More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome44.67%
Worth A Look: 34.01%
Average: 3.05%
Pretty Bad: 6.6%
Total Crap: 11.68%

11 reviews, 131 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"Anyone Who Says ‘Old School’ Is Funnier Will Get Punched Right In The Mouth"
5 stars

It may take you a few seconds at the beginning of Anchorman to realize why a smattering of laughter slowly spreads throughout members of the audience. That’s because, in an inspired casting decision, Bill Kurtis supplies the film’s narration; one legend telling the story of another. This tiny realization sets up the tone better than any trailer or review ever could since it’s the reaction you will be having virtually every other minute. The humor of Anchorman is planted deep within a surreal 70s landscape where the jokes zing by so fast, you have zero time to ponder how out there the jokes really are. But make no mistake, you may not see a funnier movie in 2004.

Will Ferrell IS Ron Burgundy. More importantly, he IS Will Ferrell and this is not just another script in a pile he’s used to further his burgeoning starpower. His bizarre knack for the outrageous reeks from every pore of his performance and the talented cast he’s surrounded himself with.

Burgundy is a newscaster in the 70s, “a simpler time” when men dominated the workforce and the only women they had to deal with were the groupies offering themselves to them. Burgundy’s San Diego newsteam is a happy one, evidenced beyond the cheesy network promos that present them as a family. Champ Kind (David Koechner) is the Texan sportscaster with the “Whammy!” catch phrase. Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd, simply great here) is your field reporter with a cologne for every occasion. Brick Tamland (Steven Carell) has a Forrest Gump-like I.Q. that only years later would qualify him as “mentally retarded.” Naturally, he does the weather.

Their smiling newscasts consist entirely of the final-minute human-interest “kickers” that usually wrap-up today’s half-hour reports. A pregnant panda is the largest story on their plate and we get the sense that the station manager (Fred Willard) would rather see that as the headline than the escalating shenanigans his son is causing. Into their glass-encased world comes Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) with dreams of becoming an anchorwoman. The staff treat her as if she were made entirely of breasts and butts, but Ron takes a fancy to her and for the first time, may finally be in love with someone other than himself.

We can try to intellectualize a higher level of satire out of Anchorman, but it doesn’t always play out as one. Male chauvenisum at the onset of the sexual revolution is an easy target and the glibness of handsome faces delivering the daily events goes back to Broadcast News. These characters wouldn’t know what to do with Watergate, hostages or slaughtered Olympians but this is a period before dispensing fear became a daily agenda of your nightly newscast. It doesn’t insist on its satire nor play it up. There are huge laughs out of a character’s blind insistence on reading the teleprompter as Scripture, but we understand there’s also something hysterically disturbing about that concept. Same goes for tough guy Danny Trejo explaining feminism in ten words or less. But if you wait around through the credits, you will understand that director Adam McKay and Ferrell (who both wrote the screenplay) know what funny is. Just when Pixar seemed to have cornered the market on spoofing outtakes, Anchorman contains the single-best outtake gag I’ve ever seen. (And it’s not even original.)

Anchorman is not all plot-joke setup-payoff. There are gags you couldn’t possibly see coming, and since all the actors are playing it straight, there’s never a moment for anyone to acknowledge the illogicality. Save for about an 8-minute stretch in the middle as Ron & Veronica’s relationship blossomed, there’s a big laugh nearly every other minute. It takes standard jokes from the “wackiness ensues” assembly line of comedy – rabid pomposity, prank calls, talking animals with subtitles – and bathes in their absurdity. Ron’s encounter with a disgruntled biker and rescue from a bear pit hardly qualify as satiric targets. They are just a part of the “anything-for-a-laugh” quotient that equals Anchorman with the early works of the Farrelly Bros. (Dumb & Dumber, Kingpin, There’s Something About Mary).

There’s something prophetic about the week Anchorman opens theatrically that its competition would be Jerry Bruckheimer’s King Arthur. Here are two movies about supposed “legends”. One purports to be about a real legend and the true story that shaped it. The other concerns a fake one and the fake true story narrated by a legendary modern newscaster. (It’s a bit like Costanza explaining Kramer’s “reality tour” on Seinfeld.) You can judge for yourself which one is more “real”, but there’s no denying that we live in a time when Anchorman stages a far better full-on battle sequence than King Arthur. Yes, it’s THAT kind of surreal and it hit my weird-and-clever funny bone in the same way that Joe Dante’s Looney Tunes: Back In Action did last year and how the Farrelly’s, Zucker’s & Abrahams did in year’s past. As Bill Kurtis so eloquently says, “Ron Burgundy is the balls.” Who am I to argue with a legend?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10198&reviewer=198
originally posted: 07/09/04 14:25:41
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/23/15 stanley welles balances social satire with some amusing visual gags and moments of surreal hilarity 4 stars
3/23/15 Jerry Spray Will Ferrell was really at his funniest in this worthwhile movie. 4 stars
12/05/11 Pamela White Will is just annoying and obnoxious 1 stars
5/09/10 PAUL SHORTT LOUD, UGLY, CRASS COMEDY 1 stars
1/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Comedy about a time when local newsmen were gods. 5 stars
9/28/08 Samantha Pruitt really funny, great one-liners , Will Ferrell is still a one trick pony 4 stars
7/26/08 Erik Visser It was okay, Christina Applegate is hot! 3 stars
3/03/08 ladavies This movie makes me laugh everytime I see it. Love all of the characters. 5 stars
1/12/08 Pamela White Will is just awful 1 stars
6/28/07 gr117 I'm gonna punch you in the ovary. /quote whore 5 stars
5/31/07 umfumdisi "Would you like to attend my pants party?" 5 stars
4/11/07 Dan Absurdity at its finest. One of the funniest movies that I've ever watched. 5 stars
2/22/07 Beau seriously overrated, had its moments but nothing special!! 2 stars
2/05/07 R.W.Welch Slow at first but picks up some flair as it goes. C+ 3 stars
1/31/07 Albert Stone One of my favourite movies - a laugh riot throughout. Excellent. 5 stars
8/28/06 Dan Excellent comedy! The entire cast was inspired. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Full of dumb@$$ 1-liners, annoyingly stupid characters& piontlessly vomit-inducing sex gags 1 stars
3/19/06 CJ Funny and great one-liners 5 stars
2/16/06 Phil M. Aficionado Stupid, stupid, stupid good 4 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead The best comedy ever!!!!! 5 stars
11/17/05 Jenna Catlett Woo Hoo Anchorman! 4 stars
11/04/05 Steve Bell It Is Crap 1 stars
10/28/05 Shannon Andrew Fountain LOUD NOISES! 5 stars
10/19/05 michele et francoise anchorman rocks... you ate the whole wheel of cheese? wow, im not even mad, im amazed! 5 stars
10/13/05 Agent Sands It's another dumb teen comedy, but goddammit is it fucking hilarious. 4 stars
9/25/05 BC Anyone who doesn't like this movie is an idiot! 5 stars
8/26/05 EZ Applegate sucks, no story and not funny 1 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G "mmmm, I just burnt my tounge" haha I laughed for days 5 stars
8/23/05 Dan "Where'd you get your clothes, the toilet store?" -Brick Tamland 5 stars
8/18/05 ES Ferrel is held up by a super strong supporting cast, so many funny parts 4 stars
8/15/05 Bad Critic "Sorry Chamo, but I think I ate your chocolate Squirell." 5 stars
8/12/05 Sully ferrell is flat out funny and Carell is a scene stealer!!!! 5 stars
8/05/05 flamb_boy Can we possibly move past locker room humor? 2 stars
7/30/05 Rillie Painful to sit through. 1 stars
7/04/05 beardy i wank over this film. 5 stars
7/03/05 Vic Pretty ordinary wouldnt waste my time..Willl FERREL's day was over before it begun 1 stars
6/15/05 Robert WTF is going on with this movie? It blows a huge dick! 1 stars
6/08/05 Valerie G. Pretty good, and funny too! 4 stars
5/29/05 katana_6506 Possibly the most unfunny movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
5/27/05 tony HILARIOUS. A KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/26/05 Dan "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! LMAO YEAH IT IS CHARLIE 5 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK I'm officially sick of Will Ferrell. Just watch the trailer and be done with it. 2 stars
4/04/05 Charlie "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! 5 stars
4/02/05 Tom Benton Silly, hilarious comedy vaguely reminescent of the "Naked Gun"-era; Ferrell is great. 4 stars
3/29/05 craig varney worst movie i've seen in 20 years couldn't wait for it to end 1 stars
3/27/05 ELI I completely recommend this movie!... unless you have a sense of humor. Hate this movie. 1 stars
3/18/05 Sheila maybe funny for a skit, but not a movie 2 stars
3/10/05 garrett ogren movie is awsome 5 stars
2/26/05 jabroniunc will farrell is funny; steve carrell is better 5 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Hilarious movie. Mo Rocca is great in this film 5 stars
2/05/05 LilyM Many jokes miss but when they hit, they hit hard. 4 stars
2/05/05 youreo Eeither you love him or you hate him. He is very funny and entertaining even in this movie 4 stars
2/03/05 haha This movie is fucking hilarious, pulls out a grenade and shit ha! 5 stars
2/01/05 Christy Harris Way too slapstick, I can take a little, this one is too much 2 stars
1/22/05 Allen fuckin halarious 5 stars
1/14/05 Dan LMAO. 5 stars
1/08/05 Al Guy I love this movie. Heart busting funny! 5 stars
1/08/05 tatum An extended SNL skit, but funny none the less 5 stars
1/02/05 The Talking Elbow Well, some people don't have a sense of humor, so it won't click. 5 stars
1/02/05 Landshark hijinks without a net, or even a particular target 4 stars
1/02/05 Freddy very few laughs here. why do these ferrel movies keep getting such high ratings? they suck! 2 stars
1/01/05 Uncle Salty Rates up (down) there with the Nutty Professor 2, and I'm a Ferrel fan! 1 stars
1/01/05 Da Streetz Dis moovey is teh suxors 1 stars
12/30/04 Katie Evridge it was ok. It did not appeal to my sense of humor. 3 stars
12/05/04 da hood' ohh! ohh! ohhhhhhh! the worst movie ive ever seen, HANDS FUCKING DOWN! AAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! 1 stars
11/19/04 Stacey K The best movie, ever! 5 stars
11/11/04 Johny Longprong If you dont watch it, your fucked in the head 5 stars
11/11/04 Howie Maybe the greatest movie of all time 5 stars
11/08/04 Beto O filme é muito bom, fazem um pastelão inteligente 5 stars
10/27/04 Hilary Adamson What's wrong you reviewers? This makes WHITE CHICKS look like CITIZEN KANE! (btw I'm white) 1 stars
10/23/04 Kathy ter Plugg Cameo herein 2nd only to marrying Susan Sirhandon as dumbest thing Tim Robbins ever did. 1 stars
10/22/04 Hilary Adamson How EricDSnider can like this? A film of Mother Teresa farting would be more funny! 1 stars
10/22/04 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident How many kinds od dumb comedy are there and how many ways can they clash with each other? 1 stars
10/20/04 Stephen Excellent, sooooo funny 5 stars
10/15/04 simba funniest movie i seen in a long time 5 stars
10/14/04 Desperado Insamely funny, an instant classic, Will Ferrell is a genious 5 stars
10/13/04 Crystalina absolutely loved it!! 5 stars
9/24/04 Jakerh "Im trapped inside a glass box a emotion!" I love it! The funniest film of 2004! Must see! 5 stars
9/23/04 Jenna Furr "San Diego" means "Whale's Vagina" In German -- a new low in DUMB movie lines! 1 stars
9/21/04 Amanda The best film I've seen all year and the quotes are unreal!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/11/04 Alexis Winters Steve Carrell is by far the funniest thing in this film, he's brilliant. That and the Fight 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff very few funny parts, lame jokes. 2 stars
9/10/04 zach this is the funniest film i have seen in years, an istant classic. 5 stars
9/06/04 cindy s. I'm a huge fan of silly movies, but I wanted to walk out of Anchorman. It was no Old School 2 stars
8/27/04 M Funny as!!!!! must see, refreshing comedy! 4 stars
8/26/04 S.F. Laughed and laughed then laughed some more. like the almost West side storyish rumble. 5 stars
8/06/04 em it was hilarious. 5 stars
8/05/04 Mix Master Mason Brilliant, genius, bravo. Paul Rudd steals the show. 5 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues i love vince vaughn! hes adorable!!!!! 5 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton laughed the entire way through, awesome 5 stars
7/28/04 doc just saw it for the 2nd time--funnier than the 1st 5 stars
7/26/04 bullit16 Very stupid, but very VERY funny 4 stars
7/26/04 Titus Uh . . . this wasn't funny. This was painful. 2 stars
7/26/04 your mama very funny movie 4 stars
7/24/04 JL Very Funny!! 5 stars
7/24/04 T.M.G Just hilarious. Plain and simple. There was a void of good comedy and this filled it. 5 stars
7/23/04 Jim Too much improv made the dialogue stilted and awkward 2 stars
7/23/04 gemma really funny!! i loved brick and ron!! 5 stars
7/22/04 Gibson Hilarious, much better than Dodgeball 5 stars
7/22/04 Evan Hilarity throughout. Everything is so random but so well-timed; they don't need punchlines! 5 stars
7/21/04 Robby1 Only stupid people think this movie is funny, it's true, I've done a survey 2 stars
7/21/04 Lauren BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN A LONG TIME... Never laughed so hard at a movie in my life!!! A+++ 5 stars
7/21/04 Sophia this movie was so random...I LOVED IT!!! hey uhhh brick, where'd you get that hand granade? 5 stars
7/20/04 nick2k fucking hilarious...stupid...BUT SOOOO FUNNY! 5 stars
7/20/04 Llicious Oh my God! This movie was too much perfection! Thank you Will Farrell! 5 stars
7/18/04 Onyeabo Monago Wasn't feelin' this movie - perhaps because I'm not a child of the 70's? 2 stars
7/17/04 Mike Hennings This stinker sucks. Will Farrell never has been funny and never will be. 1 stars
7/17/04 Fred I wasted 2 hours of my life watching it. 2 stars
7/17/04 bobo Great drafty open window! This is a good film. 5 stars
7/16/04 Amerigo Vespukey Will Ferrell is only funny on ATHF. This movie is shit. Save $8. Hit self in head w/ hammer 1 stars
7/15/04 communarchy i have never laughed that hard in my life 5 stars
7/15/04 josh very funny 4 stars
7/15/04 Crockettman Bad Hair, bad clothes, cheesey chiche's and a porn soundtrack. SWEET ! 5 stars
7/14/04 Caiphn Whoever didn't enjoy this is 'retarded'. Shame on you. 5 stars
7/14/04 Desperado Will Ferrell is a genious, and Steve Carell is hilarious, Brick is non stop funny 5 stars
7/14/04 jane will farrell is god...and you know he doesn't speak spanish. 5 stars
7/13/04 zf very very funny. Brick was awesome. 5 stars
7/13/04 Bigfoot Anyone who didn't like this movie smells like Bigfoot's dick. 5 stars
7/12/04 Mike V Hilarious! The script is a mess but I laughed like crazy. 4 stars
7/12/04 Nicole It was alright, but I expected laugh more 3 stars
7/12/04 Vicious I love Steve Carrel 5 stars
7/12/04 George Jung "Go fuck yourself San Diego!" 4 stars
7/12/04 cinkcool Good comedy...the prank phone call/tits magee bit was hilarious 5 stars
7/12/04 Farrah I think this film was great,very funny, i love Will ferrell and everyone else in this movie 5 stars
7/11/04 Sean Mediocrely funny. 3 stars
7/11/04 Lindsay Less than stellar 3 stars
7/11/04 ajay very very funny, I was walking out of the theater laughing! 5 stars
7/10/04 Danny The BEST Will Ferrell comedy I've seen since his 'cowbell' sketch on SNL 5 stars
7/10/04 Aaron Horrible! Enough to appeal to the dimwittedness of society 1 stars
7/10/04 Jeff Semlow The funniest movie I've seen in a long long time. 5 stars
7/03/04 Mike Cecconi Though I don't usually like Ferrel, one of the best dumb-funny movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 28-Dec-2004

UK
  10-Sep-2004 (12)

Australia
  21-Oct-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast