More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.6

Awesome67.9%
Worth A Look: 27.16%
Average: 3.7%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 1.23%

6 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Saving Christmas by Jaycie

Deepwater Horizon by Peter Sobczynski

Dr. Strangelove or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Bomb by Rob Gonsalves

Henry: Portrait Of A Serial Killer by Rob Gonsalves

Maltese Falcon, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dressmaker, The by Jay Seaver

Age of Shadows, The by Jay Seaver

Lazy Hazy Crazy by Jay Seaver

Magnificent Seven, The (2016) by Peter Sobczynski

I.T. by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Say Anything...
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Kickboxing. It's the sport of the future."
5 stars

I don't want to sell anything, buy anything, or process anything as a career. I don't want to sell anything bought or processed, or buy anything sold or processed, or process anything sold, bought, or processed, or repair anything sold, bought, or processed. You know, as a career, I don't want to do that.

I aspire to be Lloyd Dobler.

I guess it's weird that I'd set my sights on a movie character, but when it's the character of Lloyd, I think there's a lot of guys out there who just wish they could be a fraction of the man Lloyd is.

Lloyd's just graduated high school, and there's this girl he wants to be with.

Diane Court.

At one point in their lives, I think every guy's wanted someone like Diane Court.

Diane's a brain ("Trapped in the body of a game show hostess"). Brains like Diane just don't go out with guys like Lloyd ("Brains stick with brains. The bomb could go off and their mutant genes would form the same cliques."), but he calls her anyway. And Lloyd impresses her.

He impresses her with his abilities as keymaster at a party, he impresses her with the little things he does to make her feel special, like pointing out a pile of glass for her to walk around. He teaches her to drive a manual transmission.

It's a romantic comedy, a genre I'm fond of. Cameron Crowe has created a sweet little movie with a standout cast. John Cusack is, quite simply, a god. The man makes even the most unwatchable film (like, say, Con Air) bearable. Lili Taylor is wonderful as Lloyd's friend Corey, and a pre-Frasier John Mahoney gives a fine performance as well. Ione Skye never really did anything to top her turn here.

This, I guess, is like the ultimate date movie. It's the movie where you can see John Cusack standing outside a girl's window, holding a boombox above his head, blaring Peter Gabriel's "In Your Eyes," and think "hey, I could do that!"

It's funny, it's sweet, it's charming. You can't get much better than this.

The world is full of guys. Be a man. Don't be a guy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1013&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/17/98 14:37:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/07/11 PAUL SHORTT SKILFUL TEENAGE COMEDY-DRAMA 3 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White Cusack is at his best 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies John Cusak quivering in the backseat... oh baby 4 stars
10/21/07 Chris I like the movie, weird though because the girl he's after is not hot 4 stars
5/18/07 Nat Super poignant teen flick! Love that John Cusack..."In your eyes, the light the heat...." 5 stars
3/22/07 yooper Still a miracle after almost two decades! 5 stars
7/31/05 yuko john cusack is my ideal boy friend in the movie! 5 stars
4/23/05 Jeff Anderson The best movie of it's kind since THE SURE THING. John Cusack & Ione Skye RULE THIS FILM!!! 5 stars
10/13/04 chelsea my fav movie of all time! great quotes, great characters, great story! i love it!!! 5 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge best Cusack film of all time! 5 stars
7/17/04 legend On of John Cusacks better film choices. Very enjoyable. 4 stars
6/24/04 John McCarthy This is an amazing movie. Problem is that guys like Lloyd in real life never get the girl. 5 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley this shit is totally gay 1 stars
10/14/03 Erik Van Sant Crowe's last great film. Jerry McGuire followed and made me hate people. 5 stars
10/12/03 laura paterson John cusack's best character. marry me lloyd! 5 stars
7/19/03 Rachel NOT a teen movie. For people who enjoy fun, but also serious dramas. One of my favs. 5 stars
12/19/02 Kyle Phenomenal, John Cusack gives a great performance. 5 stars
7/30/02 The Bomb 69 a movie that could actually happen in my hometown, REAL!!! 5 stars
4/02/02 Vitality1 John Cusack is a god. This movie is one of the best! 5 stars
3/27/02 carly anyone who can't relate to this movie hasn't been living 5 stars
2/06/02 Claxner Oxjaw Ione Skye so sweet - why's she since disappeared from movies? 4 stars
2/04/02 iallen I love watching the love story between these two characters, flawed but real. 5 stars
1/08/02 Kat Love it. Cusack's just adorable. I just discovered movie and can watch over & over. 5 stars
12/20/01 Will look, people always rave about this, frankly I don't see the big deal at all 3 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks um yeah good! 5 stars
12/05/01 Sarah No matter how many times I watch this movie, it never gets old. 5 stars
12/04/01 Andrew Carden The Worst Rat Pack Flick, but Has It's Moments, and Segall Shines. 3 stars
7/27/01 Elvisfan Loved Lili Taylor/Loren Dean more than the leads, to be honest 5 stars
6/28/01 Steve Awww, dissed in the Malibu..that's your caste, man! 5 stars
6/26/01 ThatGuy Hands down, the best Brat Pack movie. 5 stars
5/24/01 moose I looved the romance, music, and humour. Brings out that "fluttery" feeling in your stomac 5 stars
1/28/01 Scott Awesome, I fall in love with Lloyd every time I watch this film. 5 stars
9/07/00 The Bomb 69 ultimate love story, Lloyd is a great character 5 stars
4/04/00 Casper Lloyd is the most endearing character penned in a long time. A modern day C.C. Baxter. 5 stars
6/25/99 Andrew P. In GPB Cusack kills Benny the Jet. In this, he mentions him. Coincidence? I think not. 5 stars
5/28/99 Lisa Perhaps the best "teen romance" movie ever! John Cusack is amazing. 5 stars
4/26/99 Blythe Lloyd is a God. Something about him just breaks my heart everytime. 5 stars
4/20/99 Lovebug Cusack is perfect as lovestruck Lloyd. Lili Taylor's guitar stylings are hilarious! 5 stars
4/19/99 byte me Cusak is amazing. rent it and smile 5 stars
4/06/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne This movie is every girls dream. Yet, alas, Lloyd Dobler fails to exist in reality. 5 stars
3/28/99 TJwills What can you say but John Cusack!!!!! 5 stars
2/07/99 roxy i want a lloyd dobler :( 5 stars
10/24/98 {{{OZ}}} You can't beat Cusack at any age. Some of his best stuff right here. 5 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan The movie that introduced me to Cusack and led me to Grosse Point Blank. "You must chill!" 5 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann you can't get much better than this. john cusack is a god. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1989 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A (M)


Directed by
  Cameron Crowe

Written by
  Cameron Crowe

Cast
  John Cusack
  Ione Skye
  John Mahoney
  Lili Taylor
  Amy Brooks
  Pamela Segall



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2016, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast