More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.14

Awesome32.2%
Worth A Look: 20.34%
Average: 3.39%
Pretty Bad: 16.95%
Total Crap: 27.12%

3 reviews, 41 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Northern Borders by Jay Seaver

Arbor, The by Charles Tatum

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Oscar (1991)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Ooo. *Joey* Travolta's in this."
1 stars

Yucky.

Sly Stallone, apparently blissfully unaware that his previous efforts at comedy sucked (Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot!) brings us Oscar, a groaner of a comedy (and I use that term loosely). He's a mob guy with a daughter. There's mixups about him (he's going legit, but people think he isn't), his family, and everything else. Wackiness ensues.

Or doesn't.

So let's see...action stars doing comedies...Junior? Sucked. Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot? Sucked hard. Twins? Sucked, but not as badly as it could have. Oscar? Sucked. See the pattern? Actors such as Stallone shouldn't worry about fluff comedies. It's not their strong suit and never has been. He needs to stick with the straight action film or flex his acting muscle in a film like Copland.

What's most disappointing for me? This movie was directed by John Landis, a guy who lost his touch in the 90's. Beverly Hills Cop 3? The Stupids? Blues Brothers 2000? Come on. Here's one of the better comedy directors of the late 70's and early 80's and these are the best you can give? Quit slumming.

This ain't even a renter.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1026&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/19/98 00:14:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/26/12 scott the best sly movie ever. the cast was great starts slow then kicks into high gear. funny :- 4 stars
3/07/11 Joe Shuffield a wonderful comedy that doesn't take itself seriously, something the critics do too much 4 stars
1/12/11 PAUL SHORTT CREAKY ATTEMPT AT A SCREWBALL COMEDY 2 stars
1/06/09 Bethany Cox Loved it!One of Stallone's best films 5 stars
4/11/08 mr.mike Does'nt come alive until the final 20 minutes or so. "Rhinestone" was actually funnier. 2 stars
3/17/08 Norm This movie is good, enjoyable entertainment. Reviewers are full of 'emselves. 5 stars
5/31/07 Bill D. Very funny film, I've gone through 3 copies we love it so much. Stallone is terrific. 5 stars
3/14/06 Bernardo Arteaga It's a good movie, interesting, funny and well executed. Sly does a fine job 4 stars
11/21/05 Yepper I. Gotone I watch to be entertained, and I was! 4 stars
6/28/05 blackcobra its damn good good movie..i coudnt get in india i ordered it from US ..its very hilarious 5 stars
6/01/05 My name This movie is absolutely awesome, reviews are not 5 stars
4/09/05 Larry Weisberg Has to be seen to be appreciatd. A very funny comedy. Stallone shines. 4 stars
1/23/05 Jeff Anderson STALLONE'S ACTUALLY GOOD AND VERY FUNNY IN THIS, I'M NOT KIDDING AROUND! J. LANDIS ROCKS! 5 stars
9/28/04 a.h. This movie was soo funny! There wasn't one point in the movie where I wasn't laughing! 5 stars
9/16/04 Dean Martin it's a funny one 4 stars
9/03/04 AvillaGuy This is a hilarious movie; ignore the stuffy review 5 stars
9/01/04 Simon Conway Proof that the US can produce something worthwhile. 5 stars
5/19/04 Mihai Perhaps the humour was too subtle for the poor reviewers... my jaws still hurt! 5 stars
5/12/04 John a comedy with a nice wink and some charm 4 stars
4/28/04 Tim of Angle The reviewers seem unable to appreciate anything above the level of a "Sienfeld" episode. 5 stars
4/18/04 Sherrie Robbins I think the the movie was fantastic 5 stars
10/31/03 Amanda Smith A move to watch when you need a good laugh. 5 stars
10/08/03 Erik Van Sant Un-Fucking-Believable how awful this movie is. John Landis's career-killer. 1 stars
7/28/03 Eric Carter Hilarious Film Marissa Tormei was hysterical 5 stars
7/18/03 Jared Most hilarious movie. Nearly every line has at least a subtle joke. Reviewers? 2 slow 4 it? 5 stars
3/08/03 Jack Sommersby Unremarkable but charming little comedy. Stallone is perfect. 4 stars
3/03/03 Jeff W. My wife and I thought it was histarical! Tim Curry was Great. If was very clever. 5 stars
1/22/02 Dorothy The movie is not that great, but Tim Curry is wonderful in it!!!!!! 3 stars
8/14/01 Jeffromail This movie is SO underrated 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen...John landis has sucked ever since 1 stars
6/20/01 wsmith I laughed a lot. Chazz's great 5 stars
3/13/01 Th. Mosa Critics might say that the movie is bad, but I know that it is quite amusing. 4 stars
3/06/01 Jake Just go in with an open mind and you will be delighted. Extremely enjoyable! 5 stars
2/27/01 Jonathan Doan Wasn't near as bad as "Stop, or my Mom will shoot" 4 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla First time, loved it , second time, hated it , third time, wanted to fucking kill somebody 1 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Stallone does French Farce. Believe it or not. Doesn't suck which amazes me still. 4 stars
9/08/99 Steve Vey funny. Stallone is surprisingly good. And nice bits from Tim Curry, Harry Schearer,... 4 stars
9/05/99 godsdog Yo! Just turn yo cap around like a switch, an go for it! I'm gonna go for it, so should u! 2 stars
10/30/98 Negative Creep Good script. Too bad the acting and comedic timing wasnt as good as the material 3 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Whoa!!!! What the hell did Landis do in a past life, to get this shit foisted on him? 1 stars
9/26/98 MR HOLLYWOOD!! Didnt understand a word sly said......... 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1991 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast