More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.6

Awesome67.9%
Worth A Look: 27.16%
Average: 3.7%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 1.23%

6 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

Over Your Dead Body by Jay Seaver

Breakup Buddies by Jay Seaver

Dracula Untold by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Say Anything...
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Kelly Palma

"She's gone. She gave me a pen. I gave her my heart, she gave me a pen."
4 stars

The taglines of this movie really say it all...

To know Lloyd Dobler is to love him. Diane Court is about to know Lloyd Dobler.

She's got every thing going for her. He's going for her with every thing he's got.


This tale of high schoolish romance and woe comes from the ingenious mind of Cameron Crowe.

First of all -- let me just say I love John Cusack and Cameron Crowe. Okay - on with the review.

High school senior Lloyd Dobler [John Cusack] wants nothing more than to go out with beautiful and intelligent Diane Court [Ione Skye]. Eventually they become friends with possibilities! Although in this day and age that is better known as Friends with Benefits. Lloyd attempts to woo Diane's heart over the objections of her protective father [John Mahoney]. Lloyd must do all this in 16 weeks, before Diane leaves for a scholarship in England at the end of the summer. Will Lloyd and Diane be able to deal with their friends, family, and other pressures just and stay together?

Guest Stars include Cusack's sister Joan Cusack, his real life best friend Jeremy Piven, Bebe Neuwirth, and Chynna Phillips.

Lloyd is the type of guy that every girl longs for. Will Diane be able to see that in time? This is a heartwarming movie that reaffirms the notion that love is out there somewhere. I would say this is a good date movie, snuggle up with someone you love and remember sometimes you don't have to SAY ANYTHING at all...

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1013&reviewer=88
originally posted: 12/12/01 07:36:37
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/07/11 PAUL SHORTT SKILFUL TEENAGE COMEDY-DRAMA 3 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White Cusack is at his best 5 stars
3/03/08 ladavies John Cusak quivering in the backseat... oh baby 4 stars
10/21/07 Chris I like the movie, weird though because the girl he's after is not hot 4 stars
5/18/07 Nat Super poignant teen flick! Love that John Cusack..."In your eyes, the light the heat...." 5 stars
3/22/07 yooper Still a miracle after almost two decades! 5 stars
7/31/05 yuko john cusack is my ideal boy friend in the movie! 5 stars
4/23/05 Jeff Anderson The best movie of it's kind since THE SURE THING. John Cusack & Ione Skye RULE THIS FILM!!! 5 stars
10/13/04 chelsea my fav movie of all time! great quotes, great characters, great story! i love it!!! 5 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge best Cusack film of all time! 5 stars
7/17/04 legend On of John Cusacks better film choices. Very enjoyable. 4 stars
6/24/04 John McCarthy This is an amazing movie. Problem is that guys like Lloyd in real life never get the girl. 5 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley this shit is totally gay 1 stars
10/14/03 Erik Van Sant Crowe's last great film. Jerry McGuire followed and made me hate people. 5 stars
10/12/03 laura paterson John cusack's best character. marry me lloyd! 5 stars
7/19/03 Rachel NOT a teen movie. For people who enjoy fun, but also serious dramas. One of my favs. 5 stars
12/19/02 Kyle Phenomenal, John Cusack gives a great performance. 5 stars
7/30/02 The Bomb 69 a movie that could actually happen in my hometown, REAL!!! 5 stars
4/02/02 Vitality1 John Cusack is a god. This movie is one of the best! 5 stars
3/27/02 carly anyone who can't relate to this movie hasn't been living 5 stars
2/06/02 Claxner Oxjaw Ione Skye so sweet - why's she since disappeared from movies? 4 stars
2/04/02 iallen I love watching the love story between these two characters, flawed but real. 5 stars
1/08/02 Kat Love it. Cusack's just adorable. I just discovered movie and can watch over & over. 5 stars
12/20/01 Will look, people always rave about this, frankly I don't see the big deal at all 3 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks um yeah good! 5 stars
12/05/01 Sarah No matter how many times I watch this movie, it never gets old. 5 stars
12/04/01 Andrew Carden The Worst Rat Pack Flick, but Has It's Moments, and Segall Shines. 3 stars
7/27/01 Elvisfan Loved Lili Taylor/Loren Dean more than the leads, to be honest 5 stars
6/28/01 Steve Awww, dissed in the Malibu..that's your caste, man! 5 stars
6/26/01 ThatGuy Hands down, the best Brat Pack movie. 5 stars
5/24/01 moose I looved the romance, music, and humour. Brings out that "fluttery" feeling in your stomac 5 stars
1/28/01 Scott Awesome, I fall in love with Lloyd every time I watch this film. 5 stars
9/07/00 The Bomb 69 ultimate love story, Lloyd is a great character 5 stars
4/04/00 Casper Lloyd is the most endearing character penned in a long time. A modern day C.C. Baxter. 5 stars
6/25/99 Andrew P. In GPB Cusack kills Benny the Jet. In this, he mentions him. Coincidence? I think not. 5 stars
5/28/99 Lisa Perhaps the best "teen romance" movie ever! John Cusack is amazing. 5 stars
4/26/99 Blythe Lloyd is a God. Something about him just breaks my heart everytime. 5 stars
4/20/99 Lovebug Cusack is perfect as lovestruck Lloyd. Lili Taylor's guitar stylings are hilarious! 5 stars
4/19/99 byte me Cusak is amazing. rent it and smile 5 stars
4/06/99 Annearchy, Damme, Satanne This movie is every girls dream. Yet, alas, Lloyd Dobler fails to exist in reality. 5 stars
3/28/99 TJwills What can you say but John Cusack!!!!! 5 stars
2/07/99 roxy i want a lloyd dobler :( 5 stars
10/24/98 {{{OZ}}} You can't beat Cusack at any age. Some of his best stuff right here. 5 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan The movie that introduced me to Cusack and led me to Grosse Point Blank. "You must chill!" 5 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann you can't get much better than this. john cusack is a god. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1989 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A (M)


Directed by
  Cameron Crowe

Written by
  Cameron Crowe

Cast
  John Cusack
  Ione Skye
  John Mahoney
  Lili Taylor
  Amy Brooks
  Pamela Segall



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast