More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome45.13%
Worth A Look: 33.33%
Average: 3.08%
Pretty Bad: 6.67%
Total Crap: 11.79%

11 reviews, 129 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Peter Sobczynski

Boxtrolls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Man From Reno by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"The very nature of its silly randomness is what makes it so damn funny"
4 stars

Will Ferrell's particular brand of shtick has always been hit and miss with me. While his turn in JAY AND SILENT BOB STRIKE BACK, or the famous Saturday Night Live "Cowbell" sketch are classics, sometimes his routine gets old and stale far too quickly. However, with ANCHORMAN, Ferrell is at the top of his game, giving us a character who is utterly shallow, silly, and vainglorious, yet completely likable.

Ferrell is the titular Ron Burgundy, a 1970's era San-Diego based newscaster who is in the top of the ratings and is loving every minute of being a carefree and swinging bachelor. He meets his match, however, in the sexy and independent Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate), who has aspirations of being the first female anchorman . . . woman . . . person. . . whatever. Ron should be nervous, since she's actually better at it than he is, but when he discovers that he is madly in love with her (or at least with her hiney), the fact that she's after his job becomes an acute thorn in his side.

Meanwhile, accompanied by his newsroom lackeys, Burgundy and crew must contend with public scandal and back-alley brawls with news crews from competing stations (led by the likes of Vince Vaghuan, Ben Stiller, Luke Wilson, and Tim Robbins in some pretty-damn-funny cameos). Picture a bunch of newsmen with wide ties and fat lapels and really ugly sports coats having it out with all manner of melee weapons, and you get the idea.

Not every joke in Anchorman is a winner - one can almost hear the crickets in a few scenes, and the entire affair begins to unravel completely into the realm of utter absurdity as it nears the 90 minute mark. But when Anchorman hits, it hits big. I'm talking battleship broadside salvos big, with plenty of scenes that will leave you laughing for days afterward. The writing could have been a bit edgier at times, and Burgundy's character has a bit too much of a nice-guy complex (despite his utterly shallow and usually self-serving nature) when a more acerbic asshole was required. Most of the jokes, however, whether situation or character-derived, are hysterically funny.

ANCHORMAN is sure to be a wellspring of catch phrases and quotable dialogue for years to come, and its absolute randomness is the heart of its comedic brilliance. While it can't quite sustain that brilliance through to the end, it goes the distance for long enough to keep that chuklemeter bouncing into the red.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10198&reviewer=258
originally posted: 07/13/04 14:04:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/05/11 Pamela White Will is just annoying and obnoxious 1 stars
5/09/10 PAUL SHORTT LOUD, UGLY, CRASS COMEDY 1 stars
1/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Comedy about a time when local newsmen were gods. 5 stars
9/28/08 Samantha Pruitt really funny, great one-liners , Will Ferrell is still a one trick pony 4 stars
7/26/08 Erik Visser It was okay, Christina Applegate is hot! 3 stars
3/03/08 ladavies This movie makes me laugh everytime I see it. Love all of the characters. 5 stars
1/12/08 Pamela White Will is just awful 1 stars
6/28/07 gr117 I'm gonna punch you in the ovary. /quote whore 5 stars
5/31/07 umfumdisi "Would you like to attend my pants party?" 5 stars
4/11/07 Dan Absurdity at its finest. One of the funniest movies that I've ever watched. 5 stars
2/22/07 Beau seriously overrated, had its moments but nothing special!! 2 stars
2/05/07 R.W.Welch Slow at first but picks up some flair as it goes. C+ 3 stars
1/31/07 Albert Stone One of my favourite movies - a laugh riot throughout. Excellent. 5 stars
8/28/06 Dan Excellent comedy! The entire cast was inspired. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Full of dumb@$$ 1-liners, annoyingly stupid characters& piontlessly vomit-inducing sex gags 1 stars
3/19/06 CJ Funny and great one-liners 5 stars
2/16/06 Phil M. Aficionado Stupid, stupid, stupid good 4 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead The best comedy ever!!!!! 5 stars
11/17/05 Jenna Catlett Woo Hoo Anchorman! 4 stars
11/04/05 Steve Bell It Is Crap 1 stars
10/28/05 Shannon Andrew Fountain LOUD NOISES! 5 stars
10/19/05 michele et francoise anchorman rocks... you ate the whole wheel of cheese? wow, im not even mad, im amazed! 5 stars
10/13/05 Agent Sands It's another dumb teen comedy, but goddammit is it fucking hilarious. 4 stars
9/25/05 BC Anyone who doesn't like this movie is an idiot! 5 stars
8/26/05 EZ Applegate sucks, no story and not funny 1 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G "mmmm, I just burnt my tounge" haha I laughed for days 5 stars
8/23/05 Dan "Where'd you get your clothes, the toilet store?" -Brick Tamland 5 stars
8/18/05 ES Ferrel is held up by a super strong supporting cast, so many funny parts 4 stars
8/15/05 Bad Critic "Sorry Chamo, but I think I ate your chocolate Squirell." 5 stars
8/12/05 Sully ferrell is flat out funny and Carell is a scene stealer!!!! 5 stars
8/05/05 flamb_boy Can we possibly move past locker room humor? 2 stars
7/30/05 Rillie Painful to sit through. 1 stars
7/04/05 beardy i wank over this film. 5 stars
7/03/05 Vic Pretty ordinary wouldnt waste my time..Willl FERREL's day was over before it begun 1 stars
6/15/05 Robert WTF is going on with this movie? It blows a huge dick! 1 stars
6/08/05 Valerie G. Pretty good, and funny too! 4 stars
5/29/05 katana_6506 Possibly the most unfunny movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
5/27/05 tony HILARIOUS. A KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/26/05 Dan "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! LMAO YEAH IT IS CHARLIE 5 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK I'm officially sick of Will Ferrell. Just watch the trailer and be done with it. 2 stars
4/04/05 Charlie "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! 5 stars
4/02/05 Tom Benton Silly, hilarious comedy vaguely reminescent of the "Naked Gun"-era; Ferrell is great. 4 stars
3/29/05 craig varney worst movie i've seen in 20 years couldn't wait for it to end 1 stars
3/27/05 ELI I completely recommend this movie!... unless you have a sense of humor. Hate this movie. 1 stars
3/18/05 Sheila maybe funny for a skit, but not a movie 2 stars
3/10/05 garrett ogren movie is awsome 5 stars
2/26/05 jabroniunc will farrell is funny; steve carrell is better 5 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Hilarious movie. Mo Rocca is great in this film 5 stars
2/05/05 LilyM Many jokes miss but when they hit, they hit hard. 4 stars
2/05/05 youreo Eeither you love him or you hate him. He is very funny and entertaining even in this movie 4 stars
2/03/05 haha This movie is fucking hilarious, pulls out a grenade and shit ha! 5 stars
2/01/05 Christy Harris Way too slapstick, I can take a little, this one is too much 2 stars
1/22/05 Allen fuckin halarious 5 stars
1/14/05 Dan LMAO. 5 stars
1/08/05 Al Guy I love this movie. Heart busting funny! 5 stars
1/08/05 tatum An extended SNL skit, but funny none the less 5 stars
1/02/05 The Talking Elbow Well, some people don't have a sense of humor, so it won't click. 5 stars
1/02/05 Landshark hijinks without a net, or even a particular target 4 stars
1/02/05 Freddy very few laughs here. why do these ferrel movies keep getting such high ratings? they suck! 2 stars
1/01/05 Uncle Salty Rates up (down) there with the Nutty Professor 2, and I'm a Ferrel fan! 1 stars
1/01/05 Da Streetz Dis moovey is teh suxors 1 stars
12/30/04 Katie Evridge it was ok. It did not appeal to my sense of humor. 3 stars
12/05/04 da hood' ohh! ohh! ohhhhhhh! the worst movie ive ever seen, HANDS FUCKING DOWN! AAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! 1 stars
11/19/04 Stacey K The best movie, ever! 5 stars
11/11/04 Johny Longprong If you dont watch it, your fucked in the head 5 stars
11/11/04 Howie Maybe the greatest movie of all time 5 stars
11/08/04 Beto O filme ť muito bom, fazem um pastel„o inteligente 5 stars
10/27/04 Hilary Adamson What's wrong you reviewers? This makes WHITE CHICKS look like CITIZEN KANE! (btw I'm white) 1 stars
10/23/04 Kathy ter Plugg Cameo herein 2nd only to marrying Susan Sirhandon as dumbest thing Tim Robbins ever did. 1 stars
10/22/04 Hilary Adamson How EricDSnider can like this? A film of Mother Teresa farting would be more funny! 1 stars
10/22/04 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident How many kinds od dumb comedy are there and how many ways can they clash with each other? 1 stars
10/20/04 Stephen Excellent, sooooo funny 5 stars
10/15/04 simba funniest movie i seen in a long time 5 stars
10/14/04 Desperado Insamely funny, an instant classic, Will Ferrell is a genious 5 stars
10/13/04 Crystalina absolutely loved it!! 5 stars
9/24/04 Jakerh "Im trapped inside a glass box a emotion!" I love it! The funniest film of 2004! Must see! 5 stars
9/23/04 Jenna Furr "San Diego" means "Whale's Vagina" In German -- a new low in DUMB movie lines! 1 stars
9/21/04 Amanda The best film I've seen all year and the quotes are unreal!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/11/04 Alexis Winters Steve Carrell is by far the funniest thing in this film, he's brilliant. That and the Fight 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff very few funny parts, lame jokes. 2 stars
9/10/04 zach this is the funniest film i have seen in years, an istant classic. 5 stars
9/06/04 cindy s. I'm a huge fan of silly movies, but I wanted to walk out of Anchorman. It was no Old School 2 stars
8/27/04 M Funny as!!!!! must see, refreshing comedy! 4 stars
8/26/04 S.F. Laughed and laughed then laughed some more. like the almost West side storyish rumble. 5 stars
8/06/04 em it was hilarious. 5 stars
8/05/04 Mix Master Mason Brilliant, genius, bravo. Paul Rudd steals the show. 5 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues i love vince vaughn! hes adorable!!!!! 5 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton laughed the entire way through, awesome 5 stars
7/28/04 doc just saw it for the 2nd time--funnier than the 1st 5 stars
7/26/04 bullit16 Very stupid, but very VERY funny 4 stars
7/26/04 Titus Uh . . . this wasn't funny. This was painful. 2 stars
7/26/04 your mama very funny movie 4 stars
7/24/04 JL Very Funny!! 5 stars
7/24/04 T.M.G Just hilarious. Plain and simple. There was a void of good comedy and this filled it. 5 stars
7/23/04 Jim Too much improv made the dialogue stilted and awkward 2 stars
7/23/04 gemma really funny!! i loved brick and ron!! 5 stars
7/22/04 Gibson Hilarious, much better than Dodgeball 5 stars
7/22/04 Evan Hilarity throughout. Everything is so random but so well-timed; they don't need punchlines! 5 stars
7/21/04 Robby1 Only stupid people think this movie is funny, it's true, I've done a survey 2 stars
7/21/04 Lauren BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN A LONG TIME... Never laughed so hard at a movie in my life!!! A+++ 5 stars
7/21/04 Sophia this movie was so random...I LOVED IT!!! hey uhhh brick, where'd you get that hand granade? 5 stars
7/20/04 nick2k fucking hilarious...stupid...BUT SOOOO FUNNY! 5 stars
7/20/04 Llicious Oh my God! This movie was too much perfection! Thank you Will Farrell! 5 stars
7/18/04 Onyeabo Monago Wasn't feelin' this movie - perhaps because I'm not a child of the 70's? 2 stars
7/17/04 Mike Hennings This stinker sucks. Will Farrell never has been funny and never will be. 1 stars
7/17/04 Fred I wasted 2 hours of my life watching it. 2 stars
7/17/04 bobo Great drafty open window! This is a good film. 5 stars
7/16/04 Amerigo Vespukey Will Ferrell is only funny on ATHF. This movie is shit. Save $8. Hit self in head w/ hammer 1 stars
7/15/04 communarchy i have never laughed that hard in my life 5 stars
7/15/04 josh very funny 4 stars
7/15/04 Crockettman Bad Hair, bad clothes, cheesey chiche's and a porn soundtrack. SWEET ! 5 stars
7/14/04 Caiphn Whoever didn't enjoy this is 'retarded'. Shame on you. 5 stars
7/14/04 Desperado Will Ferrell is a genious, and Steve Carell is hilarious, Brick is non stop funny 5 stars
7/14/04 jane will farrell is god...and you know he doesn't speak spanish. 5 stars
7/13/04 zf very very funny. Brick was awesome. 5 stars
7/13/04 Bigfoot Anyone who didn't like this movie smells like Bigfoot's dick. 5 stars
7/12/04 Mike V Hilarious! The script is a mess but I laughed like crazy. 4 stars
7/12/04 Nicole It was alright, but I expected laugh more 3 stars
7/12/04 Vicious I love Steve Carrel 5 stars
7/12/04 George Jung "Go fuck yourself San Diego!" 4 stars
7/12/04 cinkcool Good comedy...the prank phone call/tits magee bit was hilarious 5 stars
7/12/04 Farrah I think this film was great,very funny, i love Will ferrell and everyone else in this movie 5 stars
7/11/04 Sean Mediocrely funny. 3 stars
7/11/04 Lindsay Less than stellar 3 stars
7/11/04 ajay very very funny, I was walking out of the theater laughing! 5 stars
7/10/04 Danny The BEST Will Ferrell comedy I've seen since his 'cowbell' sketch on SNL 5 stars
7/10/04 Aaron Horrible! Enough to appeal to the dimwittedness of society 1 stars
7/10/04 Jeff Semlow The funniest movie I've seen in a long long time. 5 stars
7/03/04 Mike Cecconi Though I don't usually like Ferrel, one of the best dumb-funny movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 28-Dec-2004

UK
  10-Sep-2004 (12)

Australia
  21-Oct-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast