More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.88

Awesome52.38%
Worth A Look: 21.43%
Average: 4.76%
Pretty Bad: 4.76%
Total Crap: 16.67%

2 reviews, 30 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Snowpiercer by Rob Gonsalves

Rosewater by Jay Seaver

World of Kanako, The by Jay Seaver

Tommy (2014) by Jay Seaver

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Roger and Me
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Pets or meat?"
4 stars

Probably the best movie of 1989.

I watched this for the first time when I was a junior in high school, as part of a class called American Problems. I've loved it (the movie, not the class) ever since.

It's the story of Michael Moore, the only member of his family to not work at GM auto plant, and his pursuit of Roger Smith, the chairman of General Motors. GM closed down a plant in Flint, Michigan, Michael's hometown, and Mike's pretty upset. The neighborhoods are getting bad: families are getting poorer, and the rich are getting richer. What does Michael do?

He stalks.

He stalks Roger Smith over the course of two years. The cameras follow. We meet the people who are affected by GM's closure of the plant.

But we never meet Roger.

Solid entertainment, plus The Newlywed Game's Bob Eubanks tells a dirty joke. It's all good.

A bitingly funny look at corporate America.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1054&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/20/98 00:43:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/13/14 izqhylfobf USA 2 stars
3/18/13 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING BUT NOT ALWAYS ACCURATE 3 stars
3/27/07 Derek n L I B E R A L T R A S H 1 stars
12/10/06 David Cohen Politely neglects to mention how the factory became unprofitable due to union demands 2 stars
12/06/06 David Pollastrini Liberal trash 1 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini Liberal trash 1 stars
11/04/04 Ahat stupid movie, I waisted my time 1 stars
10/18/04 david stephy IT WAS SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/26/04 John Aster Habig Proof the unemployed aren't lazy and welfare is not a handout 5 stars
12/09/03 john Michale Moore seems like a kind of modern day Robin Hood - good film maker too! 5 stars
10/27/03 Julie Great movie about reality 5 stars
10/21/03 Alan Michael Moore's greatest work. 1 stars
10/13/03 J. Josť Cruz Just wonderful. That Land is Mike's Land, too. 5 stars
5/26/03 RightWingTitsShouldDie Why all the flack? Right Wing Wingnuts 5 stars
4/03/03 Stacey LeClere Awesome, Michael Moore is a hero...i learned a lot from his documentary 5 stars
2/26/03 snowconehead Avoids some ethical issues by preying on the ignorant, better arguements exists. 1 stars
12/17/02 Interrog8 It's open Mondays, and Tuesdays, and Wednsdays, and ... Surpurb moviemaking. 5 stars
1/12/02 Dustin Knaggs This is a really good movie, everyone should watch this and get their colors done 5 stars
9/22/01 J A good movie that is deceptfully documentary-like. Good but not exactly classic enough. 4 stars
4/17/01 Eyereenie A realistic view of what happens when big-time corporations lay off 30% of the population! 4 stars
2/07/01 shaw very good 5 stars
2/05/01 pump it up loserish 1 stars
1/10/01 RT Moore's satire definitely hits its mark, not to mention a few rabbit skins :P 5 stars
11/28/00 Anna Price This film should be mandatory viewing for everyone 5 stars
12/08/99 Sean McHale hell yeah baby! it was fucking funny! 5 stars
8/20/99 Japtalian Most people from my hometown (Flint, MI) hated this movie but I thought it was HILARIOUS!!! 5 stars
6/18/99 Patricia Duenas Simply wonderful and halarious 5 stars
11/25/98 DrEvil A well-edited, much-needed poke with a sharp stick in the side of corporate America. 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules Probably an idolized film among film makers and wannabees... Boring... 3 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis Great movie, a definite time capsule for it's age. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1990 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Michael Moore

Written by
  Michael Moore

Cast
  James Bond
  Pat Boone
  Anita Bryant
  Ronald Reagan
  Michael Moore
  Roger Smith



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast