More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.06

Awesome30.65%
Worth A Look: 19.35%
Average: 4.84%
Pretty Bad: 16.13%
Total Crap: 29.03%

3 reviews, 44 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Oscar (1991)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"As Embarrassing As It Gets"
1 stars

I forgive my dad for liking this movie, but I hate myself for buying it many years ago. Well fuck, I was a little brat, I used to take all kinds of shit. Thank God I grew up. This movie is so bad so embarrassingly bad, so stupidly, horrifying, ridiculously bad, that you’ll spend most of your time shaking your head and grabbing your forehead and saying, “God, why?” At first I’d defend it a little, since I never thought it was THAT bad, but after seeing it again, I decided against it, and I think I sucks, and I think it’s a worthless piece of shit.

So, the film is about this gangster fuck Angelo “Snaps” Provolone (Sylvester Stallone, who is surprisingly good), who is called upon, by his father, Eduardo (Kirk Douglas, practically the only one other than Sly worth viewing in this film), who’s dying, but before he dies, Eduardo makes his son swear that he’ll leave the gangster life. He does so a month later, and in one day, one fucking day, everything gets caught up in a terrible shitstorm of “funny” mishaps. His daughter Lisa (Marisa Tomei, ugh) wanting to get married, her fake daughter, black bags, his English teacher Dr. Poole (Tim Curry), his asshole bodyguards Aldo (Peter Riegert) and Connie (Chazz Palminteri), and all other types of shit. Oh, and he wants to be a banker now. Laugh.

All right, granted, this movie has some funny moments, especially from Palminteri in his role of Connie, and those Finucci brothers, and the hilarious bag exchange sequence. I think that this is the only comedy where Sly can act. Fuck that Razzie, I enjoyed him here.

But the rest is left for waste. There are so many stupid scenes in the movie enough to shot this film apart. The standout is ALL the scenes that include the skint of Marisa Tomei. Jesus Fucking Christ, she’s so fucking annoying, that I just wanted to fast-forward the film to the next scene. Her acting was more than enough that if I were to watch this movie in at theater, I’d sure as hell walk out and ask for my money back. She was so irritating, gosh, that I was desperate to go again and watch My Cousin Vinny to remind me again that she can act, but back then she didn’t. Another factor is that fucking annoying music that plays along during the film also irritated me since it was loud, corny and stupid. There were many stupid scenes in the film that were very fucking annoying. The settings are too colorful, and look more like you were looking at a 1930’s France (the play’s originality), than wherever city that the film is taking place

The cast, most of the cast was cardboard. Don Ameche is wasted here, and so is Tim Curry. Come to think of it, though, that Curry wastes himself. Stallone is all right, Tomei is crap, Vincent Spano is all right, but the rest is just reciting their lines. John Landis just went fucky after this film. This is one film you don’t want to show in your resume. Wait, what the hell I’m talking about? He’s already a has-been. Tough shit.

In the end, what else is there to say, the film is awful, as awful as any movie can get, though not as bad as Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot, but still bad. Die-hard Stallone fans will like it, but the masses will hate it. Okay, so it falls in the “So Bad it’s Good” category for fans of bad movies, but in my opinion, this isn’t worth a rent.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1026&reviewer=235
originally posted: 01/21/02 14:22:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/23/15 Bernard Saylor "oscar" is a horrible movie with some really hammy "acting". 1 stars
1/03/15 roger mycock dire dire .spano is awful.hard to think of a worst lead than stallobe.tomei is awful.only g 1 stars
11/22/14 jack The pic was Funny! Sly is Funny! Reviewer is wrong! 3 stars
9/26/12 scott the best sly movie ever. the cast was great starts slow then kicks into high gear. funny :- 4 stars
3/07/11 Joe Shuffield a wonderful comedy that doesn't take itself seriously, something the critics do too much 4 stars
1/12/11 PAUL SHORTT CREAKY ATTEMPT AT A SCREWBALL COMEDY 2 stars
1/06/09 Bethany Cox Loved it!One of Stallone's best films 5 stars
4/11/08 mr.mike Does'nt come alive until the final 20 minutes or so. "Rhinestone" was actually funnier. 2 stars
3/17/08 Norm This movie is good, enjoyable entertainment. Reviewers are full of 'emselves. 5 stars
5/31/07 Bill D. Very funny film, I've gone through 3 copies we love it so much. Stallone is terrific. 5 stars
3/14/06 Bernardo Arteaga It's a good movie, interesting, funny and well executed. Sly does a fine job 4 stars
11/21/05 Yepper I. Gotone I watch to be entertained, and I was! 4 stars
6/28/05 blackcobra its damn good good movie..i coudnt get in india i ordered it from US ..its very hilarious 5 stars
6/01/05 My name This movie is absolutely awesome, reviews are not 5 stars
4/09/05 Larry Weisberg Has to be seen to be appreciatd. A very funny comedy. Stallone shines. 4 stars
1/23/05 Jeff Anderson STALLONE'S ACTUALLY GOOD AND VERY FUNNY IN THIS, I'M NOT KIDDING AROUND! J. LANDIS ROCKS! 5 stars
9/28/04 a.h. This movie was soo funny! There wasn't one point in the movie where I wasn't laughing! 5 stars
9/16/04 Dean Martin it's a funny one 4 stars
9/03/04 AvillaGuy This is a hilarious movie; ignore the stuffy review 5 stars
9/01/04 Simon Conway Proof that the US can produce something worthwhile. 5 stars
5/19/04 Mihai Perhaps the humour was too subtle for the poor reviewers... my jaws still hurt! 5 stars
5/12/04 John a comedy with a nice wink and some charm 4 stars
4/28/04 Tim of Angle The reviewers seem unable to appreciate anything above the level of a "Sienfeld" episode. 5 stars
4/18/04 Sherrie Robbins I think the the movie was fantastic 5 stars
10/31/03 Amanda Smith A move to watch when you need a good laugh. 5 stars
10/08/03 Erik Van Sant Un-Fucking-Believable how awful this movie is. John Landis's career-killer. 1 stars
7/28/03 Eric Carter Hilarious Film Marissa Tormei was hysterical 5 stars
7/18/03 Jared Most hilarious movie. Nearly every line has at least a subtle joke. Reviewers? 2 slow 4 it? 5 stars
3/08/03 Jack Sommersby Unremarkable but charming little comedy. Stallone is perfect. 4 stars
3/03/03 Jeff W. My wife and I thought it was histarical! Tim Curry was Great. If was very clever. 5 stars
1/22/02 Dorothy The movie is not that great, but Tim Curry is wonderful in it!!!!!! 3 stars
8/14/01 Jeffromail This movie is SO underrated 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen...John landis has sucked ever since 1 stars
6/20/01 wsmith I laughed a lot. Chazz's great 5 stars
3/13/01 Th. Mosa Critics might say that the movie is bad, but I know that it is quite amusing. 4 stars
3/06/01 Jake Just go in with an open mind and you will be delighted. Extremely enjoyable! 5 stars
2/27/01 Jonathan Doan Wasn't near as bad as "Stop, or my Mom will shoot" 4 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla First time, loved it , second time, hated it , third time, wanted to fucking kill somebody 1 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Stallone does French Farce. Believe it or not. Doesn't suck which amazes me still. 4 stars
9/08/99 Steve Vey funny. Stallone is surprisingly good. And nice bits from Tim Curry, Harry Schearer,... 4 stars
9/05/99 godsdog Yo! Just turn yo cap around like a switch, an go for it! I'm gonna go for it, so should u! 2 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep Good script. Too bad the acting and comedic timing wasnt as good as the material 3 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Whoa!!!! What the hell did Landis do in a past life, to get this shit foisted on him? 1 stars
9/26/98 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Didnt understand a word sly said......... 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1991 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast