More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3

Awesome: 9.45%
Worth A Look: 23.38%
Average34.33%
Pretty Bad: 22.89%
Total Crap: 9.95%

11 reviews, 135 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


I, Robot
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"CTRL-ALT-DEL"
2 stars

It's not the deviation from source material that bothers me all that much; it's the disrespectful way in which Isaac Asimov's insightful tales have been trampled, trounced and all but transmogrified into the one thing we really don't need: another hollow action flick with lots of CGI craziness, tons of desperately unwelcome tough-guy one-liners, and a story culled together from about eleven much better movies.

I discovered a movie called Dark City the day it hit DVD. I felt really bad for not being able to catch the movie theatrically, but it's since become a high ranking member of my Top Ten Sci-Fi films of all time. So clearly I had some high hopes when news came that the DC director, Alex Proyas, was about to take charge of an Isaac Asimov adaptation for Fox.

Once again, the need for ridiculously simplistic storytelling and C-grade schlocky banter has overwhelmed a great director and a fantastic piece of source material.

Because I, Robot is, above all other things, simply very boring. The nutshell of a plot involves a futuristic Chicago in which a deluge of high-grade robots may or may not be on the eve of a revolution. Wedged haphazardly into the mix are a future-noir whodunnit concoction that goes nowhere fast, a none-too-subtle attempt at flimsy social commentary (Ohh, black hero, white robots...I get it!), a few frenetic action sequences (each of which are visually impressive and narratively insubstantial), tons of that tough-guy banter, and a handful of plot concepts stolen from A.I., Blade Runner, Minority Report and, hell, let's say Westworld to boot.

This is a movie in which the first half hour consists of dialogue like: "Hello, Bob! I haven't seen you since you returned from your sudden trip to Guam, where you contracted a horrible skin rash, which then led to your wife's affair with her piano teacher!" Every familiar point that there is to make about "the dangers of making robots smart" is stated, repeated and then repeated again, slowly. One suspects that a first-time screenwriter, offered a chance to adapt a beloved sci-fi tale into a viable piece of filmed entertainment, would come up with something infinitely more fascinating than what these writers (one of 'em an Oscar winner!) have concocted.

Will Smith is a likable guy. The worst thing that could have happened is precisely what did: Smith appeared in a few (rather moronic) action/sci-fi type movies that proved very successful at the box office, and the die was unjustly cast: Will Smith was your new sci-fi/action hero. Only problem is...the guy's just not very good at it. After dispatching an influx of aggressive robots, Smith is heard uttering line after line of bravado-laden bluster. Audience members giggled at the faux-sincerity of such a silly movie. (I can't be the only one who'd like to see Will Smith do a comedy with someone like Jack Black, Bernie Mac or Jim Carrey...can I?)

I, Robot is a lovely movie to look at. The futuristic landscapes and eye-popping vistas are as captivating as any CGI artwork laid out in any movie, TV commercial or video game out there. But without a cohesive and challenging narrative, it's all just a bunch of visual masturbation. But it's here that I, Robot earns sincere praise, despite its frequent flaws in simple storytelling. The action sequences, albeit somewhat few and far between, display a kinetic mania and an affection for the stylistic flourishes that action fans know and love. Proyas' camera dips, dives and spins throughout the gun battle and the car chase, and it's all just diverting and exciting enough to make you wish you cared a little more about the movie as a whole.

Take away the incongruous and frankly off-putting lead performance by Will Smith, the endless scenes of overwhelmingly stilted plot exposition, and the unendingly familiar plot points that trot by every 20 minutes..and you're left with two or three high-quality action scenes, period. "I, Robot" is a movie destined for fast-forward buttons the world over.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10202&reviewer=128
originally posted: 07/16/04 14:53:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/07/16 BillyBobJones itwas k fam 5 stars
12/04/14 Ayana Pendergrass I Robot captivates me each time I watch! Great movie 5 stars
1/18/12 Marc DC Not a big W. Smith fan, but this was surprisingly one of his best. 4 stars
11/18/10 warmpotato Bleh. The script makes little sense, and Will Smith was horribly miscast. 2 stars
11/12/10 AlleyPhern If Will Smith was not in it, I would have given it 3 stars instead 2 stars
7/12/09 the dork knight Cromwell deserves a bigger role than that of a creepy hologram, but ok. 4 stars
8/12/08 Shaun Wallner Started off Great but then it started to drag on. 2 stars
12/19/07 Pamela White could be better 3 stars
11/18/07 Tee Not great, but Will smith is always watchable. Effects are good. 3 stars
10/15/07 fools♫gold If it's Alex Proyas, it must be somewhat good... 4 stars
8/21/07 movie crazed ok movie, worth a look though the plot seemed to be kinda confusing 4 stars
7/12/07 MaDmAN I actually liked this movie, you'll watch it, then forget it, but it's entertaining 4 stars
4/01/07 R.W.Welch Overblown in places but not bad overall. Smith shows the right touch. 3 stars
3/20/07 Stanley Thai Overly a good popcorn entertainment 4 stars
3/08/07 man good movie 4 stars
3/05/07 Bitchflaps Will Smith is irritating, Moynahan is deadwood, can't think of anything I liked about it. 1 stars
11/11/06 Henry fucking bullshit 1 stars
9/12/06 Charles Tatum Nicely updated, Smith is lots of fun 4 stars
8/26/06 Claaaaaaaaaaaiiiiiirrrrrrreeeeeeee!!!!!! This movie is sooo boring and horrible! had to watch it for robotics! 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Another medieocre popcorn flick; just good enough to follow n' watch. 3 stars
7/03/06 MikeT Would have like it to be more meaningful, but is great as an action flick. 4 stars
6/20/06 Carol Baker pretty good for animated cartoon. Had good 3 D look. 4 stars
5/30/06 Wanker Should have won all the Golden Globe awards for bad movie. 1 stars
5/26/06 YYY Acting and dialogue are so bad 2 stars
4/04/06 okierazorbacker Remarkably dumb but looks great in a sanitized, videogame kind of way 3 stars
4/02/06 JRE just good 4 stars
2/07/06 Anthony A Great Sci-Fi movie 4 stars
1/03/06 Steve Newman An enjoyable couple of hours watching this film - its ok 4 stars
10/11/05 Quigley I love this movie. awesome sci-fi story and CG, robots were stunning, smith was funny. see 5 stars
10/04/05 Sully blah 3 stars
9/26/05 millersxing Chi-town 2035 is 2 stars
9/21/05 Jonathon Holmes fun from start to finish 4 stars
9/13/05 bbbr shit, kiss my ass 1 stars
9/01/05 ES Not as bad as was thought, cool FX, but the trailers gave too much away 3 stars
8/08/05 glabber Not bad, not great, just average in every department, except FX 3 stars
8/08/05 fnia fleissig I love will smith, but this film was turgid and pointless 2 stars
7/27/05 Malaka Waste of time, waste of effort, waste of Fucking money, what was smith thinking? 1 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Robots too creepy looking to be sympathetic. Sort of like Will Smith. 3 stars
7/11/05 slanes Enjoyed the movie, held my interest, good special effects, and Will Smith is great. 4 stars
7/03/05 Charlie Great Special Effects, And An Interesting Idea. 4 stars
6/21/05 tony Great adventure movie both for kids and adults. You all will love it! 4 stars
6/15/05 Quigley one of the best sci-fi flicks ever birthed. the robots are so awesome. gotta see it! 5 stars
6/07/05 Darcy average interpretation of a complex story 4 stars
6/04/05 Denise Gannon even Will Smith is getting tired of acting like Will Smith... where's Blade Runner 2? 1 stars
5/19/05 CB Cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/02/05 Valerie Excellent Movie, Excellent Special Effects 5 stars
4/23/05 Quigley some of the most stunning visual effects ever seen makes this better than The Matrix 5 stars
4/15/05 Indrid Cold CGI and Matrix-style slomo has long since ceased to amaze, and a dull plot can't save it. 3 stars
3/24/05 Mel Gibson AW HELL NAWWWWW!!! 4 stars
3/15/05 albert VERY GOOD MOVIE 5 stars
2/05/05 Valerie White interesting 3 stars
2/05/05 LilyM Forgettable; didn't deliver on story or action. 3 stars
2/02/05 lisa w It was better than the previews made it look. Lots of cool special effects too 4 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops Great action, needs a better script though 4 stars
1/28/05 New Jersey Rules Fun ass shit. 4 stars
1/12/05 Ron Newbold I don't think Issac Asimov would have envisioned I, Robot quite like this 3 stars
1/12/05 HL Dumb, But Visually Great..So, Do the Dube and Watch it! 5 stars
12/31/04 Tjalda L. Schiel Wowza special effects. Who cares if the plot is a mess. 4 stars
12/28/04 Samuel it's okay, nothing special... 3 stars
12/23/04 farnqwo product placement & dumbass plot 1 stars
12/21/04 axtion movie fan man vs robots\\great f/x in exciting sci/fi one of 2004's better films 4 stars
12/04/04 jonny boy cmon it wasnt that bad(look at the matrix sequels lmao) 3 stars
11/22/04 ad pretty scenery 4 stars
11/14/04 keithers.. How many times has this plot been done....to many to count 2 stars
11/12/04 Andrea yawn...boring, boring...boring. Will Smith NOT BELIEVABLE! 2 stars
11/09/04 Dan Van Zan Awesome Action Sequences manage to hold the movie inspite of a weak storyline 4 stars
11/05/04 Duncan yes Will unbutton the shirt and go back to action, Ali didnt get you the oscar 1 stars
9/16/04 TeeJay Terrible. And I will never be able to wear black Converse again. 1 stars
9/06/04 Ame blower ITS TOTAL SHIT 1 stars
8/31/04 The Predator watchable, good entertainment, it was ok 3 stars
8/29/04 HitmanThomas Better then I thought it would be 4 stars
8/28/04 Tristynn Sonny stole the show. I was pleasantly surprised by this movie...very original. 5 stars
8/26/04 Littlepurch Wel I loved it.As a fan of Minority Report,I feel this is a clever tribute with gr8 action! 5 stars
8/23/04 Sam Was expecting a good Sci-Fi Movie...not as mentioned, Black Vs. White. 1 stars
8/20/04 S.F Enjoyable. Haven't read the book. Kinda like the fact that it actually had a storyline! 4 stars
8/18/04 Destiny Pifer Good sci-fi flick will smith did a good job 4 stars
8/16/04 khurshid I kindda like it, need some love scene between spooner and Dr.calvin 4 stars
8/16/04 Peter James Excellent CGI, but is that really what the world will look like in thirty years...no way 3 stars
8/14/04 Obi Wan Good Summer Fun! Wasn't bad. CGI was very good and the film did move 4 stars
8/14/04 David Rare. I enjoyed it. 5 stars
8/12/04 Simon Khalil The perfect mix of action, comedy, and futuristic technology 4 stars
8/10/04 Clayton Smith The ending was a shocker, why return the robot army back to unlocked containers outside the 3 stars
8/10/04 Anthony G I sure want to buy some CONVERSE 2004, AND HAVE THEM SHIPPED FROM FED EX 1 stars
8/08/04 Jim Good stuff. Robots most compelling characters though! 4 stars
8/05/04 Mix Master Mason Will Smith has played this same painful character in every movie he's been in. Will sucks! 1 stars
8/03/04 Michael Very interesting, eye-popping, glad i didn't read books first... I would pay full price! 5 stars
8/02/04 P.Rodriguez Avoid like the plague. 1 stars
8/02/04 SIr Spam-a-lot Better than I expected (thought kinda simlar to ANIMATRIX: THE RENAISSANCE PART 1) 3 stars
8/02/04 Rocky Swarming killer robots made Will Smith barely tolerable for once 4 stars
7/31/04 alien assassin much better than "Bicentennial Man", but a long way behind "Blade Runner" 4 stars
7/29/04 michaelb14 a little less of the will smith persona would have been better but still... 4 stars
7/28/04 Zefram Mann Fairly intelligent story. Good effects. If you don't hate Smith, you'll probably like this. 4 stars
7/28/04 Mike Devans Average.. give it a whirl 3 stars
7/28/04 toonz not bad 4 stars
7/26/04 Agent Sands 10, 15 times better than I thought it would be. Really smart & fun. 5 stars
7/26/04 othree 2035? my ass, crappy story, Will looks buff, a DVD renter! 3 stars
7/25/04 M The fresh prince still cant act and he might have great abs, worth a look though. 3 stars
7/25/04 Pure RAGE... It was pretty good and the Max Payne styled shootouts were great! 5 stars
7/25/04 Nikolai The epilogue blended well with the screaming fat ladies and Ford van swiping me homebound 3 stars
7/24/04 buddy garrett No inspiration for this movie 1 stars
7/24/04 E Loved it. Real fun movie! 5 stars
7/23/04 malcolm basically a 2nd rate Blade Runner, and Smith is no Harrison Ford, still fun though 4 stars
7/22/04 Frink If you've seen one Will Smith action movie, you've seen them all... 3 stars
7/22/04 Virginia Clarke Exciting and frightening, itt made me think about the risks of artificial intelligence. 5 stars
7/22/04 ad it's actually ok - spectacular enough 4 stars
7/22/04 Nobody Laura- I hate to break it to you but Asimov has been dead for over 10 years. 4 stars
7/22/04 Kristina Sucked harder than two gays at an Nsync concert. 1 stars
7/21/04 Northerly Who's 85yo. sarcastro is very desperate 3 stars
7/21/04 Roy Again 99% Will Smith, 1% Asimov. And it's Wild Wild West/MIB 2 Smith at that. 3 stars
7/21/04 April Gupton i'll pass on this one 3 stars
7/21/04 Laura Shangraw Not worth my time 2 stars
7/21/04 Rkm Lame, lacking in depth like all Smith's films 1 stars
7/20/04 Travis Shotwell obviously the story of TRON.will smith=FLYNN, sonny=TRON,big computer=MCP, ownerguy=SARK. 4 stars
7/20/04 Northerly Northerly 3 Sunline 0 Pinkline has no clue 3 stars
7/20/04 Maz Fun romp, nothing new, but deeper (if you look) than a regular summer movie 5 stars
7/20/04 N. Christopher Bell The only people who won't like this movie are going to be the Star Trek Faggots. 4 stars
7/19/04 herkos akhaion Can you spell Recycled? SOS! 3 stars
7/19/04 doug r If anybody remembers all the robot stories, this movie pretty much covers all the bases... 4 stars
7/19/04 Rocky Entertaining, cool themes 4 stars
7/19/04 Titus Not the best thing ever, but a good fun movie. Smith has grown up. 4 stars
7/19/04 peel umm...i liked it. and you guys cant review movies worth shit...or something 5 stars
7/18/04 Cassandra Farrar over the top 2 stars
7/18/04 JDC cliched even for an action pic 2 stars
7/18/04 ajay typical actiion flick... I can't wait to read the book which WILL be miles better. 3 stars
7/18/04 Exhosinmyhead Fun movie to watch. Dont get caught up in all the technicalities. Good. 4 stars
7/18/04 KingNeutron The people who wrote this movie should be shot. Stop insulting and twisting Asimov. 2 stars
7/18/04 The Talking Elbow "Grishnakh" ?? Are you from Shadowclan Orcs? Email me epochii@aol.com 3 stars
7/18/04 Grishnakh Will Smith + Sci-Fi = Garbage / MiB, ID4, SUCKED ! I, Robot is a complete insult to Asimov. 1 stars
7/18/04 Onyeabo Monago Didn't like the movie. Lots of cgi, cliche storyline. 1 stars
7/17/04 LGKIRK HARLAN MUST BE WOL-OLAN...THIS IS NOT THE SPEC.FICT. THAT WE, THE OLD FAN WANT TO SEE...DIG 2 stars
7/17/04 legend The movie is an insult to the book! It was bad. 2 stars
7/17/04 Rocky I enjoyed it, nice visuals, entertaining, kinda' hokey, .not GREATjust GOOD 3 stars
7/17/04 Alex ???? 2 stars
7/17/04 Amerigo Vespukey Could have been social commentary. Instead, crap. Boooooo. 2 stars
7/17/04 Richard A two hour shoe commercial - do you have your Concords now? 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-May-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  22-Jul-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast