More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome44.67%
Worth A Look: 34.01%
Average: 3.05%
Pretty Bad: 6.6%
Total Crap: 11.68%

11 reviews, 131 user ratings


Latest Reviews

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

Art of Self-Defense, The by Jay Seaver

Crawl by Peter Sobczynski

Swallow by Jay Seaver

Perfection, The by Rob Gonsalves

Luce by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Collin Souter

"An ingenious Stupid Comedy that actually trusts its audience to be smart"
5 stars

“Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy” is a comedy so silly and so stupid that it actually ends up being quite smart. We see many stupid comedies every year that only aim to be funny and nothing more. I’m alright with that, but often they go for cheap shots either through bodily function jokes or through a game of “can you guess this movie reference?” “Anchorman” goes both ways, but only on occasion. Ultimately, the movie exists in its own comedy universe. Like “Kingpin,” “Dumb and Dumber” and “Airplane,” the jokes in “Anchorman” can sometimes come at you so fast you won’t have time to think about what you’re watching. Only smart people can get away with being this Stupid.

Will Ferrell and his co-writer and director Adam McKay clearly have the brains to pull this off. I have been a fan of Ferrell for a while and have defended some mediocre movies based on his presence in them (“Old School” and “Elf”). The guy has that Jim Carrey quality I appreciate where he doesn’t have to do much in order to make me laugh. Finally, he has made a movie that shows just what lurks beneath that curly haired cranium of his. I have learned from watching “Anchorman” that Will Ferrell can be a very weird guy. Part Carrey, part Python, part Ferrelly, part Ferrell… Genius, as far as I’m concerned.

Ferrell has fashioned a brilliant creation in Ron Burgundy, a dense yet dignified (on camera), mustached ‘70s swinger anchorman for a San Diego news team. This movie may look like a Will Ferrell vehicle and the fact that he co-created it would leave you to believe he gets to do all the funny stuff. Not so. Everybody gets to be funny in this movie. Everybody. From David Koechner as the cowboy hat-wearing Champ Kind to (Paul Rudd) as Brian Fontana, the on-the-spot reporter sent to cover the birth of a panda in the San Diego Zoo (“Panda Watch!”); from Fred Willard as Ed Harken, the put-upon director of the news organization to Steve Carell of “The Daily Show,” hilariously cast against type as the soft-spoken, thick headed weatherman named Brick Tamlon who somehow fits in with the gang.

The story centers on these doofuses and their livelihood going completely upside down when the network hires a female reporter named Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate, who also gets some choice comedic moments). Burgundy falls for Veronica, but she sees right through him. He’s a swinger who takes great pleasure in showing off a cannonball jump into a swimming pool in front of amused guests. None of her male co-workers take her seriously, on account of her being a woman. She sets out to prove that she can anchor a news team just as well if not better than anyone there. A relationship develops between Veronica and Burgundy, but it fails due to the usual setbacks of a swinger trying to go straight and narrow.

The movie takes place in 1973 during the Woman’s Lib movement and it does a fine job of depicting the male chauvinism that took place, but that almost seems beside the point. The great thing about “Anchorman” is that it doesn’t seem to care when it takes place. We can all agree that the ‘70s looked and sounded tacky, puke inducing and embarrassing. Farrell and McKay know this and thankfully sidestep any obvious jokes and references that would make it seem nostalgic. I have grown tired of send-ups of the ‘70s that I actually walked into “Anchorman” with this particular grudge going against it. The movie trusts you to know about the ‘70s and takes every scene and gag into another territory that you couldn’t possibly dream up.

While the movie does have a message about female empowerment, it seems to also take a backseat to the movie’s sense of absurdity. Often people tell me that they don’t go into movies hoping for a message or a serious morale. They just want to be entertained. “Anchorman” has that in mind and would like nothing more than to make you laugh. By having almost every gag come out of left field and by never repeating itself (unlike “The Ladykillers” from earlier this year), “Anchorman” clearly revels in the absurd, a concept most comedies these days never even attempt. You’ll be laughing at something one minute then trying to reflect on something you laughed at earlier and wondering, “Wait, did that really happen? And why?”

A true appreciator of absurdist humor knows there exists no reasonable answer. Normally when I give a movie the highest rating, the review would go on longer since I usually have much to say about a great work of art. I’d rather not talk too much about “Anchorman,” not because I don’t want to risk giving away any jokes, but because to analyze comedy to death can sometimes ruin it. I don’t want to talk about any of the hilarious cameos, any of the goofy sub-plots, the myriad of reasons to stay through the closing credits or about Ferrell’s approach to his character. I’ll just say that “Anchorman” may well be one of the funniest and most brilliantly executed Stupid films ever made and leave it at that. It’s really quite an accomplishment. As they say in the movie, “Just let it happen, man.”

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10198&reviewer=233
originally posted: 07/09/04 14:03:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/23/15 stanley welles balances social satire with some amusing visual gags and moments of surreal hilarity 4 stars
3/23/15 Jerry Spray Will Ferrell was really at his funniest in this worthwhile movie. 4 stars
12/05/11 Pamela White Will is just annoying and obnoxious 1 stars
5/09/10 PAUL SHORTT LOUD, UGLY, CRASS COMEDY 1 stars
1/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Comedy about a time when local newsmen were gods. 5 stars
9/28/08 Samantha Pruitt really funny, great one-liners , Will Ferrell is still a one trick pony 4 stars
7/26/08 Erik Visser It was okay, Christina Applegate is hot! 3 stars
3/03/08 ladavies This movie makes me laugh everytime I see it. Love all of the characters. 5 stars
1/12/08 Pamela White Will is just awful 1 stars
6/28/07 gr117 I'm gonna punch you in the ovary. /quote whore 5 stars
5/31/07 umfumdisi "Would you like to attend my pants party?" 5 stars
4/11/07 Dan Absurdity at its finest. One of the funniest movies that I've ever watched. 5 stars
2/22/07 Beau seriously overrated, had its moments but nothing special!! 2 stars
2/05/07 R.W.Welch Slow at first but picks up some flair as it goes. C+ 3 stars
1/31/07 Albert Stone One of my favourite movies - a laugh riot throughout. Excellent. 5 stars
8/28/06 Dan Excellent comedy! The entire cast was inspired. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Full of dumb@$$ 1-liners, annoyingly stupid characters& piontlessly vomit-inducing sex gags 1 stars
3/19/06 CJ Funny and great one-liners 5 stars
2/16/06 Phil M. Aficionado Stupid, stupid, stupid good 4 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead The best comedy ever!!!!! 5 stars
11/17/05 Jenna Catlett Woo Hoo Anchorman! 4 stars
11/04/05 Steve Bell It Is Crap 1 stars
10/28/05 Shannon Andrew Fountain LOUD NOISES! 5 stars
10/19/05 michele et francoise anchorman rocks... you ate the whole wheel of cheese? wow, im not even mad, im amazed! 5 stars
10/13/05 Agent Sands It's another dumb teen comedy, but goddammit is it fucking hilarious. 4 stars
9/25/05 BC Anyone who doesn't like this movie is an idiot! 5 stars
8/26/05 EZ Applegate sucks, no story and not funny 1 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G "mmmm, I just burnt my tounge" haha I laughed for days 5 stars
8/23/05 Dan "Where'd you get your clothes, the toilet store?" -Brick Tamland 5 stars
8/18/05 ES Ferrel is held up by a super strong supporting cast, so many funny parts 4 stars
8/15/05 Bad Critic "Sorry Chamo, but I think I ate your chocolate Squirell." 5 stars
8/12/05 Sully ferrell is flat out funny and Carell is a scene stealer!!!! 5 stars
8/05/05 flamb_boy Can we possibly move past locker room humor? 2 stars
7/30/05 Rillie Painful to sit through. 1 stars
7/04/05 beardy i wank over this film. 5 stars
7/03/05 Vic Pretty ordinary wouldnt waste my time..Willl FERREL's day was over before it begun 1 stars
6/15/05 Robert WTF is going on with this movie? It blows a huge dick! 1 stars
6/08/05 Valerie G. Pretty good, and funny too! 4 stars
5/29/05 katana_6506 Possibly the most unfunny movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
5/27/05 tony HILARIOUS. A KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/26/05 Dan "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! LMAO YEAH IT IS CHARLIE 5 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK I'm officially sick of Will Ferrell. Just watch the trailer and be done with it. 2 stars
4/04/05 Charlie "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! 5 stars
4/02/05 Tom Benton Silly, hilarious comedy vaguely reminescent of the "Naked Gun"-era; Ferrell is great. 4 stars
3/29/05 craig varney worst movie i've seen in 20 years couldn't wait for it to end 1 stars
3/27/05 ELI I completely recommend this movie!... unless you have a sense of humor. Hate this movie. 1 stars
3/18/05 Sheila maybe funny for a skit, but not a movie 2 stars
3/10/05 garrett ogren movie is awsome 5 stars
2/26/05 jabroniunc will farrell is funny; steve carrell is better 5 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Hilarious movie. Mo Rocca is great in this film 5 stars
2/05/05 LilyM Many jokes miss but when they hit, they hit hard. 4 stars
2/05/05 youreo Eeither you love him or you hate him. He is very funny and entertaining even in this movie 4 stars
2/03/05 haha This movie is fucking hilarious, pulls out a grenade and shit ha! 5 stars
2/01/05 Christy Harris Way too slapstick, I can take a little, this one is too much 2 stars
1/22/05 Allen fuckin halarious 5 stars
1/14/05 Dan LMAO. 5 stars
1/08/05 Al Guy I love this movie. Heart busting funny! 5 stars
1/08/05 tatum An extended SNL skit, but funny none the less 5 stars
1/02/05 The Talking Elbow Well, some people don't have a sense of humor, so it won't click. 5 stars
1/02/05 Landshark hijinks without a net, or even a particular target 4 stars
1/02/05 Freddy very few laughs here. why do these ferrel movies keep getting such high ratings? they suck! 2 stars
1/01/05 Uncle Salty Rates up (down) there with the Nutty Professor 2, and I'm a Ferrel fan! 1 stars
1/01/05 Da Streetz Dis moovey is teh suxors 1 stars
12/30/04 Katie Evridge it was ok. It did not appeal to my sense of humor. 3 stars
12/05/04 da hood' ohh! ohh! ohhhhhhh! the worst movie ive ever seen, HANDS FUCKING DOWN! AAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! 1 stars
11/19/04 Stacey K The best movie, ever! 5 stars
11/11/04 Johny Longprong If you dont watch it, your fucked in the head 5 stars
11/11/04 Howie Maybe the greatest movie of all time 5 stars
11/08/04 Beto O filme é muito bom, fazem um pastelão inteligente 5 stars
10/27/04 Hilary Adamson What's wrong you reviewers? This makes WHITE CHICKS look like CITIZEN KANE! (btw I'm white) 1 stars
10/23/04 Kathy ter Plugg Cameo herein 2nd only to marrying Susan Sirhandon as dumbest thing Tim Robbins ever did. 1 stars
10/22/04 Hilary Adamson How EricDSnider can like this? A film of Mother Teresa farting would be more funny! 1 stars
10/22/04 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident How many kinds od dumb comedy are there and how many ways can they clash with each other? 1 stars
10/20/04 Stephen Excellent, sooooo funny 5 stars
10/15/04 simba funniest movie i seen in a long time 5 stars
10/14/04 Desperado Insamely funny, an instant classic, Will Ferrell is a genious 5 stars
10/13/04 Crystalina absolutely loved it!! 5 stars
9/24/04 Jakerh "Im trapped inside a glass box a emotion!" I love it! The funniest film of 2004! Must see! 5 stars
9/23/04 Jenna Furr "San Diego" means "Whale's Vagina" In German -- a new low in DUMB movie lines! 1 stars
9/21/04 Amanda The best film I've seen all year and the quotes are unreal!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/11/04 Alexis Winters Steve Carrell is by far the funniest thing in this film, he's brilliant. That and the Fight 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff very few funny parts, lame jokes. 2 stars
9/10/04 zach this is the funniest film i have seen in years, an istant classic. 5 stars
9/06/04 cindy s. I'm a huge fan of silly movies, but I wanted to walk out of Anchorman. It was no Old School 2 stars
8/27/04 M Funny as!!!!! must see, refreshing comedy! 4 stars
8/26/04 S.F. Laughed and laughed then laughed some more. like the almost West side storyish rumble. 5 stars
8/06/04 em it was hilarious. 5 stars
8/05/04 Mix Master Mason Brilliant, genius, bravo. Paul Rudd steals the show. 5 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues i love vince vaughn! hes adorable!!!!! 5 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton laughed the entire way through, awesome 5 stars
7/28/04 doc just saw it for the 2nd time--funnier than the 1st 5 stars
7/26/04 bullit16 Very stupid, but very VERY funny 4 stars
7/26/04 Titus Uh . . . this wasn't funny. This was painful. 2 stars
7/26/04 your mama very funny movie 4 stars
7/24/04 JL Very Funny!! 5 stars
7/24/04 T.M.G Just hilarious. Plain and simple. There was a void of good comedy and this filled it. 5 stars
7/23/04 Jim Too much improv made the dialogue stilted and awkward 2 stars
7/23/04 gemma really funny!! i loved brick and ron!! 5 stars
7/22/04 Gibson Hilarious, much better than Dodgeball 5 stars
7/22/04 Evan Hilarity throughout. Everything is so random but so well-timed; they don't need punchlines! 5 stars
7/21/04 Robby1 Only stupid people think this movie is funny, it's true, I've done a survey 2 stars
7/21/04 Lauren BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN A LONG TIME... Never laughed so hard at a movie in my life!!! A+++ 5 stars
7/21/04 Sophia this movie was so random...I LOVED IT!!! hey uhhh brick, where'd you get that hand granade? 5 stars
7/20/04 nick2k fucking hilarious...stupid...BUT SOOOO FUNNY! 5 stars
7/20/04 Llicious Oh my God! This movie was too much perfection! Thank you Will Farrell! 5 stars
7/18/04 Onyeabo Monago Wasn't feelin' this movie - perhaps because I'm not a child of the 70's? 2 stars
7/17/04 Mike Hennings This stinker sucks. Will Farrell never has been funny and never will be. 1 stars
7/17/04 Fred I wasted 2 hours of my life watching it. 2 stars
7/17/04 bobo Great drafty open window! This is a good film. 5 stars
7/16/04 Amerigo Vespukey Will Ferrell is only funny on ATHF. This movie is shit. Save $8. Hit self in head w/ hammer 1 stars
7/15/04 communarchy i have never laughed that hard in my life 5 stars
7/15/04 josh very funny 4 stars
7/15/04 Crockettman Bad Hair, bad clothes, cheesey chiche's and a porn soundtrack. SWEET ! 5 stars
7/14/04 Caiphn Whoever didn't enjoy this is 'retarded'. Shame on you. 5 stars
7/14/04 Desperado Will Ferrell is a genious, and Steve Carell is hilarious, Brick is non stop funny 5 stars
7/14/04 jane will farrell is god...and you know he doesn't speak spanish. 5 stars
7/13/04 zf very very funny. Brick was awesome. 5 stars
7/13/04 Bigfoot Anyone who didn't like this movie smells like Bigfoot's dick. 5 stars
7/12/04 Mike V Hilarious! The script is a mess but I laughed like crazy. 4 stars
7/12/04 Nicole It was alright, but I expected laugh more 3 stars
7/12/04 Vicious I love Steve Carrel 5 stars
7/12/04 George Jung "Go fuck yourself San Diego!" 4 stars
7/12/04 cinkcool Good comedy...the prank phone call/tits magee bit was hilarious 5 stars
7/12/04 Farrah I think this film was great,very funny, i love Will ferrell and everyone else in this movie 5 stars
7/11/04 Sean Mediocrely funny. 3 stars
7/11/04 Lindsay Less than stellar 3 stars
7/11/04 ajay very very funny, I was walking out of the theater laughing! 5 stars
7/10/04 Danny The BEST Will Ferrell comedy I've seen since his 'cowbell' sketch on SNL 5 stars
7/10/04 Aaron Horrible! Enough to appeal to the dimwittedness of society 1 stars
7/10/04 Jeff Semlow The funniest movie I've seen in a long long time. 5 stars
7/03/04 Mike Cecconi Though I don't usually like Ferrel, one of the best dumb-funny movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 28-Dec-2004

UK
  10-Sep-2004 (12)

Australia
  21-Oct-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast