More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.52

Awesome36.8%
Worth A Look: 25.28%
Average: 8.18%
Pretty Bad: 13.01%
Total Crap: 16.73%

13 reviews, 191 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Crash (2005)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by David Cornelius

"Obnoxious, hollow, and not at all as smart or important as it thinks it is."
1 stars

“Crash” is two hours of Paul Haggis yelling in your ear. About nothing.

Haggis, who co-wrote “Crash” (with Bobby Moresco) and who makes his directorial debut here, is best known for his screenplay for “Million Dollar Baby.” Several critics before me have already noted how “Baby” was subtle in ways “Crash” could never dream of being, and isn’t it odd how the same writer could create two vastly different works. This is not entirely true, however; “Baby” was quiet, yes, but not at all subtle. Its story was told in broad strokes (the selfish hick family, the lovably dumb boxer wannabe). What made “Baby” so wonderful is that although it worked in broad strokes, it handled those strokes with a remarkable elegance, a grace that allowed the characters to grow within their bold-outlined world.

“Crash,” meanwhile, makes no room for such things as character development. It is too concerned with talking down to us, taking the audience for morons, assuming that the only way to deliver a Very Important Message is to deliver characters that are not anything more than vague stereotypes. I do not even recall the characters’ names. All I remember is that we met Bigot Cop, Nice Cop, Obnoxious White Lady, Uptight Politician, White-Hating Thug, Non-White-Hating Thug, and so on, and so on. These characters are so embarrassingly generic and superficial that you might wonder why Haggis just didn’t cast the Village People instead. Ah, look, it’s Leather Biker Guy, and he’s mad at Gay Sailor. With Matt Dillon as the Indian Chief!

The film purports itself as grand commentary on modern race relations in America, and Haggis feels that the best way to discuss racism in all its forms is to put it right there in the open, cold and ugly and offensive and staring right at you. This may be true, but Haggis has no clue what to do with this idea.

And so we get a collection of underdeveloped characters who talk in ways very few people actually do - the gimmick being that these characters have no filters, and so they immediately say what an ordinary person, hiding his prejudices under the guise of decency and manners, would only be thinking. This is intended to shock the viewer, and right off the bat, too. One of the first things we see is Jennifer Esposito, whose car was just rear-ended by an older Asian woman, go off on a tirade about the woman’s thick accent. This is soon followed by a shop owner who, upon hearing two Persian customers speak to each other in their native tongue, calls them “Osama” and berates them for 9/11.

When not spouting racial slurs on a constant loop, the characters debate about the nature of prejudice. Again, it does not matter who actually speaks like this so frequently (I wonder if we’re just following a series of people with some sort of clinical conversational dysfunction, as though they are simply unable to chat about the weather or sports or whatever); Haggis is so intent on getting the audience talking after the movie’s over that he crams every corner of his film with commentary, never mind if it actually fits.

(Here is as good place as any to mention that most of the cast, either by choice or by direction, works in either an obnoxious whine, a piercing screech, or some combination of the two. While Terrence Howard, Larenz Tate, and rapper Ludacris do the best they can with such limp material, the rest of the performers are shrill and unwatchable. Dillon, Sandra Bullock, Ryan Phillippe, and Brendan Fraser look like they’re reading from cue cards, while the consistently horrible Thandie Newton’s wretched overacting threatens to take the film into a level of camp that would be hilarious if it weren’t so dismal.)

And then, alas, there is the in-your-face cleverness of the piece. Haggis structures his film to be a series of overlapping storylines held together by the flimsiest of coincidences, obviously modeled after such works as “Short Cuts,” “Grand Canyon” and “Magnolia.” But Haggis is no Robert Altman, and his web is consistently unbelievable, reliant on connections that never actually work. (At one point I was convinced that only nine people live in the entire greater Los Angeles area. How else to explain why they keep bumping into each other over and over again?) And with only blank templates instead of interesting characters filling up the plot, there’s no real reason to become involved with this ever-growing human tangle.

This, however, is the least of Haggis’ grasps at cunning. His screenplay tries - too often - to trick the viewer. Consider the two young black men whom we first meet as they are arguing about racism; one grumbles about whites always thinking he’s out to steal from them, a comment which is immediately followed by him carjacking a white couple. “Ha ha!” Haggis cries into the night. “See what I did there? A little misdirection! Now you’ll be talking about how maybe some prejudices are actually well founded, but you’ll hate yourself for thinking such things. Aren’t I the smart little puppet master?”

(My friend John, a man so much smarter than I, described the goings-on this way: “It’s not about race at all. It’s about Paul Haggis’ infatuation with his own cleverness, or what passes for cleverness when you're not actually very clever.” As I said, he is much smarter than I.)

Haggis struggles to invent new ways of manipulating the audience, and in one instance, he backs himself into an impossible corner. You see, in one scene, we’re led to believe that a character has been shot. We even get the slo-mo and the sweeping music and the angst and grief and et cetera. And we’re told - no, commanded - to feel the loss. But then he reveals that there was a misfire, the character is in fact unharmed. Meaning, of course, that Haggis wants to have a Big Dramatic Moment without having to follow through in dealing with the emotional weight of it.

Anyway, later in the film, we get a very similar incident. A flash of gunfire, someone’s been shot. Now, here’s the dilemma: If Haggis lets the supposed victim live, he’s just recycling a bit of cheap manipulation, and it doesn’t work. But if he lets the victim die, then the earlier scene was only included as a set-up to help make this scene even more manipulative (which also goes to make the first scene even more manipulative by extension). Damned if you do, and so on.

There is also the matter of yet another character suddenly getting injured, for no real reason than to have that character get injured, surprising the viewer and getting a quick gasp moment. This scene and the barely-there follow-up it (barely) requires have nothing to do with the plot, nothing to do with the development of anything, and yet it is here. Why? So Haggis can pull one more shock from the audience. It’s cheap and pointless and quite ridiculous. (As is the entire out-of-nowhere subplot about the Asian slaves, and the goofy showdown between a beleaguered Terrence Howard and the LAPD - which, of course, ends in a way no actual showdown would ever end, ever, ever, ever - and… well, you get the idea.)

But oh, it’s so smart, you see, because it is daring in its discussions on the underlying problems of a nation. If this is the case, though, why end on such an up note? Haggis actually has the unmitigated gall to decide to end his story with a slight fender bender, in which a black woman and an Asian woman emerge from their cars, comically screaming, and we’re actually supposed to chuckle and think, “well, here they go again, those kooky bigots!” Oh, and because this is not all, we also get to hear - as the finale of this supposedly moving, serious, insightful, deeply political work - a rump-shakin’ hip hop club tune from Ludacris play on the soundtrack. I do believe my first thought here was, and I quote: “You’ve got to be kidding me.”

Backtracking to that final shot of the fender bender. This last jokey bit happens solely because we are told in a lengthy (and very, very, very serious) opening monologue that because modern living keeps us apart, “we miss that touch so much, that we crash into each other, just so we can feel something.” This is that Very Important Message of the movie, that lack of contact has developed withdrawn personalities that feed off of prejudices. It is the kind of thing that sounds all serious and profound on the surface, but there’s absolutely nothing underneath. It’s a sentiment that’s as shallow as the film that features it. For all its posturing and scheming and false fronts, “Crash” is unbearably empty.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10448&reviewer=392
originally posted: 03/05/06 15:25:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Toronto Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Toronto Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

6/22/14 Paul from Philly Unbelievably ridiculous, implausible stupidity. 1 stars
2/12/14 Brad Terrible film which capitalizes on the "pain bodies" Eckart Tolle speaks of. 1 stars
6/25/12 moby doug Manipulative, sensationalized, emotionally dishonest, implausible. Excellent cast. 2 stars
3/16/12 Archie_Leach bombastic manipulative "shove-the-message-down-the-throat" propagandistic trash 1 stars
2/23/12 Anya Not a spark of talant! 1 stars
1/31/12 hurdygurdy man Screenplay from another planet, NOBODY acts/talks like this, so bad - borders on hilarity! 1 stars
11/07/11 cpb Couldn't agree more. 1 stars
6/28/11 chris LOL 5 stars
6/06/11 Dorothy I like these types of movies 4 stars
5/19/11 Roshacla Terrible movie. A hollow pretentious mess that assumes it is worth caring about. 2 stars
3/06/11 Hannah It was interesting, but very long and depressing. 3 stars
11/24/10 Mike There was no story. There was no point to any of it. It was just "hey look, racism!" 1 stars
5/26/10 Brandon Best Screenplay, Best picture @Academy? 4 stars
5/19/10 ikkin74 Not a fan at all. 3 stars
1/31/10 Katherine I was so glad to read this review - it affirmed all that I thought watching this drivel. 1 stars
12/21/09 amy Hated the thought of having to watch movie but it turned out to be very very good. 4 stars
11/25/09 Tom McClellan Pretentious yahoo Cornelius thinks Haggis is a pretentious yahoo. 4 stars
10/26/09 Mike Workman Thank God for David Cornelius. This movie is utter garbage. 1 stars
10/08/09 Kay D. This film really kept me attention. I liked it a lot. 4 stars
7/08/09 *Holy_J@lapeno* WOW this movie is simply amazing. Will drop your draw toward the end! 5 stars
7/01/09 Therm A discussion-starter sure, but good lord Best Picture!? All premise, no substance, TRITE 2 stars
6/01/09 GD It is really good story!! 4 stars
5/23/09 Jeff Wilder Raised some very good questions. Not quite up there with Do The Right Thing. 4 stars
2/18/09 Sean Cry more, this movie is amazing. 5 stars
2/11/09 meryl it was breathtaking but too many coincidences it touches on the problems of toady 4 stars
2/11/09 Lynda This was one of the best films I have ever hated watching. Made me think long after. 5 stars
10/03/08 Anthony E Awful and lazy filmmaking. Beyond horrid. Cronenberg's CRASH is the one to see. 1 stars
10/02/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome story! 5 stars
6/11/08 Dawn MCPike loved this movie and would watch it again and again! 4 stars
6/10/08 caleb Havalotti this writer shows his own intelligence calling the Persian shopkeeper Iraian...ironic 5 stars
6/06/08 Jessay Boring, stereotypical nonsense. 1 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT A GRIM, HISTRIONIC EXPERIMENT IN VEHICULAR METAPHOR SLAUGHTER 3 stars
4/03/08 beau fantasically acted, and this was a realistic portrayal of racism in some parts of america 4 stars
3/10/08 Miss Pretty sure anybody who doesn't like this movie is mentally retarted, it's amazing 5 stars
1/26/08 Pamela White moral a person's perception is everything 4 stars
12/09/07 Sam Eli it's a simplistic 2 hour soap opera with overly sensationalist scenes & melodrama 2 stars
11/17/07 Nathan I wasn't impressed by this movie at all (rather disgusted in fact) 1 stars
11/13/07 cody a very good movie with true meaning and great actors, a best picture winner indeed 4 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Perfect example of Hollywood whitewashing important issues.Simplistic & condescending! 1 stars
10/16/07 Hilary Intresting... 4 stars
7/27/07 Hello Stranger like we need to know more about racism. brokeback mountain deserved oscar, not this. 1 stars
6/12/07 mb A Very Good Movie About People 5 stars
5/09/07 steve newman I think this was a good attempt - very enjoyable 4 stars
5/08/07 Jennifer i love intertwiney movies. this one was flawless, with a message to boot! 5 stars
5/04/07 Nana It's not about the film, it's about people being ignorant about the whole thing. 3 stars
5/01/07 Tracey Chambers great movie,story, and acting. what more do you need 5 stars
4/30/07 Mike One of the first times i think Eric D Snider is wrong, 4,5 star movie 5 stars
4/06/07 Anthony One of the few deserving best oscar winners in years 5 stars
4/03/07 Guido Sanchez Amazing film, if for no other reason than a moving, bold story not told elsewhere sadly! 5 stars
3/09/07 johnnyfog Good performances, and haunting score 4 stars
3/03/07 Phil M. Aficionado Intriguing if viewed as a parable rather than as a slice of life; ingenious script 4 stars
12/29/06 Lauren I'm really surprised that so many people here didn't like it. I thought it was fantastic 5 stars
12/13/06 Lozzia nice movie, made you look again at racism 4 stars
12/06/06 Bart Shallow peace of crap. Just like this review suggests 1 stars
12/01/06 Andy Romero An eye opener. Worth the time to watch. 4 stars
11/14/06 Ernest Alba This has got to be the shallowest pool of users I've seen. Crash was amazing. Period. 5 stars
11/14/06 ras Fantastic the truth offends only intelligent minds would understand the power inits message 5 stars
10/28/06 william shut terrible, pointless 1 stars
10/05/06 Stanley Thai One of the best films...ever. 5 stars
9/26/06 sandra correct your review, persians are not arabs. and that was stated in the movie too! 2 stars
8/24/06 CG great movie, both entertaining and insightful 5 stars
8/15/06 Buck most annoying movie ever seen. hav to be ignorant 4 it to hav any impact 1 stars
8/12/06 Jimbob 14% obviously didn't get it 5 stars
8/01/06 R.W.Welch Has a number of strikingly original scenes. Refreshing. 5 stars
7/28/06 moops i hate this movie 1 stars
6/27/06 Greg outstanding acting!!! i never thought id watch matt dillon without laughing!! 4 stars
6/23/06 Jenn brilliant film with a simple message about racism and the treatment of humans in general 5 stars
6/21/06 Darlene Miller Brillant,passionate,teaches people to learn from their ways and deals with Freud's theories 5 stars
6/20/06 B one pretentious, horrible cliche, I totally agree with David Cornelius! 1 stars
6/19/06 Duncan Worst movie error. Infantile/simplistic plot. Very tryhard. 1 stars
6/18/06 Dan good movie. 4 stars
6/13/06 GIA A VERY RACIST FILM SUPPOSEDLY ABOUT RACISM 1 stars
6/08/06 Heidi Excellent movie showing the incredible power our words and actions can affect others 5 stars
5/29/06 pablo Absolute crap, cliche's paradise, should be next to the definition of shallow. 1 stars
5/28/06 ad very cunning 5 stars
5/25/06 ashley it sucked so bad 1 stars
5/18/06 Baharnoosh not bad...but gives u every clue in the film! 3 stars
5/10/06 omar great movie 5 stars
5/09/06 Nicole L. A bad hollywood version of foreign character films 2 stars
4/24/06 Julie incredibly honest, powerful, and hopeful 5 stars
4/23/06 Simon By its bluntness of subject matter it's worth discussion; but so condescdingly contrived... 4 stars
4/18/06 Dave A well done movie, but it shouldn't have won Best Picture for 2006 4 stars
4/17/06 Wani awesome. tugs at my heart. i cried. nuff said. 4 stars
4/10/06 richard speer cliche piled on top of cliches 1 stars
4/09/06 Tami Best film I've seen in a while 5 stars
4/06/06 Troy M. Grzych Definitely the pest picture of the year! 5 stars
4/04/06 MMM Popcorn Decent but treats audience like idiots - We get the point . . 4 stars
4/04/06 Josh Standlee It was okay, but I think Sin City should have won best picture! 3 stars
4/02/06 Suzz other than the theme of racism, this film has very little to recommend it 3 stars
4/01/06 Howard emotionally exhausting--intellectually stimulating 5 stars
4/01/06 Carol I don't usually pay attention to awards, but this was great! 5 stars
4/01/06 Michele not as good as everyone said 3 stars
3/29/06 Naka Preachy, overbearing, but intelligent and entertaining. 4 stars
3/29/06 Dave An almost perfect film about racism and stereotypes. 4 stars
3/16/06 Ben Z I've seen worse but I've seen A LOT better, the movie is painfully mediocre. 3 stars
3/13/06 Suzy Q What you get when success goes to the head. Takes self way to serious. 2 stars
3/09/06 dan This movie is filmaking at its finest. Totally deserved picture of the yea. A masterpiece!! 5 stars
3/09/06 PeterV2 Terrible, shallow, dull 1 stars
3/09/06 beth murphy awful 1 stars
3/09/06 Sugarfoot They might as well have given the oscar to Exit Wounds or Showdown In Little Tokyo!. 1 stars
3/08/06 Carolyn Rathburn I can't believe it won movie of the year 3 stars
3/08/06 um yeah I just paid to see a bad 2 hr. episode of NYPD BLUE....wtf!!!! 1 stars
3/08/06 Katie Amazing but desturbing look at the way people treat those of different race or ethnicity. 4 stars
3/07/06 Nora Trite, pretentious, heavyhanded, & UNREALISTIC. People DO NOT talk or act this way! 1 stars
3/07/06 Perry It'll make you uneasy, angry, and moved. Brilliant filmmaking. Deserved Best Pic by far. 5 stars
3/06/06 Mungface Wow, our skin colors are different! WHO KNEW???? 1 stars
2/20/06 Tanya very eye opening to a lot of things 5 stars
2/12/06 Kelvin Si ...... 4 stars
2/10/06 Carolyn Rathburn This movie left me feeling strangely violated, I didn't enjoy it. 3 stars
2/06/06 R.W.Welch Over the top at times, but has some brilliant scenes. Tears and laughs aplenty. 5 stars
2/05/06 KCobain Loved it. Absolutely mesmerizing and as good as movies get. 5 stars
2/04/06 Michele ok 3 stars
2/02/06 LisaK A Must See 5 stars
1/29/06 Laura This really moved me despite me hating the in your face paranoid "everyone is racist" tone. 4 stars
1/25/06 Dick Full of stereotypes and blatant shoes on the other foot scenarios. Trite but interesting. 3 stars
1/24/06 daveyt are you all Yanks or what? Too close to the bone...? 5 stars
1/17/06 cody a wonderful well acted and story told film, with good perfomances by sandra and matt dillon 4 stars
1/10/06 Nate Jen i love you. We should make babies 1 stars
12/30/05 Simon annoyingly patronising and pretentious yes, but it's a movie: thoughtprovoking & entertains 4 stars
12/29/05 Jen Ouch! Stop beating me upside the head with your "message!" 2 stars
12/20/05 Nicole Dialogue a bit overdone at times, but decent movie 4 stars
12/12/05 Tony D The only movie ever i have walked out on. So obvious what it tried to do. i get it already! 1 stars
11/30/05 J.D. Pittman III It's a real eye opener to what is really happening in the world these days. 5 stars
11/24/05 Everyone but me commenting here sucks ass Better than most of the garbage put out recently 4 stars
11/18/05 Indrid Cold Does for racism what Traffic did for drugs. Traffic was classier though. 3 stars
11/18/05 Dave agree Buck, very patronsing you must be pretty stupid if it opened your eyes. oscars? no 1 stars
11/14/05 The Hacker CRASH is TRASH, a complete waste of time 1 stars
11/14/05 Lanie Richardson I did not really like this movie. It was pretty boring... 3 stars
10/31/05 buck nasty This movie was amazing, especially the story with the locksmith 5 stars
10/27/05 Buck MCcoy hated this movie. so so contrived. must be a retard to find it thought provoking 1 stars
10/24/05 Shamus Forced coincidences=Natural Hatred For Film 2 stars
10/17/05 Ko It was very touching, and it probably does happen 5 stars
10/16/05 Betty Fennell I believe that this is one of the best movies I have seen in along time. 5 stars
10/15/05 michaelb14 great movie, thought provoking 5 stars
10/12/05 Vince Good, intelligent flick, but nothing tremendous though 4 stars
10/12/05 John Doe Todd Jaspers doesnt know anything. This movie is great i think everyone should see it. 5 stars
10/09/05 Joe Smaltz Neat movie, good acting a plot that keeps you wondering 5 stars
10/07/05 millersxing A film w/ diversity of every stripe, except of music & message. Bring an iPod & an opinion 4 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor An amazing movie which will be remembered for a long time. 5 stars
9/30/05 Simon See Brian McKay's review. Clearly flawed/pretentious, but it's unsettling/thoughtprovoking. 4 stars
9/25/05 Todd Jaspers I'm a professional screenwrite this script sucks, Paul Haggis should go back to Canada. 1 stars
9/25/05 Kyle White I can't really add anything that hasn't been said. See it. 4 stars
9/22/05 Fritz One of the best so far this year. Haggis is a talent worth watching for. 4 stars
9/15/05 ES It was really good, intense scenes and some great acting 5 stars
9/10/05 Scott Lamont Compeling, revolting, intense and uneasy. Music is A+ 5 stars
9/10/05 malcolm a little too much going on. tate and ludacris almost end up being comic relief. 4 stars
9/07/05 ELI Nathan, ur a dumb fuck (No offence) :). 5 stars
9/03/05 Littlepurch Amazing acting, fantastic interlocking script, incredibly thought provoking and meaningful. 5 stars
8/16/05 Nathan terrible, patronising, and predictable. Well acted, tecnically sound, but laughable script 1 stars
8/01/05 Taylor Fladgate Very powerful....one of this year's best.... 5 stars
7/28/05 Obi Wan WOW...for the DVD collection!! Cheadle does it again! Great cast which comes together!! 5 stars
7/26/05 Patrick S This is an awesome movie & hist home. Why spent time watching Batman? 5 stars
7/15/05 Lisa Marie truly amazing. so much to think about that it takes awhile to fully comprehend 5 stars
6/25/05 Casey Riveting but much too heavy-handed. Leave viewers something to discuss afterwards!! 4 stars
6/24/05 iLittleFoot Raw, Intense (insert buzzwords here). It was amazing. 5 stars
6/22/05 LYNITA This would be a great movie to discuss like book-groups discuss books 5 stars
6/18/05 Brucos I rather enjoyed the movie. It was revealing that many of the stereotypes influence our rea 4 stars
6/09/05 chris kohn The connections were overwhelming. The cop saving the woman he molested. The little girl 5 stars
6/07/05 Alex St. John Great comments on race in society - highly recommended. 5 stars
6/05/05 Patrick Silva Awesome! It moved me. It may have been a bit too coincidental, but point taken. 5 stars
6/05/05 Michele Disjointed, angry, manipulative, against the human race, a total waste of time. 1 stars
6/04/05 ELI BEST FILM NOMINATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/02/05 Mike V One of the most intelligent films about racial tensions ever made 5 stars
5/29/05 Danielle Intense and honest; It does justice to the complexity of being human these days 5 stars
5/29/05 Eliza Great Movie 5 stars
5/27/05 Paul I haven't seen any reference to the movie "Higher Learning". Just a thought. 5 stars
5/27/05 Ahnold Excellent commentary on cultural differences 5 stars
5/24/05 jeffee martinez-vargas Haggis is a genius. I was reminded of his wonderful short lived TV show "Easy Streets." 5 stars
5/16/05 stella just great 5 stars
5/15/05 Mark Kaufman Very powerful, very real, an honest American film. Now that is a shock! 5 stars
5/13/05 Adam Holy Magnolia, that was great! This film could change the world, if people open their minds 5 stars
5/13/05 a f 5 stars
5/13/05 Mark Thomas Timely ,agenda pushing and great! 4 stars
5/09/05 Greg Wilson Much Ado About Nothing 2 stars
5/09/05 Nicholas Sheldon Truly moving. The audience I saw it with was taken aback. 5 stars
5/09/05 Sharon Soike Loved this very sad, thoughtful movie 4 stars
5/08/05 John Bale Just brilliant - not since D W Griffith has there been such a film about Intolerence 5 stars
5/07/05 jcjs lovely, sensitive, telling, fine job by all 5 stars
5/07/05 Renee A thought provoking emotional rollercoaster! 5 stars
5/05/05 Brian Carter Best movie I have seen this year! Through provoking, entertaining and ultimately inspiring 5 stars
4/26/05 Russ Ramsden Outstanding film -- no complete heroes or villains 5 stars
4/12/05 domer Pretty much completely fantastic. BETTER than PTA's Magnolia. 5 stars
4/05/05 audrey moving, powerful, strong, interesting 5 stars
4/05/05 tom Too many plot lines. Pretentious. Good Acting. 3 stars
4/04/05 Todahe Apparently LA is full of detestable stereotypes 2 stars
12/11/04 Graeme Amazing film. Bullock and Newton shine 5 stars
10/31/04 Minnie Simply amazing. It has been a long time since a movie such as this has been made. 5 stars
10/14/04 Marco Preza Great movie... Very strong performances 5 stars
9/22/04 Frank Newman Wonderful ensemble piece, Sandra Bullock is excellent in this 5 stars
9/21/04 Margo filled with stereotypes and cliches 1 stars
9/20/04 denny the setup of the film was well done but the conclusion was too contrived 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-May-2005 (R)
  DVD: 04-Apr-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  28-Apr-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast