More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.22

Awesome54.43%
Worth A Look: 30.38%
Average: 5.06%
Pretty Bad: 2.53%
Total Crap: 7.59%

2 reviews, 67 user ratings



Highlander
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Swords kick all ass. And that guy is really frickin scary."
4 stars

See this. But only this one. Please, I beg you. No matter how good you think this one is, do NOT get suckered into watching any of the sequels. Please. The series is ok sometimes, though.

This movie is wonderful. Too wonderful. Hollywood got their grubby hands on it and decided to try to make a buck by ruining a perfectly lovely concept.

But enough of that sadness. Where was I? Oh yeah. Wonderful movie, lovely concept, and for once Sean doesn't have to explain why he's talking that way. Oh wait, he's supposed to be mexican.

Summary: Connor Macleod is a scottish boy. He dies in battle, killed by the only man whose scariness factor compares to Christopher Walken's. But he comes back to life! Ahhh! See, it turns out he's immortal and can't die. Sean Connery tells him all this and shows him how to fight. 'Cause all the immortals on earth are involved in an ongoing battle towards the ultimate goal. When one kills another, he gets cool stuffies like his spirit and skills and stuff. And when there is only one left, he gets the big prize: mortality. Apparently we humans have it pretty good according to them. It makes more sense in the movie cause he's all in looOOOooove.

This is a truly enjoyable movie. I'm a huge sci-fi fan, and this is the best of fantasy and reality, action, and drama. Sword fighting will just always be cool. And who hasn't imagined being immortal? Ok, maybe that is just me, but he does have some pretty cool shit.

Flashbacks are so overused in movies today. This is one of the few movies in which they are both acceptable and well done. *sniff sniff* I still get a tear in my eye at the WWII one.

This movie is not terribly well acted. But the writing keeps it together. In the sequels, there is no writing AND no acting. And that, kids, is a bad thing. Don't do that. Tell hollywood you don't like that by only renting good movies. They don't talk english. They talk money.

Rent this. You'll enjoy it. It's great fantasy film making. And swords kick all ass. 4 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1014&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/22/98 12:30:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/20/09 Jeff Wilder Entertaining in spite of hambone acting and cornball dialogue. 4 stars
10/31/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
10/01/08 PAUL SHORTT A WHODUNIT THAT HAS LITTLE MYSTERY 1 stars
3/17/08 Pokejedservo A bit long but genuinely entertaining 4 stars
8/21/07 David Cohen Watch this one but please, PLEASE skip the sequels and TV shows 4 stars
8/20/07 mark madsen very good movie 4 stars
4/19/07 Stevo UK Unlike Braveheart, no stereotyping the countries. 4 stars
5/07/06 chienne Very interesting concept - yes 4GET t'sequels,can't blieve Mulchay had a'thing 2 do w'em. 5 stars
5/02/06 Joe Great, Well Done 5 stars
1/01/06 chris f worst film ever!!!! 1 stars
8/13/05 ES Thank you Mr. Connery you spanish peacock 5 stars
7/24/05 C Vega The Soundtrack from queen is amazing and overall a fantastic movie although a bit dated now 5 stars
2/07/05 Jeff Anderson AN AMAZING FILM EXPERIENCE! Clancy(Mr. Krabs)Brown steals the film & ROCKS as The Kurgan!!! 5 stars
12/03/04 Tom Benton One of my favorite films ... Queen's soundtrack kicks ass ... this movie ROCKS! 4 stars
11/01/04 Charles S. Lewis Another one of my favorite's..excellent story line..I find no shortcomings in this film. 5 stars
10/09/04 John never really lives up to intriguing premise - entertaining in parts 3 stars
9/25/04 Sugarfoot There can be only one! Why oh why did they make sequels! 4 stars
4/30/04 Gray great film rip freddy 5 stars
4/18/04 American Slasher Goddess Original and different. Very well done. 5 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley I agree with Spork girl...see this oneonly... the sequels suck 4 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern "There can be only one..." Well, I agree with that logic................................... 5 stars
1/16/04 Boris Smith There can only be one! 4 stars
1/11/04 jmsynth Very Imaginative + Great Fun 5 stars
11/27/03 Human Rain Storytelling at it's very best makes its few shortcomings easy to forgive. 5 stars
8/30/03 R.W. Welch Basically good fantasy story line, but overdone. Connery helps while he's there. 3 stars
8/07/03 Eric Entertaining, but inconsistent and poorly edited 3 stars
6/22/03 cochese Hard to watch. 2 stars
5/23/03 zeitgeist swill 1 stars
4/27/03 kouta will last all our lifetimes as one of the best ever 5 stars
4/02/03 Jack Sommersby Uneven scripting and bland direction make this one overpraised cult film. 1 stars
2/05/03 natasha_theobald wouldn't be the same without Queen 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Hand me the Dramamine before Mulcahy's camera moves make me hurl 3 stars
8/16/02 KMG AWESOME! 5 stars
7/25/02 CVJ Excellent!!! the best of the bunch 5 stars
6/28/02 Zefram Mann FX are a little dated, but it still has a lot of heart and great action. Kurgan kicks ass! 4 stars
6/05/02 karan damn good 4 stars
6/01/02 Jiz Connery was hardly on camera for a "star", other than that cool flick. 4 stars
4/02/02 Rockitman007 Before LOTR and Excalibur.......This was Fantasy!!! 5 stars
2/07/02 Zargo brilliant 5 stars
2/06/02 Nevz ya got my vote 5 stars
1/23/02 Andrew Carden This Made #2 Look Like The Godfather. 1 stars
12/08/01 Jim Classic. Good thing they never made any sequels ;) 5 stars
12/03/01 Darth Sinister It's a good film. Good acting, good script, good music and great direction. 5 stars
11/04/01 JussMatt It's better to burn out.... than fade away.... 5 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam Best movie EVER made (shame about the sequels) 5 stars
7/20/01 keith langman worst villian ever, bad acting 2 stars
4/04/01 PALUCH ...Mom?! ha ha h a 5 stars
2/26/01 Mister Char lots of good fights 5 stars
1/22/01 Diego Romero You know its awesome 5 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin the plot will amaze you; the visual effects will shock you 4 stars
11/14/00 doc rogers Incoherent film full of non-sequiturs. Was it really a joke? 1 stars
11/14/00 Chris M. Classic. 5 stars
9/17/00 Robert Llewellyn Simply the most enjoyable film of all time. 5 stars
9/02/00 Christopher Vanette This movie is a hell of a lot of fun! 5 stars
5/23/00 Chrissy T Oh my God this movie rocks. Kurgan (Clancy Brown) does too. Hello Pretty! 5 stars
4/15/00 malcolm a fantasy/sci-fi classic despite two attempts to ruin the franchise 5 stars
2/17/00 darrin mooneyham excellent 5 stars
1/10/00 Will highly enjoyable 5 stars
11/04/99 Karahde Khan Sean Connery, sword fights and Queen music. I love this film. Even Lambert does it well. 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan There can be only one great fantasy movie - and this is it. 5 stars
6/04/99 unstrung this highlander kicks ass, as for the rest--THEY'RE NOT WORTH WIPING YOUR ASS WITH!! 4 stars
4/30/99 Rob Mckechnie Rah! What a great F*****g concept! Swordfights rule! 4 stars
3/08/99 Ben Timms A watershed film 5 stars
12/01/98 Mr.Pink Ridiculous story and Connery sucks, but the rest is amazing! 4 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Should've had Fish in the villian role, but otherwise a slick fantasy funhouse. 4 stars
10/22/98 chi-fan There can be only one and this is it. 5 stars
9/27/98 Slabs A killer flick! If you love a great storyline and a real fun bad guy, take this on... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Mar-1986 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast