (like so many others) simply love this one. 5 stars
7/02/01 Clarance Who woulda thought Stephen King?! HELL YA! Best Flick! 5 stars
6/29/01 master.node I kept thinking, "This seems good, but why do I feel so manipulated?" 4 stars
6/25/01 gromm To paraphrase Tool: "This next [movie] is about anal sex." Metaphorically speaking. 5 stars
6/14/01 Disco_stu So good 5 stars
6/05/01 MOVIE best from the best 5 stars
5/27/01 B.B Gripping plot... 5 stars
5/24/01 Ronnie Amazing 5 stars
5/07/01 Mikko Salminen A bit too predictible. 4 stars
5/03/01 KIMBOOBILY THIS IS SUCH A GREAT MOVIE- HANDS DOWN 5 stars
4/29/01 The Jedi Droid one of the best movie ever made...so under rated 5 stars
4/23/01 Neil Ramsbotham love the ending 5 stars
4/21/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) A poignant and GROSSLY UNDERRATED film. I'd reccomend it even if I weren't an SK fan. 5 stars
4/10/01 muneer78 One of the best dramas made in the modern age of film. 5 stars
4/06/01 Melissa Ramos It stands to be one of the greatest films in movie history. 5 stars
3/28/01 Bee Engaging, uplifting 5 stars
3/26/01 Monster W. Kung Extremely good prison flick... it reminded me of One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest in a way. 5 stars
3/21/01 Brandi Terry I could watch this movie over and over again! 5 stars
3/14/01 Ashley Morrison It's unusual when a movie can balace subtlety with an engaging plot 5 stars
3/13/01 Stephen Balloch The best film of the 1990s 5 stars
3/12/01 Kellis One of the few movies I can honestly enjoy 5 stars
3/11/01 mad hatter One of the few really good movies to come out of hollywood in years. 5 stars
3/10/01 Jake Its just so awe-inspiring. Doesn't get any better than this. 5 stars
3/01/01 Scott Few movies tie together, leave you feeling as good, and teach you somehting as this film. 5 stars
2/26/01 Big P. Terrific movie, with some unbelievably powerful scenes. 5 stars
2/20/01 yoohoo one of the best ever 5 stars
2/17/01 mister char this was a great movie, lots of nudity 5 stars
2/14/01 Lee A tad over-rated but still very good 4 stars
2/14/01 TomServo It's the best! 5 stars
2/08/01 Jeremy Thompson This movie is fucking incredible 5 stars
2/07/01 Obi Wan Just saw it again last night. Still loved it!!! I wish more movie could be as moving! 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Topnotch!! One of the best!!! 5 stars
2/06/01 I can hear u gettin fatter AWESOME 5 stars
2/05/01 COol GuY one of my faves 5 stars
1/31/01 Fat Guy in a Little Coat Simply one o' the best movies ever 5 stars
1/31/01 Ludolecorse great actors and fuckin tears cheerin up 5 stars
1/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy This was a very good prison flic, but has been a bit over-rated. 4 stars
1/24/01 Sully Top Notch!! If you're stupid enough to hate this movie - go brush your 3 remaining teeth. 5 stars
1/23/01 scorekeeper To those of you who didn't like this, or any other great film, please get yourself a soul. 5 stars
12/31/00 kevin excelent movie!!!!! A+ 5 stars
11/29/00 SP all aspects perfectly crafted 5 stars
11/22/00 Dave excellent movie! 5 stars
11/18/00 salvo brilliant story, good film, perfect 5 stars
11/02/00 Tom Who doesn't like this film,it's wonderful,i didn't like the scenes reminiscent of Alcatraz 5 stars
10/31/00 James Fairly good film - worth a look if you have a spare couple of hours 4 stars
10/31/00 dan see this movie now! 5 stars
10/29/00 steven hargreaves the all time best film other than scarface 5 stars
10/24/00 Clarance BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN!!! MY ALL TIME FAV! 5 stars
10/07/00 ryan this movie is greatly underrated. it deserves more recomendations.ps.this was the best Movi 5 stars
10/01/00 Matt I'm in disbelief that somebody gave this a SAA 5 stars
9/22/00 White Rabbit This is a good film to be sure but I think it is a little overrated 4 stars
9/20/00 Jeff well-crafted but overpraised prison melodrama 4 stars
8/29/00 Green Minority Touching and loaded with high-flying pathos. Not forced at all. A movie for the ages 5 stars
8/24/00 ShaqWho One of the Greatest Movies Ever Made 5 stars
8/19/00 spunkmirej This movie rocks. It's probably my favorite movie of all time. 5 stars
7/18/00 Sissy Yeah!!!! I love this movie! Tim robbins was great. 5 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley Probably the finest movie of the 90's. Could have watched another three hours 5 stars
7/08/00 skye chapman very enjoyable. (not a classic) 4 stars
6/29/00 perverted pixie Who could predict that brilliant twist at the end! Outstanding. 5 stars
5/26/00 LoonyGoon A modern classic. Great movie, dumb title. 5 stars
5/12/00 Steve Layne Outstaning acting and Its better than Pulp fiction. 4 stars
5/11/00 PJ A beautiful grand movie, as close to a classic the 90's will produce 5 stars
5/07/00 Klute. Puts Green Mile well in it's place. 5 stars
4/18/00 Brien COol 5 stars
4/14/00 TJ St John A modern day classic! 5 stars
4/06/00 Add No matter watch you think, u should see this, its up lifting and has a great ending 5 stars
3/29/00 Denise Monroe Great character relationships and excellent story! 5 stars
3/15/00 Ed Though it does have story holes it is still great 5 stars
3/15/00 Steve Every time this comes up on cable, the movie sucks me in and can't help but watch it again. 5 stars
3/11/00 Bozo can't believe this lost best pic to 'gump'; now THIS is a fucking movie 5 stars
3/01/00 Mic Impressive film. One of the best of 1994. 5 stars
2/19/00 tony s The first must see Steven King adaptation. A landmark in film 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski The best Stephen King adaptation along with "Stand By Me." 5 stars
1/10/00 Will King's greatest story - screw that horror shit - made into an incredible movie. 5 stars
12/10/99 Kenton R. Riley Jaw-dropping plot, Amazing Cast. 5 stars
11/28/99 Ryan Phillipe gets hit by a car and it Rules!!! Wow who is this Tim Robbins guy. Where did he come from. Wow a mindblowing picture. WOW! Ah 5 stars
11/11/99 Arup Baral Fav. movie all time. Watch it when you feel down 5 stars
11/06/99 Anthony Ellis This movie has it all, it's sensational. ***** out of *****. BRILLIANT! 5 stars
10/25/99 Bueller A great film. Too bad the title sucks until after you've seen it. 5 stars
10/25/99 will f'n a. this movie rocks. 5 stars
10/10/99 SJKelley Wonderful story, characters, directing. The whole plate of beans. 5 stars
10/07/99 Glitter Berry Tim & Morgan are absolutely magnetic...you can watch this one again and again 5 stars
10/01/99 rob This is the absolute greatest movie of all time. Morgan Freeman deserved the Oscar. 5 stars
9/20/99 f*r*o*s*t*y I truly loved this film. One of the best. 5 stars
9/15/99 Dennis Forcier Not bad. Not great, but not bad. 4 stars
8/10/99 Ted Wetzel A moving and well acted movie.One of the decade's best. 5 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Powerful....Moving....defn8ly a classic 5 stars
7/18/99 Cynthia it was an excellent movie!!! 5 stars
7/05/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
7/04/99 randy grubbs a classic 5 stars
6/26/99 hum see this 5 stars
6/19/99 Jason Well, viewers can find that the team paid a lot of hard work in it. Good. 5 stars
6/12/99 Biscus One of the best adapted movies ever 5 stars
6/09/99 PurityJustBegs This film gave me goosebumps...beautiful, and sublime movie. Morgan Freeman is the master.. 5 stars
5/27/99 f*r*o*s*t*y And it was beautiful... 5 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam my lame ass cousin even like it 5 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm best prison movie ever 5 stars
4/04/99 Freyja If only there was more Shawshanks, and less I Know What You Screamed Last Summer... 5 stars
3/22/99 A. M. Hollywood formula saved by some good performances. 3 stars
3/17/99 little jerry A very rare film.Made with great feeling & sense of character.Magnificent storytelling. 5 stars
3/09/99 Go Swans Best film of all time. Without a doubt 5 stars
2/20/99 Piz a great prophetic tale with wonderful performance and delivery. based on King? imagine that 5 stars
2/19/99 Bruce Hedge When is your next movie Tim Robbins? 5 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley Finally a movie that is made like they were used to 5 stars
1/23/99 Goofaloo All over brilliant. Robbins is spectacular. 5 stars
1/20/99 C Dub Definitely on my top 10 all-time list 5 stars
1/19/99 Chronically hip whether you're wordy or not, you're gonna get into this film. very moving. 4 stars
1/17/99 Melissa Absolutely brilliant. I was bawling by the end. Robbins and Freeman are excellent. 5 stars
12/23/98 PirateGirl Not just another guy movie. Go see it. 5 stars
12/05/98 Katsat Interesting but a bit too cliched and corny. And too CLEAN for a prison. 4 stars
11/29/98 Mike F really really good. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Yes, it's clichd and predictable. But I LOVED every minute of it!!!!!! 4 stars
11/24/98 Fred Stephen King should dump horror and do more stuff like this. 5 stars
11/21/98 little jerry This is a rare reminder of our involving a film can be.Hope'The Green Mile' is as good. 5 stars
11/17/98 Gamma An OUTSTANDING Movie. Everyone should see this. Two of my favorite actors too. 5 stars
11/07/98 Jayson Lauden Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman, need I say more? 5 stars
11/02/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Really worth seeing,Oscar material..... 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Phenomonal 5 stars
10/13/98 Tom Wood amazing film---morgan feeman is wonderful 4 stars
10/11/98 Negative Creep On My Top ten. 5 stars
10/09/98 Charlie Lim Worth Seeing 5 stars
9/18/98 Johny Great film, who'd a guessed it came from Stephen King? 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Sep-1994 (R)
  DVD: 05-Oct-2004

UK
  17-Feb-1995 (15)
  DVD: 19-Oct-1998

Australia
  16-Feb-1995 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast