More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.28

Awesome60.36%
Worth A Look: 22.52%
Average: 6.31%
Pretty Bad: 6.31%
Total Crap: 4.5%

4 reviews, 87 user ratings



Dazed and Confused
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Yes, there's a London brother in it, but it's the good one."
4 stars

Here's one reason why I like this movie so much:

The young actor who plays Mitch, the closest thing to a central character this movie has, is named Wiley Wiggins.

Wiley Wiggins.

That's like the coolest name for an actor, right next to the name for one of the actors in House Arrest, and do you know what his name is?

Mooky Arizona. Haha.

Anyway. What's not to like about this movie? Rockin' soundtrack, strong ensemble cast, including quite a few young actors that would go on to higher profile projects (Joey Lauren Adams and Ben Affleck in Chasing Amy, Adam Goldberg in Saving Private Ryan, and some guy named McConaughey who was supposed to be the next big thing), and a nostalgic look at 1976.

Nostalgic for some, anyway. I was born in 1976.

There's no real focus to it, as several characters get a little bit of screen time each. It's the last day of school, and seniors are blowing off steam while incoming freshmen get hazed. One freshman (Wiggins) avoids a beating at the hands of O'Bannion (Affleck) and spends the rest of the film avoiding him. There's a party, lots of drug use (hey, it was the 70's) and more 70's guitar rock than you can shake a stick at.

Solid acting, and actually funny and quite touching at times.

You know that Julie girl? Loves you. You want her? Gotta play it cool, you know. Like, if she asks you if you want a ride, you say, "No, I've got my own ride, but maybe I'll see you there." Sounds stupid, doesn't it? It works.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1030&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/31/98 02:56:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/07/14 David Hollingsworth underrated film with moments of real relevance 5 stars
5/03/10 PAUL SHORTT CLEVER, NOSTALGIC COMEDY WITH A GOOD CAST 4 stars
10/09/09 Jeff Wilder Greatest High School movie ever. Great comedy with a melancholy undercurrent. 5 stars
9/13/08 kyle alright alright alright. awesome 5 stars
2/13/08 chris very well made to represent the kids of today and yesterday. dont like the movie screw off 5 stars
1/12/08 Dave Wiley Wiggins over acted his role as the nervous/trying-to-be cool teen 4 stars
8/13/07 jg Terrible. Pretentious, acts like its making some big point. But goes nowhere. 2 stars
3/01/07 Charles Tatum One of the most overrated films in history 2 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini best viewed while stoned 3 stars
5/05/06 dionwr Boring wankfest 2 stars
5/04/06 William Goss That's what I love about these high school films, man. I get older, they stay the same age. 4 stars
5/03/06 David Cornelius sweet emotion 5 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A WILEY WIGGINS~! (also: can't wait for the Criterion DVD) 4 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH SH PAUSE 4 stars
4/06/06 OVERRATED. Wiley Wiggins' AWFUL acting is unforgivable. othwerwise very good movie! 3 stars
7/04/05 Tash Omg its one of my absolute favourites. The best high teenage movie with sex, drugs and booz 5 stars
2/21/05 Ahnold Possibly the best highschool flick ever. Each type of character is dead on true. 5 stars
1/20/05 Jeff Anderson Not bad, the characters are fun, and the 70s music is cool, but THE STONED AGE WAS BETTER!! 3 stars
9/25/04 Agent Sands What a classic. Finally, a movie that realistically portrays teenage life. 5 stars
8/10/04 woody this movie is the best it is one of my favirots. that adam goldberg and rory cochrane dont 5 stars
7/21/04 Sarah I fell in love the first time i saw it! It still makes me laugh every time i see it! 5 stars
6/26/04 Daveman Full of teenage stereotypes and predictable melodrama, but still very entertaining 3 stars
6/11/04 Sara this movie is the fuckin best ever! 5 stars
4/27/04 4x4 Matthew McConanughey great as 20 something HS dropout. 5 stars
4/05/04 nikki f*ckin awesome! 5 stars
4/01/04 Kyle Great film. Every one can relate to to at least one character 4 stars
3/29/04 Alan '70s grad. I swear I kew every person in the movie. Dragged at times, though. 4 stars
11/17/03 Samuel One of the greatest films of all time!! 5 stars
10/23/03 igor troha my favourite movie ever ; great music 5 stars
10/06/03 Daniel Cult Classic with a killer 70's rock soundtrack! 5 stars
9/21/03 Darryl Greatest teen movie ever - with a great ensemble cast! 5 stars
8/04/03 Joman a deserving cult classic 5 stars
7/13/03 Jack Sommersby Overly deliberate and lifeless. See "The Stoned Age" instead. 2 stars
6/02/03 not much has changed best movie ever, the only real teen movie 5 stars
5/23/03 Biff Boffo The only thing this movie was lacking were video cameras at the respective hazings!! 4 stars
2/03/03 poo ita kickass movie 5 stars
2/02/03 paul unbelievably good. If don't love this movie, you don't deserve to live. 5 stars
12/16/02 Film Dude Wow. Incredible. See this movie, right now. 5 stars
11/06/02 Matt wilson This movie changed my life. used to be a nerd now i am the bomb 5 stars
10/12/02 Jess I love it .... you can watch it over and over again! 5 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Awsome fucking movie. Milla Jovovich is gorgous. 5 stars
4/16/02 ash this movies rocks, i dont know why some people dont like it , i guess they dont get it 5 stars
2/01/02 Geo7654 purposeless, but the soundtrack and Wiley Wiggins keep it moving. 3 stars
1/25/02 Julea Goolia best damn movie i have ever seen in my life 5 stars
1/04/02 daniboy I don't get why everyone likes so much this film. There's really nothing to it. 1 stars
12/05/01 Kale Locke Fucking awesome 5 stars
10/01/01 tempest fahking awesome. two thumbs waaaaaay up 5 stars
8/14/01 790 I knew a guy in the seventies who did drugs. Ruined his life. I hate this film. 1 stars
8/03/01 craig one of the best movies. it gets better each time i watch it. great to watch befor a party 5 stars
4/18/01 cuntphucer ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ... lame and boring!!!!! 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary This movie is great. I love modern movies about the past. 5 stars
4/03/01 michelle great movie 5 stars
2/16/01 Jake Unpleasant and obnoxious. 2 stars
1/25/01 dog this movie makes you want to smoke till you drop. great every time you see it. 5 stars
1/11/01 Slater G.J. It kicked ass, from the first time I saw it, and it gets better every night I watch it 5 stars
12/04/00 Jenny AWESOME 5 stars
12/02/00 RICK pretty damn boring... at least my boyfriend gave my head during it.... 1 stars
8/19/00 Trina M. Barnard Good music. bad movie 2 stars
6/10/00 The Bomb 69 awesome shit, total classic that will stand the test of time 5 stars
5/14/00 Bender The movie is entertaining, but after a while everything bogs down, great soundtrack though. 4 stars
4/24/00 Ryan pointless... really REALLY boring 1 stars
4/13/00 Rita I love it! Soundtrack is great too! 5 stars
3/03/00 Ryan Hate the characters but love the acting 4 stars
1/14/00 halah how many times have i seen this? and it just gets better and better. it makes me happy! 5 stars
1/11/00 jeff couturier this movie was the best thing that discribes my life 5 stars
10/14/99 Hannah This movie rocked! Amazing actors, a good story and excellent music! 5 stars
7/30/99 Dax A movie that's every bit as good as its soundtrack albums. A+ 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan I love this film. Great clothes, music, acting, camera-work. Best teen movie ever. 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog I like to do drugs while I watch this movie 5 stars
4/20/99 Tim Gilles This is a better movie about marijuana than Friday is. This movie is great. 5 stars
4/12/99 Randall We would do just as well if we were in a bad or something 4 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn I have adored this movie for years..great acting.. funny as hell and a kick ass soundtrack. 5 stars
3/28/99 TJwills Any movie that jump started the careers of Matt McConaughey and ben affleck is fine by me 5 stars
3/08/99 MahKayla This movie was great because it was about partying as a senior and smoking weed!!! 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel Classic high school flick. Could it be the 90s answer to Fast Times at Ridgemont High? 5 stars
1/24/99 caroline You know what that song's about man? It's about aliens. We're the aliens man. 5 stars
1/12/99 TNT Super dominant male monkey mother fucker! 5 stars
11/26/98 Jack Aster marijuana on 1 refer on 2........ 5 stars
11/26/98 poppy great movie. McCounaghey peaked in this one. Parker Posey at her meanest/sexiest . 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty I like the Washington theory< timmyC this is good for bud values but friday is better> 4 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Much ado about nothing. Just not all that interesting, if historically good. 3 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C Maybe the greatest pot movie ever (this or Friday). 5 stars
10/03/98 wind classic comedy...animal house of the 90's 5 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis Havent seen this flick...I'd be cooler if ya did........ 5 stars
9/24/98 Maegs Found it ridiculous and vapid. Some characters were interesting---but a London brother? 2 stars
9/23/98 {{{OZ}}} Couldn't dig it. Affleck really pissed me off. Some moments were ok. 3 stars
9/23/98 Nate Dogg C'mon man....what else is more appropriate to watch when you're getting fucked up!? 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1993 (R)
  DVD: 02-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast