More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.51

Awesome: 14.24%
Worth A Look: 16.72%
Average: 13%
Pretty Bad: 17.96%
Total Crap38.08%

13 reviews, 245 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Village, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"The big surprise? No refunds."
1 stars

Seeing how “The Village” is an M. Night Shyamalan film, I was compelled to ask myself as it started, “What’s the dumbest twist ending this story could possibly have?” And lo and behold, my guess was exactly what the movie gives us. It’s an ending so remarkably asinine in its contrivance that it could only come from Shyamalan.

Of course, the guy’s been desperate to repeat the inexplicable success of the overrated assfest “The Sixth Sense,” and so he’s been putting out lame supernatural thrillers ever since, each one written from the twist ending backward. “The Village” is no different; it’s a boring, boring, boring movie that exists merely to have a shock finale, and that finale exists merely to be shocking. Shyamalan’s predictable twist endings make no sense in regards to the rest of the story, and the writer/director always gives us plots that seem bored with themselves, padded out bits of nothingness that pull us closer to the twist. This guy needs to break himself out of his rut, and soon.

To his credit, “The Village” is his best work yet (despite its still being a stinky pile of gopher dung), with so many hilarious idiocies of his last three films replaced with a steady dullness. It’s not interesting, but at least this time it’s not too embarrassing (by Shyamalan standards, that is). There are still too many nuggets of unintentional guffaws, most of which come from hilariously misguided attempts at suspense, which themselves come from extremely overplayed and overserious performances.

Let’s look at Shyamalan’s method. The filmmaker has two distinct ways of getting a reaction from the viewer. The first is an attempt at creepy moodiness, in which actors whisper solemnly while nothing happens, the intent being that earnest whispering equals intensity and urgency (here, it actually equals tedium). The second is the cheapest trick in the book: the “sting.” Not trusting his storytelling to genuinely shock and surprise the audience, every surprise appearance (a monster suddenly jumping into frame) is accompanied by an overwhelmingly loud music sting from composer James Newton Howard, or a cranked up sound effect, or both. This is not suspense. This is surprise, the best scares Dolby Digital has to offer, and it’s a major cheat. Of course the audience jumps out of their seats - the very volume startles you. It’s the cinematic equivalent of someone sneaking up on you while you sleep and setting off an air horn. Cheap.

I suppose I should outline the film’s premise, which, like all Shyamalan films, is better than its execution. There’s a village in a valley, rural America circa the 1800s, where a good hundred or so settlers live in what looks to be three houses and a shed. (Sure, whatever.) Anyway, these residents live in constant fear of the creatures that roam in the woods that surround the valley. The creatures and the humans have left each other alone for a long time, until now, when the creatures come out and leave skinned Chihuahuas in the villagers’ fields, probably as some kind of warning. They also paint doors, making them not creatures to be feared but vandals that really annoy. Oh, and later, when we see a pile of sticks left in the woods, perhaps by the creatures, I couldn’t help but wonder if the Blair Witch knows these guys. When we finally do see these creatures, they’re so ridiculous in appearance that we kinda wish for the pajama aliens from “Signs” instead.

The creatures are known by the villagers only as the grammatically shaky “those we don’t speak of,” which is kinda funny, considering how much they speak of them. Sure, it sounds cool in a Voldemort kind of way, but the phrase makes absolutely no sense. If you’re not going to speak of them, don’t speak of them. Jackasses.

The majority of the plot follows - in excruciating detail - the courtship of Lucius (Joaquin Phoenix) and Ivy (Bryce Dallas Howard), who is blind, not that we know this for a while. (Note to Howard: when playing a blind character, it’s not wise to follow the other actors with your eyes. Took me a good five minutes to figure out she was supposed to be blind.) Meanwhile, Adrien Brody pops up as the village idiot - the village idiot!! - in easily the strangest, most inexplicable, most ceaselessly annoying movie character in a good long while. And what to make of the unbearably sincere village elders, played by the likes of William Hurt, Brendan Gleeson, and Sigourney Weaver? This is a film stuffed with lousy performances from great actors.

There’s also some mystery about just how in the hell the villagers got to the village at all (what with having to have travelled through the impassable woods in the first place), and what each village elder is keeping hidden away in a secret box, and what’s locked away in a forbidden shed, and what, exactly, is the deal with the creatures?

The problem, or one of them, anyway, is that too much of the movie has the characters knowing more than we do - what’s in the boxes, what’s in the shed. And so instead of building genuine suspense over the course of the story, Shyamalan merely asks us to wonder when the plot will reveal what’s what, thinking that will add to the tension. It doesn’t. It’s not a mystery, just a waiting game, and where’s the fun in that?

Things get dumber as the plot trods on and Shyamalan drops in little twists on the way to the big one. These little twists are infuriating, mostly because (and this is without revealing any more than necessary) they invalidate the plot. Too many times does the screenplay lead us to an important point then drop a switcheroo that says “yeah, none of that meant anything, let’s go in this other direction for a while.” If ever there was a movie designed to convince the audience into thinking it’s wasting its time, “The Village” is it.

The script, however, has nothing on the incompetently showy direction that’s become the filmmaker’s trademark. What Shyamalan shows us once again with “The Village” is that he’s a guy who desperately wants to be seen as an artist on par with Alfred Hitchcock. Note how carefully he composes every shot - with empty pretentiousness. There’s one scene that reminds me of a failed film student’s attempt to copy “Taxi Driver:” in a famous scene in Scorsese’s film, the camera pans to an empty hallway while De Niro gets dumped over the phone by Cybil Shepard, the idea being that De Niro’s emotional pain was too excruciating to show on screen. In “The Village,” Shyamalan is constantly doing the same, panning away from important action, the camera stopping on, say, a pot stove, or a rocking chair. Why? Not because it heightens the impact of the scene, but just because the director thought it looked smart. It doesn’t. This is a movie filled with empty visual gimmicks that copy the cinematic smarts of Hitchcock, Scorsese, Kubrick, and so many others without actually understanding them.

It pleases me that “The Village” is currently getting a shellacking from both critics and the public, all of whom are just now, apparently, getting clued into Shyamalan’s cheap tricks. A plotless movie leading to a meaningless twist? The guy’s a one trick pony, and now people are seeing him for the useless gimmickmeister that he always was. “The Village” may be his best movie to date, but it’s still a complete mess, a tiring, rambling story with no frights to make it worth the time. The ending is a joke, and so is everything that comes before it. In that regard, at least Shyamalan’s consistent.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10269&reviewer=392
originally posted: 01/11/05 12:44:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/15/14 wbtgsjb USA 3 stars
2/06/14 Luisa Thought provoking, great acting, creepy! loved it! 5 stars
9/02/11 John Nowak Hilariously artificial. The characters seem to do things to fool the audience. 2 stars
8/16/11 chris Dumber than a sack of hammers, stupid people make for great cinema I guess. 1 stars
2/23/10 JM Synth By turns dull and risible, and somethimes even both at once 2 stars
12/16/09 girl sadly underrated 4 stars
3/19/09 Norma Lehigh Sany Zendup in MARY SCOOVIE IV vave GILLAGE a daison r'etre after all! 2 stars
3/17/09 :] not a bad movie 4 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. this works better as a love story than a horror movie, but i really liked it! :] 4 stars
1/06/09 FrankNFurter Bryce Howard plays blind like Marlee Matlin could play a piano tuner.Indescribably bad! 1 stars
10/14/08 sonu bhabhi ki chut 2 stars
9/07/08 Samantha Pruitt predictable, a few scary parts, has a great look to it 3 stars
6/03/08 David Cohen Director tries to recreate "Sixth Sense" and fails miserably, pretentious and preciatable 1 stars
5/28/08 PAUL SHORTT A MADDENINGLY MISCALCULATED HACK JOB 1 stars
5/04/08 Josh Just read how dumb the reviewers who gave it low are. 5 stars
5/20/07 fools♫gold O, how much people would like it if it wasn't so popular! Hell, bttr thn Sixth Sense. 9/10. 5 stars
5/07/07 Orange A somewhat goofy allegory but it looked and sounded wonderful as did Bryce Howard. 3 stars
5/02/07 Tracey Chambers crap, total crap 1 stars
4/08/07 Nobody If he just cut 20 minutes of nothing and added more scares, it would have been great 4 stars
3/20/07 Timothy Those who don't like this movie don't go to a movie theater to think 5 stars
2/22/07 Beau Had its good moments...cleverly made but lacked some expected themes e.g horror/thriller 3 stars
11/11/06 David Pollastrini I liked it better than Signs 4 stars
10/20/06 Pierre People's tastes differ wildly ... I loved it!! .... My Mom would hate it. Worth seeing 5 stars
9/17/06 hector i spend like 30 bucks with my girl and we almost fell sleep 1 stars
8/19/06 Beau I liked it! great acting, good plot and this kept you in suspense!!! 4 stars
8/07/06 Chloe It was totally brilliant!! 5 stars
7/21/06 Mr. Incredible All Im going to say is that I wouldn't recommend this to anyone else 1 stars
7/15/06 Anthony G Being as how I saw this movie for free, I still wanted my money back. 1 stars
7/04/06 Sumit Kumar Pal Amazing performances, direction, truly Shyamalan....and wtf the ending is also greaaat!!. 5 stars
6/05/06 mary just bad 1 stars
5/12/06 mr.seraph i didnt see that end comming... but i wasnt impressed wen it came - boring 1 stars
4/23/06 UnKnown it was arite but "the sixth sense" was better 4 stars
3/12/06 Jim It ain't a twist if you see it coming. 3 stars
3/03/06 Tanya I liked it even though it was strange 4 stars
2/15/06 matt its a beautiful movie, as long as your not looking for "popular crap" like most others. 5 stars
1/22/06 Your Mum Good 4 stars
1/17/06 josh horrible twist ending 1 stars
12/20/05 Nicole Not as bad as the rumors led me to believe, but not great. 3 stars
12/06/05 tatum Even knowing "the twist," I was impressed 4 stars
11/18/05 noops pretty nice movie..... 4 stars
11/09/05 Anthony G Fucking borefest, more excitement taking a diarhea shit. 1 stars
10/30/05 love not so bad, but seen better movies of this director 3 stars
9/26/05 Klondo a movie so disappointing and condescending that it inspires you 1 stars
9/25/05 D Buckley "He's found one of the suits under the floorboards!" 1 stars
9/10/05 Joe dirt Im starting to think Night Shyamalan stole the ideas for Unrbeakable and Six sence 1 stars
9/04/05 Quigley it had so much potential...what the crap happened?! not scary and not good. watch signs 1 stars
8/24/05 Anthony G I really hope I don't have to waste 2 hours of my life, oh wait...GARBAGE 1 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma About as bad as House Of 1,000 Crappy-Ass Filmmakers, er, I mean, Corpses 1 stars
6/28/05 R hahaha! "the baaad color!" shyamalan, you SLAY me! HAHAHA! oh my god, you're serious... 1 stars
6/27/05 pin cliched crap. Ironic microcosm...planet of the apes? End the cameos please 1 stars
6/22/05 Manu Ginobli david hollands writes fuckin long reviews. 1 stars
6/08/05 Rock-Steady wow, looking foward to this for a long time, and then! SHIT 1 stars
5/25/05 Casey Becher A real disappointment 1 stars
5/20/05 dwarzel How did half a dozen elders beget all these villagers? 1 stars
5/19/05 wjrogers Ok movie...alittle slow..ending made you think maybe they were not so crazy after all 4 stars
5/17/05 E-FUNK Shyamalan Village is full of nothing. Another shitty trick ending to an un-scary movie. 1 stars
5/01/05 Paul Shawver good first half unimaginative ending 2 stars
5/01/05 reuben rupp this movie had such an original plot and some great twists. 5 stars
4/29/05 haha dumbest ending ever, by the way,when your blind your not supposed to see things? 1 stars
4/23/05 Quigley the sickest plot twist ever should have been in movies like Walking Tall, not with shymalan 2 stars
4/23/05 Heather Tarlecky I love the suprise ending 4 stars
4/21/05 Carolyn Rathburn It certainly wasn't what I expected, but it had a strange attraction, I liked it. 5 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon Expectations were so high all were disappointed by an only OK film. 3 stars
4/17/05 David Siegel There was a point to this thing? 1 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway It was pretty bad 1 stars
4/08/05 Lina Correa His movies get worse and worse, this is really not worth it 2 stars
4/04/05 Littlepurch If only it was all as good as last 25 mins. Bored out of my skull for the rest of it. 2 stars
4/02/05 irene diaz A very bad film, almost weird in a not good kind of way 1 stars
3/30/05 Skeeve Shamalamadingdong's OWW! I STUBBED MY TOE! 1 stars
3/28/05 Charlene Javier What a laugh! 1 stars
3/26/05 hannaho It wasn't the Sixth Sense, but it was intriguing nonetheless. 4 stars
3/13/05 zaw Not Horror Film, but interesting 4 stars
3/12/05 DONNA L MILLER it was a great movie 4 stars
3/09/05 pepperann224 more of a love story then anything 3 stars
2/26/05 k Sucked harder than ur girlfriend... 1 stars
2/22/05 Reese Great movie...if your IQ is higher than 17. 5 stars
2/19/05 NBCraftsman "This film makes you re-evaluate the concept of whom truly is the monster in the woods..." 5 stars
2/17/05 Kathleen4691 Normal suspension of disbelief isn't close to enough for this one, get the lobotomy first. 1 stars
2/15/05 Rock-steady Fuck that, a waste of 8 bucks(could of got a bj for that) 1 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Disappointing as a horror film, entertaining and likeable if you take it at face value. 3 stars
2/12/05 John Jankowski interesting plot twist, but otherwise not very scary or entertaining 3 stars
2/11/05 Beryl Ladd perfect, brillient, superb. watch it again if you don't thinkso, you have obviouly missed s 5 stars
2/09/05 moviefan This now is in my worst movies I've ever seen category. 1 stars
2/09/05 nannette ryan this was a terrible movie. It advertised as scary but was only dumb 1 stars
2/07/05 Vince A rather enjoyable experience... it's different 4 stars
2/05/05 DM Wooden dialogue, stilted acting, convoluted plot, but good cinematography and music 2 stars
2/05/05 LilyM A huge disappointment; Adrien Brody should give his Oscar back. 2 stars
2/03/05 Kathy terPlugg Fuck The Village's "takeoverAd"! Boycott this cinematic toxic waste dump! 1 stars
2/03/05 haha this movie sucks 1 stars
2/03/05 jj It's about preserving innocence from a cruel world with a strong love plot. 5 stars
2/02/05 BobbysRedQueen This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It basically put my whole family to sleep ! 1 stars
2/01/05 april gupton WOW, this was bad 1 stars
1/30/05 Frank Tells good movie 1 stars
1/29/05 WILLIAM OK MOVIE 3 stars
1/28/05 M A Smith Thought-provoking and absorbing 5 stars
1/27/05 JesseL Started out great! Then turned into a didactic farce. 1 stars
1/22/05 Darryl I didn't expect to see so many "sucks" ratings. It's not scary, but an interesting story. 3 stars
1/16/05 Charlene Javier Shyamalan h*t 1 stars
1/14/05 Barry Taylor It was a waste of money, I was not impressed at all 2 stars
1/14/05 Al Guy A waste of real movie watching time. 2 stars
1/11/05 KSisko2K5 Plays like a low rent Twlight Zone. Ugh. The Hitchcockian cameo is pompous & irritating 1 stars
1/11/05 Katie Heath too generous with one star 1 stars
11/24/04 Brody plays village idiot? How were we to know? Idiot, schmidiot! Everybody in this village acts like a freaky idiot! 1 stars
11/24/04 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne I wish somebody farted in it so EricDSnider would realize it is crap! 1 stars
11/23/04 Hilary Adamson The Blair Lunatic Project! Hopefully NOT what it takes to raise a child! 1 stars
11/15/04 Gabby What a major failure. It was like a tele-movie. I guessed the ending in 15 minutes! Boring 1 stars
11/09/04 Emily Great drama, beautiful score, critical examination of what society can force people into 5 stars
10/26/04 Curtis Chapman I love fat people 5 stars
10/22/04 T it shouldn't be compared to "Sixth Sense" but viewed for it's own merits. watchable film 4 stars
10/20/04 Susan L. Okay. The director can't seem to beat Sixth Sense. 3 stars
10/09/04 Denise It was good it showed how easily people can be mislead. 5 stars
10/08/04 José Oviedo Even masters sometimes have flaws! 4 stars
10/07/04 malcolm the suspense was incredible, Hitchcock-like even; story was pretty preposterous though. 3 stars
10/04/04 Marco Do not try to see behind what may be is supposed not to have behind. 4 stars
10/01/04 meera very nice movie. but it's bit slow,nice cinematography,director done a good job 5 stars
9/25/04 M waste, total waste. 2 stars
9/24/04 Serch Exellent Movie, totally unpredictable 5 stars
9/23/04 Laura really enjoyed it 4 stars
9/20/04 Battery How do you deal with grief? To clever, to subtle for most. 5 stars
9/19/04 Foks Maha gandu aur nihayat hi bhosar aur lund picture hai...manoj shayamlan ki maa ki chut 1 stars
9/17/04 Jojie I rather slice my dick off with a blunt knife than watching this shit fest. BE WARNED!!! 1 stars
9/16/04 Joseph Barale Rubbish 1 stars
9/15/04 Diego Bega It's a great film. Should be watched as a story. 5 stars
9/12/04 croweater888 this film is bad, we must bury it... 1 stars
9/12/04 john bale Lead down the garden path AGAIN. Clever filmaking. Howard (Actress) & Howard (Music) excell 4 stars
9/12/04 Saffier I really liked it, it was a cool movie 4 stars
9/11/04 E-v@2_m*cs Sit, watch and let it come all over you... 5 stars
9/08/04 ALDO watch it if you liked Little House on the Prairie...its that bad 1 stars
9/06/04 zachula bronder i think this movie is very good 5 stars
9/05/04 danissa dorren awesome!!! the end a little bit deceiving but worth the watch 5 stars
9/04/04 M Plot holes galore! a lead up to nothing and waste of suspense. 2 stars
9/03/04 todd it's "those we do not speak of" dummy 4 stars
9/02/04 Vince Unique cinematography and atmosphere / extremely slow story-telling 3 stars
8/31/04 The Predator horrible, wordt movie ever, yellow is the save color my ass!!! 1 stars
8/30/04 Tam Awful let-down of an ending ruins decent direction & top acting from Bryce 3 stars
8/29/04 HitmanThomas Just not so good at all... 2 stars
8/28/04 Barbara Jones Don't try to guess the ending, or you will. A good movie. Dont try to make it 6th sense! 4 stars
8/26/04 Anthony G wow, wtf is wrong with m.night, this movie was fucking horseshit 1 stars
8/26/04 Claire Waldron A clever funny and downright creepy film that is very watchable. 5 stars
8/24/04 Alan Haverty Bet you didnt see twist coming, critics! 5 stars
8/24/04 Usman Ahmedani Worst film ever. 1 stars
8/23/04 ajay now that bitchslap lowered my expectations, I thought it was good. :) 4 stars
8/22/04 sylvie beautifully directed and acted, story line crap but hey i did scream several times 4 stars
8/21/04 Josh Standlee Goes from kind of scary, to kind of depressing. I can't say I hated it, though. 3 stars
8/20/04 S.F Predictable. 'Creature' looks like the Grinch. watch Unbreakable instead. 2 stars
8/20/04 anna so awosme, makes yah think adn if u didnt think it was awsome meaans u didnt think about it 5 stars
8/19/04 Carly i thought it was fantastic. 5 stars
8/16/04 Anonymous An awesome film. I don't know why most people didn't like it. 5 stars
8/16/04 Jay totally not that bad 4 stars
8/15/04 chris i think it was great and if you dontlike it you crazy 5 stars
8/15/04 ByeNight garbage, inflated art film to Hollywood appease 1 stars
8/15/04 Anthony G wack status 1 stars
8/15/04 Peter James Does not nearly supply the "scares" that the trailer would have you believe it has 2 stars
8/13/04 rose was giggling ALOT by the end of The Village 4 stars
8/12/04 Nikolai Idiots whining about the plot gladly fork $300 billion for Bush's "kindler gentler" remake 5 stars
8/12/04 Bill Egan I can't believe the twist was so obvious, and so stupid. Why M Night, why? 1 stars
8/12/04 kc great acting, great story telling, people without brains just can't appreciate this 5 stars
8/11/04 prith not a movie for village idiots 5 stars
8/11/04 yuri over expected 1 stars
8/11/04 Aaron Worst movie I have ever seen 1 stars
8/11/04 simon A slow, boring Amish love story 2 stars
8/11/04 Chance Film is not a horror flick so it did not disappoint me 4 stars
8/10/04 Jeff Riley This film is execrable 1 stars
8/10/04 psycho dwarf It took The Village to convince me that M. Night is more substantive than "Mmm Bop". 4 stars
8/10/04 gin why does he get so much press 2 stars
8/09/04 Liza Awesome.See it a second time and everything falls into place,every single dialogue & nuance 5 stars
8/09/04 Hadley Loved it. People should stop focusing on the twist and start focusing on the characters 4 stars
8/09/04 A F Predictable, boring, unoriginal, sappy, great cinematography, and pretty crappy. 2 stars
8/09/04 John Larson I bore dead people! 1 stars
8/09/04 Joe Smaltz Story sucks, acting sucks, really liked the gas fire logs in 18th century setting. Sucks! 1 stars
8/08/04 Mike McGilvray A very smart film. Too smart for most people. I Liked it very much. 5 stars
8/08/04 Jazmin Berona The movie sucked....and it sucked bad... 1 stars
8/08/04 Anus It's 2004, not the 1800s. Crazy fucking white isolationist amish hicks 1 stars
8/07/04 Movietitan Easily predictable and minimal thrills 2 stars
8/07/04 Gladys Sucks 1 stars
8/07/04 Jason this movie licks balls, the story sucked and the ending was extremely dumb 1 stars
8/07/04 chris. signs & unbreak sucked ass, this was better than 6th sense 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G Fake scares and a bullshit plot means????? this movie sucks balls 1 stars
8/06/04 Jeff Excellent -- very intelligent movie. 5 stars
8/06/04 Dean It could have used a little excitement. I fell asleep several times 3 stars
8/06/04 ELI I thought it would never end 2 stars
8/06/04 Ahnold Agree w/hankster. Not what was expected, but, a decent story by itself. 4 stars
8/06/04 steve palius great atmosphere and film technique but ridiculous plotting and surprises. 2 stars
8/06/04 hankster wasn't bad, just wasn't what it was made out to be 3 stars
8/06/04 Roger D. I made the mistake of guessing the outcome instead of enjoying the film. 5 stars
8/06/04 Maureen B.Howard's performance is the only thing this film has going for it. 4 stars
8/06/04 McGraw Terrible, fails on nearly every level. Ending is awful and lame. 2 stars
8/05/04 Jin M Night scores again. 5 stars
8/05/04 Chris disappointing at first but seeing it as a normal movie it was real good. I liked it a lot 4 stars
8/05/04 KingCanuck Worst. Movie. Ever. 90min of boring, 20min of stupid. You could always see the boom mic too 1 stars
8/05/04 Missy The more I think about it, the more I like it! 4 stars
8/05/04 Barbara somehow, I KNEW what the twist was before the movie started I could have written this scrip 3 stars
8/05/04 Snickerdoodle I liked it but wish Adrien Brody's character wasn't so violent and creepy, I like AB alot 4 stars
8/05/04 K + R 95% of the movie is boring and nothing happens. There is nothing scary about it. 2 stars
8/04/04 ownerofdajoint this movie is incredible.it works on so many levels.don't miss it.it's saying so much!!!!!! 5 stars
8/04/04 Jam Thi People just arent getting what the village is really about...there is a hidden meaning 5 stars
8/04/04 Ian Umm..."interesting"....but it's just bad after you analyze it, sorry M 2 stars
8/04/04 Marce It sucked all ass. To recall this rating's original name. ;) 1 stars
8/04/04 Jimmy James After Unbreakable, I swore I would never watch another MNS movie. doh! 1 stars
8/04/04 Whatevr Better luck next time, Shyamalan 1 stars
8/04/04 eala why do they give him money to make films 1 stars
8/03/04 joe man yall are dumbasses, it was creative all yall want is action dumb fucks 4 stars
8/03/04 Holli It could have been good - but it wasn't. 2 stars
8/03/04 Richard Next time Shaymalan makes a movie I'll wait for it to come on HBO 1 stars
8/03/04 John B What a tragic disappointment. This movie is without question the worst thing I have seen i 1 stars
8/03/04 adora it sucked. it went on and on and the ending had no point. 1 stars
8/03/04 Anthony G This movie fucking sucks fat black dick, worst movie 1 stars
8/03/04 Jahoo This movie sucks "what I shall not speak of" 1 stars
8/03/04 your mom this is the worst movie ive ever seen, Id rather die than sit through the village again!!!! 1 stars
8/03/04 mike belardo If you are looking for suspense and horror look elsewhere. 5 stars
8/03/04 Jesse Perez This movie was a shoddy piece of crap. The dialogue was cheesy. P.S. Ivy is not blind. 2 stars
8/03/04 Kris Certainly not his best, but it's better than most Hollywood schlock these days. 3 stars
8/03/04 Ralph T. The monsters aren't real, where the fuck is the suspense in that? 1 stars
8/03/04 Dave Jensen The Village was the worst movie this year 1 stars
8/03/04 Shane Bell Should have been a made for T.V. that way I wouldnt have had to pay for the gas and ticket 1 stars
8/02/04 M. Trice Great idea for a book, bad idea for a movie. 2 stars
8/02/04 J-rod it's time to put the whole "twist ending" formula to bed. running out of ideas. 2 stars
8/02/04 Jennifer Barker I was so bored throughout most of the film but it's probably b/c I had high expectations. 3 stars
8/02/04 K not so good...made me mad that I wasted the $9 2 stars
8/02/04 Z & H No character development, monsters were you know what, ending made my mouth drop 2 stars
8/02/04 Grace Oh my GOD...OH MY GOD. Nothing in the history of film could be this bad...Gigli was better. 1 stars
8/02/04 Jason this movie is absolutely horrible, and a complete waste of time 1 stars
8/02/04 Melissa Was dissapointed at first (wanted a real scare), but can't stop thinking about it. 4 stars
8/02/04 Emperor's New Clothes At least it was funny, no matter that it wasn't supposed to be. Still gotta <3 Shayamalan 3 stars
8/02/04 JesseL It could have been great, it could have been a contender, instead it SUCKED 5 stars
8/02/04 Mary This movie was drawn out and had no point... it wasn't even scary or anything 1 stars
8/02/04 Rocky I want my 2 hours back to see ANYTHING ELSE! Village of the Luddite Idiots is more honest 1 stars
8/02/04 Michele Schafer Political in nature! The village is analogous to the U.S. 4 stars
8/02/04 Aldo E This movie was definately the most weakest story I have seen in a long while. 1 stars
8/02/04 Elaine Perrone I spent good money on this shit! I See Red, People! 1 stars
8/02/04 Anthony G this movie sucks balls 1 stars
8/02/04 Emily not his best, but that's still a compliment since his worst is still in the A-/B+ category 4 stars
8/01/04 Law stop being so cyncial and appericate a unique and brillant filmamker 5 stars
8/01/04 Jack Oh my, what a borefest. Seriously, I almost walked out of the theater it was so bad. 1 stars
8/01/04 Boyd Petrie If it weren't for Bryce Howard and Joaquin Phoenix, I would have walked out... 1 stars
8/01/04 CharWar Liked it almost as much as 6th Sense - BDHoward is beautiful! 5 stars
8/01/04 Michael Washington An extreme disappointment and clearly the biggest bust of a blockbuster release this summer 1 stars
8/01/04 jumbomargarita A WASTE OF MONEY, BORING 1 stars
7/31/04 Dan Very boring, suspected the twist early in the movie 1 stars
7/31/04 iambubby If he'd have released it under a psuedonym, poeple would have praised it 4 stars
7/31/04 Brad A real let down. 2 stars
7/31/04 Jack Bourbon Heh I thought this was Shyam's best movie yet. 2 stars
7/31/04 zimtk The worst film I've seen so far this year; Worse than Catwoman and White Chicks 1 stars
7/31/04 Thomas Slow; Predictable and the "twist" could have and should have much more meaining. 1 stars
7/30/04 Brian saying this isnt as bad as signs is like saying plague isnt as bad as e. bola 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jul-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 11-Jan-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Sep-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast