More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.88

Awesome52.38%
Worth A Look: 21.43%
Average: 4.76%
Pretty Bad: 4.76%
Total Crap: 16.67%

2 reviews, 30 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

Predestination by Jay Seaver

Faults by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Brett Gallman

Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Roger and Me
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Carina Hoskisson

"A major indictment on Corporate America's use and abuse of people"
5 stars

The Film that made Documentaries cool...well kind of.

Michael Moore took on the failure of the American Company to provide for its workers in Roger and Me.
The simplistic goal of the movie was to find and interview Roger Smith to ask him why he was throwing away the community of Flint, Michigan. On a deeper level, Roger and Me was about the betrayal of the new American Corporation.
Moore pointed out the values of the new corporation: throw away the community it built, raised, supported and never quite weaned. The promise that a company you went to work for, if you worked hard, were loyal, went to company picnics--that that company would be there for you, went belly up. Starting with Roger Smith, Moore placed the fall of the former sparkling jewel of the auto industry, Flint, squarly where it belonged, in the hands of GM.
One of the best things about Roger and Me is its editing. Intercut with the speeches of GM's CEO Roger Smith's Christmas cheer is the reality of a Merry Christmas in Flint, a family being evicted.
Filled with the reality of a rustbelt town on the edge, Roger and Me never fails to hit you with its gritty under the belt tactics. The characters Moore found were more than slices of Americana, they seem written, as if you could only find people like that at the movies. Reality is stranger than fiction, if you don't believe me I have two words: Rabbit Lady.
Roger and Me remains one of the best documentaries ever produced and a hallmark in independant film. Made on less than a shoe-string, Moore continues to inspire other independant filmmakers.

....Rabbit Lady

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1054&reviewer=44
originally posted: 09/29/98 15:53:16
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/13/14 izqhylfobf USA 2 stars
3/18/13 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING BUT NOT ALWAYS ACCURATE 3 stars
3/27/07 Derek n L I B E R A L T R A S H 1 stars
12/10/06 David Cohen Politely neglects to mention how the factory became unprofitable due to union demands 2 stars
12/06/06 David Pollastrini Liberal trash 1 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini Liberal trash 1 stars
11/04/04 Ahat stupid movie, I waisted my time 1 stars
10/18/04 david stephy IT WAS SOOOOO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/26/04 John Aster Habig Proof the unemployed aren't lazy and welfare is not a handout 5 stars
12/09/03 john Michale Moore seems like a kind of modern day Robin Hood - good film maker too! 5 stars
10/27/03 Julie Great movie about reality 5 stars
10/21/03 Alan Michael Moore's greatest work. 1 stars
10/13/03 J. Josť Cruz Just wonderful. That Land is Mike's Land, too. 5 stars
5/26/03 RightWingTitsShouldDie Why all the flack? Right Wing Wingnuts 5 stars
4/03/03 Stacey LeClere Awesome, Michael Moore is a hero...i learned a lot from his documentary 5 stars
2/26/03 snowconehead Avoids some ethical issues by preying on the ignorant, better arguements exists. 1 stars
12/17/02 Interrog8 It's open Mondays, and Tuesdays, and Wednsdays, and ... Surpurb moviemaking. 5 stars
1/12/02 Dustin Knaggs This is a really good movie, everyone should watch this and get their colors done 5 stars
9/22/01 J A good movie that is deceptfully documentary-like. Good but not exactly classic enough. 4 stars
4/17/01 Eyereenie A realistic view of what happens when big-time corporations lay off 30% of the population! 4 stars
2/07/01 shaw very good 5 stars
2/05/01 pump it up loserish 1 stars
1/10/01 RT Moore's satire definitely hits its mark, not to mention a few rabbit skins :P 5 stars
11/28/00 Anna Price This film should be mandatory viewing for everyone 5 stars
12/08/99 Sean McHale hell yeah baby! it was fucking funny! 5 stars
8/20/99 Japtalian Most people from my hometown (Flint, MI) hated this movie but I thought it was HILARIOUS!!! 5 stars
6/18/99 Patricia Duenas Simply wonderful and halarious 5 stars
11/25/98 DrEvil A well-edited, much-needed poke with a sharp stick in the side of corporate America. 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules Probably an idolized film among film makers and wannabees... Boring... 3 stars
9/29/98 Marty in St.Louis Great movie, a definite time capsule for it's age. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1990 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Michael Moore

Written by
  Michael Moore

Cast
  James Bond
  Pat Boone
  Anita Bryant
  Ronald Reagan
  Michael Moore
  Roger Smith



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast