More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.85

Awesome: 6.13%
Worth A Look: 11.04%
Average: 5.52%
Pretty Bad: 16.56%
Total Crap60.74%

7 reviews, 121 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Catwoman
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"The insults, unlike a cat's claws, aren't retractable."
1 stars

Batmans nemesis (more aptly titled Catgurrrrrrl, because since its Halle Berry in the role, she brings her own brand of tude to it) gets her own vehicle, though hes nowhere to be seen, nor is Gotham City or any other fair New York backdrop, but a mousy ad girl is flushed through some major pipes and reborn as Catwoman upon a saving breath from an Egyptian Mau, and so the anti-hero (but not quite full-fledged villain) battles the cosmetics company and their crooked heads who are responsible for her new being.

An embarrassment to any comic book movie, the thing is plagued from the get-go with a time-consuming prologue for us to become acquainted with the woman who once was Patience Phillips (Berry), even though we are made aware from the start that she really is no more. A lengthy sixty-minutes pass before the leather dominatrix suit is donned, and our confused girl opts for some haute couture cat-burgling were asked to forget about such things as alarms going off when a shotgun is unloaded at her by some competing amateurs. And were also asked to ignore inconsistencies with her own cat powers (sometimes she lands on all fours, sometimes she doesnt; sometimes she has night vision, sometimes not), as well as overlook that somehow, her abilities appear to outstrip Spider-Man; proportion is no matter, she has no issues with gravity, and her homemade claws allow her to scale any surface, and whatever Halle and her stunt double cannot do, CGI is proven not to be able to do it convincingly, either. There are plenty more side-issues the pathetic excuse for a sidekick played by Alex Borstein, Benjamin Bratts Detective Tom Lone (with lines like Im used to working alone most of the time), who is apparently the only detective on-call in whatever anonymous metropolis they live in, and whose skills as a sleuth could use some fine-tuning considering he cant notice the similarities between his naked girlfriend, and the same woman with a tiny cat-mask on. (Bratt was more convincing as a detective on Law & Order, where we would have things like a gunshot residue test on the smoking gun, fingerprinting tests, DNA analysis for the victims blood on Catgurrrrrls claws, etc.)

I know nothing about the comic character, apart from that she was white and what was seen in Batman Returns, but this updating (like Kingpin in Daredevil) doesnt seem to jive without a lot of catering to; Catwoman must now be a hip diva, and the singularly monikered director Pitof (maybe Im going out on a limb here, but he seems like a former music-video director) sees to it to turn up the volume at every opportunity, such as having Halle and Ben grindin it up on the b-ball court to Mis-teeqs Scandalous. The music-video influence unbounds itself at every corner, from the arbitrary changes of tinting, the airbrushed photography (everyone glows, or looks fuzzy), and the choreographed dance-like fight sequences (from one-on-one brawls, to an interruption at a Hydrogena performance), always managing to get in the perspective of the infamous booty-shot. I suppose the one positive from all this, and maybe Im alone, is that we didnt have to bear witness to Berry trying to lick herself clean. With Sharon Stone, Lambert Wilson, and Michael Massee.

[Not to be bothered with.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10221&reviewer=172
originally posted: 08/07/04 18:32:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

10/09/17 ksandr289@yandex.ru Бесплатная доска объявлений Webdoska — это сайт, где 2 stars
5/09/17 sergtovar Интернет-магазин SergTovar по продажам автонаполняющ 2 stars
12/22/16 Ifvremya Cамые свежие новости о главных событиях власти,по 2 stars
5/16/16 domnazavist Самые лучшие курсы обмена денег 2 stars
3/19/16 Ifvremya Cамые свежие новости о главных событиях власти,по 2 stars
3/18/16 domnazavist Самые лучшие курсы обмена денег 2 stars
1/22/16 plvuyjrkg USA 4 stars
1/08/16 David Hollingsworth these claws are pretty dull 1 stars
8/23/15 Lbvfittf WfDEVy Medical marca vs security mg and card generic net contra cialis help contro master., 5 stars
7/24/15 kjvewghldea USA 4 stars
7/19/15 cialis toulouse USA 2 stars
11/15/14 Morris What's the last date I can post this to to arrive in time for Christmas? <a href=" h 2 stars
11/10/14 Connie Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" htt 5 stars
10/24/14 Juan Could you transfer $1000 from my current account to my deposit account? <a href=" ">admini 4 stars
9/15/14 wes Attributing negative reviews of this film to racism might be the worst thing I've ever seen 1 stars
3/23/14 Robert I liked it. Not a great movie, but worth watching. 4 stars
1/18/14 Roger Tompkins Not a film wanna-be aficionado, just a guy who loves a film that keeps my attention. 5 stars
11/22/13 John Men rate it poorly because the "good guy" doesn't get the cat in the end. 4 stars
6/02/13 Magenta Fantasies It's not a faithful adaptation, but it's a very enjoyable movie in its own right. 4 stars
5/28/13 RIc F**K EVERYONE, I LOVE THE MOVIE!! 5 stars
9/22/12 Quigley Truly one of the worst films ever made. It's a great education on how NOT to make a movie. 1 stars
11/25/11 Kitty Boo Loved it! 5 stars
7/29/11 ROBERTO D OCHOA i LOVED IT. 4 stars
2/20/11 Ark Giant turd, the finale fight scene with her and Stone wasn't too bad! And wtf with the cat? 2 stars
2/04/11 man horrible 1 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT LAUGHABLE ACTION THRILLER 1 stars
3/16/10 P.N. Guin It's great! 5 stars
1/10/10 Charlotte O I really liked this movie. What's up with all the bad reviews?? 4 stars
11/25/09 chake comment2 <a href="katalogue.ru"> </a> 3 stars
8/21/09 cousen01 www xxbb com 5 stars
8/19/09 daria sgJ97l Gra7noI59Unral92Bb7wf 3 stars
7/21/09 boris comment3, 3 stars
6/05/09 art KITTY LITTER!,that's what this film is!,PURE KITTY LITTER! 1 stars
5/28/09 Devin THE ONLY REASON ANYONE HATES THIS MOVIE IS BECAUSE IT DIDN'T EXACTLY FOLLOW THE COMIC! 5 stars
5/11/09 chris leasmith IS THIS REVIEW A JOKE!!! ITS BAD, REALLY BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/05/09 Alfonso Turnage I must admit I liked Elektra better than I eventually liked Catwoman, but I loved this . . 4 stars
8/21/08 Shaun Wallner This one was kinda boring. 1 stars
8/15/08 AnonAnonAnon Wow... good job turning this into a racial issue with the last sentence. 1 stars
7/27/08 JoJo i loved and i ve watched it 90 times!!!!!! 5 stars
6/21/08 David V I should've watched my neighbor's vacation videos instead. 1 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia "Halle Berry is not much more than eye candy with delusions of grandeur." Thank you, Scott 1 stars
4/23/07 David Risser The villainess looked so fake. 2 stars
3/20/07 dude terrible 1 stars
2/19/07 Dark Enchantress I hated this girl as catwoman! If i could give it a "zero" star, i would! Horrible plot! 1 stars
12/22/06 David Pollastrini HORRIBLE, ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE 2 stars
10/02/06 William Goss Doesn't the Geneva Convention prevent people from enduring things like this? 1 stars
4/06/06 Troy M. Grzych A comic book film that does not stay true to it's roots...will not have fans. 2 stars
4/01/06 Thomas Semesky The movies is silly, a total waste of talent. 1 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Like Nostradamus, I fortold doom. And DAMN was I right!!! Halley Berry won an oscar? 1 stars
11/26/05 cr halle berry play sexy and cool catwoman but the story was boring and lame and cgi overdone 3 stars
11/21/05 Steve Michaud And who said this was a comic book movie? 1 stars
11/07/05 LP Quagmire The most underrated comic book movie ever. Halle, you go, girl! 5 stars
11/01/05 millersxing written by circus cats trained by Siegfried & Roy (explains the whip/leather fixation, no?) 1 stars
10/14/05 Georgie Best Being stapled to the floor whilst being eaten by your cat is more fun. 1 stars
9/21/05 Jonathon Holmes what a laughable piece of shit 1 stars
8/01/05 R ....................pffff, HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!! 1 stars
7/23/05 Duffyboy666 A step-by-step guide how to NEVER produce a comic flick. Shite. 1 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington NOT 1 PERSON HAS RATED IT AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/20/05 Manu Ginobli just look at some catwoman porn instead. (it exsists, check it out) 1 stars
6/14/05 i am god i would rather take a shit 1 stars
5/20/05 susan varney even halle said it sucked 1 stars
3/29/05 Vince Only good thing in this pile of shite is Hale in leather. 1 stars
3/26/05 Denise ok 3 stars
3/22/05 craig varney if not for halle berry totally unbearable 1 stars
2/24/05 ELI So god awfully stupid it's funny. If I saw it in theaters, I would've laughed more 1 stars
2/17/05 Cody a average movie with cool character, halle is pretty, but not best catwoman 3 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Hey, Steel was awesome! 1 stars
2/05/05 Amy Bradshaw Not as bad as people make it sound, it was entertaining enough, but just that. 3 stars
2/02/05 Lynde Foy total embarrassment to filmmaking--Berry should be ashamed of herself 1 stars
2/01/05 Danita Berg Wow....I've had more fun washing my cat. 1 stars
2/01/05 Robert Pfeifer the worst movie I've seen since... Batman And Robin!! Why did they even bother? 1 stars
1/30/05 bongeezer Halle Berry with a whip... And I was still bored! That's a bad movie. 2 stars
1/30/05 Caroline I saw this movie 2x (inafluke), and I was so bored the 2nd time, I threw twizzlers. :) 2 stars
1/30/05 Fred Pellerito Should have save their money and made it a cartoon instead 1 stars
1/30/05 dana hammell I enjoyed this movie 4 stars
1/29/05 terri shaw Oh wekk what do I know I liked it and could watch it with my kids ! No nightmares here. 4 stars
1/25/05 tatum If only the director had managed to stage a coherent shot 1 stars
1/19/05 ALDO crap story..and way 2 much pop music 2 stars
1/19/05 American Slasher Goddess Painfully awful 1 stars
12/26/04 Louie What were they thinking when they made this mess? 1 stars
12/13/04 Vince The beginning was not that bad... then it went downhill, fast 2 stars
10/30/04 Scott Roen I enjoyed this, but mostly because I didn't build my expectations up 3 stars
10/15/04 blue ANOREXIC HALLE BERRY IN A STUPID LEATHER SUIT! BIG SHIT!!! 1 stars
10/15/04 Regina George didn\'t really survive the school bus accident Unlike the Michelle Pfeiffer version, at least it tells a coherent story. 3 stars
9/13/04 the bride excuse me while I go and slit my wrists for being STUPID enough to see this. This is fucked 1 stars
9/05/04 johnnyxxx oh my, I thot it was a TV commercial 1 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge The DVD will probably come in the Batman Begins action figure releases just to get rid of t 1 stars
8/25/04 K Man plop 1 stars
8/16/04 McGraw Cat Scratch Fever that feels like AIDS. 1 stars
8/13/04 lawhog44 Ultimate blackmail: "My way, or the Garfield/Catwoman double feature." Kill. Me. Now. 1 stars
8/12/04 Ganglia damn... just... damn. download it and laugh your ass off 1 stars
8/11/04 f up Halley Berry is overrated, and is full of herself, has a big camel-toe in this movie.sucks 1 stars
8/11/04 Who Cares? There's a special hell for freaks who liked this movie!! 1 stars
8/10/04 QT The Bruce Lee suit as in Kill Bill...why? 1 stars
8/10/04 McGraw HAH! AHAHAH!!! HAAAAAAAHAHA...seriously, folks. It sucks. 1 stars
8/03/04 Uncle Salty I'd rather pound my balls flat with a splinterred wooden mallet than see it again. 1 stars
8/03/04 Matt Thiel Lame 2 stars
8/02/04 Ann Total Crap. I have never left a movie before it is over, but this one did it to me. 1 stars
7/31/04 arctic What was the point besides getting to war the tight outfit? 2 stars
7/29/04 Nikolai A non pretentious popcorn flick ok soundtrack effects tasty eyecandy bring a chick 4 stars
7/29/04 NiraliKumar Close to the comic book, better read it instead of watching it. Nice effects tho. 2 stars
7/28/04 Mike Devans weak 2 stars
7/28/04 WES NILES I LOVED IT! ...I laughed a little, and I cried a little. what more can one ask? 1 stars
7/27/04 Brad What a waste of my time 1 stars
7/27/04 J.D. Semlow Yeah, what they said! 1 stars
7/27/04 paks Not fit to be used as kitty litter 1 stars
7/27/04 robert berkoff another gigli 1 stars
7/26/04 this bitch won an oscar? Ive heard they already started to film part 2! 1 stars
7/26/04 Spay this cat! This morning my cat coughed up a disgusting furball more entertaining than this SHIT movie. 1 stars
7/26/04 Katie this movie is terrible 1 stars
7/25/04 Realitik Ashley Judd was smart to turn down this absolutely terrible role... not even worth renting! 1 stars
7/25/04 Drew-P Halle is hot, but not hot enough to sit through that. 2 stars
7/25/04 AK47 "Oops, my bad". Fuck you Halle and everybody involved in this POS. 1 stars
7/25/04 Conor Great awful 1 stars
7/24/04 Atanu Halle berry was never an actress. That she got an oscar is a travesty. 1 stars
7/24/04 tank1229 save your money 1 stars
7/24/04 Christina neuter this pussy 1 stars
7/24/04 Brian is DC doomed to an eternity of crappy hero movies? 1 stars
7/23/04 Mix Master Mason Turd City! Millions of dollars down the tube, should have been direct to DVD. 1 stars
7/23/04 Anthonyk Check this one for Fleas - DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! 1 stars
7/23/04 Scytherius Warner Bros burns $100 million on the corner. Horrid. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Sep-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast