More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.17

Awesome49.44%
Worth A Look: 25.84%
Average: 17.98%
Pretty Bad: 5.62%
Total Crap: 1.12%

3 reviews, 71 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Beetlejuice
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Spazmatazz

"Sure, I like it now"
3 stars

I was tramautized by this movie at the age of 7.

I mean, as funny as this movie may seem to me now, it was damn near terrifying then, especially when Geena Davis was hanging in the closet and she pulled off her face. The idea for this movie is that Geena Davis and Alec Baldwin are a married couple just starting out, and they, well, accidently die. As bummed as they are to discover that as ghosts, they can't ever leave their house again, they're even more pissed when a family from New York moves in, complete with Catherine O'Hara as the annoying, redecorating mother. The ghosts attempt to chase them out by 'haunting' them, only to find out that they're not scared, but rather amused. So the ghosts are forced to call "that Beetlejuice guy", the infamous bio-exorcist, to help them rid their house of these annoying living people. He turns out to be...just a little more than they can handle.

Well worth a thoughtless 2 hours.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1031&reviewer=34
originally posted: 09/23/98 11:07:14
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell imaginative & fun ALOT better than ghostbusters 4 stars
11/25/13 Vanessa C. Love this movie. It was imaginative and interesting. 5 stars
9/29/12 roscoe Inventive and fun, but so little of the star. Beetlejuice is only in like 20 minutes. 4 stars
6/20/12 Jordan Kentris I absolutely LOVE this movie. It's one of my favourite Tim Burton movies of all time. 5 stars
4/05/11 Ionicera Great movie for all ages, an 80s gem 5 stars
10/09/10 eric one of the best ever 5 stars
12/13/09 Michael Jay An all time favorite, Michael Keaton was amazing as BeetleJuice in this. 5 stars
8/29/09 Jeff Wilder A zany comedy that holds up well 5 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* Slow at times but overall the movie is awesome!!! I love the different characters 4 stars
4/11/09 Dane Youssef Classic family comedy. There's a whole universe here full of surrealist lands & characters. 4 stars
3/10/09 brian My favorite movie with a Baldwin brother--it's great in spite of him! 5 stars
3/01/08 imar still remember from my childhood, everytime i see it i laugh 5 stars
11/26/07 Jillian Balik Love the soundtrack and stupid humor 4 stars
11/13/07 darby j. that movie so funny i love it i love the soundtrack to it to! 5 stars
7/23/07 deb burton knows what he is doing when he chooses the people he wants - Keeton, Depp, Helena!!! 5 stars
7/11/07 Hello Stranger a charming movie 5 stars
7/04/07 emily my all time favourite movie. keaton (douglas) was GREAT!!! 5 stars
6/15/07 Vincent Ebriega Contemporary fun. Recommended to all. 3.5/5. 4 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog SO OVERRATED. Gina Davis and O'Hara are still cool though 3 stars
11/20/06 Nikki Such a sweeeeeeeet movie 5 stars
11/05/06 yasmin sooooo cool!!! 5 stars
10/04/06 Skobay Brilliant film....childhoood favorte 5 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies Michael Keeton was great!! 4 stars
9/29/06 Mike Burton was only in the movie 18 minutes, but he was definitely the star! Great movie! 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Yet another classic I grew up with& another god of cult classics!! 5 stars
8/08/06 David Cohen A lot of fun, not to be taken too seriously 5 stars
8/06/05 Zack If you don't like this one, you're crazy! 5 stars
3/17/05 Alice Colwell stupid 2 stars
11/18/04 chris keatons a powerhouse 3 stars
10/31/04 JOE KENNEDY TIM BURTON NEED I SAW MORE. SEE THIS ONE 5 stars
10/29/04 Theresa Wagner It's worth seeing a few times, really funny 4 stars
9/09/04 Archanist_101 A Classic Micheal Keaton moment...! 5 stars
9/03/04 T.B. The Best Comedy Movie I Ever Seen! 5 stars
8/20/04 DM Typical Burton - off the wall and darkly funny 4 stars
5/09/04 Sean Scanlan Worst movie ever on my worst movie list 1 stars
12/10/03 Samuel pretty stupid! 2 stars
7/24/03 Kit Funny movie, yet the cartoon series was much better 4 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert whoa, looks like i'm next! 5 stars
5/01/03 Jon Lyrik Nice fucking movie! (honks crotch) 5 stars
4/13/03 Jack Sommersby Keaton is magnificent, but the film is typically Burton: uneven and only sporadically good. 2 stars
4/01/03 Luke Skywalker lots of bloopers in this movie. < ROCKS > 5 stars
11/20/02 Mupey Degarmo This is the best movie!I just wish it didnt have that one word in it!(you know what word) 5 stars
11/01/02 chris really really really awesome 5 stars
10/26/02 Morally Sound "Sooo, what number do you have?" One of my all time favourite movies! 5 stars
10/22/02 AshFan Learn to throw your voice, impress your friends, fun at parties! 5 stars
9/13/02 Lennie Keaton is hot in this movie! 5 stars
8/11/02 Goth Child has been the best film, next to The Crow, to propel me into my current state. 5 stars
7/26/02 Jessica This is one of my all-time favorite movies. One of the funniest. 5 stars
7/11/02 Charles Tatum Keaton is a riot 4 stars
7/11/02 The Motherfucking Hell Nazi I don't get it. In the movie they spell his name "betelguese". Why not "Beetlejuice"? 5 stars
3/20/02 Michael My favorite film of all time 5 stars
2/06/02 Claxner Oxjaw Winona Ryder was never more charming, but can't save this mess! 2 stars
12/12/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now this is a classic that everybody should watch!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/11/01 Monster W. Kung I didn't find it funny. Not godawful, but darn close. 2 stars
11/29/01 The $1.98 Pyramid New characters gets stupider as the movie goes on. The ghoul priest?! 4 stars
10/18/01 Andrew Carden What Starts Out Very Funny and Exciting, Turns Gross and Has No Point. 3 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk One of my favs growing up...it still holds up as one of the coolest, trippiest Burton films 5 stars
5/23/01 Bada Bing Crosby Day-O! 5 stars
5/21/01 Ray McCoy "C'mon you can't leave now! Look, we even shop at the same store!" Keaton steals the show! 5 stars
4/10/01 Gary This is a good movie but whoever made it was on crack at the time! 4 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin one of Burton's finest work. Keaton is humorous 4 stars
9/22/00 Turtle Funny, spooky, totally great! 5 stars
6/10/00 Mike "It's Showtime!!!" 4 stars
6/09/00 danilo awesome 5 stars
6/06/00 Bender some fun, but overrated 3 stars
4/24/00 Ryan still one of my faves 5 stars
7/12/99 chris I love this movie. I've loved it since I was a littlekid. 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: *** (out of ****) Category: "Good" 4 stars
10/13/98 philip nice fucking model--honk honk 5 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep The Banana Boat song/Possesion scene is still onte of the funniest in film history. 5 stars
9/23/98 {{{OZ}}} Was purty cool. Keaton was great. Why did he stop doing actual comedy again? 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Mar-1988 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast