More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.39

Awesome: 21.05%
Worth A Look28.07%
Average: 24.56%
Pretty Bad: 21.05%
Total Crap: 5.26%

5 reviews, 27 user ratings



Fallen (1998)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Spazmatazz

"Ah-zah-zel. Not A-zay-zel."
3 stars

Tiiiime, is what this movie has too much of.

This was a good premise for a movie...a serial killer put to death, but his spirit escapes, because it wasn't really him doing the killing, it was an evil spirit named Azazel.

Azazel means hell in hebrew, but they were pronouncing it wrong.

Anyway, so the spirit escapes, and passes on by touch, which I just thought was too creepy for words. Unfortunately, the movie played it out really obviously, letting you know who Azazel was passed to before the characters in the movie did. I would have liked it a lot better if there was a little more suprise in it.

The ending also wasn't played out enough, but there's one twist at the end that was good.

Doesn't live up to the preview, but what does?

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=103&reviewer=34
originally posted: 01/20/99 13:47:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/28/12 Grant Brilliant movie, casting fabulous and for those who criticise the movie - really watch it! 5 stars
11/03/08 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 4 stars
9/16/08 PAUL SHORTT ON THE WHOLE ITS TOO SERIOUS, EVEN POMPOUS, FOR ITS OWN GOOD 1 stars
2/23/07 David Pollastrini I saw it but have no memory of it so it must have sucked 2 stars
6/16/06 Michele awesome 5 stars
11/06/05 noops not a good climax...bla bla..... 2 stars
8/11/05 ES Such an excellent and creepy movie, one of the best from Mr. Washington 5 stars
6/29/04 Moo ...Draahhp the gaahhdd daahhmmn gun, Hoohhbbes... 5 stars
6/29/04 Sylver Wheep, this movie RULES. Dunno what you're talkin' bout if you hate it - WATCH IT. ^_^ 5 stars
5/07/04 Maartje Wonderful story, amazing film!! 5 stars
4/08/03 Jack Sommersby Decent scripting tripped up by clunky directing. 2 stars
3/05/03 R.W. Welch Overly contrived mumbo-jumbo mystery. Skip it. 2 stars
9/26/02 snowconehead horrible narration of the plot twist 3 stars
2/09/02 Alex Pydd watch it, you'll love it. promise. 5 stars
1/15/02 Andrew Carden Oscar-Worthy Performance By Washington Makes This A Must-See. 5 stars
7/08/01 luke vanessa has the worst review of any movie on this site did she even watch the movie? 5 stars
2/17/01 Jake A rip off of Shocker with Mitch Pileggi. Not original at all. 2 stars
9/24/00 Deborah You really had to pay attention to understand what the hell was going on. 4 stars
9/21/00 Sully Tremendous movie!!!! Best fright nite movie ever made!!! 5 stars
7/18/00 Matthew Bartley Very creepy and original 4 stars
1/24/00 val donnelly intellectual crime/supernatural thriller 4 stars
8/05/99 Exhibit A I feel that this is a confusing movie with a brilliant ending, (time is on our side) 5 stars
8/02/99 John McDevitt A solid movie that all leads up to the utterly brilliant twist at the end. 5 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu Kind of a confusing movie. 3 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Denzel... lost it. What the hell was this bollocks? 1 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress thisi s the story on how i almost killed myself in the theater! 1 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} I only saw the trailer but it looked dumb as hell. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  16-Jan-1998 (R)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast