More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome65.37%
Worth A Look: 18.54%
Average: 7.32%
Pretty Bad: 3.9%
Total Crap: 4.88%

17 reviews, 103 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Sideways (2004)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Jason Whyte

"Ahhh I would love a glass of wine...but not a Merlot. Miles won't let me."
5 stars

Miles (Paul Giamatti) wakes up late to pick up his best friend Jack (Thomas Haden Church) for a week-long getaway in the Wine Country of California, as Jack is going to be married in a week. A bachelor vacation, if you will. Miles is hung over, but not in the heavy-drinking way that you think; rather, there was a wine tasting the night previous and he needs just the right wine so he can stock up for their trip. The things that friends do!

Writer and Director Alexander Payne is a genius at looking at the flaws in people and laughing with them. His brilliant film “Election” followed a teacher who is going through a mid-life crisis and how one of his students changes his life. And “About Schmidt” followed an aging man on a personal journey as he drove in his motor-home to his daughter’s marriage. “Sideways” is a human road movie in how two friends connect during a trip and how the real reason for the trip is a personal journey for Miles, who teaches English, can’t finish a book and is getting over a failed marriage.

The trip plans get mis-communicated a bit. Miles’ plan is to kick back with golf, winery visits (his area of expertise) and fine dining, but Jack, a failing TV-actor who is now mostly doing commercial work, wants nothing more than to party and get laid, just once, so he can experience something “else” before settling down. Jack also wants Miles to come out of his shell (“I want you to get laid, Miles. You’re going to get laid on this trip. It’s my gift to you.”) so he can move on from his divorce. They find their way to a restaurant where Miles frequents and he claims the food is good, and a particular waitress named Maya (Virginia Madsen) is an acquaintance of his. As their wining and dining continues through wine country, they meet up with Maya’s friend Samantha (Sandra Oh, director Payne’s wife), a wine pourer at a vineyard who takes an instant liking to Jack, and their courtship sets up some double-dates so Miles and Maya can get friendly as well.

“Sideways” is a joy to watch. It is a reality check for Miles, who is grumpy and negative and has a tendency to be very stubborn about all of it, to the point where Jack needs to split up with him so he can have some alone time with Samantha. Miles finds somewhat of a kindred spirit in Maya, who has just had a divorce recently. Paul Giamatti and Virginia Madsen have one of the best scenes I’ve seen in a film all year, where Miles describes the wines he likes and why he likes them. Maya then describes what she loves about wine, how it ages through time and how it never stays the same. The look in her eyes as she describes this is unforgettable, and we can really see that she likes this man despite his problems.

Mr. Giamatti just finds the right note – like the great sad-sack characters in cinema (Macon Leary from “The Accidental Tourist” immediately comes to mind as someone who would make good friends with Miles), his Miles is someone we come to understand and even care about a little even though he’s a curmudgeon. We know that he’s tortured and flawed, but real as well. Watch towards the end in a long take as a defeated Miles sits in his class room pondering how far he has come in his journey. As Maya, Ms. Madsen gives a wonderful, award-worthy performance as a real, dimensional woman who has her own pains with her past and who sees a possible future in Miles.

Thomas Haden Church hasn’t been remembered much in the past few years, but his role as Jack is almost Church being a good sport about his own career, and while he is cheating and sometimes even vile we sort of understand his need to experience something, anything, before his life changes. Sandra Oh, who has been wonderful in past films and television, can exude sexy charm one moment and pure terror the next – the moment she finds out that Jack is about to be married, her reaction isn’t pretty.

Here is a great film where it just all works. The writing is wonderful. The acting is spectacular. Payne’s unexpected bursts of black humour, sex and violence are part of the story and not there for shock value. It follows its character all the way until the end and doesn’t cheat or resolve in a clean-and-neat finale. It’s so good that when we listen to Miles describe the taste and smell of the wine he’s sampling, we want a taste of the wine too.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10451&reviewer=350
originally posted: 11/26/04 17:11:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Chicago Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Chicago Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Starz Denver Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Starz Denver Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Toronto Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Toronto Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 New York Film Festival. For more in the 2004 New York Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

2/21/15 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING, ENGAGING, WELL MADE AND WITTY WITH GREAT PERFORMANCES 5 stars
4/17/11 Quigley One of the most superbly directed and acted films ever made. 5 stars
3/10/09 Dane Youssef 2004 Was A Great Year. A Glorious Vintage. May It Age As Well As "Citizen Kane" 5 stars
9/14/08 Annie G One of those lame movies that reviewers like because not much happens. 2 stars
12/03/07 SamanthaP so freaking overrated!!!! of it hadn't been hyped it would have been good 1 stars
10/29/07 mb So boring and overrated !! 1 stars
5/27/07 fools♫gold Nice stuff. B, perhaps a B+. 4 stars
5/08/07 R.W.Welch Slack in spots, but has above par script. B- 4 stars
12/24/06 David Pollastrini boring, dull, etc. 2 stars
9/13/06 Bitchflaps Giamatti inspires real empathy for his character. Don't be put off by its twee appearance. 4 stars
8/20/06 Luisa Wonderful, intelligent comedy/drama, love Paul Giamatti! 4 stars
8/19/06 Verrine Does "comedy" mean something different to reviewers? 1 stars
5/23/06 Gary Bastien This movie stunk. A movie for wine snobs. Don't let them know even know what Pinot wine is 1 stars
3/29/06 Charles Blair Barry Makes you want to kill every charater in this highly overrated sac of shit! 1 stars
3/18/06 MP Bartley Swingers 20 years and 1 nervous breakdown later. Giamatti and Church are sublime 5 stars
11/12/05 Monster W. Kung Seems pretty good stuff to me. 4 stars
11/05/05 millersxing winetasting (snore), men behaving badly (yawn), recapturing the will to live (priceless) 4 stars
9/26/05 a. kurlovs very dull characters, plot and humor. perfect movie to fall asleep to. 2 stars
9/14/05 Jonathon Holmes best film of 2004, Oscar should be ashamed to snub Giamatti & rob Madsen of her award! 5 stars
7/26/05 Jake A comic masterpiece 5 stars
7/06/05 Charlie Besides when those sick bastards smashed that beautiful Saab 900, this is a great movie! 4 stars
6/30/05 Mark thought the buzz was for something; no -boring and dull 2 stars
6/27/05 JFK good movie, good script, thomas haden church in his best performance 4 stars
6/26/05 Jeff Anderson Fantastic. I became a huge Virginia Madsen fan thanks to this film. She's truly awesome!!!! 5 stars
6/08/05 Tigger Great ensemble film, I will watch it a second time to follow the star a little bett od 4 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands Giamatti has great timing and carries one hell of a touching movie. 4 stars
6/07/05 DM Funny and well-acted (WHY THE FUCK DIDN'T GIAMATTI GET AN OSCAR NOMINATION?) 5 stars
6/06/05 Indrid Cold An essentially flawless drama/comedy. Too bad there's nothing really new to say. 5 stars
5/30/05 Kathy Ugh!!! 1 stars
5/28/05 tabitha I was soooo disappointed! I am amazed this movie won awards. 1 stars
5/25/05 Jake A comic masterpiece. The #1 best film of 2004. 5 stars
5/21/05 Kellie i don't see what the big deal was and i like paul giamatti...too bad 3 stars
4/29/05 ThroneofBlood Funny and heartfelt. 5 stars
4/14/05 Scott Lamont This movie, like wine gets better with time, and it peaks before your eyes. 5 stars
4/11/05 Monday Morning Only in a few spots does this movie not rock. Shows that good writing trumps special efx. 5 stars
4/07/05 Eugene Mortensen living near wind country I know people like them and I liked the movie a lot 4 stars
4/02/05 brody horan only has one nut because the other got bit off by his butt buddy 5 stars
3/27/05 Sid Savillo/Novelist/Scriptwriter Miles is like wine; “evolving” into something, til the end when he imparts a better “taste" 5 stars
3/26/05 Greg Ursic A great film: Giamatta was hilarious and too bad he was totally overlooked at Oscar time 5 stars
3/25/05 Marci Jenkins Excellent! 5 stars
3/24/05 Lars One of my all time favorite movies 5 stars
3/24/05 Dana Gordon You just have to feel for Miles and Jack 5 stars
3/19/05 Green Grenlim Has some great moments 4 stars
3/09/05 dbx Loved it! really really funny. Kinda reminded me of Swingers a bit... 5 stars
3/06/05 Josh Basically a sentimental buddy cartrip movie. Disappointing. 3 stars
3/03/05 HORAN THE MAN!!!!! THIS MOVIE SUCKED MY LEFT NUT SIDEWAYS!! 1 stars
2/28/05 Jeff Anderson One of the best films I've seen in a long time! The leads are great, but Madsen ROCKS!!!!!! 5 stars
2/25/05 L.G. If you have low expectations, you might enjoy it.. some laughs, but kind of depressing 3 stars
2/24/05 Mary JD Thought it to be bvery comical and sweet! 5 stars
2/18/05 malcolm wonderful acting, pretty funny, but overrated 3 stars
2/16/05 Melody Arneil I kind of thought of it as being a coming of age film for adults. Fascinating wine info! 4 stars
2/14/05 Natalie Stonecipher Cheap imitation of Farrelly-esque comedy -- more mean-spirited & less funny. 2 stars
2/14/05 Nathan Wilhite What an awsome movie. I never knew Pinot could be so fascinating! 5 stars
2/12/05 Littlepurch Very enjoyable. Sweet, sensitive and occasionally hilarious. The two hours flew by. 5 stars
2/10/05 David Bennett Wonderful film, a "must see" 5 stars
2/08/05 Gil Carlson Sweet, funny and moving film, first rate! 5 stars
2/07/05 craig varney great laughs and great chemistry 4 stars
2/06/05 Jeff Anderson A TRULY GREAT & SWEET FILM! Giamatti, Church, & especially Madsen are astonishingly great!! 5 stars
2/06/05 cookie boring 2 stars
2/05/05 bongeezer Over Rated.... Nice for wine education. 3 stars
2/03/05 Clifford C Gardner good fim and a wine education 4 stars
2/03/05 the Grinch Alex Payne just gets better and better. A beautiful, subtle, ridiculously funny movie. 5 stars
2/01/05 Danita Berg A fantastic movie! Made me wish I liked wine. 5 stars
2/01/05 Kenneth Hannan Great performances and unforgetable moments. 5 stars
2/01/05 pym a very good film. cute, quirky, sweet and funny. 5 stars
2/01/05 Andrea Haresign way cute & entertaining 5 stars
2/01/05 Robert Pfeifer I'm ready to see it again !!! 5 stars
2/01/05 AngeFaitore I love Thomas Haden Church... but I still think he's selling out to his cult fanbase! 4 stars
2/01/05 Alison awesome movie! 5 stars
1/31/05 Lisa Craven Loved it and want to watch it again and again. 5 stars
1/30/05 nick2k felt a lil overdrawn, but it was a really good (and funny) story. great ending too! 5 stars
1/30/05 Gretchen Lowe Very good, worth seeing twice for the acting! 4 stars
1/29/05 John Bale Gentle but overlong comedy with aromas of truth and the grape. 3 stars
1/29/05 govenar didn't live up to my expectations 3 stars
1/27/05 Bert Rito Giamatti was fucking robbed of an Oscar nom. This is pure brilliance in a wine bottle... 5 stars
1/21/05 Uncle Phucker Not a great film but a great time. I had a ball and the actors and dialgoue blew me.... 4 stars
1/13/05 Koitus "No, no .. the new ("Barely Legal") one! // Now Miles .. don't $@#% it up!!! Grt lines! 4 stars
1/07/05 Elizabeth S Some poignant moments, but highly overrated. Good to see Haden Church again. 3 stars
1/02/05 Jim Good performances, sharp writing 5 stars
12/29/04 burton miller funny, excellent dialog, real - a must see 4 stars
12/27/04 Steve Very well made movie. 5 stars
12/24/04 Craig best movie of the year 5 stars
12/16/04 Peter This film made me want to gouge my eyes out 1 stars
12/14/04 Suzz Great acting/great writing/great directing 5 stars
12/13/04 Janelle Definitely the best pic of the year! 5 stars
12/04/04 bodhi speaks this was one of the best movies i've seen in ages. makes me want to get serious about life 5 stars
12/01/04 Leonetti Merlot Best American movie in years. Virginia Madsen is outstanding 5 stars
12/01/04 Dirt Whore absolutely superb!!! 5 stars
11/28/04 seymour i am surprised i lasted the 45 min. that i stayed...the worst, and i rarely walk out a dump 1 stars
11/23/04 adrian christie wry humor and lots of truthful insights into relationships 5 stars
11/23/04 Chris Absolutely loved this film. Great writing, great acting and hilarious. 5 stars
11/21/04 ajay Drove 45 minutes to see this and wasn't disappointed. 5 stars
11/16/04 Taylor Fladgate I laughted, I cried, I wanted to drink a lot of wine afterwards 5 stars
11/15/04 Naka Nothing groundbreaking, but it doesn't matter. Top-quality all around. 5 stars
11/06/04 Kira W. Best film of the year - Academy, take notice! 5 stars
11/03/04 Naka Simply amazing, a subtle little nugget of genius. 5 stars
11/02/04 richard weininger everyone can find something of themselves in this film. 5 stars
10/25/04 Luke One of the best films I've seen. 5 stars
10/07/04 Boobie Bookie Stinking, rotting - I take it back, dang it! It was OK, not half bad, darn it! 3 stars
10/06/04 Norman Hollyn Fabulous, incisive, involving. 5 stars
9/28/04 film jerk two guys drink and whine - who cares??!!! 2 stars
9/27/04 AngeFaitore Thomas Haden Church: Sellout 2 stars
9/13/04 Gregory very good 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-Oct-2004 (R)
  DVD: 05-Apr-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Jan-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast