More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome45.13%
Worth A Look: 33.33%
Average: 3.08%
Pretty Bad: 6.67%
Total Crap: 11.79%

11 reviews, 129 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Most Wanted Man, A by Jay Seaver

Let Us Prey by Jay Seaver

Puzzle (2014) by Jay Seaver

Heavenly Sword by Jay Seaver

Haunt by Charles Tatum

Expendables 3, The by Daniel Kelly

Zero Theorem, The by Jay Seaver

Zombie TV by Jay Seaver

Suburban Gothic by Jay Seaver

Admiral: Roaring Currents, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Amiably daft Ferrell vehicle."
4 stars

The best comedies tend to happen when an inspired comedian takes pen to paper and follows an obsession. Steve Martin did it with 'L.A. Story,' Dan Aykroyd with 'Ghostbusters,' and Mike Myers with 'Austin Powers.' These films feel as if they needed to happen -- as though they'd been nagging their creators for years, from the moment Aykroyd first got interested in the paranormal or Myers saw his first Carnaby Street movie.

Will Farrell must have fond memories of the blowhard news anchormen he saw in his childhood, because he and director Adam McKay have crafted an affectionate backhanded tribute to deluded '70s machismo in Anchorman -- a movie generally without the delirious comic heights of the aforementioned classics, but still a detailed and bizarrely specific portrait.

Ron Burgundy (Ferrell), an awesomely self-satisfied San Diego anchor, seems to have been born just at the right time to enjoy what's left of white male privilege in the '70s (his coif and mustache certainly wouldn't fly in any other decade). He lives the life of a swinger and a rock star, lovingly tended by his news team (ladies' man Paul Rudd, crude hee-hawing David Koechner, and serenely oblivious Steve Carell). Yet this alpha male is also a lonely man, with only his beloved dog Baxter warming the other side of his bed. Like Austin Powers, Ron talks the ladykiller talk far better than he walks the walk. His life is disrupted, for better and worse, when the ambitious Veronica Corningstone (Christina Applegate) arrives at Ron's news station with an eye on the co-anchor position. Ron has other positions in mind.

Some of Anchorman is the kind of giddy, nonsensical stuff that can only emerge from a genuinely deranged comic brain. The Daily Show's Steve Carell, who scored the biggest laughs in Bruce Almighty, scores again here with each cheerfully surreal statement. There's a street rumble between several competing news teams that seems to be there just to show off a bunch of cameos, some of which haven't been spoiled in the trailer -- the only one conspicuously missing here is Owen Wilson. And there's another first-rate cameo in a scene wherein poor Baxter is endangered. I wished for a bit more comic lunacy, though. When it's established that Ron will read anything that appears on his TelePrompTer, the movie doesn't do nearly enough with that premise -- Mike Myers would've taken that and run giggling with it.

Still, it's an affable enough comedy (though not quite the side-splitter some Internet critics are hyping it as), with a well-judged soundtrack of '70s chestnuts -- the news team's impromptu rendition of "Afternoon Delight" is the best use of that inanely libidinous ditty I've seen since The Rules of Attraction. Will Farrell steps firmly into the so-retro-they're-stylin' shoes of Ron Burgundy, selling the character with a kind of manic throwback integrity. Ron doesn't know how foolish he is, and that's the joke, but Ferrell also gives him an added consciousness -- somehow, Ron senses, there must be more to life than pool parties and high ratings. "This is the same party we've had for the last ten years! Which is in no way depressing!" laughs Ron over a Scotch. In some corner of his mind, Ron is ready for his own era to end; he's ready for the Veronica Corningstones to come in and share the party. So is Veronica, played by Christina Applegate with the same hey-I-didn't-peak-in-the-'90s avidity she showed in The Sweetest Thing. Ferrell, in handing her a major role in what's sure to be a summer hit, proves a keen judge of undertapped talent.

There's no real way to tell if this is true or just the sportive cast and crew putting us on, but one of the more interesting factoids bandied about in the 'Anchorman' press junkets is that so much material was filmed that they've got enough footage for an entire second movie just from the outtakes. (This would explain why so much of what's in the trailer isn't in the movie.) The plan, they say, is to put out a 2-disc DVD with this "second movie," 'Wake Up, Ron Burgundy,' included as an extra. Maybe Owen Wilson will show up there.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10198&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/30/06 12:20:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/05/11 Pamela White Will is just annoying and obnoxious 1 stars
5/09/10 PAUL SHORTT LOUD, UGLY, CRASS COMEDY 1 stars
1/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Comedy about a time when local newsmen were gods. 5 stars
9/28/08 Samantha Pruitt really funny, great one-liners , Will Ferrell is still a one trick pony 4 stars
7/26/08 Erik Visser It was okay, Christina Applegate is hot! 3 stars
3/03/08 ladavies This movie makes me laugh everytime I see it. Love all of the characters. 5 stars
1/12/08 Pamela White Will is just awful 1 stars
6/28/07 gr117 I'm gonna punch you in the ovary. /quote whore 5 stars
5/31/07 umfumdisi "Would you like to attend my pants party?" 5 stars
4/11/07 Dan Absurdity at its finest. One of the funniest movies that I've ever watched. 5 stars
2/22/07 Beau seriously overrated, had its moments but nothing special!! 2 stars
2/05/07 R.W.Welch Slow at first but picks up some flair as it goes. C+ 3 stars
1/31/07 Albert Stone One of my favourite movies - a laugh riot throughout. Excellent. 5 stars
8/28/06 Dan Excellent comedy! The entire cast was inspired. 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Full of dumb@$$ 1-liners, annoyingly stupid characters& piontlessly vomit-inducing sex gags 1 stars
3/19/06 CJ Funny and great one-liners 5 stars
2/16/06 Phil M. Aficionado Stupid, stupid, stupid good 4 stars
1/22/06 Crackhead The best comedy ever!!!!! 5 stars
11/17/05 Jenna Catlett Woo Hoo Anchorman! 4 stars
11/04/05 Steve Bell It Is Crap 1 stars
10/28/05 Shannon Andrew Fountain LOUD NOISES! 5 stars
10/19/05 michele et francoise anchorman rocks... you ate the whole wheel of cheese? wow, im not even mad, im amazed! 5 stars
10/13/05 Agent Sands It's another dumb teen comedy, but goddammit is it fucking hilarious. 4 stars
9/25/05 BC Anyone who doesn't like this movie is an idiot! 5 stars
8/26/05 EZ Applegate sucks, no story and not funny 1 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G "mmmm, I just burnt my tounge" haha I laughed for days 5 stars
8/23/05 Dan "Where'd you get your clothes, the toilet store?" -Brick Tamland 5 stars
8/18/05 ES Ferrel is held up by a super strong supporting cast, so many funny parts 4 stars
8/15/05 Bad Critic "Sorry Chamo, but I think I ate your chocolate Squirell." 5 stars
8/12/05 Sully ferrell is flat out funny and Carell is a scene stealer!!!! 5 stars
8/05/05 flamb_boy Can we possibly move past locker room humor? 2 stars
7/30/05 Rillie Painful to sit through. 1 stars
7/04/05 beardy i wank over this film. 5 stars
7/03/05 Vic Pretty ordinary wouldnt waste my time..Willl FERREL's day was over before it begun 1 stars
6/15/05 Robert WTF is going on with this movie? It blows a huge dick! 1 stars
6/08/05 Valerie G. Pretty good, and funny too! 4 stars
5/29/05 katana_6506 Possibly the most unfunny movie I've ever seen. 1 stars
5/27/05 tony HILARIOUS. A KEEPER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/26/05 Dan "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! LMAO YEAH IT IS CHARLIE 5 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK I'm officially sick of Will Ferrell. Just watch the trailer and be done with it. 2 stars
4/04/05 Charlie "Where did you get your suits... the toilet shop?" Hilarious line! 5 stars
4/02/05 Tom Benton Silly, hilarious comedy vaguely reminescent of the "Naked Gun"-era; Ferrell is great. 4 stars
3/29/05 craig varney worst movie i've seen in 20 years couldn't wait for it to end 1 stars
3/27/05 ELI I completely recommend this movie!... unless you have a sense of humor. Hate this movie. 1 stars
3/18/05 Sheila maybe funny for a skit, but not a movie 2 stars
3/10/05 garrett ogren movie is awsome 5 stars
2/26/05 jabroniunc will farrell is funny; steve carrell is better 5 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Hilarious movie. Mo Rocca is great in this film 5 stars
2/05/05 LilyM Many jokes miss but when they hit, they hit hard. 4 stars
2/05/05 youreo Eeither you love him or you hate him. He is very funny and entertaining even in this movie 4 stars
2/03/05 haha This movie is fucking hilarious, pulls out a grenade and shit ha! 5 stars
2/01/05 Christy Harris Way too slapstick, I can take a little, this one is too much 2 stars
1/22/05 Allen fuckin halarious 5 stars
1/14/05 Dan LMAO. 5 stars
1/08/05 Al Guy I love this movie. Heart busting funny! 5 stars
1/08/05 tatum An extended SNL skit, but funny none the less 5 stars
1/02/05 The Talking Elbow Well, some people don't have a sense of humor, so it won't click. 5 stars
1/02/05 Landshark hijinks without a net, or even a particular target 4 stars
1/02/05 Freddy very few laughs here. why do these ferrel movies keep getting such high ratings? they suck! 2 stars
1/01/05 Uncle Salty Rates up (down) there with the Nutty Professor 2, and I'm a Ferrel fan! 1 stars
1/01/05 Da Streetz Dis moovey is teh suxors 1 stars
12/30/04 Katie Evridge it was ok. It did not appeal to my sense of humor. 3 stars
12/05/04 da hood' ohh! ohh! ohhhhhhh! the worst movie ive ever seen, HANDS FUCKING DOWN! AAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! 1 stars
11/19/04 Stacey K The best movie, ever! 5 stars
11/11/04 Johny Longprong If you dont watch it, your fucked in the head 5 stars
11/11/04 Howie Maybe the greatest movie of all time 5 stars
11/08/04 Beto O filme ť muito bom, fazem um pastel„o inteligente 5 stars
10/27/04 Hilary Adamson What's wrong you reviewers? This makes WHITE CHICKS look like CITIZEN KANE! (btw I'm white) 1 stars
10/23/04 Kathy ter Plugg Cameo herein 2nd only to marrying Susan Sirhandon as dumbest thing Tim Robbins ever did. 1 stars
10/22/04 Hilary Adamson How EricDSnider can like this? A film of Mother Teresa farting would be more funny! 1 stars
10/22/04 Regina George didn't really survive the school bus accident How many kinds od dumb comedy are there and how many ways can they clash with each other? 1 stars
10/20/04 Stephen Excellent, sooooo funny 5 stars
10/15/04 simba funniest movie i seen in a long time 5 stars
10/14/04 Desperado Insamely funny, an instant classic, Will Ferrell is a genious 5 stars
10/13/04 Crystalina absolutely loved it!! 5 stars
9/24/04 Jakerh "Im trapped inside a glass box a emotion!" I love it! The funniest film of 2004! Must see! 5 stars
9/23/04 Jenna Furr "San Diego" means "Whale's Vagina" In German -- a new low in DUMB movie lines! 1 stars
9/21/04 Amanda The best film I've seen all year and the quotes are unreal!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/11/04 Alexis Winters Steve Carrell is by far the funniest thing in this film, he's brilliant. That and the Fight 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff very few funny parts, lame jokes. 2 stars
9/10/04 zach this is the funniest film i have seen in years, an istant classic. 5 stars
9/06/04 cindy s. I'm a huge fan of silly movies, but I wanted to walk out of Anchorman. It was no Old School 2 stars
8/27/04 M Funny as!!!!! must see, refreshing comedy! 4 stars
8/26/04 S.F. Laughed and laughed then laughed some more. like the almost West side storyish rumble. 5 stars
8/06/04 em it was hilarious. 5 stars
8/05/04 Mix Master Mason Brilliant, genius, bravo. Paul Rudd steals the show. 5 stars
8/03/04 Kitina Blues i love vince vaughn! hes adorable!!!!! 5 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton laughed the entire way through, awesome 5 stars
7/28/04 doc just saw it for the 2nd time--funnier than the 1st 5 stars
7/26/04 bullit16 Very stupid, but very VERY funny 4 stars
7/26/04 Titus Uh . . . this wasn't funny. This was painful. 2 stars
7/26/04 your mama very funny movie 4 stars
7/24/04 JL Very Funny!! 5 stars
7/24/04 T.M.G Just hilarious. Plain and simple. There was a void of good comedy and this filled it. 5 stars
7/23/04 Jim Too much improv made the dialogue stilted and awkward 2 stars
7/23/04 gemma really funny!! i loved brick and ron!! 5 stars
7/22/04 Gibson Hilarious, much better than Dodgeball 5 stars
7/22/04 Evan Hilarity throughout. Everything is so random but so well-timed; they don't need punchlines! 5 stars
7/21/04 Robby1 Only stupid people think this movie is funny, it's true, I've done a survey 2 stars
7/21/04 Lauren BEST MOVIE I'VE SEEN IN A LONG TIME... Never laughed so hard at a movie in my life!!! A+++ 5 stars
7/21/04 Sophia this movie was so random...I LOVED IT!!! hey uhhh brick, where'd you get that hand granade? 5 stars
7/20/04 nick2k fucking hilarious...stupid...BUT SOOOO FUNNY! 5 stars
7/20/04 Llicious Oh my God! This movie was too much perfection! Thank you Will Farrell! 5 stars
7/18/04 Onyeabo Monago Wasn't feelin' this movie - perhaps because I'm not a child of the 70's? 2 stars
7/17/04 Mike Hennings This stinker sucks. Will Farrell never has been funny and never will be. 1 stars
7/17/04 Fred I wasted 2 hours of my life watching it. 2 stars
7/17/04 bobo Great drafty open window! This is a good film. 5 stars
7/16/04 Amerigo Vespukey Will Ferrell is only funny on ATHF. This movie is shit. Save $8. Hit self in head w/ hammer 1 stars
7/15/04 communarchy i have never laughed that hard in my life 5 stars
7/15/04 josh very funny 4 stars
7/15/04 Crockettman Bad Hair, bad clothes, cheesey chiche's and a porn soundtrack. SWEET ! 5 stars
7/14/04 Caiphn Whoever didn't enjoy this is 'retarded'. Shame on you. 5 stars
7/14/04 Desperado Will Ferrell is a genious, and Steve Carell is hilarious, Brick is non stop funny 5 stars
7/14/04 jane will farrell is god...and you know he doesn't speak spanish. 5 stars
7/13/04 zf very very funny. Brick was awesome. 5 stars
7/13/04 Bigfoot Anyone who didn't like this movie smells like Bigfoot's dick. 5 stars
7/12/04 Mike V Hilarious! The script is a mess but I laughed like crazy. 4 stars
7/12/04 Nicole It was alright, but I expected laugh more 3 stars
7/12/04 Vicious I love Steve Carrel 5 stars
7/12/04 George Jung "Go fuck yourself San Diego!" 4 stars
7/12/04 cinkcool Good comedy...the prank phone call/tits magee bit was hilarious 5 stars
7/12/04 Farrah I think this film was great,very funny, i love Will ferrell and everyone else in this movie 5 stars
7/11/04 Sean Mediocrely funny. 3 stars
7/11/04 Lindsay Less than stellar 3 stars
7/11/04 ajay very very funny, I was walking out of the theater laughing! 5 stars
7/10/04 Danny The BEST Will Ferrell comedy I've seen since his 'cowbell' sketch on SNL 5 stars
7/10/04 Aaron Horrible! Enough to appeal to the dimwittedness of society 1 stars
7/10/04 Jeff Semlow The funniest movie I've seen in a long long time. 5 stars
7/03/04 Mike Cecconi Though I don't usually like Ferrel, one of the best dumb-funny movies I've ever seen. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 28-Dec-2004

UK
  10-Sep-2004 (12)

Australia
  21-Oct-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast