More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.93

Awesome: 7.5%
Worth A Look: 11.88%
Average: 6.88%
Pretty Bad: 13.13%
Total Crap60.62%

7 reviews, 118 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Catwoman
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Oh, c'mon, it's not THAT bad."
4 stars

"Catwoman," a stylish piece of kitten-with-a-whip empowerment pulp, is much better than it had to be and a lot better than many Internet critics, eager to hate it, wanted it to be.

It doesn't scale the perverse heights of Tim Burton's Batman Returns, in which the punishing spark between Catwoman (played then by Michelle Pfeiffer) and Batman launched a thousand leather-fetish theme parties. Nor does it indulge in the over-the-top satire of Daniel Waters' famous unfilmed Catwoman script (widely perusable online). It's more of an athletic you-go-girl fable in the tradition of the Charlie's Angels movies, in which what the heroine does and how she looks doing it are equally important. I was almost disappointed by how solid the movie is -- I'd expected it to be a laughable campfest, but it stays just this side of the ridiculous.

Halle Berry's Patience Phillips follows in the pawprints of Pfeiffer's earlier character: she's a put-upon wage slave toiling for a chilly, remote mega-executive who has her killed when she learns too much. It's a decent starting point for a franchise (if this turns out to be one), and we learn that there's a long line of Catwomen dating back to ancient Egypt; perhaps other actresses can step in for future Catwoman adventures -- my top five would include Fairuza Balk, Catherine Zeta-Jones, and Julianna Margulies. Berry, playing her second African-American superheroine, gives Patience the necessary cringing awkwardness that turns into a feline avidity once she's resurrected by a mysterious cat named Midnight.

Hooking Patience up with a good-hearted cop (Benjamin Bratt, who has the heroic jaw to be a passable Batman stand-in) makes for some amusing cat-and-mouse games -- he's supposed to be on Catwoman's trail, but, like so many clueless people in superhero movies, never recognizes the superhero's eyes or voice. I wish Catwoman's attraction to him were tied into her new cat identity a bit more, though, and it might've been fun to have her fall for a bad-boy type that the cop would have to compete with for her attention. The movie oversells the cop's decency a bit -- he's shown telling schoolkids to "be the good guys," for Christ's sake -- but I guess that's so the script won't come off as man-bashing.

The official villains -- the husband-and-wife king and queen of a cosmetics company, which makes a beauty cream that has addictive and disfiguring side effects -- feel a little ripped off from the first Batman movie, in which the Joker tainted various products with Smylex. But it brings Sharon Stone (as the company's over-the-hill supermodel) back into the fold as an ice bitch, for which we can be grateful. There's more than a little self-aware bitterness in Stone's performance; maybe she's acting out some resentment at having been elevated to a sex goddess and punished for it in the same stroke. After a string of nondescript roles that coaxed some good work out of Stone but seemed like conscientious attempts to go "serious," it's good to see her being bad again. Camille Paglia should approve of the performance.

Catwoman was directed by a former visual-effects whiz named Pitof, whose previous feature, 2001's Vidocq, was a baroquely entertaining murder mystery (it finally made it onto American DVD under the title Dark Portals: The Chronicles of Vidocq). Pitof has an eye for bold comic-book imagery, such as when Catwoman prowls the night in her leather get-up, silhouetted against the city lights or the moon (always full, of course). A few of the action sequences, especially a headache-inducing motorcycle ride, are way too choppy for my tastes, and computer animators still haven't figured out how to make a CGI cat move convincingly. The effects work best in the subtler moments, when Patience is walking around her apartment dishing about her cop boyfriend and hopping up on countertops and furniture with a feline grace.

But most of the movie is fast and fun, and undeserving of the critical hissing it's getting in some quarters. It must be time for a Halle Berry backlash, or maybe some people are still uncomfortable with a $100 million summer film placing a heroic African-American woman front and center.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10221&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/28/06 10:18:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  
DC Characters: For more in the DC Characters series, click here.

User Comments

8/31/14 nuhzonolbq USA 2 stars
8/27/14 lkyoqak USA 5 stars
8/25/14 Vexrsuse USA 2 stars
8/25/14 zbeidnsz USA 3 stars
8/08/14 ydcvjq USA 4 stars
7/24/14 rjpqebjx USA 3 stars
7/08/14 dbihkaetptl USA 5 stars
7/01/14 vtutrwngt USA 4 stars
4/17/14 Abtiusbl USA 5 stars
3/23/14 Robert I liked it. Not a great movie, but worth watching. 4 stars
3/05/14 lqumiuueplf USA 5 stars
2/23/14 kmpbzr USA 4 stars
2/16/14 Cembshzv USA 4 stars
1/18/14 Roger Tompkins Not a film wanna-be aficionado, just a guy who loves a film that keeps my attention. 5 stars
11/22/13 John Men rate it poorly because the "good guy" doesn't get the cat in the end. 4 stars
6/02/13 Magenta Fantasies It's not a faithful adaptation, but it's a very enjoyable movie in its own right. 4 stars
5/28/13 RIc F**K EVERYONE, I LOVE THE MOVIE!! 5 stars
9/22/12 Quigley Truly one of the worst films ever made. It's a great education on how NOT to make a movie. 1 stars
11/25/11 Kitty Boo Loved it! 5 stars
7/29/11 ROBERTO D OCHOA i LOVED IT. 4 stars
2/20/11 Ark Giant turd, the finale fight scene with her and Stone wasn't too bad! And wtf with the cat? 2 stars
2/04/11 man horrible 1 stars
4/09/10 PAUL SHORTT LAUGHABLE ACTION THRILLER 1 stars
3/16/10 P.N. Guin It's great! 5 stars
1/10/10 Charlotte O I really liked this movie. What's up with all the bad reviews?? 4 stars
11/25/09 chake comment2 <a href="katalogue.ru">секс под наркотиками видео</a> 3 stars
8/21/09 cousen01 www xxbb com 5 stars
8/19/09 daria sgJ97l Gra7noI59Unral92Bb7wf 3 stars
7/21/09 boris comment3, 3 stars
6/05/09 art KITTY LITTER!,that's what this film is!,PURE KITTY LITTER! 1 stars
5/28/09 Devin THE ONLY REASON ANYONE HATES THIS MOVIE IS BECAUSE IT DIDN'T EXACTLY FOLLOW THE COMIC! 5 stars
5/11/09 chris leasmith IS THIS REVIEW A JOKE!!! ITS BAD, REALLY BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/05/09 Alfonso Turnage I must admit I liked Elektra better than I eventually liked Catwoman, but I loved this . . 4 stars
8/21/08 Shaun Wallner This one was kinda boring. 1 stars
8/15/08 AnonAnonAnon Wow... good job turning this into a racial issue with the last sentence. 1 stars
7/27/08 JoJo i loved and i ve watched it 90 times!!!!!! 5 stars
6/21/08 David V I should've watched my neighbor's vacation videos instead. 1 stars
6/09/07 Danielle Ophelia "Halle Berry is not much more than eye candy with delusions of grandeur." Thank you, Scott 1 stars
4/23/07 David Risser The villainess looked so fake. 2 stars
3/20/07 dude terrible 1 stars
2/19/07 Dark Enchantress I hated this girl as catwoman! If i could give it a "zero" star, i would! Horrible plot! 1 stars
12/22/06 David Pollastrini HORRIBLE, ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE 2 stars
10/02/06 William Goss Doesn't the Geneva Convention prevent people from enduring things like this? 1 stars
4/06/06 Troy M. Grzych A comic book film that does not stay true to it's roots...will not have fans. 2 stars
4/01/06 Thomas Semesky The movies is silly, a total waste of talent. 1 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Like Nostradamus, I fortold doom. And DAMN was I right!!! Halley Berry won an oscar? 1 stars
11/26/05 cr halle berry play sexy and cool catwoman but the story was boring and lame and cgi overdone 3 stars
11/21/05 Steve Michaud And who said this was a comic book movie? 1 stars
11/07/05 LP Quagmire The most underrated comic book movie ever. Halle, you go, girl! 5 stars
11/01/05 millersxing written by circus cats trained by Siegfried & Roy (explains the whip/leather fixation, no?) 1 stars
10/14/05 Georgie Best Being stapled to the floor whilst being eaten by your cat is more fun. 1 stars
9/21/05 Jonathon Holmes what a laughable piece of shit 1 stars
8/01/05 R ....................pffff, HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!! 1 stars
7/23/05 Duffyboy666 A step-by-step guide how to NEVER produce a comic flick. Shite. 1 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington NOT 1 PERSON HAS RATED IT AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
6/20/05 Manu Ginobli just look at some catwoman porn instead. (it exsists, check it out) 1 stars
6/14/05 i am god i would rather take a shit 1 stars
5/20/05 susan varney even halle said it sucked 1 stars
3/29/05 Vince Only good thing in this pile of shite is Hale in leather. 1 stars
3/26/05 Denise ok 3 stars
3/22/05 craig varney if not for halle berry totally unbearable 1 stars
2/24/05 ELI So god awfully stupid it's funny. If I saw it in theaters, I would've laughed more 1 stars
2/17/05 Cody a average movie with cool character, halle is pretty, but not best catwoman 3 stars
2/07/05 Kenneth Helmick Hey, Steel was awesome! 1 stars
2/05/05 Amy Bradshaw Not as bad as people make it sound, it was entertaining enough, but just that. 3 stars
2/02/05 Lynde Foy total embarrassment to filmmaking--Berry should be ashamed of herself 1 stars
2/01/05 Danita Berg Wow....I've had more fun washing my cat. 1 stars
2/01/05 Robert Pfeifer the worst movie I've seen since... Batman And Robin!! Why did they even bother? 1 stars
1/30/05 bongeezer Halle Berry with a whip... And I was still bored! That's a bad movie. 2 stars
1/30/05 Caroline I saw this movie 2x (inafluke), and I was so bored the 2nd time, I threw twizzlers. :) 2 stars
1/30/05 Fred Pellerito Should have save their money and made it a cartoon instead 1 stars
1/30/05 dana hammell I enjoyed this movie 4 stars
1/29/05 terri shaw Oh wekk what do I know I liked it and could watch it with my kids ! No nightmares here. 4 stars
1/25/05 tatum If only the director had managed to stage a coherent shot 1 stars
1/19/05 ALDO crap story..and way 2 much pop music 2 stars
1/19/05 American Slasher Goddess Painfully awful 1 stars
12/26/04 Louie What were they thinking when they made this mess? 1 stars
12/13/04 Vince The beginning was not that bad... then it went downhill, fast 2 stars
10/30/04 Scott Roen I enjoyed this, but mostly because I didn't build my expectations up 3 stars
10/15/04 blue ANOREXIC HALLE BERRY IN A STUPID LEATHER SUIT! BIG SHIT!!! 1 stars
10/15/04 Regina George didn\'t really survive the school bus accident Unlike the Michelle Pfeiffer version, at least it tells a coherent story. 3 stars
9/13/04 the bride excuse me while I go and slit my wrists for being STUPID enough to see this. This is fucked 1 stars
9/05/04 johnnyxxx oh my, I thot it was a TV commercial 1 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge The DVD will probably come in the Batman Begins action figure releases just to get rid of t 1 stars
8/25/04 K Man plop 1 stars
8/16/04 McGraw Cat Scratch Fever that feels like AIDS. 1 stars
8/13/04 lawhog44 Ultimate blackmail: "My way, or the Garfield/Catwoman double feature." Kill. Me. Now. 1 stars
8/12/04 Ganglia damn... just... damn. download it and laugh your ass off 1 stars
8/11/04 f up Halley Berry is overrated, and is full of herself, has a big camel-toe in this movie.sucks 1 stars
8/11/04 Who Cares? There's a special hell for freaks who liked this movie!! 1 stars
8/10/04 QT The Bruce Lee suit as in Kill Bill...why? 1 stars
8/10/04 McGraw HAH! AHAHAH!!! HAAAAAAAHAHA...seriously, folks. It sucks. 1 stars
8/03/04 Uncle Salty I'd rather pound my balls flat with a splinterred wooden mallet than see it again. 1 stars
8/03/04 Matt Thiel Lame 2 stars
8/02/04 Ann Total Crap. I have never left a movie before it is over, but this one did it to me. 1 stars
7/31/04 arctic What was the point besides getting to war the tight outfit? 2 stars
7/29/04 Nikolai A non pretentious popcorn flick ok soundtrack effects tasty eyecandy bring a chick 4 stars
7/29/04 NiraliKumar Close to the comic book, better read it instead of watching it. Nice effects tho. 2 stars
7/28/04 Mike Devans weak 2 stars
7/28/04 WES NILES I LOVED IT! ...I laughed a little, and I cried a little. what more can one ask? 1 stars
7/27/04 Brad What a waste of my time 1 stars
7/27/04 J.D. Semlow Yeah, what they said! 1 stars
7/27/04 paks Not fit to be used as kitty litter 1 stars
7/27/04 robert berkoff another gigli 1 stars
7/26/04 this bitch won an oscar? Ive heard they already started to film part 2! 1 stars
7/26/04 Spay this cat! This morning my cat coughed up a disgusting furball more entertaining than this SHIT movie. 1 stars
7/26/04 Katie this movie is terrible 1 stars
7/25/04 Realitik Ashley Judd was smart to turn down this absolutely terrible role... not even worth renting! 1 stars
7/25/04 Drew-P Halle is hot, but not hot enough to sit through that. 2 stars
7/25/04 AK47 "Oops, my bad". Fuck you Halle and everybody involved in this POS. 1 stars
7/25/04 Conor Great awful 1 stars
7/24/04 Atanu Halle berry was never an actress. That she got an oscar is a travesty. 1 stars
7/24/04 tank1229 save your money 1 stars
7/24/04 Christina neuter this pussy 1 stars
7/24/04 Brian is DC doomed to an eternity of crappy hero movies? 1 stars
7/23/04 Mix Master Mason Turd City! Millions of dollars down the tube, should have been direct to DVD. 1 stars
7/23/04 Anthonyk Check this one for Fleas - DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY! 1 stars
7/23/04 Scytherius Warner Bros burns $100 million on the corner. Horrid. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 18-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Sep-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast