More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.5

Awesome: 14.24%
Worth A Look: 16.72%
Average: 12.69%
Pretty Bad: 17.96%
Total Crap38.39%

13 reviews, 245 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Village, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"The movie's true unexpected surprise is the talent of Bryce Dallas Howard."
4 stars

Indistinctively set in either the Nineteenth Century or an Amish community, “the village” is our ambiguous host of land to a modest group of, well, villagers, mourning the loss of a little boy. Daily chores are observed (sweeping off the wooden deck, but also uprooting and burying a thatch of red flowers by the porch), but then and later on, any references to real work are left to the imagination and cryptic reference. The repeated sight of skinned carcasses of baby foxes are a means to let the villagers know that Those We Don’t Speak Of, apparently those who live where the woods begin, as well as those who have a thing for the color red (surely to be explained by Shyamalan in the director’s commentary, as having some other significance besides the descriptive color of a herring), are at unrest with the continuing trespass into their neck of the woods.

In a roundabout rigmarole to remain ahead of the viewer, the next couple of steps taken are out of the way, and evidence that M. is not so deft with comedy, as the village’s head elder’s eldest daughter is spurned by the shy son (Joaquin Phoenix) of another elder. Instead, he has eyes (but not much of a mouth), for the head elder’s younger daughter, an ominously redheaded blind girl (Bryce Dallas Howard, daughter of Ron) — though Shyamalan’s customary desaturation of color lessens the effect, and therefore the ominousness, of those fiery tresses. While the quiet boy has notions of traveling to vague mentions of “the towns” in search of medicine, the love story kicks over into the priority until yet another change of step alters the course of the footpath.

The character of the blind girl, Ivy, played by Howard, becomes the unlikely and unplanned for central figure. What the movie has to offer because of her (though the attempt is to use her blindness as a crutch in the script, Howard does not use it in the same manner as an actress) is more than Shyamalan’s other movies have had to offer in that respect, or at least to me, in the genuine way of an amazing performance as compared to the disingenuous reception to the coached and coaxed Haley Joel Osment. As with any M. Night movie, the viewer of The Village has a lot of time on their hands to sit around and cook up theories to what the shock twist may be, but unlike his previous movies, it has a focal performance that the viewer can be absorbed by in the meantime. And where I agree with criticisms of the movie, and its hapless trick, I can still muster the enthusiasm for this to be seen on Howard’s behalf — she’s really something. It’s never clear how long Howard’s Ivy is going to stick around, until so much time has passed that we are still in her company. There is something of an unforced presence, a natural quietude, a piercing expressiveness and ability to talk — or whisper — the words we all dare not to say aloud, only to think. Howard is more than able to hold her own with the bigger likes of the cast, no matter how seasoned. (The movie’s most memorable scene, far removed from what it’s all really about, is shared between Howard and Cherry Jones, two warm actresses illuminating the screen for the briefest of moments.) Maybe it’s because she’s at an advantage of having no previous work to hold her to before, and maybe her next role will not stand up to the height here, but in this movie, the one true revelation is the tremendous talent that Bryce Dallas Howard seems to be.

Where the criticisms pour out of, so profusely I’ve nary heard a mention of Howard elsewhere, are at the sleeves of M. and his dedicated chicanery. Myself not being fond of his fresh body of work (only Unbreakable as a like before this, and not as strong of a like as the stronger dislikes of The Sixth Sense and Signs), I suppose I have less to be upset about. He does his thing, so to say, in creating a ramshackle pretense that is destined to lead towards a surprise twist at the close. It’s his signature. However, these earth-shaking revelations appear to be his only motivation along the way; everything else in the interim is a temporary guise to cover the grand scheme of things, so that when Shyamalan stonewalls his audience on very big and obvious issues (the lockboxes, the monsters themselves, etc.), you know something must be up. It doesn’t take much to add the coincidences up before there’s a clear line-of-sight in the direction of what’s supposed to stay secret until the end, and in my position — one of a viewer who could care less about having the wool pulled over my eyes — the shock is not so much of a shock, especially when it is clear what that shock is or will be in less than thirty-minutes of the movie starting.

The trick has been played on Shyamalan, the pompous, pretentious writer-director, who feeds his need and ego to stay on a track ahead of his viewers. Only, he underestimates the intelligence of his viewers, and in his self-assured position of being several steps ahead of them, he is in fact behind them. While he considers himself in a master class of someone like Hitchcock (and make no joke of it, he’s coined terms of his style after his own name), he has forgotten the importance of having any meaning in building up to his trademark surprise. Shyamalan’s mistake is that the construction of everything in the path leading up to his revelation strictly hinges on how and where he is to trick the viewer; it relegates the movie to a hollow frame that caves from within when the truth is seen clearly. In reverse order, it does not work so well, if even at all. The reason I can’t get so worked up about it, is because this seems to be what his audience (critics included) wanted: inconsequential ambiguities all to be dashed by an end gimmick. And so that’s what he has done here, even if by covering his tracks by deceit and lies unlike before, which is understandably angering to a viewer of more intelligence than M. is giving them credit for.

Shyamalan’s know-how is not in question; he is able to generate tension and suspense and atmosphere from very little, if even anything at all. He knows how to get the look of the thing down, or at least how to choose a cinematographer (Roger Deakins) who does. He knows how to attract a mixture of big and respectable names (Sigourney Weaver, William Hurt, Brendan Gleeson, etc.). But his gig of pulling one over on an unsuspecting audience is not going to last; the ending trickery (along with the slow-moving progression) is the one thing that people are expecting of him. And, well, it seems to be turning into a doubt of capability on the behalf of many; for me, it just seems that those many are finally catching up on what us few saw long ago.

[Worth-seeing.]

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10269&reviewer=172
originally posted: 08/07/04 19:04:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/30/16 morris campbell dull dumb dreary one the worst movies EVER 1 stars
2/06/14 Luisa Thought provoking, great acting, creepy! loved it! 5 stars
9/02/11 John Nowak Hilariously artificial. The characters seem to do things to fool the audience. 2 stars
8/16/11 chris Dumber than a sack of hammers, stupid people make for great cinema I guess. 1 stars
2/23/10 JM Synth By turns dull and risible, and somethimes even both at once 2 stars
12/16/09 girl sadly underrated 4 stars
3/19/09 Norma Lehigh Sany Zendup in MARY SCOOVIE IV vave GILLAGE a daison r'etre after all! 2 stars
3/17/09 :] not a bad movie 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. this works better as a love story than a horror movie, but i really liked it! :] 4 stars
1/06/09 FrankNFurter Bryce Howard plays blind like Marlee Matlin could play a piano tuner.Indescribably bad! 1 stars
10/14/08 sonu bhabhi ki chut 2 stars
9/07/08 Samantha Pruitt predictable, a few scary parts, has a great look to it 3 stars
6/03/08 David Cohen Director tries to recreate "Sixth Sense" and fails miserably, pretentious and preciatable 1 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT A MADDENINGLY MISCALCULATED HACK JOB 1 stars
5/04/08 Josh Just read how dumb the reviewers who gave it low are. 5 stars
5/20/07 fools♫gold O, how much people would like it if it wasn't so popular! Hell, bttr thn Sixth Sense. 9/10. 5 stars
5/07/07 Orange A somewhat goofy allegory but it looked and sounded wonderful as did Bryce Howard. 3 stars
5/02/07 Tracey Chambers crap, total crap 1 stars
4/08/07 Nobody If he just cut 20 minutes of nothing and added more scares, it would have been great 4 stars
3/20/07 Timothy Those who don't like this movie don't go to a movie theater to think 5 stars
2/22/07 Beau Had its good moments...cleverly made but lacked some expected themes e.g horror/thriller 3 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini I liked it better than Signs 4 stars
10/20/06 Pierre People's tastes differ wildly ... I loved it!! .... My Mom would hate it. Worth seeing 5 stars
9/17/06 hector i spend like 30 bucks with my girl and we almost fell sleep 1 stars
8/19/06 Beau I liked it! great acting, good plot and this kept you in suspense!!! 4 stars
8/07/06 Chloe It was totally brilliant!! 5 stars
7/21/06 Mr. Incredible All Im going to say is that I wouldn't recommend this to anyone else 1 stars
7/15/06 Anthony G Being as how I saw this movie for free, I still wanted my money back. 1 stars
7/04/06 Sumit Kumar Pal Amazing performances, direction, truly Shyamalan....and wtf the ending is also greaaat!!. 5 stars
6/05/06 mary just bad 1 stars
5/12/06 mr.seraph i didnt see that end comming... but i wasnt impressed wen it came - boring 1 stars
4/23/06 UnKnown it was arite but "the sixth sense" was better 4 stars
3/12/06 Jim It ain't a twist if you see it coming. 3 stars
3/03/06 Tanya I liked it even though it was strange 4 stars
2/15/06 matt its a beautiful movie, as long as your not looking for "popular crap" like most others. 5 stars
1/22/06 Your Mum Good 4 stars
1/17/06 josh horrible twist ending 1 stars
12/20/05 Nicole Not as bad as the rumors led me to believe, but not great. 3 stars
12/06/05 tatum Even knowing "the twist," I was impressed 4 stars
11/18/05 noops pretty nice movie..... 4 stars
11/09/05 Anthony G Fucking borefest, more excitement taking a diarhea shit. 1 stars
10/30/05 love not so bad, but seen better movies of this director 3 stars
9/26/05 Klondo a movie so disappointing and condescending that it inspires you 1 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley "He's found one of the suits under the floorboards!" 1 stars
9/10/05 Joe dirt Im starting to think Night Shyamalan stole the ideas for Unrbeakable and Six sence 1 stars
9/04/05 Quigley it had so much potential...what the crap happened?! not scary and not good. watch signs 1 stars
8/24/05 Anthony G I really hope I don't have to waste 2 hours of my life, oh wait...GARBAGE 1 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma About as bad as House Of 1,000 Crappy-Ass Filmmakers, er, I mean, Corpses 1 stars
6/28/05 R hahaha! "the baaad color!" shyamalan, you SLAY me! HAHAHA! oh my god, you're serious... 1 stars
6/27/05 pin cliched crap. Ironic microcosm...planet of the apes? End the cameos please 1 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli david hollands writes fuckin long reviews. 1 stars
6/08/05 Rock-Steady wow, looking foward to this for a long time, and then! SHIT 1 stars
5/25/05 Casey Becher A real disappointment 1 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel How did half a dozen elders beget all these villagers? 1 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers Ok movie...alittle slow..ending made you think maybe they were not so crazy after all 4 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Shyamalan Village is full of nothing. Another shitty trick ending to an un-scary movie. 1 stars
5/01/05 Paul Shawver good first half unimaginative ending 2 stars
5/01/05 reuben rupp this movie had such an original plot and some great twists. 5 stars
4/29/05 haha dumbest ending ever, by the way,when your blind your not supposed to see things? 1 stars
4/23/05 Quigley the sickest plot twist ever should have been in movies like Walking Tall, not with shymalan 2 stars
4/23/05 Heather Tarlecky I love the suprise ending 4 stars
4/21/05 Carolyn Rathburn It certainly wasn't what I expected, but it had a strange attraction, I liked it. 5 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon Expectations were so high all were disappointed by an only OK film. 3 stars
4/17/05 David Siegel There was a point to this thing? 1 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway It was pretty bad 1 stars
4/08/05 Lina Correa His movies get worse and worse, this is really not worth it 2 stars
4/04/05 Littlepurch If only it was all as good as last 25 mins. Bored out of my skull for the rest of it. 2 stars
4/02/05 irene diaz A very bad film, almost weird in a not good kind of way 1 stars
3/30/05 Skeeve Shamalamadingdong's OWW! I STUBBED MY TOE! 1 stars
3/28/05 Charlene Javier What a laugh! 1 stars
3/26/05 hannaho It wasn't the Sixth Sense, but it was intriguing nonetheless. 4 stars
3/13/05 zaw Not Horror Film, but interesting 4 stars
3/12/05 DONNA L MILLER it was a great movie 4 stars
3/09/05 pepperann224 more of a love story then anything 3 stars
2/26/05 k Sucked harder than ur girlfriend... 1 stars
2/22/05 Reese Great movie...if your IQ is higher than 17. 5 stars
2/19/05 NBCraftsman "This film makes you re-evaluate the concept of whom truly is the monster in the woods..." 5 stars
2/17/05 Kathleen4691 Normal suspension of disbelief isn't close to enough for this one, get the lobotomy first. 1 stars
2/15/05 Rock-steady Fuck that, a waste of 8 bucks(could of got a bj for that) 1 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Disappointing as a horror film, entertaining and likeable if you take it at face value. 3 stars
2/12/05 John Jankowski interesting plot twist, but otherwise not very scary or entertaining 3 stars
2/11/05 Beryl Ladd perfect, brillient, superb. watch it again if you don't thinkso, you have obviouly missed s 5 stars
2/09/05 moviefan This now is in my worst movies I've ever seen category. 1 stars
2/09/05 nannette ryan this was a terrible movie. It advertised as scary but was only dumb 1 stars
2/07/05 Vince A rather enjoyable experience... it's different 4 stars
2/05/05 DM Wooden dialogue, stilted acting, convoluted plot, but good cinematography and music 2 stars
2/05/05 LilyM A huge disappointment; Adrien Brody should give his Oscar back. 2 stars
2/03/05 Kathy terPlugg Fuck The Village's "takeoverAd"! Boycott this cinematic toxic waste dump! 1 stars
2/03/05 haha this movie sucks 1 stars
2/03/05 jj It's about preserving innocence from a cruel world with a strong love plot. 5 stars
2/02/05 BobbysRedQueen This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It basically put my whole family to sleep ! 1 stars
2/01/05 april gupton WOW, this was bad 1 stars
1/30/05 Frank Tells good movie 1 stars
1/29/05 WILLIAM OK MOVIE 3 stars
1/28/05 M A Smith Thought-provoking and absorbing 5 stars
1/27/05 JesseL Started out great! Then turned into a didactic farce. 1 stars
1/22/05 Darryl I didn't expect to see so many "sucks" ratings. It's not scary, but an interesting story. 3 stars
1/16/05 Charlene Javier Shyamalan h*t 1 stars
1/14/05 Barry Taylor It was a waste of money, I was not impressed at all 2 stars
1/14/05 Al Guy A waste of real movie watching time. 2 stars
1/11/05 KSisko2K5 Plays like a low rent Twlight Zone. Ugh. The Hitchcockian cameo is pompous & irritating 1 stars
1/11/05 Katie Heath too generous with one star 1 stars
11/24/04 Brody plays village idiot? How were we to know? Idiot, schmidiot! Everybody in this village acts like a freaky idiot! 1 stars
11/24/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne I wish somebody farted in it so EricDSnider would realize it is crap! 1 stars
11/23/04 Hilary Adamson The Blair Lunatic Project! Hopefully NOT what it takes to raise a child! 1 stars
11/15/04 Gabby What a major failure. It was like a tele-movie. I guessed the ending in 15 minutes! Boring 1 stars
11/09/04 Emily Great drama, beautiful score, critical examination of what society can force people into 5 stars
10/26/04 Curtis Chapman I love fat people 5 stars
10/22/04 T it shouldn't be compared to "Sixth Sense" but viewed for it's own merits. watchable film 4 stars
10/20/04 Susan L. Okay. The director can't seem to beat Sixth Sense. 3 stars
10/09/04 Denise It was good it showed how easily people can be mislead. 5 stars
10/08/04 José Oviedo Even masters sometimes have flaws! 4 stars
10/07/04 malcolm the suspense was incredible, Hitchcock-like even; story was pretty preposterous though. 3 stars
10/04/04 Marco Do not try to see behind what may be is supposed not to have behind. 4 stars
10/01/04 meera very nice movie. but it's bit slow,nice cinematography,director done a good job 5 stars
9/25/04 M waste, total waste. 2 stars
9/24/04 Serch Exellent Movie, totally unpredictable 5 stars
9/23/04 Laura really enjoyed it 4 stars
9/20/04 Battery How do you deal with grief? To clever, to subtle for most. 5 stars
9/19/04 Foks Maha gandu aur nihayat hi bhosar aur lund picture hai...manoj shayamlan ki maa ki chut 1 stars
9/17/04 Jojie I rather slice my dick off with a blunt knife than watching this shit fest. BE WARNED!!! 1 stars
9/16/04 Joseph Barale Rubbish 1 stars
9/15/04 Diego Bega It's a great film. Should be watched as a story. 5 stars
9/12/04 croweater888 this film is bad, we must bury it... 1 stars
9/12/04 john bale Lead down the garden path AGAIN. Clever filmaking. Howard (Actress) & Howard (Music) excell 4 stars
9/12/04 Saffier I really liked it, it was a cool movie 4 stars
9/11/04 E-v@2_m*cs Sit, watch and let it come all over you... 5 stars
9/08/04 ALDO watch it if you liked Little House on the Prairie...its that bad 1 stars
9/06/04 zachula bronder i think this movie is very good 5 stars
9/05/04 danissa dorren awesome!!! the end a little bit deceiving but worth the watch 5 stars
9/04/04 M Plot holes galore! a lead up to nothing and waste of suspense. 2 stars
9/03/04 todd it's "those we do not speak of" dummy 4 stars
9/02/04 Vince Unique cinematography and atmosphere / extremely slow story-telling 3 stars
8/31/04 The Predator horrible, wordt movie ever, yellow is the save color my ass!!! 1 stars
8/30/04 Tam Awful let-down of an ending ruins decent direction & top acting from Bryce 3 stars
8/29/04 HitmanThomas Just not so good at all... 2 stars
8/28/04 Barbara Jones Don't try to guess the ending, or you will. A good movie. Dont try to make it 6th sense! 4 stars
8/26/04 Anthony G wow, wtf is wrong with m.night, this movie was fucking horseshit 1 stars
8/26/04 Claire Waldron A clever funny and downright creepy film that is very watchable. 5 stars
8/24/04 Alan Haverty Bet you didnt see twist coming, critics! 5 stars
8/24/04 Usman Ahmedani Worst film ever. 1 stars
8/23/04 ajay now that bitchslap lowered my expectations, I thought it was good. :) 4 stars
8/22/04 sylvie beautifully directed and acted, story line crap but hey i did scream several times 4 stars
8/21/04 Josh Standlee Goes from kind of scary, to kind of depressing. I can't say I hated it, though. 3 stars
8/20/04 S.F Predictable. 'Creature' looks like the Grinch. watch Unbreakable instead. 2 stars
8/20/04 anna so awosme, makes yah think adn if u didnt think it was awsome meaans u didnt think about it 5 stars
8/19/04 Carly i thought it was fantastic. 5 stars
8/16/04 Anonymous An awesome film. I don't know why most people didn't like it. 5 stars
8/16/04 Jay totally not that bad 4 stars
8/15/04 chris i think it was great and if you dontlike it you crazy 5 stars
8/15/04 ByeNight garbage, inflated art film to Hollywood appease 1 stars
8/15/04 Anthony G wack status 1 stars
8/15/04 Peter James Does not nearly supply the "scares" that the trailer would have you believe it has 2 stars
8/13/04 rose was giggling ALOT by the end of The Village 4 stars
8/12/04 Nikolai Idiots whining about the plot gladly fork $300 billion for Bush's "kindler gentler" remake 5 stars
8/12/04 Bill Egan I can't believe the twist was so obvious, and so stupid. Why M Night, why? 1 stars
8/12/04 kc great acting, great story telling, people without brains just can't appreciate this 5 stars
8/11/04 prith not a movie for village idiots 5 stars
8/11/04 yuri over expected 1 stars
8/11/04 Aaron Worst movie I have ever seen 1 stars
8/11/04 simon A slow, boring Amish love story 2 stars
8/11/04 Chance Film is not a horror flick so it did not disappoint me 4 stars
8/10/04 Jeff Riley This film is execrable 1 stars
8/10/04 psycho dwarf It took The Village to convince me that M. Night is more substantive than "Mmm Bop". 4 stars
8/10/04 gin why does he get so much press 2 stars
8/09/04 Liza Awesome.See it a second time and everything falls into place,every single dialogue & nuance 5 stars
8/09/04 Hadley Loved it. People should stop focusing on the twist and start focusing on the characters 4 stars
8/09/04 A F Predictable, boring, unoriginal, sappy, great cinematography, and pretty crappy. 2 stars
8/09/04 John Larson I bore dead people! 1 stars
8/09/04 Joe Smaltz Story sucks, acting sucks, really liked the gas fire logs in 18th century setting. Sucks! 1 stars
8/08/04 Mike McGilvray A very smart film. Too smart for most people. I Liked it very much. 5 stars
8/08/04 Jazmin Berona The movie sucked....and it sucked bad... 1 stars
8/08/04 Anus It's 2004, not the 1800s. Crazy fucking white isolationist amish hicks 1 stars
8/07/04 Movietitan Easily predictable and minimal thrills 2 stars
8/07/04 Gladys Sucks 1 stars
8/07/04 Jason this movie licks balls, the story sucked and the ending was extremely dumb 1 stars
8/07/04 chris. signs & unbreak sucked ass, this was better than 6th sense 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G Fake scares and a bullshit plot means????? this movie sucks balls 1 stars
8/06/04 Jeff Excellent -- very intelligent movie. 5 stars
8/06/04 Dean It could have used a little excitement. I fell asleep several times 3 stars
8/06/04 ELI I thought it would never end 2 stars
8/06/04 Ahnold Agree w/hankster. Not what was expected, but, a decent story by itself. 4 stars
8/06/04 steve palius great atmosphere and film technique but ridiculous plotting and surprises. 2 stars
8/06/04 hankster wasn't bad, just wasn't what it was made out to be 3 stars
8/06/04 Roger D. I made the mistake of guessing the outcome instead of enjoying the film. 5 stars
8/06/04 Maureen B.Howard's performance is the only thing this film has going for it. 4 stars
8/06/04 McGraw Terrible, fails on nearly every level. Ending is awful and lame. 2 stars
8/05/04 Jin M Night scores again. 5 stars
8/05/04 Chris disappointing at first but seeing it as a normal movie it was real good. I liked it a lot 4 stars
8/05/04 KingCanuck Worst. Movie. Ever. 90min of boring, 20min of stupid. You could always see the boom mic too 1 stars
8/05/04 Missy The more I think about it, the more I like it! 4 stars
8/05/04 Barbara somehow, I KNEW what the twist was before the movie started I could have written this scrip 3 stars
8/05/04 Snickerdoodle I liked it but wish Adrien Brody's character wasn't so violent and creepy, I like AB alot 4 stars
8/05/04 K + R 95% of the movie is boring and nothing happens. There is nothing scary about it. 2 stars
8/04/04 ownerofdajoint this movie is incredible.it works on so many levels.don't miss it.it's saying so much!!!!!! 5 stars
8/04/04 Jam Thi People just arent getting what the village is really about...there is a hidden meaning 5 stars
8/04/04 Ian Umm..."interesting"....but it's just bad after you analyze it, sorry M 2 stars
8/04/04 Marce It sucked all ass. To recall this rating's original name. ;) 1 stars
8/04/04 Jimmy James After Unbreakable, I swore I would never watch another MNS movie. doh! 1 stars
8/04/04 Whatevr Better luck next time, Shyamalan 1 stars
8/04/04 eala why do they give him money to make films 1 stars
8/03/04 joe man yall are dumbasses, it was creative all yall want is action dumb fucks 4 stars
8/03/04 Holli It could have been good - but it wasn't. 2 stars
8/03/04 Richard Next time Shaymalan makes a movie I'll wait for it to come on HBO 1 stars
8/03/04 John B What a tragic disappointment. This movie is without question the worst thing I have seen i 1 stars
8/03/04 adora it sucked. it went on and on and the ending had no point. 1 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G This movie fucking sucks fat black dick, worst movie 1 stars
8/03/04 Jahoo This movie sucks "what I shall not speak of" 1 stars
8/03/04 your mom this is the worst movie ive ever seen, Id rather die than sit through the village again!!!! 1 stars
8/03/04 mike belardo If you are looking for suspense and horror look elsewhere. 5 stars
8/03/04 Jesse Perez This movie was a shoddy piece of crap. The dialogue was cheesy. P.S. Ivy is not blind. 2 stars
8/03/04 Kris Certainly not his best, but it's better than most Hollywood schlock these days. 3 stars
8/03/04 Ralph T. The monsters aren't real, where the fuck is the suspense in that? 1 stars
8/03/04 Dave Jensen The Village was the worst movie this year 1 stars
8/03/04 Shane Bell Should have been a made for T.V. that way I wouldnt have had to pay for the gas and ticket 1 stars
8/02/04 M. Trice Great idea for a book, bad idea for a movie. 2 stars
8/02/04 J-rod it's time to put the whole "twist ending" formula to bed. running out of ideas. 2 stars
8/02/04 Jennifer Barker I was so bored throughout most of the film but it's probably b/c I had high expectations. 3 stars
8/02/04 K not so good...made me mad that I wasted the $9 2 stars
8/02/04 Z & H No character development, monsters were you know what, ending made my mouth drop 2 stars
8/02/04 Grace Oh my GOD...OH MY GOD. Nothing in the history of film could be this bad...Gigli was better. 1 stars
8/02/04 Jason this movie is absolutely horrible, and a complete waste of time 1 stars
8/02/04 Melissa Was dissapointed at first (wanted a real scare), but can't stop thinking about it. 4 stars
8/02/04 Emperor's New Clothes At least it was funny, no matter that it wasn't supposed to be. Still gotta <3 Shayamalan 3 stars
8/02/04 JesseL It could have been great, it could have been a contender, instead it SUCKED 5 stars
8/02/04 Mary This movie was drawn out and had no point... it wasn't even scary or anything 1 stars
8/02/04 Rocky I want my 2 hours back to see ANYTHING ELSE! Village of the Luddite Idiots is more honest 1 stars
8/02/04 Michele Schafer Political in nature! The village is analogous to the U.S. 4 stars
8/02/04 Aldo E This movie was definately the most weakest story I have seen in a long while. 1 stars
8/02/04 Elaine Perrone I spent good money on this shit! I See Red, People! 1 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G this movie sucks balls 1 stars
8/02/04 Emily not his best, but that's still a compliment since his worst is still in the A-/B+ category 4 stars
8/01/04 Law stop being so cyncial and appericate a unique and brillant filmamker 5 stars
8/01/04 Jack Oh my, what a borefest. Seriously, I almost walked out of the theater it was so bad. 1 stars
8/01/04 Boyd Petrie If it weren't for Bryce Howard and Joaquin Phoenix, I would have walked out... 1 stars
8/01/04 CharWar Liked it almost as much as 6th Sense - BDHoward is beautiful! 5 stars
8/01/04 Michael Washington An extreme disappointment and clearly the biggest bust of a blockbuster release this summer 1 stars
8/01/04 jumbomargarita A WASTE OF MONEY, BORING 1 stars
7/31/04 Dan Very boring, suspected the twist early in the movie 1 stars
7/31/04 iambubby If he'd have released it under a psuedonym, poeple would have praised it 4 stars
7/31/04 Brad A real let down. 2 stars
7/31/04 Jack Bourbon Heh I thought this was Shyam's best movie yet. 2 stars
7/31/04 zimtk The worst film I've seen so far this year; Worse than Catwoman and White Chicks 1 stars
7/31/04 Thomas Slow; Predictable and the "twist" could have and should have much more meaining. 1 stars
7/30/04 Brian saying this isnt as bad as signs is like saying plague isnt as bad as e. bola 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 11-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Sep-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast