More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.28

Awesome60.36%
Worth A Look: 22.52%
Average: 6.31%
Pretty Bad: 6.31%
Total Crap: 4.5%

4 reviews, 87 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Dazed and Confused
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Slow ride. Take it easy."
5 stars

Although I have a spotty memory of the seventies (born in 1971, entered kindergarten in 1977), some aspects of the decade DO stand out vividly in my mind.

Like the Hanna-Barbera assembly-line cartoons. The Sid & Marty Krofft shows. Hot Wheels cars and their plastic orange tracks. The humongous real-life cars that my parents whisked me around in. My brother's Star Wars action figure collection. My dad's Farrah Fawcett T-shirt. Toys Plus, Woolco, Mr. Music, Cinema I-II-III and the Land of Oz arcade at Galvez Mall. Elton John, Electric Light Orchestra, Doobie Brothers, Donna Summer, Barry Manilow, Van Halen, Led Zeppelin, and Paul McCartney's Wings, all courtesy of my brother's and sister's record and 8-track library. And whatever doesn't come to mind, my parents have tons of pictures and slides for visual aids.

Richard Linklater has a vivid recollection of his seventies life, too. And the way he re-enacts it in Dazed and Confused is flawless and priceless. From the opening shot of an orange muscle car plodding around the high school parking lot with Aerosmith's "Sweet Emotion" pumping in your ears, this film takes you on a genuine time warp to 1976-era Central Texas. The scenes and sounds are all there: the truck float featuring the band KISS; the mushroom-style chairs (I do so want one of those); the game room with nary a video game to be found, just foosball, pool and vintage pinball games; and of course an all-star sampling of the tunes from the time.

There's not much of a plot, but there's so much going on with the teenagers in this town that it doesn't really matter. There's the traditional freshmen hazing rituals (the boys get their asses whupped, the girls have to act like babies), keg parties, couples breaking up and making up, stoners getting stoned, and so on.

Much of the fun in seeing this film nowadays is picking out all the stars that were virtually unknown in 1993. The best they could do for star power here was Milla Jovovich, who was a fairly famous model just getting into acting. But look at the others: Jason London. Renee Zellweger. Parker Posey. Ben Affleck. Joey Lauren Adams. Matthew McConaughey. You'd be lucky (or perhaps be Kevin Smith) to get all of those folks into one picture again.

I highly (no pun intended) recommend this film for anyone who lived through or has an immense fascination for the seventies.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1030&reviewer=9
originally posted: 09/23/98 12:58:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/07/14 David Hollingsworth underrated film with moments of real relevance 5 stars
5/03/10 PAUL SHORTT CLEVER, NOSTALGIC COMEDY WITH A GOOD CAST 4 stars
10/09/09 Jeff Wilder Greatest High School movie ever. Great comedy with a melancholy undercurrent. 5 stars
9/13/08 kyle alright alright alright. awesome 5 stars
2/13/08 chris very well made to represent the kids of today and yesterday. dont like the movie screw off 5 stars
1/12/08 Dave Wiley Wiggins over acted his role as the nervous/trying-to-be cool teen 4 stars
8/13/07 jg Terrible. Pretentious, acts like its making some big point. But goes nowhere. 2 stars
3/01/07 Charles Tatum One of the most overrated films in history 2 stars
1/28/07 David Pollastrini best viewed while stoned 3 stars
5/05/06 dionwr Boring wankfest 2 stars
5/04/06 William Goss That's what I love about these high school films, man. I get older, they stay the same age. 4 stars
5/03/06 David Cornelius sweet emotion 5 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A WILEY WIGGINS~! (also: can't wait for the Criterion DVD) 4 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH SH PAUSE 4 stars
4/06/06 OVERRATED. Wiley Wiggins' AWFUL acting is unforgivable. othwerwise very good movie! 3 stars
7/04/05 Tash Omg its one of my absolute favourites. The best high teenage movie with sex, drugs and booz 5 stars
2/21/05 Ahnold Possibly the best highschool flick ever. Each type of character is dead on true. 5 stars
1/20/05 Jeff Anderson Not bad, the characters are fun, and the 70s music is cool, but THE STONED AGE WAS BETTER!! 3 stars
9/25/04 Agent Sands What a classic. Finally, a movie that realistically portrays teenage life. 5 stars
8/10/04 woody this movie is the best it is one of my favirots. that adam goldberg and rory cochrane dont 5 stars
7/21/04 Sarah I fell in love the first time i saw it! It still makes me laugh every time i see it! 5 stars
6/26/04 Daveman Full of teenage stereotypes and predictable melodrama, but still very entertaining 3 stars
6/11/04 Sara this movie is the fuckin best ever! 5 stars
4/27/04 4x4 Matthew McConanughey great as 20 something HS dropout. 5 stars
4/05/04 nikki f*ckin awesome! 5 stars
4/01/04 Kyle Great film. Every one can relate to to at least one character 4 stars
3/29/04 Alan '70s grad. I swear I kew every person in the movie. Dragged at times, though. 4 stars
11/17/03 Samuel One of the greatest films of all time!! 5 stars
10/23/03 igor troha my favourite movie ever ; great music 5 stars
10/06/03 Daniel Cult Classic with a killer 70's rock soundtrack! 5 stars
9/21/03 Darryl Greatest teen movie ever - with a great ensemble cast! 5 stars
8/04/03 Joman a deserving cult classic 5 stars
7/13/03 Jack Sommersby Overly deliberate and lifeless. See "The Stoned Age" instead. 2 stars
6/02/03 not much has changed best movie ever, the only real teen movie 5 stars
5/23/03 Biff Boffo The only thing this movie was lacking were video cameras at the respective hazings!! 4 stars
2/03/03 poo ita kickass movie 5 stars
2/02/03 paul unbelievably good. If don't love this movie, you don't deserve to live. 5 stars
12/16/02 Film Dude Wow. Incredible. See this movie, right now. 5 stars
11/06/02 Matt wilson This movie changed my life. used to be a nerd now i am the bomb 5 stars
10/12/02 Jess I love it .... you can watch it over and over again! 5 stars
4/30/02 Phoenix Awsome fucking movie. Milla Jovovich is gorgous. 5 stars
4/16/02 ash this movies rocks, i dont know why some people dont like it , i guess they dont get it 5 stars
2/01/02 Geo7654 purposeless, but the soundtrack and Wiley Wiggins keep it moving. 3 stars
1/25/02 Julea Goolia best damn movie i have ever seen in my life 5 stars
1/04/02 daniboy I don't get why everyone likes so much this film. There's really nothing to it. 1 stars
12/05/01 Kale Locke Fucking awesome 5 stars
10/01/01 tempest fahking awesome. two thumbs waaaaaay up 5 stars
8/14/01 790 I knew a guy in the seventies who did drugs. Ruined his life. I hate this film. 1 stars
8/03/01 craig one of the best movies. it gets better each time i watch it. great to watch befor a party 5 stars
4/18/01 cuntphucer ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ... lame and boring!!!!! 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary This movie is great. I love modern movies about the past. 5 stars
4/03/01 michelle great movie 5 stars
2/16/01 Jake Unpleasant and obnoxious. 2 stars
1/25/01 dog this movie makes you want to smoke till you drop. great every time you see it. 5 stars
1/11/01 Slater G.J. It kicked ass, from the first time I saw it, and it gets better every night I watch it 5 stars
12/04/00 Jenny AWESOME 5 stars
12/02/00 RICK pretty damn boring... at least my boyfriend gave my head during it.... 1 stars
8/19/00 Trina M. Barnard Good music. bad movie 2 stars
6/10/00 The Bomb 69 awesome shit, total classic that will stand the test of time 5 stars
5/14/00 Bender The movie is entertaining, but after a while everything bogs down, great soundtrack though. 4 stars
4/24/00 Ryan pointless... really REALLY boring 1 stars
4/13/00 Rita I love it! Soundtrack is great too! 5 stars
3/03/00 Ryan Hate the characters but love the acting 4 stars
1/14/00 halah how many times have i seen this? and it just gets better and better. it makes me happy! 5 stars
1/11/00 jeff couturier this movie was the best thing that discribes my life 5 stars
10/14/99 Hannah This movie rocked! Amazing actors, a good story and excellent music! 5 stars
7/30/99 Dax A movie that's every bit as good as its soundtrack albums. A+ 5 stars
6/14/99 Dylan I love this film. Great clothes, music, acting, camera-work. Best teen movie ever. 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog I like to do drugs while I watch this movie 5 stars
4/20/99 Tim Gilles This is a better movie about marijuana than Friday is. This movie is great. 5 stars
4/12/99 Randall We would do just as well if we were in a bad or something 4 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn I have adored this movie for years..great acting.. funny as hell and a kick ass soundtrack. 5 stars
3/28/99 TJwills Any movie that jump started the careers of Matt McConaughey and ben affleck is fine by me 5 stars
3/08/99 MahKayla This movie was great because it was about partying as a senior and smoking weed!!! 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel Classic high school flick. Could it be the 90s answer to Fast Times at Ridgemont High? 5 stars
1/24/99 caroline You know what that song's about man? It's about aliens. We're the aliens man. 5 stars
1/12/99 TNT Super dominant male monkey mother fucker! 5 stars
11/26/98 Jack Aster marijuana on 1 refer on 2........ 5 stars
11/26/98 poppy great movie. McCounaghey peaked in this one. Parker Posey at her meanest/sexiest . 5 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty I like the Washington theory< timmyC this is good for bud values but friday is better> 4 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Much ado about nothing. Just not all that interesting, if historically good. 3 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C Maybe the greatest pot movie ever (this or Friday). 5 stars
10/03/98 wind classic comedy...animal house of the 90's 5 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis Havent seen this flick...I'd be cooler if ya did........ 5 stars
9/24/98 Maegs Found it ridiculous and vapid. Some characters were interesting---but a London brother? 2 stars
9/23/98 {{{OZ}}} Couldn't dig it. Affleck really pissed me off. Some moments were ok. 3 stars
9/23/98 Nate Dogg C'mon man....what else is more appropriate to watch when you're getting fucked up!? 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  01-Jan-1993 (R)
  DVD: 02-Nov-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast