More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome61.25%
Worth A Look: 27.5%
Average: 2.5%
Pretty Bad: 3.75%
Total Crap: 5%

1 review, 74 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Half Baked
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"This is your brain making you laugh your ass off on drugs - any questions?"
4 stars

Dave Chapelle is a comedic genius, as anyone who's seen the first two seasons of CHAPELLE'S SHOW on Comedy Central can attest. He's also a notorious stoner, which gives him an instant built-in audience. His earlier (and most popular) endeavour, HALF BAKED, is the quintessential stoner celluloid anthem. And while it's pretty funny even sober (despite some dips into gross stupidity), it's gasping-for-air funny after two or three hits of some good hydro-grown chronic (or maybe I just hit the pipe too hard).

Chapelle plays Thurgood Jenkins, a part-time janitor and full-time stoner who shares his apartment with his three buddies. They are played by Chapelle's fellow comedian (and stoner) Jim Bruer, as well as the hilarious Guillermo Diaz and slightly out-of-place Harland Williams (Bruer and Diaz have reprised their roles a few times in guest appearances on Chapelle's Show). Oh, and they also share their apartment with "The Guy on the Couch" (Stephen Wright), although where he came from is unclear even to them.

When one of the buddies accidentally kills a diabetic police horse by feeding it junk food, and is then thrown in jail for "Killing a police officer", the other three decide to start selling weed in order to bail him out, before his anal virginity is plucked like a budding orchid by some 6-foot tall musclebound inmate. The only problem is, they don't know where to get enough weed to sell - until Jenkins stumbles upon a lab in the building where he works, one that specializes in government marijuana research and has bricks upon bricks of the stuff laying about.

Using pilfered requisition forms, they check out obscene amounts of weed and start selling it all over New York. But things get complicated when Thurgood meets the sexy (and ironically named) Mary Jane Potman (Rachel True), who hates stoners and drug dealers because her miscreant dad was one of them. And of course the boys will end up getting into trouble with both the cops and a rival drug dealer (and his gang of female ninja porn-star types) before all is said and done.

Is it silly? of course. Is it far fetched and lacking a shred of "real-life" believability? Well duh, it's made by stoners and for stoners! (Chapelle should start his own clothing line - FSBS). But is it funny? It's fucking hilarious, son! (Until the weed starts wearing off, at which point it's just pretty amusing). But the plot is incidental, since the whole thing is just one big long running stoner in-joke (although non-stoners will probably find some amusement in it). The writing schizophrenically vacillates between clever and borderline-retarded, but when all is said and done it's quite possibly one of the best stoner comedies ever made, easily on par with the works of Cheech and Chong. It also gets a nice boost from some amusing celebrity cameos, which include Jon Stewart, Janine Garafalo, Willie Nelson, and of course, Snoop Dogg. But the real kicker? Bob Saget, talking about how he used to "Suck dick for Coke". Not only is it one of the funniest lines in the movie, but it almost makes me recant every nasty thing I ever said about him and his bland and watered down approach to humor on that inane "Most unfunny, annoying, and poorly-staged Home Videos" series.

The joys of this movie are like the joys of getting high. You either get it, or you don't. Sure, it gets a bit played out at the end, even at a scant 82 minute running time (which is about when the weed starts to wear off, coincidentally). But Chapelle's comedic leading-man charisma, a mostly solid supporting cast, and a plethora of witty bong jokes, make HALF BAKED a stoner's movie collection essential.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=102&reviewer=258
originally posted: 04/20/04 10:55:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/30/09 Dan C over 10 years later and its still funny!!!! 5 stars
8/30/09 bro funny shit LOL 5 stars
8/17/08 Razzo Rizzo Bloody hilarious 5 stars
5/10/08 www.diaryofastoner.com great film 5 stars
3/04/08 JM Synth Some good jokes, but more lame ones and it's a LONG 82 minutes. Esoteric, shall we say? 2 stars
5/18/07 Smiler Brilliant, "there is man in the bush, does he have a gun? i dont know man.Red team go! 5 stars
1/15/07 The guy Does anybody know the list of food they names off before he goes to the store 5 stars
1/09/07 Some guy The movie was shit. 5 stars. 5 stars
11/22/06 DarkEnchantress this was one of the best comdies ever! Stoner's unite! 5 stars
1/02/06 Wiseman hahahaahahaahahahaahaahahaah!!...need i say more? 5 stars
9/15/05 matt never gets old 5 stars
8/15/05 Tomten This movies is the nr 1 classic stoner movie 5 stars
7/28/05 pngn080 funny as fuck 5 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers The funniest movie EVER...I dont care who you are! This movie is great! 5 stars
5/15/05 Joe Hilarious! So lets get STONED! 5 stars
5/10/05 Vince Cool stoner flick. "I think you've smoked yourself retarded" 4 stars
2/12/05 Mike dats dope 5 stars
2/12/05 Luke This movie never gets old, ever...seen it about 40 times and plan on many more.. 5 stars
2/10/05 Jeff Anderson A HYSTERICALLY FUNNY FILM WORTHY OF IT'S NAME! It knows it's dumb, but doesn't mind at all! 5 stars
12/10/04 Jason Kaul Not since Cheech and Chong has anyone made a stoner flick as good as this. Very Funny!! 4 stars
11/22/04 Crystal LOVE IT 5 stars
11/01/04 DJ Its nice to see all of Comedy Central's funniest comedians in one nice package :D 5 stars
10/19/04 joshua williams watch this shit high it is tight as hell 5 stars
9/20/04 fish bloooooop 5 stars
7/09/04 Chris My friends hate me for watching this movie so many times whilst smoked up. Essential. 5 stars
6/08/04 michael funny ass hell, a instant classic. Dave chappele is one of the funniest ppl in america 5 stars
4/28/04 Chaske Faulk great comedy, chapelle at his best 4 stars
1/15/04 J Addictively funny!!! They must of been high when they made this movies! 5 stars
12/11/03 smokey mcpot this movie is the greatest stoner movie of all time 5 stars
10/25/03 Samuel stupid as fuck at times, but never stops being funny! 4 stars
9/10/03 ToKeR Stoning fucking rules! 5 stars
8/31/03 TheDude This movie is fucking great. Real funny shit, especially if your as high as a retard. 5 stars
6/17/03 Ghetto Smurf I love it, my friends love it, my dog loves it, fuck, even my grandma loves it. 5 stars
2/11/03 Rebo Valence As anti-pot as I am, I still laughed at this. Insane little movie. 4 stars
1/31/03 fagot_ass_bitch funny as hell even if you're not stoned all the time 5 stars
12/31/02 anthony it was the best move ever because i smoke weed to 5 stars
10/11/02 jeremy This movie is the shit YOU CAN'T HATE IT 5 stars
4/13/02 oldgoatmon stupid. random. Like a smoker is. Enjoy the movie. 4 stars
4/08/02 stoolie-bird if you arent stoned.....stay clear of this one.... 4 stars
10/15/01 Andrew Carden Unfunny, Brainless, and 100% Stupid Movie That Goes Nowhere. 1 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean One of those movies that you will hate at first, but as you watch it again, you like it. 4 stars
8/30/01 KC Au One or two jokes don't make a movie. And Jim Breuer really looked stoned! 2 stars
6/22/01 Geebo I stopped watching after 1/2 an hour 1 stars
5/03/01 jeremy whitten this is the greatest movie...ever 5 stars
4/18/01 cuntphucer sorry this is for lame stoners... if your that bored buy some acid... losers 1 stars
4/07/01 Poopie Garrison phat yo 5 stars
3/23/01 Jin ........This is some funnny Shit b!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/13/01 Lie-nus Awesome Movie! You should see him do standup Live- He Rulz 5 stars
2/20/01 Lydia I have watched it like a hundred times, I love it when im high. 5 stars
1/25/01 dog this is a great movie to watch while smoking the creepy killer. 5 stars
1/09/01 Ben Halfbaked inspired us to make Billy Bong Thorton II 5 stars
1/06/01 ChiefAlDog screw u, Rick. I gots this movie's back. Red Team Go! Red Team Go! 5 stars
12/02/00 RICK haha... i messed up the rating percent!!!!... anyway... it truly was total cliche CRAP!!!!! 1 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin "Maui WOWE!" 5 stars
10/18/00 elnino Three Words: Kindergarten Cop Killer 5 stars
6/20/00 Thomas Smith Yes, the film is stupid and thats why it makes me laugh. 5 stars
6/16/00 Will watch it fucked up! aww yeah. 5 stars
4/15/00 malcolm my mom laughed her ass off ... and she teaches D.A.R.E. 5 stars
2/11/00 Corey Mingo Funniest movie I have seen in a long time. But much of the humor will slip by non-smokers 5 stars
1/30/00 Steven Marshall Have you ever seen Halfbaked? Yeah, but have you ever seen Halfbaked on WEED?? 4 stars
12/13/99 SID You don't have to be a stoner to find this movie funny. 4 stars
10/28/99 CoolGui If you didn't think this was very funny, you really need to lighten up. 5 stars
7/29/99 Cuban Bee Hey girl, ya hungry? Fuck you nigga! This movie had me laughing my ass off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/15/99 DRMJSP Laughed my ass off. Was it the movie or was I .... 5 stars
11/26/98 Jack Aster have you ever sucked dick for marijuana? 4 stars
11/06/98 David Torpey Killer rental, hell even at full price it'd be better then crap I've seen lately. 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Yeah, I laughed. Or did I just think I was laughing...? 3 stars
9/23/98 Nate Dogg Love the fuckin' flick...sure, it's only funny to current and ex-potheads...but score!! 4 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Pot + Me =There. 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee I wasn't high. 2 stars
8/18/98 zubilicious the movie gets 200% better if you are just as high as the characters are. 4 stars
8/18/98 Mike F what j-guy said. 4 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Pot can be fun. But not much. 3 stars
8/16/98 J-Guy Funny as hell. No plot, just pot jokes. Me like. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jan-1998 (R)
  DVD: 15-Feb-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast