More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.4

Awesome: 11.46%
Worth A Look: 13.69%
Average: 18.47%
Pretty Bad: 16.24%
Total Crap40.13%

8 reviews, 266 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Magic in the Moonlight by Daniel Kelly

But Always by Jay Seaver

Finding Fanny by Jay Seaver

Real by Jay Seaver

Hunter X Hunter: The Last Mission by Jay Seaver

Pirates, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Naked Ambition 3D by Jay Seaver

Time Lapse by Jay Seaver

Black Butler by Jay Seaver

Drop, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Alien vs. Predator
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Because 'Alien Plays Monopoly with Predator' would bore the kids."
2 stars

The main problem with a concept like "Alien vs. Predator" is that we simply don't care who "wins". (As if either species could actually "win" - thereby negating potential sequels.) In their respective series, both the Aliens and the Predators were the villains - very slick, very slimy and very violent villains. And in that capacity, these creatures reign supreme. Jam the two species together for a claw-to-claw brawl-fest and the rooting interest is gone...unless you actually have some human characters in there to offer some rooting interest. And this is where AvP fails. Resoundingly.

...and to think that all of this started with just a little in-joke from one of the Predator 2 set designers...

It's true. As any bona-fide fanboy can tell you, there was an "alien" skull cataloged among the predator's many trophies. From such inauspicious beginnings came a very popular comic book series, a line of best-selling video games, toys, keychains, etc. Even after Predator 2 and Alien: Resurrection were dismissed as disappointments (at best), the "Alien vs. Predator" revenue stream continued unabated.

So it comes as no surprise that this movie has finally hit the screens, following many jettisoned screenplays and false starts. The director is Paul W.S. Anderson, the oft-vilified genre director who has brought us such "love it or hate it" chestnuts as Event Horizon, Mortal Kombat, Soldier and Resident Evil. Some would call Anderson a 'perfect fit' for the AvP movie; others pitched a fit of their own after Anderson landed the gig.

Say what you will about the guy's directorial talents (I believe there's always a place in Hollywood for a guy who likes to make hyper-kinetic genre flicks), but AvP is hamstrung by the very same thing that marred his earlier films: the screenplay. Despite the fact that this movie has gone through dozens of drafts, Mr. Anderson receives sole screenwriting credit. Some might recommend he try to share the blame, because this script is a dud.

It's not the outlandishly doofy plot scenario that irritates the most. It's the ceaseless deluge of woefully contrived dialogue that sinks the movie's (already deflated) human angle, and without the presence of a little recognizable humanity, you're left watching a loud and flashy video game. Only you're not allowed to hold the controller.

Let's see if I can do this in one sentence:

Every 100 years, the Aliens and the Predators meet in a gigantic pyramid that's buried under 2,000 feet of glacial Antarctic ice so that the two slime-ridden species can duke it out in an effort to see which Predator has just earned the Predator equivalent of a Bar Mitzvah, only this time modern man is just advanced enough to learn of the subterranean game of intergalactic laser-tag and they promptly stick their barely-evolved primate asses into a deathtrap of seriously sticky proportions.

There. At this moment you either really want to see this movie - or you hope to live your whole life without seeing one single frame of the thing.

Lovely Sanaa Lathan earns the questionable honor of "leading lady" to a menagerie of snot-covered monsters, and she truly does the best she can with a woefully undeveloped and blatantly Ripley-esque character. The rest of the cast is faceless and forgettable, which is a shame because that wastes the talents of guys like Ewen Bremner and Lance Henriksen. (Bremner plays a guy who mentions his young babies three times in four scenes; guess where his character is headed.)

Forgive a potentially stupid digression, but what one notices in Alien vs. Predator is that the aliens are portrayed as the evil beasties while the predators come off as noble warriors. And this seems more than a little unfair. Aliens are not evil; they are a violent race of intelligent creatures who simply behave as their DNA commands. They're like sharks. Predators, on the other hand, are hyper-advanced and extremely intelligent super-killers who descend onto just any old planet they want, wiping out entire species with the flick of an intergalactic Deus Ex Machina bomb. They're like U.S. Presidents!

Anyway, back from geektown: Alien vs. Predator is a generally drab and persistently dopey movie. The "omg we're stuck in a giant maze" schpiel goes nowhere fast, the human characters exist as nothing more than cardboard cutouts spouting fifth-generation gibberish, the editorial style focuses on strobe-light effect as opposed to narrative cohesion, the long gaps between Beast Fights are airy and interminable, and not one scene in the film could accurately be described as 'scary'. I know they were going for the 'comic book action' vibe on this crazy concoction, but how can a movie called Alien vs. Predator be bereft of one bona-fide boo! ?

Aside from the generous helpings of dialogue-inspired chuckles, the only fun exists as brief little moments of "Hey, Neato" as one Predator smashes the gleaming skull of one Alien or when one Alien skewers another Predator with his razor sharp tail that's also covered with acidblood. ("Hey, Neato.") But even these novelties grow whiskers in short order. Call it the Van Helsing syndrome, but the concept of watching a screen full of multi-colored CGI beat the snot out of itself gets real old real fast.

Were this a stand-alone piece of genre fluff, the disposability of "AvP" could be a lot easier to swallow. But given its impressive lineage of excellent movies and high-end graphic novels, the end result should have been a lot darker, starker and laden with chills. "Alien vs. Predator" is a cool-looking lunchbox that's full of rocks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10370&reviewer=128
originally posted: 08/13/04 17:32:20
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/23/14 imaqiqwcmhd USA 5 stars
7/23/14 xxhbfw USA 4 stars
7/21/14 mysabtzh USA 3 stars
7/16/14 byiwgdkdtld USA 4 stars
7/04/14 ksrossht USA 4 stars
6/19/14 nzyrfkteauc USA 4 stars
5/17/14 xzlzlge USA 3 stars
1/16/14 Lyuzvrdr USA 5 stars
9/17/12 VLTampa This was better than I thought it would be. Husband also liked 4 stars
3/29/12 Marty obv. not an oscar movie. cool action sequences and makeup. lighten up. 3 stars
1/22/12 Velociraptor I like this movie, total timepass 4 stars
9/10/11 Shannon Dagesse I loved this movie and by the end loved the predator 4 stars
5/15/11 stephen nettles Could have been amazing, but it isnt 1 stars
3/28/10 Shaun A The video games based on this are better because I didn't care about the characters 2 stars
12/28/09 Mr. Loco AVP and AVP R are in my favorite movie list without a doubt! Predator Kiicks ass!! 5 stars
9/15/09 Manntis Somewhere the ghost of William Lincoln is crying. 1 stars
8/02/09 Tim A movie to be enjoyed by only those with a low IQ. 1 stars
7/21/09 horney1 so bad it would make a blind kid cry 1 stars
4/23/09 Sugarfoot A complete waste of a good idea. A true shit morsel of a movie 1 stars
10/31/08 tiffany pettey we actually let our 4 year old watch this and its cool and science oriented 4 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic dreadful film. waste of time to sit and watch 1 stars
1/04/08 DC7 Bastardization of 2 great franchises. Lacking everything that made the originials great. 1 stars
12/06/07 Adrian Is it possible to take two action packed concepts and bore the crap out of an audience? Sc 1 stars
11/11/07 tammie I love any "Alien" movie, this one was ok. 3 stars
10/24/07 auston its great 5 stars
10/03/07 wall pretty cool 5 stars
8/27/07 timmy better than "Citizen Kane" 5 stars
8/10/07 Vip Ebriega Whoever wins, we lose. And boy did we lose!!! 2/5. 2 stars
8/10/07 Juve4Life Whoever gave this movie above 1 star has to be as dumb as this movie,what a joke of a movie 1 stars
7/14/07 Vincent Ebriega Merchendise cannot save the mediocrity and tedium of the film. 2/5. 2 stars
7/08/07 al smith fucking shit a slur against both franchises 1 stars
5/18/07 movieman enjoyed it 5 stars
5/01/07 Tracey Chambers I liked it. Its worth watching if you just wanna veg out. 4 stars
4/23/07 David Risser The Predator/Alien battles were cool, but the characters died off like a typical B-movie. 3 stars
4/20/07 Dick K. Ohhhh, why? Why did he do that to such a great series?! It could have been so much better! 2 stars
4/17/07 Steven Cotton I cried when i saw this cos it was so SHIT. Anderson needs to buck his ideas up. 1 stars
4/16/07 johnnyfog Surprisingly decent! No gore though. 3 stars
4/07/07 kalone uwe boll and paul w.s. anderson and relatives, their grandpa was ed wood ! 1 stars
1/16/07 E.D.D. why is there nothing lower then 1 star? 1 stars
1/03/07 Dude cool 5 stars
12/26/06 king predator this my S.H.I.T. 5 stars
12/14/06 D. Kickham Thought I would hate it. Could not have been more wrong. 5 stars
12/14/06 ZQ It was cool, nice popcorn movie 3 stars
11/10/06 Austin Wertman 2ND FAVORITE MOVIE OF 2004 5 stars
11/07/06 David Pollastrini needs more gore! 3 stars
11/01/06 Chris Just about the biggest let down of all my movie going experiences. 2 stars
10/31/06 Joel Aken So Bad it made it fun to watch, i was actually bursting into fits of laughter 1 stars
10/24/06 Jeremy Davies not bad sort of entertaining 3 stars
10/22/06 David Pollastrini great fx 3 stars
10/05/06 Stanley Thai An underrated film. I could say this is a good film but you guys won't believe me. See it. 4 stars
10/03/06 robert shame on you for putting predators with their technologies to come to fight cockroaches 1 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Good alien/sci-fi FX, but just 1 thing, Predator sucks, Got Alien ?POPCORN FLICK!!!! 3 stars
7/15/06 ricky moss moive was off tha hook and tha actriss was sexy 5 stars
6/12/06 William Goss Should have been better, could have been worse. Trashy B-grade fun, but still, PG-13?!? 3 stars
6/01/06 Sonny I expected sooo much more... wtf?! 2 stars
5/19/06 Amber Pifer Bad, super-bad 1 stars
5/15/06 Samantha Jayne Hillery i thinck that AVP is the best film ever and who ever dosent like it is sad 5 stars
4/10/06 Ron Newbold I'm in the minority but I liked it - Better than Resurrecton 4 stars
4/06/06 Troy M. Grzych Not the movie it could have been, but better than nothing. Great Queen Alien action! 4 stars
4/01/06 Michele okay 3 stars
3/30/06 M. Dido Someone please bring back Arnie!! 2 stars
3/26/06 C Vega is this the worst crossover since the flintstones met the jetsons? YES IT FUCKIN IS! 1 stars
3/09/06 Dk If you can see it for what it is AVP is good fun 4 stars
3/08/06 Quigley without a doubt one of the biggest crap-heaps in cinema history. predator won. totally gay! 1 stars
1/10/06 JM Synth Vacant when not hillariously silly, but not THAT bad 2 stars
11/28/05 Indrid Cold Not the train wreck everyone makes it out to be, but yes, it's a major disappointment. 2 stars
11/24/05 cr good visual effects, good acting,and some good scenes dealing the queen alien overall fine 3 stars
11/22/05 Punker Starts off okay and then slowly degenerates into total shit. By the end, I was laughing... 1 stars
11/04/05 gabriel its so fuckin shitty its fuckin unbelievable 1 stars
10/26/05 Crumbcake What a TURD! 1 stars
10/24/05 Suk-R-Punch On my list of the worst movies ever. 1 stars
10/14/05 gasp Quite possibly the most disappointing film of my entire lifetime. I wanted to cry... 1 stars
9/16/05 drippy Terrible...just terrible. 1 stars
9/07/05 JubJub The shitties bunch of shit that ever shit!!! I hate this shit!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/06/05 Zack it was bad 2 stars
9/02/05 Mailk STUPID VS. RIDICULOUS 1 stars
9/02/05 Edward People who liked this also like to lick their own father's asses...I have proof. 1 stars
9/01/05 unlimited This?! THIS?!?!?! THIS is the best they could come up with?!?!?!?! :::BARF::: 1 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez PWSA must die!!!!!!!!!! Die, I say!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/30/05 Brisbane This could have been the movie event of a lifetime...instead we got this. So sad. 1 stars
8/30/05 Tom Burns This was an exciting action/horror movie. 5 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny I agree...it couldn't have been a bigger letdown. I waited for this movie for YEARS!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/29/05 Josh the most dissappointing film of all time for me 1 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw I hated the SNES AVP game...but it was better than this tripe. 1 stars
8/28/05 anuj dadwal its really a thinking beyond ordinatry thinking 4 stars
8/28/05 Joker WORST MOVIE EVER AND IF U LIKE GO FUCK URSELF 1 stars
8/28/05 Quigley overwhelmed by alien entrails flying all over. lame acting, directing and script. skip this 1 stars
8/26/05 Termite I used to defend him, but PWSA should be hung up and slashed for this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/25/05 Anthony G sucks 1 stars
8/22/05 frgfg so fucking gay. 1 stars
8/13/05 ES the comics rule, had a little more attention been paid to them this would have been amazing 3 stars
8/12/05 Mr. t AVP blows goats,Im still bitter about it.ROT in hell anderson and fox studios 1 stars
8/11/05 Ripleys Bitch The PC games were far superior, but this is still kinda okay 3 stars
7/25/05 Eric Rollins Dark Horse comics had a much better treatment, still it delivers. 4 stars
7/23/05 Nick BEST MOVIE EVER AND IF U HATE GO FUCK URSELF 5 stars
7/14/05 Brandy Harrington This movie sounds like "Slipp" "Shlopp" "Poolp" 1 stars
7/06/05 LIAM GODLINGTON it was ok but lacking, i believe it has destoyed the whole alien vs predator world 1 stars
7/03/05 Eddie Some good fight scenes, nothing special 3 stars
6/25/05 Mr Fluffy Poo! 1 stars
6/11/05 Manu Ginobli Holy shit, this movie was worse then Van Helsing. 1 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold A disgrace to the quality of Alien/Aliens/Predator, but nowhere near a disaster. 3 stars
6/04/05 Mike Jozic Short on plot, but fun video game inspired schlock - plus Lance Henriksen is just awesome. 4 stars
5/24/05 Carolyn Rathburn A little more gore than I like, but still kicks a** 5 stars
5/24/05 bonnie it rocked 5 stars
5/22/05 Charlene Javier Not as bad as I thought... 3 stars
5/22/05 Cham PG-13? What the hell?! My low expectations were not even met. 1 stars
5/20/05 Christy Schultz Better than I thought it would be. 3 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers This is the worst movie I have ever saw. I forced myself to watch it. 1 stars
5/19/05 salvador some lame violence 3 stars
5/19/05 oHFD terrible, even worse than Freddy vs. Jason. 1 stars
4/23/05 Quigley i expected Brad Pitt to pop up anytime to join the terrible actors' club. no more, thanks! 1 stars
4/19/05 Indrid Cold Actually not that bad. Was "Alien" that much better than this? No. "Predator"? Maybe. 3 stars
4/19/05 patrick I for one think it was one of the greatest movies ever made. 5 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon 1 or 2 good ideas. The rest? Boring! Stupid! Did the writers not read at all? 2 stars
3/24/05 Colleen Goldrick Just OK 3 stars
3/23/05 jimbo not enough killing between the 2 other wise not bad 3 stars
3/19/05 .... shite 1 stars
3/11/05 ITY Almost fun. Let down by totally crap casting, acting and script. 2 stars
3/11/05 tatum Not nearly as horrible as I was expecting 4 stars
2/24/05 ELI Need's more gore... Give it an R rating!!!!!!! >:( But overall, it's ok 3 stars
2/23/05 ALDO Could have been way better.... 3 stars
2/23/05 Rock-Steady LOL, the black chick running with the predator, fucking stupid shit 1 stars
2/08/05 Laurian Diaconescu Enjoyable movie. It wasn't made with an Oscar in mind, don't be THAT harsh on it. It's fun. 4 stars
2/08/05 Richard Linxwiler I thought it was Ok. My son loved it. 3 stars
2/04/05 Tanya Grays I was very disappointed with this 1 stars
2/03/05 Nick If you are a true predator fan you will like it. I did. 4 stars
2/03/05 haha What a fucking bummer, waited this long for a piece of shit.FUCK YOU PAUL ANDERSON! 1 stars
2/02/05 Joe Kolarz I thought it was dumb, enough with the alien movies 1 stars
2/01/05 Edward Condon Wow, I didn't think I could haqte a movie more. 1 stars
2/01/05 craig varney i've seenbetter fights at a j c penny sale 1 stars
1/31/05 Lisa Craven Scared the crap out of me, made me uncomfortable, but I kept watching. 4 stars
1/31/05 guisada cool dude 4 stars
1/31/05 Samuel not bad, kind of stupid, somewhat entertaining 3 stars
1/31/05 New Jersey Rules We should all pretend this wasn't made, and get on with our lives. 1 stars
1/30/05 bongeezer Hoped for a little entertainment... And little is what I got. 1 stars
1/30/05 Christine I actually thought that this was an okay movie 3 stars
1/29/05 darlenecom Very disappointing. Thought it would be up to par with earlier movies. 1 stars
1/28/05 Jack Scallops Horrid. Just Horrid. A boring and gross film not worth anyone's time. 1 stars
1/27/05 the Grinch Ok until the last act, where it falls apart like most Paul WB Anderson features. 2 stars
1/22/05 Rob McKeown I liked it... and not a big fan of either originals 3 stars
1/05/05 Vicious Utter shit. 1 stars
12/11/04 Mark Where did they go wrong, oh thats right they made this pile of crap. 1 stars
12/10/04 mike i hated the movie, the language thing in the temple was just idiotic. 1 stars
12/05/04 Beans The best film of all time 5 stars
12/05/04 jonnyboy lmao 1 stars
11/20/04 Alice I hated the E.T. healing scene at the end but Ok... 4 stars
11/19/04 Zeus Did the Director hate predators or something? 2 stars
11/19/04 Critic I fell asleep, this is a load of crap and a discrace to the alien/ predator franchise 1 stars
11/14/04 Daveman Cliches come fast and furious, more than what can be said for anything resembling action 1 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Paul Anderson is like the Satan of movie making. 1 stars
11/12/04 Dave Taylor Very Dissapointing 2 stars
11/09/04 Dan Van Zan Shite Utter Shite 1 stars
11/03/04 Hilary Adamson More like INDIANA JONES vs LARA CROFT. Bouvetoya ain't in Antarctica, EricD. 3 stars
10/29/04 Vince An insult to the Alien franchise. Anderson is a worthless hack. 1 stars
10/26/04 lotrEEproper owns this shi& hahahahahahahahaha watch and laugh wat have they done,lynch the director 1 stars
10/23/04 Ben More disapointing than Matrix II or III, dont make alien horror for kids it wont work 1 stars
10/22/04 Phil not as good as previous (resurrection excluded) but still a good sci fi action flick! 3 stars
10/20/04 Nelson Preatty much killed the franchised... JUST SUCKS !!!! 1 stars
10/20/04 okkes I CAN FUCKING MAKE A BETTER MOVIE ABOUT MY DOGS WITH ONE THIRD OF THERE BUDGET>>>WHERES MY 2 stars
10/18/04 simba first half is good. second half licks balls 4 stars
10/16/04 gcc Insult to the originals, people in theatre were laughing at the human/predator team. DUMB 2 stars
10/11/04 AVP Sucks and blows truely ruins what ever crediability was left after alien 4 reserection 1 stars
10/07/04 ds_mart Plot did a great job of pulling the 2 histories together, acting credible, FX not cheap 5 stars
10/05/04 matt ford I think its time to endit all:worse than a funeral 1 stars
10/04/04 M Not to be taken so seriosuly! fun!! enjoyable, great FX. 4 stars
10/04/04 Jedar Predators Rule. night and day. 4 stars
10/02/04 tyrel adams I think the movie was awsome 5 stars
10/01/04 Jordan Crawford Great movie, you have to enjoy it! 4 stars
10/01/04 Deuce Richter The deluge of @$^% is gone phew! 2 stars
9/30/04 Archanist_101 Sorry Paul W. S. Anderson but... YOU MUST BE STOPPED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 3 stars
9/23/04 PREDATOR GREATEST FLICK OF THE YEAR 5 stars
9/23/04 Jerry H. I want my money and those two hours of my life back. 1 stars
9/22/04 - sucked 1 stars
9/13/04 Edgar Paul: stop ripping off "Cube". You already copied the maze shit in "Resident Evil" 1 stars
9/13/04 Sammy Granted, it could've been a whole lot better, but I wouldn't call it a total failure. 3 stars
9/11/04 CoolDude Its made of S*** 2 stars
9/08/04 Naturezrevenge I'm a sucker for aliens and preds. Too many damn humans, but worth seing for the queen. 4 stars
9/03/04 Harrion The most kick-ass movie of 2004. Screw whatever the critics say, they're as dumb as hell. 5 stars
9/01/04 nicholas awesome 5 stars
9/01/04 jon it sucked 5 stars
8/31/04 Jason Why is everyone so harsh with this movie? 4 stars
8/30/04 Josh That movie was Sh*t. I want my money back 1 stars
8/30/04 Jantsen A fun, popcorn-chomping romp in the worlds of both the Alien and the Predator. 5 stars
8/30/04 Deedee It was a sad sad sad movie. 1 stars
8/28/04 Tyler This movie SUCKS BIG TIME. One of the worst movies of the year, if not ever 1 stars
8/28/04 Barbara Jones i went with my husband, he liked it. it was horrible to me! NO PLOT! 1 stars
8/27/04 Mike Stanbridge Better than I expected 4 stars
8/27/04 Jose J My friends insisted I see this steaming mile high mound of poo, they now owe me $10 1 stars
8/25/04 Agent Sands Anderson has thankfully cut down a little on the corny dialogue. Good action. 4 stars
8/24/04 Boris Smith The Funniest film since Pearl Harbor! 2 stars
8/24/04 Aaron Smith no character depth whatsover. Aliens are nasty, Preds are very cool. 4 stars
8/23/04 bob will download it online 4 stars
8/23/04 Willzee I haven't seen it but I already feel discouraged enough about this crappy, silly plot.. 2 stars
8/22/04 Fred I think thats your problem, Rob 5 stars
8/22/04 Rob Whoever liked this movie must be mentally handicapped. 1 stars
8/22/04 Anthony G fucking paul anderson,nice fight scenes,bullshit plot,predator and human?HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA 1 stars
8/22/04 SteveW Movie was interrupted by fire alarm-it really,really bombed!-Got a raincheck ticket,refund? 2 stars
8/22/04 Peter James All the eye candy can't stop this from being one of the worst of the year 1 stars
8/22/04 gcc An insult to the originals. Audience were laughing at predator/human running around. DUMB 1 stars
8/22/04 Dog Shit 1 stars
8/21/04 brian halley how could they make it this bad....retarded.... 1 stars
8/20/04 Paul Carone IT IS THE BEST MOVIE 1 stars
8/20/04 Anus Would have voted lower if not for the unintentionally funny scenes. Best comedy of 2004! 3 stars
8/20/04 derrick torres it was alright for little kids but i thought it sucked 1 stars
8/19/04 Nikolai CGI deptartment closed early so fast action is fuzzy blobs and stobe lighting 3 stars
8/19/04 tom man Brilliant and stylish with cool SFX 5 stars
8/18/04 Dan Good movie, good story, good sfx, good all around movie 4 stars
8/18/04 Fox Blows I really thought the human and predator were going to make a baby and raise a family? 1 stars
8/18/04 AVP Paul W.S. Anderson can Blow me. 1 stars
8/18/04 Brad O'Brien I wish I could sue Fox for wasting my time. What a piece of SHIT!!!!!! 1 stars
8/18/04 Destiny Pifer wasn't bad but liked freddy vs jason way better 3 stars
8/18/04 jopezu seriously, the targeted demographic was apparently retards, but i had a free ticket. haw. 2 stars
8/18/04 dno if any one says that this film is shit.your trying to be a nerdy critic.Get a life 5 stars
8/18/04 gcc An insult to the originals. People were laughing at the predator/human team. DUMB. 1 stars
8/18/04 dno shit dialogue.so what!AVP cool aliens,cool predators,lots of deaths,good film 5 stars
8/18/04 Nikolai Fast cuts on detail shots saved $20 million no doubt cheap tricks 3 stars
8/17/04 Anthony G fuck you paul anderson 2 stars
8/17/04 Roy Again What? You expected Shakespear? 4 stars
8/17/04 Darren Shea Supremely cheesy, but no worse than you'd expect for a freakin' Alien vs. Predator flick! 3 stars
8/17/04 KingNeutron It lived up to my expectations. Doesn't deserve the bad ratings. 4 stars
8/17/04 keith im a huge fan of both the alien and predator franchise and was dissaponted to say the least 1 stars
8/17/04 Chris You jackass gcc.. if you read the comic you'd know they had the human and predator together 3 stars
8/17/04 NoRefill Lots of problems with the movie, but I went to see a dumb action flick, got what I expected 3 stars
8/16/04 Peter James All the eye candy in this movie can't prevent it from being one of the worst of the year 1 stars
8/16/04 gcc An insult to the originals. People were laughing at predator/human running around. DUMB. 1 stars
8/16/04 AJ Another filmic disservice to the genius of H.R. Giger. 2 stars
8/16/04 Lexz POWER PACK ACTION 5 stars
8/16/04 Craig Bring a friend with a good sense of humor. Laughable death scenes = good times for all. 3 stars
8/16/04 DeeJay Mr. Weinberg... FYI: the AVP comic predated the Predator 2 scene you cited. 2 stars
8/16/04 McGraw IDIOTIC! The plot is impossible, the FX and action moronic. STUPID STUPID STUPID. 1 stars
8/16/04 Henry Yeung Ignore the critics, this movie rocks, much better than I expected! 5 stars
8/16/04 Jay Taggart Good action movie 4 stars
8/15/04 BIRD PUNCHER This movie sucked predator's and humans friends? come on dont bullsh*t me!!!! 1 stars
8/15/04 Anthony G nooooooooooo!!!!! 2 stars
8/15/04 penis man get lost you no loving alien and predator man 5 stars
8/15/04 othree Great Aliens/Predator fix! 4 stars
8/15/04 wallly screw whatever haters say 4 stars
8/15/04 Peter James All of the eye candy can't save this from becoming nothing more then a mindless flick 1 stars
8/15/04 ajay it can't possibly live up to the hype. I liked it, go without expectations. 4 stars
8/15/04 mariano lives up to two of the best monsters ever. 4 stars
8/15/04 some dude cool idea but crappy plot and too much humans! 4 stars
8/15/04 Gray less yack more machine gun action See Predetor +you'll understand me 3 stars
8/15/04 Justice Just good enough to not piss me off 3 stars
8/15/04 Jacqueline H. Way to kill a franchise, Anderson. Oh, wait; *two* franchises. 1 stars
8/15/04 lazer 3.14 was it good no it sucked but what can you expect from paul w anderson 1 stars
8/15/04 David complete crap 1 stars
8/15/04 Dalton take out the people, and it was pretty good. But they're in it... 2 stars
8/15/04 King Richard This would be way cool if it was AvP, not Alien vs. Predator and human friends. 2 stars
8/15/04 stipe My first honest reaction was "Is this a joke?" 1 stars
8/15/04 malcolm about what i expected, nice fight scenes, pretty silly otherwise 3 stars
8/14/04 Augustin Lamont III I feel dumber from having watched it. Give me my money back. 1 stars
8/14/04 Alien assassin where's Ripley when we need her ?!? 1 stars
8/14/04 Dan a total waste of time and money to see this garbage 1 stars
8/14/04 Anthony G Theres a scene in the movie that ruins it. It was alright though 3 stars
8/14/04 Trevor Graydon Beautiful Concept, Ugly Execution..WHY?!?! 2 stars
8/14/04 evianhat sucked sucked sucked...oh, and it sucked, too 1 stars
8/14/04 Jensen good popcorn movie, just don't expect any big revelations. 4 stars
8/14/04 Desperado for this i will steal from "This Is Spinal Tap", simply put its a shit sandwich 1 stars
8/14/04 lazer 3.14 paul w needs to die. it sucked 1 stars
8/14/04 Vicious If it had a better director it could have been something special. 4 stars
8/14/04 hihachi from good to bad in 60 seconds 2 stars
8/14/04 Luis M. Delgado It sucks 2 stars
8/14/04 Matt ridout I think its amazing, great fun film, thats all, could be better 5 stars
8/14/04 Chris should have been R, and a little Cheezy, but very entertaining if you are a fan! 5 stars
8/13/04 Spiderfan50 Obviously not what everyone wanted to see but I liked it. 5 stars
8/13/04 m. willie aames "Alien vs. Predator" is a cool-looking lunchbox that's full of rocks. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Aug-2004 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  30-Sep-2004




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast