More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome44.67%
Worth A Look: 34.01%
Average: 3.05%
Pretty Bad: 6.6%
Total Crap: 11.68%

11 reviews, 131 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Why don't you go back to your home on Whore Island?"
5 stars

I'm having trouble writing a review for "Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy," because everything I write makes me sound like a quote whore.

"The funniest movie of the year! I laughed from beginning to end! This is one of the funniest films I've ever seen!" Ugh, I sound awful. But those are my honest feelings, and you should trust me: I never get quoted in ads anyway, so insincere gushing would be pointless.

"Anchorman" now enters the pantheon of my favorite comedies, the movies that make me laugh long, hard and often. It goes into the pile with "Blazing Saddles," "Airplane!," "Waiting for Guffman," "Raising Arizona" and a Marx Bros. film, maybe "Duck Soup." (By the way, I don't find "Caddyshack," "Billy Madison" or "Ace Ventura: Pet Detective" particularly amusing, so if those are your personal benchmarks, perhaps I'm the wrong one to listen to.)

Directed by former "Saturday Night Live" scribe Adam McKay and written by him and Will Ferrell, the film is set in the 1970s, when TV anchormen were MEN, manly, brown-suited men with porn-style mustaches and heavy drinking habits. Ferrell plays Ron Burgundy, the alpha male in the San Diego local news market. He is sexist, lively at parties, liked by everyone, only 10 percent as smart as he thinks he is, and, though a bad journalist, no worse than anyone else in local news.

He's head of the KVWN Channel 4 news team, accompanied by cohorts just as immature as he is. There's Brian Fantana (Paul Rudd), the ladies' man roving reporter who has a cabinet of musky colognes, including one called Sex Panther. Then there's the sports anchor, Champ King (David Koechner), a redneck in a cowboy hat. Finally, there's Brick Tamland (Steve Carell), the congenial weatherman who is, we learn, functionally retarded. (I will not bother to quote any of his funny non-sequitur lines here, because there are dozens of them. OK, one: He believes a bear, seen at the zoo, is "a furry tractor." There.)

The boys' club is thrown into chaos when a WOMAN -- bringer of cooties, object of juvenile-boy affection -- named Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) is added to the team as a reporter. The men object because they're sexist, but also because, as grown men in a state of arrested development, they're terrified of her. Their lusty advances toward her -- this was before anyone talked about "sexual harassment" -- are transparent and oily, but apparently they work on some women. But not Veronica. She's smart and liberated.

Ron, however, seems to be legitimately in love with her, and Ferrell's gift as a comedic actor is take a character as fundamentally slimy as Ron Burgundy and make him LIKABLE. The way he stumbles over his words when he's around her, his awkwardly worded propositions, even the ill-hidden, um, arousal he experiences in her presence -- these are all reminders that he's essentially just a naughty little boy, not a lecherous, dangerous man. He's a product of his times, and he's sincere.

Ron and Veronica begin a relationship, which soon becomes public, and which becomes strained as Veronica rises up in the ranks. One of the film's great strokes is in Veronica's character, played with astonishing agility and comedic grace by Christina Applegate. I wrote of her in my review of "The Sweetest Thing" that she "apparently learned a few things about comedy while in the purgatory of 'Married ... with Children,' for she has flair and timing." She proves it again here, holding her own amongst the insanely funny group of male leads (which also includes Fred Willard as the news director) as well as Veronica does in her situation.

The film fully LIVES in the '70s, wearing the decade like a polyester suit. It knows the '70s are inherently funny, but does not underscore that fact with obvious era-specific jokes. The characters and situations could only have existed then -- after the sexual revolution of the '60s, but before the political correctness of the '80s -- and seeing them played out with such manic, brilliant glee by the cast makes this an exuberantly wacky movie.

Ferrell's man-child persona, his knack for loopy non-sequiturs ("By the beard of Zeus!" he declares upon first seeing Veronica), his penchant for piling more comedy onto a joke until you think it can't be any funnier, and then topping it with one more hysterical line -- these are the secrets of "Anchorman's" success. Ferrell, McKay and editor Brent White cut judiciously, never letting a joke get belabored, but letting the best ones roam free for a while, too. This is a masterpiece of comedy, ready to be watched, re-watched, quoted and imitated for years to come.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10198&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/09/04 18:23:57
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/23/15 stanley welles balances social satire with some amusing visual gags and moments of surreal hilarity 4 stars
3/23/15 Jerry Spray Will Ferrell was really at his funniest in this worthwhile movie. 4 stars
12/05/11 Pamela White Will is just annoying and obnoxious 1 stars
5/09/10 PAUL SHORTT LOUD, UGLY, CRASS COMEDY 1 stars
1/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Comedy about a time when local newsmen were gods. 5 stars
9/28/08 Samantha Pruitt really funny, great one-liners , Will Ferrell is still a one trick pony 4 stars
7/26/08 Erik Visser It was okay, Christina Applegate is hot! 3 stars
3/03/08 ladavies This movie makes me laugh everytime I see it. Love all of the characters. 5 stars
1/12/08 Pamela White Will is just awful 1 stars
6/28/07 gr117 I'm gonna punch you in the ovary. /quote whore 5 stars
5/31/07 umfumdisi "Would you like to attend my pants party?" 5 stars
4/11/07 Dan Absurdity at its finest. One of the funniest movies that I've ever watched. 5 stars
2/22/07 Beau seriously overrated, had its moments but nothing special!! 2 stars
2/05/07 R.W.Welch Slow at first but picks up some flair as it goes. C+ 3 stars
1/31/07 Albert Stone One of my favourite movies - a laugh riot throughout. Excellent. 5 stars
8/28/06 Dan Excellent comedy! The entire cast was inspired. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Full of dumb@$$ 1-liners, annoyingly stupid characters& piontlessly vomit-inducing sex gags 1 stars
3/19/06 CJ Funny and great one-liners 5 stars
2/16/06 Phil M. Aficionado Stupid, stupid, stupid good 4 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead The best comedy ever!!!!! 5 stars
11/17/05 Jenna Catlett Woo Hoo Anchorman! 4 stars
11/04/05 Steve Bell It Is Crap 1 stars
10/28/05 Shannon Andrew Fountain LOUD NOISES! 5 stars
10/19/05 michele et francoise anchorman rocks... you ate the whole wheel of cheese? wow, im not even mad, im amazed! 5 stars
10/13/05 Agent Sands It's another dumb teen comedy, but goddammit is it fucking hilarious. 4 stars
9/25/05 BC Anyone who doesn't like this movie is an idiot! 5 stars
8/26/05 EZ Applegate sucks, no story and not funny 1 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G "mmmm, I just burnt my tounge" haha I laughed for days 5 stars
8/23/05 Dan "Where'd you get your clothes, the toilet store?" -Brick Tamland 5 stars
8/18/05 ES Ferrel is held up by a super strong supporting cast, so many funny parts 4 stars
8/15/05 Bad Critic "Sorry Chamo, but I think I ate your chocolate Squirell." 5 stars
8/12/05 Sully ferrell is flat out funny and Carell is a scene stealer!!!! 5 stars
8/05/05 flamb_boy Can we possibly move past locker room humor? 2 stars
7/30/05 Rillie Painful to sit through. 1 stars
7/04/05 beardy i wank over this film. 5 stars
7/03/05 Vic Pretty ordinary wouldnt waste my time..Willl FERREL's day was over before it begun 1 stars
6/15/05 Robert WTF is going on with this movie? It blows a huge dick! 1 stars
6/08/05 Valerie G. Pretty good, and funny too! 4 stars
5/29/05 katana_6506 Possibly the most unfunny movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
5/27/05 tony HILARIOUS. A KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/26/05 Dan "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! LMAO YEAH IT IS CHARLIE 5 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK I'm officially sick of Will Ferrell. Just watch the trailer and be done with it. 2 stars
4/04/05 Charlie "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! 5 stars
4/02/05 Tom Benton Silly, hilarious comedy vaguely reminescent of the "Naked Gun"-era; Ferrell is great. 4 stars
3/29/05 craig varney worst movie i've seen in 20 years couldn't wait for it to end 1 stars
3/27/05 ELI I completely recommend this movie!... unless you have a sense of humor. Hate this movie. 1 stars
3/18/05 Sheila maybe funny for a skit, but not a movie 2 stars
3/10/05 garrett ogren movie is awsome 5 stars
2/26/05 jabroniunc will farrell is funny; steve carrell is better 5 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Hilarious movie. Mo Rocca is great in this film 5 stars
2/05/05 LilyM Many jokes miss but when they hit, they hit hard. 4 stars
2/05/05 youreo Eeither you love him or you hate him. He is very funny and entertaining even in this movie 4 stars
2/03/05 haha This movie is fucking hilarious, pulls out a grenade and shit ha! 5 stars
2/01/05 Christy Harris Way too slapstick, I can take a little, this one is too much 2 stars
1/22/05 Allen fuckin halarious 5 stars
1/14/05 Dan LMAO. 5 stars
1/08/05 Al Guy I love this movie. Heart busting funny! 5 stars
1/08/05 tatum An extended SNL skit, but funny none the less 5 stars
1/02/05 The Talking Elbow Well, some people don't have a sense of humor, so it won't click. 5 stars
1/02/05 Landshark hijinks without a net, or even a particular target 4 stars
1/02/05 Freddy very few laughs here. why do these ferrel movies keep getting such high ratings? they suck! 2 stars
1/01/05 Uncle Salty Rates up (down) there with the Nutty Professor 2, and I'm a Ferrel fan! 1 stars
1/01/05 Da Streetz Dis moovey is teh suxors 1 stars
12/30/04 Katie Evridge it was ok. It did not appeal to my sense of humor. 3 stars
12/05/04 da hood' ohh! ohh! ohhhhhhh! the worst movie ive ever seen, HANDS FUCKING DOWN! AAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! 1 stars
11/19/04 Stacey K The best movie, ever! 5 stars
11/11/04 Johny Longprong If you dont watch it, your fucked in the head 5 stars
11/11/04 Howie Maybe the greatest movie of all time 5 stars
11/08/04 Beto O filme ť muito bom, fazem um pastel„o inteligente 5 stars
10/27/04 Hilary Adamson What's wrong you reviewers? This makes WHITE CHICKS look like CITIZEN KANE! (btw I'm white) 1 stars
10/23/04 Kathy ter Plugg Cameo herein 2nd only to marrying Susan Sirhandon as dumbest thing Tim Robbins ever did. 1 stars
10/22/04 Hilary Adamson How EricDSnider can like this? A film of Mother Teresa farting would be more funny! 1 stars
10/22/04 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident How many kinds od dumb comedy are there and how many ways can they clash with each other? 1 stars
10/20/04 Stephen Excellent, sooooo funny 5 stars
10/15/04 simba funniest movie i seen in a long time 5 stars
10/14/04 Desperado Insamely funny, an instant classic, Will Ferrell is a genious 5 stars
10/13/04 Crystalina absolutely loved it!! 5 stars
9/24/04 Jakerh "Im trapped inside a glass box a emotion!" I love it! The funniest film of 2004! Must see! 5 stars
9/23/04 Jenna Furr "San Diego" means "Whale's Vagina" In German -- a new low in DUMB movie lines! 1 stars
9/21/04 Amanda The best film I've seen all year and the quotes are unreal!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/11/04 Alexis Winters Steve Carrell is by far the funniest thing in this film, he's brilliant. That and the Fight 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff very few funny parts, lame jokes. 2 stars
9/10/04 zach this is the funniest film i have seen in years, an istant classic. 5 stars
9/06/04 cindy s. I'm a huge fan of silly movies, but I wanted to walk out of Anchorman. It was no Old School 2 stars
8/27/04 M Funny as!!!!! must see, refreshing comedy! 4 stars
8/26/04 S.F. Laughed and laughed then laughed some more. like the almost West side storyish rumble. 5 stars
8/06/04 em it was hilarious. 5 stars
8/05/04 Mix Master Mason Brilliant, genius, bravo. Paul Rudd steals the show. 5 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues i love vince vaughn! hes adorable!!!!! 5 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton laughed the entire way through, awesome 5 stars
7/28/04 doc just saw it for the 2nd time--funnier than the 1st 5 stars
7/26/04 bullit16 Very stupid, but very VERY funny 4 stars
7/26/04 Titus Uh . . . this wasn't funny. This was painful. 2 stars
7/26/04 your mama very funny movie 4 stars
7/24/04 JL Very Funny!! 5 stars
7/24/04 T.M.G Just hilarious. Plain and simple. There was a void of good comedy and this filled it. 5 stars
7/23/04 Jim Too much improv made the dialogue stilted and awkward 2 stars
7/23/04 gemma really funny!! i loved brick and ron!! 5 stars
7/22/04 Gibson Hilarious, much better than Dodgeball 5 stars
7/22/04 Evan Hilarity throughout. Everything is so random but so well-timed; they don't need punchlines! 5 stars
7/21/04 Robby1 Only stupid people think this movie is funny, it's true, I've done a survey 2 stars
7/21/04 Lauren BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN A LONG TIME... Never laughed so hard at a movie in my life!!! A+++ 5 stars
7/21/04 Sophia this movie was so random...I LOVED IT!!! hey uhhh brick, where'd you get that hand granade? 5 stars
7/20/04 nick2k fucking hilarious...stupid...BUT SOOOO FUNNY! 5 stars
7/20/04 Llicious Oh my God! This movie was too much perfection! Thank you Will Farrell! 5 stars
7/18/04 Onyeabo Monago Wasn't feelin' this movie - perhaps because I'm not a child of the 70's? 2 stars
7/17/04 Mike Hennings This stinker sucks. Will Farrell never has been funny and never will be. 1 stars
7/17/04 Fred I wasted 2 hours of my life watching it. 2 stars
7/17/04 bobo Great drafty open window! This is a good film. 5 stars
7/16/04 Amerigo Vespukey Will Ferrell is only funny on ATHF. This movie is shit. Save $8. Hit self in head w/ hammer 1 stars
7/15/04 communarchy i have never laughed that hard in my life 5 stars
7/15/04 josh very funny 4 stars
7/15/04 Crockettman Bad Hair, bad clothes, cheesey chiche's and a porn soundtrack. SWEET ! 5 stars
7/14/04 Caiphn Whoever didn't enjoy this is 'retarded'. Shame on you. 5 stars
7/14/04 Desperado Will Ferrell is a genious, and Steve Carell is hilarious, Brick is non stop funny 5 stars
7/14/04 jane will farrell is god...and you know he doesn't speak spanish. 5 stars
7/13/04 zf very very funny. Brick was awesome. 5 stars
7/13/04 Bigfoot Anyone who didn't like this movie smells like Bigfoot's dick. 5 stars
7/12/04 Mike V Hilarious! The script is a mess but I laughed like crazy. 4 stars
7/12/04 Nicole It was alright, but I expected laugh more 3 stars
7/12/04 Vicious I love Steve Carrel 5 stars
7/12/04 George Jung "Go fuck yourself San Diego!" 4 stars
7/12/04 cinkcool Good comedy...the prank phone call/tits magee bit was hilarious 5 stars
7/12/04 Farrah I think this film was great,very funny, i love Will ferrell and everyone else in this movie 5 stars
7/11/04 Sean Mediocrely funny. 3 stars
7/11/04 Lindsay Less than stellar 3 stars
7/11/04 ajay very very funny, I was walking out of the theater laughing! 5 stars
7/10/04 Danny The BEST Will Ferrell comedy I've seen since his 'cowbell' sketch on SNL 5 stars
7/10/04 Aaron Horrible! Enough to appeal to the dimwittedness of society 1 stars
7/10/04 Jeff Semlow The funniest movie I've seen in a long long time. 5 stars
7/03/04 Mike Cecconi Though I don't usually like Ferrel, one of the best dumb-funny movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 28-Dec-2004

UK
  10-Sep-2004 (12)

Australia
  21-Oct-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast