More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Worth A Look: 21.95%
Average: 4.88%
Pretty Bad: 2.44%
Total Crap: 17.07%

2 reviews, 29 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

Wrinkle in Time, A by Peter Sobczynski

Kill Order by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Roger and Me
[] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Pets or meat?"
4 stars

Probably the best movie of 1989.

I watched this for the first time when I was a junior in high school, as part of a class called American Problems. I've loved it (the movie, not the class) ever since.

It's the story of Michael Moore, the only member of his family to not work at GM auto plant, and his pursuit of Roger Smith, the chairman of General Motors. GM closed down a plant in Flint, Michigan, Michael's hometown, and Mike's pretty upset. The neighborhoods are getting bad: families are getting poorer, and the rich are getting richer. What does Michael do?

He stalks.

He stalks Roger Smith over the course of two years. The cameras follow. We meet the people who are affected by GM's closure of the plant.

But we never meet Roger.

Solid entertainment, plus The Newlywed Game's Bob Eubanks tells a dirty joke. It's all good.

A bitingly funny look at corporate America.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 10/20/98 00:43:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/27/07 Derek n L I B E R A L T R A S H 1 stars
12/10/06 David Cohen Politely neglects to mention how the factory became unprofitable due to union demands 2 stars
12/06/06 David Pollastrini Liberal trash 1 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini Liberal trash 1 stars
11/04/04 Ahat stupid movie, I waisted my time 1 stars
10/18/04 david stephy IT WAS SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/26/04 John Aster Habig Proof the unemployed aren't lazy and welfare is not a handout 5 stars
12/09/03 john Michale Moore seems like a kind of modern day Robin Hood - good film maker too! 5 stars
10/27/03 Julie Great movie about reality 5 stars
10/21/03 Alan Michael Moore's greatest work. 1 stars
10/13/03 J. Josť Cruz Just wonderful. That Land is Mike's Land, too. 5 stars
5/26/03 RightWingTitsShouldDie Why all the flack? Right Wing Wingnuts 5 stars
4/03/03 Stacey LeClere Awesome, Michael Moore is a hero...i learned a lot from his documentary 5 stars
2/26/03 snowconehead Avoids some ethical issues by preying on the ignorant, better arguements exists. 1 stars
12/17/02 Interrog8 It's open Mondays, and Tuesdays, and Wednsdays, and ... Surpurb moviemaking. 5 stars
1/12/02 Dustin Knaggs This is a really good movie, everyone should watch this and get their colors done 5 stars
9/22/01 J A good movie that is deceptfully documentary-like. Good but not exactly classic enough. 4 stars
4/17/01 Eyereenie A realistic view of what happens when big-time corporations lay off 30% of the population! 4 stars
2/07/01 shaw very good 5 stars
2/05/01 pump it up loserish 1 stars
1/10/01 RT Moore's satire definitely hits its mark, not to mention a few rabbit skins :P 5 stars
11/28/00 Anna Price This film should be mandatory viewing for everyone 5 stars
12/08/99 Sean McHale hell yeah baby! it was fucking funny! 5 stars
8/20/99 Japtalian Most people from my hometown (Flint, MI) hated this movie but I thought it was HILARIOUS!!! 5 stars
6/18/99 Patricia Duenas Simply wonderful and halarious 5 stars
11/25/98 DrEvil A well-edited, much-needed poke with a sharp stick in the side of corporate America. 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules Probably an idolized film among film makers and wannabees... Boring... 3 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis Great movie, a definite time capsule for it's age. 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  02-Feb-1990 (R)



Directed by
  Michael Moore

Written by
  Michael Moore

  James Bond
  Pat Boone
  Anita Bryant
  Ronald Reagan
  Michael Moore
  Roger Smith

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast