More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.34

Awesome60.35%
Worth A Look: 26.67%
Average: 3.86%
Pretty Bad: 4.56%
Total Crap: 4.56%

12 reviews, 213 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

Over Your Dead Body by Jay Seaver

Breakup Buddies by Jay Seaver

Dracula Untold by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Spider-Man 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"Like the persona of Peter Parker, it is unbalanced but commendable"
4 stars

When describing Peter Parker as "unbalanced", I refer not to his mental state, but his emotional one. In fact, it is this lack of balance that makes him so intriguing, as he struggles between his desire for personal happiness, and his duty to use his power for the good of humanity. Unfortunately, SPIDER-MAN 2 also suffers an imbalance, sidetracking into character study and moral platitudes when it should be picking up the pace. But although it didn't leave me in the awe that its predecessor did, it still spins webs around most blockbuster sequels.

I'll concede that the people who are going to love this movie the most are those who grew up reading the comics. I never did, and have only the vaguest recollection of the old cartoons and the short lived live-action series of the late 70's. Director Sam Raimi may have bitten off a bit more than he can chew, as he tries to stuff as much narrative and foreshadowing as possible into the film's two hours. Many nuances will doubtless be lost on the newly-initiated, but the film still delivers a healthy dose of wit, humor, pathos, and a handful of really kick-ass action sequences.

It's two years later, and things aren't going great for Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire). Living in a shitty one-bedroom apartment, he struggles to balance the demands of school, a job, and a personal life against the incessant call to duty as a crimefighting superhero. When he is threatened with the possibility of losing long-time love interest Mary Jane (Kirsten Dunst) to the lure of the Spidey-suit, his fractured desires lead to curious side-effects that include the sporadic loss of powers and a growing resentment of them.

Meanwhile, Doctor Otto Octavius (Alfred Molina) is conducting experiments in creating a perpetual power source in the form of a minuature sun, which uses Tritium as a fuel source. Tritium - isn't that the stuff they used to make glow-in-the-dark paint? Why yes it is, making this one of the many examples of why you shouldn't pay too much attention to the wonky science used in most superhero movies. Nevertheless, the experiment fails, resulting in the death of Octavius's wife, and the fusion of four giant metal tentacles into his spine. Overcome by grief and disillusionment, he vows to succesfully complete his research at all cost, becoming the supervillain dubbed as "Doc Ock" by the irascible newspaper editor J. J. Jameison (J.K. Simmons, still stealing every scene he's in).

The brawls between Spidey and Ock are indeed impressive (with the exception of some occasionally shady CGI), but they feel just a bit too few and far between. And while the dichotomy in Peter Parker's psyche certainly gives the character more depth than the average superhero film, some things are over-simplified and glossed over (like the explanation of why he keeps losing his powers), and the film has a tendency to meander into long dry moments of platitudes and inspirational pep talks, usually delivered by Peter's Aunt May (Rosemary Harris).

However, Spider-Man 2 mostly moves at a brisk clip, there are some great moments of humor (including the obligatory cameo by Bruce Campbell - who I thought would have made a great J.J. Jameison in his own right), and there is finally some satisfying reconciliation of all of the romantic tension between Peter and M.J. (and thank God, because I really don't think they could have milked it for a third movie without driving everyone to exasperation).

I remember that the first SPIDER-MAN film left me giddy, and I left the theater wishing I could shoot a web at the nearest skyscraper (and I'm a grown-ass man, mind you). SPIDER-MAN 2 didn't leave me with that same sense of awe, but it left me much more satisfied than not, and that's good enough for a 4-star recommendation.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10131&reviewer=258
originally posted: 07/07/04 12:38:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Marvel Characters: For more in the Marvel Characters series, click here.

User Comments

7/23/14 ajkxcpgarcs USA 2 stars
7/11/14 Turner Blah. Spiderman sucks 1 stars
10/13/13 David H. one of the best sequels ever made 5 stars
7/22/13 Ronin T2 still wins by a wide margin. Good, that this one includes a few touching moments 5 stars
2/05/13 dr.lao If you liked the first movie, you will love this one! 5 stars
9/07/12 austin love it 5 stars
4/21/12 Kcaj didnt touch the heart as much as the first film, but still worth watching and likeable 4 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC too much talking not enough action, and Kirsten Dunst isn't that pretty for all the drama. 2 stars
11/29/11 Jeff Wilder The best of the Spider-Man movies. 5 stars
5/10/10 James OOooooo Loooookie Boooookie GAH GAH GAH GAHHHH!!! 5 stars
6/09/09 freak great 5 stars
3/21/09 PAUL SHORTT SMARTER, HIPPER, FASTER, FUNNIER AND FLAT-OUT MORE ELECTRIFYING THAN THE ORIGINAL 4 stars
1/08/09 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 5 stars
10/10/08 man great 5 stars
10/10/08 dude fantastic 5 stars
9/07/08 Samantha Pruitt better than the first, fav superhero movie for sure 5 stars
1/26/08 man best superhero movie ever 5 stars
11/27/07 dude superior sequel 5 stars
10/03/07 wall one of the best sequesl ever 5 stars
9/14/07 dude amazingly good 5 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia How amazing is this? (Plus Doc Ock's dying words had me in full hysterics.) 5 stars
5/27/07 WalkingDisaster Incredible! I'd give it 6 stars. 5 stars
5/25/07 ebert awesome 5 stars
5/17/07 spanky it was awesome 1 stars
5/07/07 Tracey Chambers the first one was really good this one is even better 5 stars
5/04/07 Adrian The new extended cut definitely cements it as my favorite comic book movie ever. 5 stars
4/06/07 movieman best comic book movie ever 5 stars
4/05/07 Dave best comic book movie ever 5 stars
3/23/07 David This movie is just as great as it was almost 3 years ago. 5 stars
3/07/07 man best comic book movie ever 5 stars
3/01/07 action movie fan great sequel spidey does it again one of the best of 2004 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Terrific adventure. Superb FX. 4 stars
1/20/07 johnnyfog Perfect Doc Ock!! Kirsten's hotter with red hair 5 stars
12/06/06 Dude SCREW Batman, and SCREW Superman 5 stars
11/14/06 Beau best sequel ever to a movie ever made. BRILLIANT!! deserves a best movie award 5 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini great fx 5 stars
11/10/06 Austin Wertman BEST COMIC BOOK MOVIE EVER! LOVED THE VILLAIN AND SPECIAL FX 5 stars
10/28/06 Richard Fun, clever spider-tool use. 4 stars
10/17/06 David Great film that exceeded the first. 5 stars
10/03/06 Jeremy Davies better than the first movie 4 stars
8/19/06 Beau all-time fav superhero film, better than 1st one. great fight scenes and outstanding acting 5 stars
7/06/06 Tom Groholski Fantastic 5 stars
6/10/06 Billy A B-Grade follow up to one of the best superheroe movies ever. 4 stars
6/05/06 drydock54321 better than the first one! 5 stars
5/05/06 Cuenzie Wunzie Good but nothing Great. 6.6 \ 10 4 stars
4/21/06 Nicko WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO 5 stars
4/17/06 Jack Good movie. A bit Dissapointing 4 stars
4/03/06 JRE i change my mind. this is the best superhero movie ever made 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer A little too depressed. But the action is hotter and Bruce Cambell's back! A++ 5 stars
3/03/06 Anthony Feor A great sequel, fun for everyone 4 stars
2/10/06 nora Love it 5 stars
1/13/06 JM Synth Shallow, a soap opera interspersed with piss-poor comedy. Still, the fans seem to like it 2 stars
1/02/06 cody a superior movie to the first one, with a better story and more action, great acting, cool 4 stars
11/16/05 Adrian More wit and smarter action, a more than worthy sequel to Spiderman. 5 stars
10/23/05 shawn perry jk your show is awsome. 5 stars
10/08/05 Jonathon Holmes a damn good comic book movie 5 stars
10/07/05 Carolyn Rathburn Awsome, I loved it very well done 5 stars
9/18/05 tony Sometimes annoying, but is a great movie. 4 stars
9/04/05 Gregor Erickson Spiderman 2 resonates with emotion. It is the best comic based film to date. 5 stars
9/04/05 Quigley the acting was atrocious, the one liners horrid, but the action redeemed this one! see it! 5 stars
8/26/05 Ca-Dizzle Much better than the first, much better villain (green goblin sucked). 5 stars
8/23/05 Eden Better than the first, but still overhyped. The villain is crap. Again. 3 stars
8/19/05 ES Can't believe we have to sit through another goblin movie (SM3) before we get to see Venom 4 stars
7/26/05 Anthony Blazing Awesome! 5 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Doc Ock isn't a sympathetic character so what's with the pathos? 3 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Best superhero movie ever. 5 stars
7/20/05 Chris Much better than the first one, but the romance flops 4 stars
7/20/05 Sir Dude Just shy of awesome. Much better than the first one though. 4 stars
7/06/05 Taylor Fladgate I was not impressed. Very predictable. Don't understand the rave reviews. 2 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli Great. 5 stars
6/17/05 Quigley had some pretty classic action sequences, but also embarrasing and horrid dialog and acting 4 stars
6/10/05 Tod Well It was a good movie- people should watch it 4 stars
6/07/05 Darcy superhero and a story too - almost too good to be true 5 stars
6/05/05 Ubu the Ripper OK, but not one for the archives. 4 stars
6/05/05 Charlene Javier A sleeper. Literally. 3 stars
6/04/05 Mike Jozic Better than the first and does everything a sequel is supposed to do. 4 stars
6/03/05 Christy Schultz Lived up to the first one. 5 stars
6/03/05 deadwiz A decent sequel, worth watching. 4 stars
5/25/05 The shizz you guys are morons. lets see you niggs make something better? You cant, eat a dick haters 5 stars
5/20/05 ad gimme a break! 1 stars
5/15/05 Joe Better than the first one, at least... NEEDS MORE ACTION! 5 stars
4/29/05 Quigley sam raimi is one of the worst directiors ever, but he knows how to weave good action 4 stars
4/21/05 brody thanks alot sam you fucked up a good franchise 1 stars
4/17/05 ELI how the fuck can you call this bad??????You guys don't know what a good movie is. 5 stars
3/05/05 Sam Eskenazi simply awful; writing and acting much worse than the first 2 stars
2/27/05 Alice Colwell much better than the first one 4 stars
2/17/05 Lou & Chaz the best film ever! we love it tobey maguire is hot 5 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton "Spider-Man 2" is the best superhero movie I've ever seen; astonishingly good. 5 stars
1/28/05 Charlie Sucky Crap! 1 stars
1/15/05 Jeff Anderson The best superhero movie and the best sequel ever made. Director Sam Raimi is a GENIUS! 5 stars
12/27/04 kl; hilarious!! 5 stars
12/25/04 Freddy can't wait for part 3! 5 stars
12/24/04 Raven sucked but not as bad as the first because the villian wasnt just a big robot pez dispenser 1 stars
12/23/04 jonnyboy was abit turd 2 stars
12/20/04 movie fan it sucked 5 stars
12/19/04 Nicole I was subjected to this on a plane - lost interest after 15 minutes. Bleck! 2 stars
12/19/04 ELI First spiderman SUCKED compared to second 5 stars
12/14/04 Jake bad raters=same person. Great movie overall 5 stars
12/07/04 JaseP If you're a guy and don't dig this movie, take off yer skirt... 5 stars
12/03/04 tatum Sometimes heavy handed in a 90210 way, but incredible action and Simmons needs an Oscar 4 stars
12/02/04 Mockingbird Sorry,but this is just masturbation fodder for overgrown boys,check the bitchslappers:males 1 stars
12/01/04 keithers.. Definetly worth seeing....some bad scenes and some amazing scenes 4 stars
11/18/04 chris great action pieces,the rest boring and turgid 2 stars
11/05/04 Duncan a part of me died. it was the 10 year old boy who used to dress up as spiderman 1 stars
10/19/04 james mercer the bomb!!! 5 stars
9/20/04 angel good script, funny, great action scenes! best movie i've seen in a while! 5 stars
9/07/04 owerofdajoint top grade! truly great across every possible aspect!!!! 5 stars
8/29/04 Conor classic 5 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge almost perfect 5 stars
8/25/04 danny The worst movie ever saw 1 stars
8/23/04 Snickerdoodle A perfect blend of cool action scenes and deep philosophical stuff. 5 stars
8/21/04 Chlo-mo-bo Cliched? Sure - but I fucking loved this movie none-the-less!!! 5 stars
8/16/04 Dallas Moye Fantastic 5 stars
8/15/04 Peter James In many ways surpasses the original, but has unnessesary comedy 4 stars
8/14/04 Eloise too many ugly people doing ugly acting, yuk 1 stars
8/12/04 Nikolai Good by Euro standards awesome by Hollyweird's 4 stars
8/12/04 kc as a comic, great, as a movie terrible, in terms of plot/story telling/acting/originality 1 stars
8/11/04 f up good story, bad direction, shitty ass comic relief, but good moments 3 stars
8/09/04 Kitina Blues molina was the best...unarguably, he plays the best villian ive seen in a while!!!! 5 stars
8/07/04 Anthony G fucking owns all of you whores(andrea is a stupid bitch) 5 stars
8/07/04 JasonM this movie kicks the shit out of any action movie this summer by far 5 stars
8/05/04 Andrea Crap 1 stars
8/05/04 Chris movie has so much more to offer than just your typical comic book action flick. 5 stars
8/03/04 alice Loved it ! Never bore me ! 4 stars
8/01/04 S.F Why doesn't the aunt die! Molina is good, dialogue is delinquent,overrated! 3 stars
8/01/04 CharWar Definately better than the first - definately best superhero movie in a LOOOONNNNNGGG time. 5 stars
8/01/04 A.J. Stanson Usual average super-hero crap 2 stars
7/28/04 Mike Devans 1st one was better 4 stars
7/26/04 manjunathareedyr kingmaker 5 stars
7/26/04 Katie This movie is AWESOME! A true classic that will go down in history. 5 stars
7/25/04 Pure RAGE... It may've been overrated but for a good reason 5 stars
7/25/04 Ron Newbold Excellent sequel and superb superhero movie 5 stars
7/24/04 Celeste Great movie! The 3rd one is gonna be great! 5 stars
7/24/04 WES NILES very overrated 3 stars
7/23/04 Jannet Kwan This is a must see movie for the summer! 5 stars
7/23/04 Snaggler One great overrated movie. 4 stars
7/22/04 axe brings spidey outta dark alleys into the public eye...u gotta dig what u c 5 stars
7/20/04 sada amazing 5 stars
7/19/04 Ingo The perfect comic adaptation so far. 5 stars
7/19/04 none One of the worst movies ever, unless you're gay. 1 stars
7/18/04 jj awesome in all ways 5 stars
7/17/04 Jubbly Jubblers I liked the 1st slightly more, but this is a better than average "summer" flick 4 stars
7/17/04 legend Now, this is what a summer movie should be! Great Superhero film. 5 stars
7/17/04 Daveman Excellent, a vast improvement over the original in terms of depth, humor and suspense. 4 stars
7/16/04 Brandon Boudreau I was on the edge of my seat... threw the whole film!!! 5 stars
7/14/04 John McIntyre Freakin Sweet 5 stars
7/14/04 sumixam I thought it was gonna be bad - GLAD TO BE WRONG! 5 stars
7/12/04 clay arachnid artistry in motion..... all hail sam raimi 5 stars
7/11/04 Uncle Phucker The regulars were great. Molina was great. But Molina deserved better lines and scenes. 4 stars
7/10/04 naveed dezfoli BEST SUPER HERO MOVIE EVER 5 stars
7/10/04 Koitus W-O-W!!! I only read the opening and closing review comments, but I agree - 1 of the best! 5 stars
7/09/04 bullit16 A superhero movie where characters actually take center stage! 5 stars
7/08/04 Stevo Sure the hero crap goes on, but the action is good. 4 stars
7/08/04 Spinz good effects, but STOP KILLING GOOD THINGS 4 stars
7/08/04 the Grinch Am I the only sane person here? This was a poorly written Playstation 2 videogame! 2 stars
7/08/04 Mary Good movie, but there were some scenes that weren't necessary and just made the movie long. 4 stars
7/07/04 Margie cliched at times, but it was such a great ride that i forgave it for its tiny flaws. 5 stars
7/07/04 Ry Thought the first was ok, this one is a little better. 4 stars
7/07/04 Johnboy worthless movie. kirstin dunst looks fabulous though. 2 stars
7/07/04 Elizabeth Overrated. MaGuire wasn't quite as annoying as usual. Not a compelling villain. 3 stars
7/07/04 Mark D. Fulwiler A bit overrated, but good entertainment 4 stars
7/07/04 Kristina Kirsten looks like the lead singer of Smashing Pumpkins. 5 stars
7/07/04 Deckard Have people forgotten what a good story looks like? Nice effects. 3 stars
7/06/04 colleen danny elfman is the god of movie scores. 5 stars
7/06/04 JV too much love/ too predictable 3 stars
7/06/04 tyger,tyger Wow it was great.beautiful, and deep 5 stars
7/06/04 Wildcarde1 Must see more, so many ways to continue this great franchise 5 stars
7/05/04 Sparky Kristen Dunst is yummy 5 stars
7/05/04 Mrs. Mallika Very very marvelous movie 5 stars
7/05/04 Jiz That was REALLY good. Better fights, better plot, better villain, better movie 5 stars
7/05/04 Kev One of the best movies I've ever seen 5 stars
7/05/04 R.W. Welch Rare case of F/X extravaganza that is also dramatically effective. Strong score to boot. 5 stars
7/05/04 Ahnold Once again, weak plot, storyline and character development. Uninteresting video game 2 stars
7/05/04 Scarmiglion the lich loved the fight scenes way better then the 1st and theres gonna be a 3rd :D 5 stars
7/05/04 Shams Huque Overhyped and average film, just like the first. I wished for James Cameron's take... 3 stars
7/05/04 Jim Terrific, esp. final 3rd. Molina a superb villain. X2 still my fave superhero movie tho. 4 stars
7/04/04 K.GOWTHAM SATHYA KUMAR REDDY EXCELENCE CINEMA 5 stars
7/04/04 Diego I love the movie I give you guys 10/10 5 stars
7/04/04 nick2k i liked the 1st one more...i guess it was the excessive dialogue in this one. eh. 3 stars
7/04/04 maxomai Character-driven, very Sam Raimi. Incredible. 5 stars
7/04/04 Spider-Fan Dr Ock was AWESOME. Great movie except Raindrops Keep Falling montage. 4 stars
7/04/04 Titus Very good. Certainly comparable to the first, probably better. 5 stars
7/04/04 othree It was SPIDERMAN! 4 stars
7/04/04 Edler Somehow, all the drama and romance really works! Shocking but true. 5 stars
7/04/04 Butterbean Way too much drama. Needed more Doc Ock. Molina is the best! 4 stars
7/03/04 This girl Loved it! Loved it! Loved it! 5 stars
7/03/04 alien assassin Even better than the original. Can't wait for Spidey 3 !!! 5 stars
7/03/04 roystgnr Melodramatic but very fun 5 stars
7/03/04 eqar better den da first 1, 10/10~~!!! fukn auwesom 5 stars
7/03/04 The Dude It was so good I shat myself. 5 stars
7/02/04 Anus SPIDER JEW. PROTECTING THE CITIZENS OF JEW YORK IN THE JEWNITED STATES OF AMERICA 5 stars
7/02/04 Mike Cecconi Despite melodrama and plot holes, rather good. 4 stars
7/02/04 Peteco Great movie! Waiting for the next one! 5 stars
7/02/04 KingNeutron JK Simmons 0wned his scenes. And give the black guy some more to do. 4 stars
7/02/04 Marce It's good... but I still feelt he editor should be shot! 4 stars
7/02/04 Human Shield What do you want me to say? It was good. Go see it, and have fun. 5 stars
7/02/04 fanboy malcolm MJ was supposed to say "face it, tiger. you hit the jackpot." 5 stars
7/01/04 ajay the movie that Hulk should've been. Nice blend of story/action. 5 stars
7/01/04 cinkcool Now THAT was a movie 5 stars
7/01/04 liquidBass worth having a look at, if only once 4 stars
7/01/04 Zurg *sniff* 'I am Spiderman...NO MORE!' For a comic nerd like me, high drama. 5 stars
7/01/04 John Best comic book movie ever! 5 stars
7/01/04 American Slasher Goddess Great sequel, but could have used a little more action to it 4 stars
7/01/04 Ayatolla of Rockinrolla It would have been nice to have Spider-Man show up occasionally instead of all Peter Parker 2 stars
7/01/04 Desperado great movie, the best super hero movie of all time, hands down 5 stars
7/01/04 David Superb 5 stars
7/01/04 Jack Bourbon Very good. Same league as Batman 1 and Superman 1 & 2. But please shut off Auntie Em. 4 stars
6/30/04 Ray Mindblowing 5 stars
6/30/04 BrianWilly Simply unbelievable...best superhero film of all time. 5 stars
6/30/04 T just as i pictured a spider man movie when i first read that comic as a kid. incredible 5 stars
6/30/04 too-much-coffee mistress I am fully coated in the cool that dripped off the screen 5 stars
6/30/04 djacosta Incredibly good! 5 stars
6/30/04 Mike V Jaw-dropingly great! Sam Raimi shows up BIG TIME! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jun-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 17-Apr-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Jun-2004 (M)


Directed by
  Sam Raimi

Written by
  Alvin Sargent

Cast
  Tobey Maguire
  Kirsten Dunst
  James Franco
  J.K. Simmons
  Alfred Molina
  Dylan Baker



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast