More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.39

Awesome64%
Worth A Look: 20%
Average: 8%
Pretty Bad: 6.67%
Total Crap: 1.33%

2 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Better Off Dead
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by f*r*o*s*t*y

"Two snaps up in a circle!"
5 stars

I. Love. John. Cusack.

And that's all there is to it, really.

Oh. You want to hear about this movie.

Well, Lane Meyer (Cusack) gets dumped on his ass by dream girl Beth (Amanda Wyss), and he's whining and moping away with his dorky friends Charles DeMar (Curtis Armstrong) - that snorts jello, Monique (Diane Franklin) - the cute little French exchange student that is stuck with Ricky (Dan Schneider) who tries to make Lane's life a living hell.. Or at least get his tentacles all over Monique.

To make a long story short, Beth is more of 'bitch girl' instead of 'dream girl,' and everyone can see that all Lane needs is a little French lovin' to make him forget all about the blonde bitch from hell.

All in all, I think it's hilarious. John Cusack is funny as hell in this movie. Cusack coupled with dancing cheeseburgers, meals that crawl off their plates, and a family that makes the Wayans look like the Waltons.. It's a sure bet you're gonna have fun.

At least I did, and that's all that counts. ;)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1023&reviewer=22
originally posted: 09/16/98 07:12:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/19/13 Annie G One of my favs - watch most years after Christmas. 5 stars
5/31/12 Matthew Thompson Dalldorf A very funny teen-angst spoof 5 stars
11/23/10 PAUL SHORTT PLOTLESS AND UNDISTINGUISHED 2 stars
6/13/08 Billy stupid for suicide 1 stars
3/17/08 Pamela White Cusack os cute 3 stars
2/07/07 MP Bartley Pointlessly odd. Oddly pointless 2 stars
1/02/07 William Goss A bit too oddball for its own good. 3 stars
6/17/06 nicolecrom2678 One of Cusack's best! 4 stars
1/16/06 Charlie Truly one of the best flicks of the 80's. 4 stars
12/10/05 havthat Perhaps one of Cusack's best roles. 5 stars
8/29/05 ES Silly, not much of a romance but has some funny parts scattered about 3 stars
8/23/05 mwildema One of the best 80's comedies" 5 stars
3/31/05 Mark I'm a big Cusack fan, and I like offbeat comedy, but this movie really fell flat for me. 2 stars
2/01/05 Jeff Anderson One of the best written & funniest teen comedies of all time. SAVAGE STEVE HOLLAND IS KING! 5 stars
8/12/04 ana TWO DOLLARS!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/17/03 anna guest one of my favorites!!!! 5 stars
9/09/03 Me Full of One Liners 5 stars
8/02/03 LeoH So bad that it rises to a new level of awesomeness! 5 stars
7/30/03 3man "I want my two dollars!!!" Very entertaining teen movie 5 stars
3/09/03 jack b nimble funny stuff... pure hilariety 5 stars
2/19/03 sledgehammer you must like Say Anything. so do I. but the BOD charachter's name is Lane, not Lloyd. 5 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Gut-funny. 4 stars
12/28/02 anniebelle may be the best cusack film of all 5 stars
12/22/02 Pigwidgeon An impossible-to-hate movie. "Buck Up, Little Camper!" 5 stars
11/19/02 Mike Hunt Better Off Dead at absolute least is a cinematic tour de force. 5 stars
11/10/02 Richard Cranium Had to buy that guy a new hat last time 5 stars
10/07/02 Dennis What an awesom spectacle....the crowd awaits in anticepation as the ligths turn green...... 5 stars
10/05/02 Zefram Mann Fucking hillarious. Frankenburger scene still makes me laugh myself to tears to this day. 5 stars
1/11/02 Travis R. Sorensen starts ouy ok but quickly fades. the japanese howard cosell was pretty funny 2 stars
10/17/01 Jay Stuler Gee Ricky I'm real sorry your mom blew up 5 stars
9/04/01 Allan Rutenberg Classic comedy from the 80's. If you didn't get it--you're truly lost.. 5 stars
6/10/01 Shelly The greatest movie of all time 5 stars
5/18/01 zeitgeist i've seen this movie a hundred times and i still laugh my ass off 5 stars
4/24/01 Jed Forget "Being John Malkovich" THIS IS CUSACK'S BEST MOVIE! 5 stars
4/14/01 Tony Soprano Bada-Bing 5 stars
2/06/01 Cool Hand Luke It's happened to everyone. 4 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Funny shit!!! 4 stars
2/04/01 Del R 2 dollars! 2 dollars! Worth more than that! 5 stars
1/25/01 Sully "Looky there...now why they be throwin' away a perfectly good white boy like that.." 5 stars
12/15/00 MAT SCHMELZER THIS MOVIE HAS ALWAYS BEEN ONE OF MY FAVORITE MOVIES SINCE I WAS A KID. 5 stars
12/01/00 Jim One of the best movies ever made. 5 stars
5/10/00 Harry Nash This is one of the best cult films I've ever seen. 5 stars
4/23/00 Rita John Cusack is talented AND beautiful! 5 stars
12/15/99 Michelle Bennett What girl doesnt love John Cusack! 5 stars
9/21/99 Tina Agree, 98%; Love Cusack, Hate Love Stories... 4 stars
9/10/99 the Grinch I loved the japanese Kosell impersonator. Made by same guy who did "Eek,theCat"has moments 3 stars
7/26/99 Michael Grimm 2 dollars, enough said 5 stars
7/05/99 JRCarey A great sleep aid 2 stars
6/25/99 Andrew P. If you don't like this, you suck. 5 stars
5/02/99 Whitney Ok, but not nearly the best I've seen! 3 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm Cream of the crop 5 stars
3/28/99 TJwills Cusack proves his worth again. The paperboy rules, too. 5 stars
2/18/99 Piz if your an 80's child, this is killer! 4 stars
1/30/99 Deceon Classic of Classics, Required viewing for Children of the 80's 5 stars
1/23/99 C Dub One helluva funny flick. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink Stupid, but hilarious nonetheless.... 4 stars
10/19/98 Kwyjibo Cusack is a God. 5 stars
9/26/98 Maegs Its a shame, throwing away a perfectly good white boy like that 5 stars
9/23/98 Nate Dogg Scary as it may seem...I've always been attracted to Ricki's mom... 5 stars
9/21/98 Miss Stress This is pure snow, do you know the street value of this mountain? 5 stars
9/20/98 {{{OZ}}} Can Cusack do wrong? 4 stars
9/19/98 J-Guy I want my 5 dollars... BACK! It was okay, but not great. 3 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann another great cusack flick, dan schnieder kicks ass as ricky too. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1985 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-1985 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast