More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.59

Awesome74.32%
Worth A Look: 17.57%
Average: 4.05%
Pretty Bad: 1.35%
Total Crap: 2.7%

2 reviews, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Christmas Story, A
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Fra-jee-lee? It must be Italian."
5 stars

I want an official Red Ryder, carbine action, two-hundred shot range model air rifle, with a compass on the stock and this thing which tells time!

It's not just a holiday movie, although that's the best time to watch it. No, I could plop down in 90-degree weather in the middle of July and still watch this movie.

Poor Ralphie (Peter Billingsly). He wants a Red Ryder BB gun for Christmas. Problem is, no one's gonna get it for him. Mom, Dad, the department store Santa, they all say the same thing:

"You'll shoot your eye out."

It's not all about Ralphie's pursuit of his elusive gun. It's about Ralphie and his family, from his father's ongoing battle with the furnace and a really neat lamp, to his Little Orphan Annie Secret Decoder Ring, to kids getting their tongues stuck to flagpoles in the wintertime. That may seem like a lot, but it's the reflections of narrator Jean Sheperd as he was growing up.

It's funny and poignant. If you haven't seen it (and that's unlikely, since TNT ran it 12 consecutive times back-to-back one day in the winter of 1997), then you need to.

Sons-a-bitches! Bumpasses!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1056&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/06/98 00:59:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/24/13 Michelle O reminds me of Archie Bunker = LOL must see 5 stars
12/22/10 RLan Simply put, the best christmas movie of all time!!! 5 stars
12/16/10 Jeff Wilder The ultimate Christmas movie. 5 stars
12/30/09 Dr.Lao Forget "It's a Sappy, Sickly Sweet Life" this is THE Christmas movie 5 stars
12/28/09 Dane Youssef The ultimate Christmas special. Deserves higher acclaim than "It's A Wonderful Life" 5 stars
12/23/09 matt flawless. totally nails the essence of being a kid. It's not Christmas without this movie 5 stars
9/16/08 janie i watch this movie all year long (about every other day). 5 stars
6/04/08 PAUL SHORTT KID'S EYE VIEW OF FAMILY LIFE AND CHRISTMAS 3 stars
12/27/07 Skitchute Classic!! The Best movie you can watch over and over again! 5 stars
4/04/07 dave kick @$$ film 5 stars
12/20/06 JW F-U-D-G-E!!!!!! 5 stars
5/24/06 Billy Fall out comedy! 2 stars
1/31/06 Michael Empty ... Nothing There 1 stars
5/06/05 Indrid Cold THE modern Christmas classic. Flawless, hilarious, unforgettable. 5 stars
12/07/04 Natasha Theobald highly quotable, holiday, family storytelling - lamp is must see 4 stars
12/06/04 Jim Deck the haws with boughs of horry! 5 stars
12/03/04 chuky this movie is really good 5 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj A rarity--a holiday classic without a trace of forced sentimentality 5 stars
1/25/04 Elena The epitome of hilarity when it comes to seasonal films. I think everyone can identify 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel good! 3 stars
12/09/03 Lewis Shell So funny. 5 stars
11/29/03 john it will be around for generations! wonderful! 5 stars
11/08/03 Pablo Neruda This is a wonderful film, set in the 40s ... not 30s. 5 stars
10/08/03 Billy V H I Never Get Tired Of This Movie, It's GREAT! 5 stars
12/26/02 Johnny V A Must See! You WON'T shoot your eye out :) 5 stars
12/26/02 Annie This is a classic movie! It never gets old 5 stars
12/16/02 mary the best holiday movie with loads of laughs 5 stars
12/16/02 Charles Tatum How can anyone NOT like this film? 5 stars
12/07/02 Kyle Pleasant holiday movie. Not as funny as many seem to think though. IMHO. 3 stars
12/02/02 Erick Smith Under rated classic 5 stars
9/26/02 snowconehead This movie has become a ritual 5 stars
4/21/02 Mal goooood movie but no movie is worth choosing profane and explicit language :) 4 stars
4/12/02 Cecilia This movie is hilarious. If you haven't seen it, go rent it NOW. 5 stars
4/09/02 R.W. Welch Humorous Xmas nostalgia piece, cleverly written. 4 stars
12/26/01 michael newton the funniest and most well written and acted holiday movie of all time 5 stars
9/27/01 Butterbean They should yank out those corny movies from the 50's and show this for Christmas! 5 stars
7/21/01 Gus :-( 1 stars
7/14/01 TLsmooth What ever happend to that Melvin kid? 4 stars
7/03/01 taj This is a damn tough movie to dislike. Funny, sweet and wonderfully nostalgic. 5 stars
7/03/01 King of Bros Almost as good as Dirt Bike Kid. 5 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Fa Ra Ra Ra Ra 5 stars
6/12/01 cinkcool Classic 5 stars
6/07/01 Dean Pretty good and funny. Hard to believe this is from the director of Porky's. 4 stars
6/06/01 The Bomb 69 Oh Fudge!!! Only it wasn't fudge. Classic!!! 5 stars
5/07/01 Sblymnl Crymnl the all day marathon is the best thing to happen to Christmas since the tree 5 stars
5/04/01 The Jedi Droid Best Christmas movie made..really funny 5 stars
4/11/01 Hawkeye "Frag-ee-lay... must be Italian." "Um... I think it says 'Fragile.'" A *great* movie! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary 2nd best Christmas movie ever- 1st is Christmas vacation. 5 stars
12/31/00 kevin This movie made me laugh every time i saw it. The acting is superb and so is the directing 5 stars
11/30/00 Terrie Smith Most charming Christmas film; McGavin funny as the father. Good period detail. 5 stars
6/28/00 DAVID Reminds us of what christmas time is really like!!! 5 stars
5/28/00 Doug Hundley Never been a better movie in the "all I want for Christmas..." genre 5 stars
12/27/99 Allan Robin wonderfull christmas entertainment 5 stars
12/21/99 Zeitgeist "Deck the harrs with barrs of horry, Ra ra ra ra ra, ra ra ra ra" 5 stars
7/02/99 Sleeper I know exactly how he feels. Where's my Barbie? 4 stars
4/23/99 lucas jackson If you want a classic christmas this is the one for you,you will never stop laughing 5 stars
11/26/98 Justin One of the best Christmas movies to come out of the 80's. Great atmosphere. 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob From the man who brought you 'Porkys'... a GREAT film! Every x-mas needs this film! 5 stars
10/17/98 Mr Showbiz An utterly beguiling, perfect little Christmas picture. 5 stars
10/13/98 tom fun for the holidays 4 stars
10/06/98 Pat Flanagan A holiday must for a family movie!! 5 stars
9/29/98 Johny I love this film 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  18-Nov-1983 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Bob Clark

Written by
  Leigh Brown
  Bob Clark

Cast
  Melinda Dillon
  Darren McGavin
  Peter Billingsley
  Ian Petrella
  Scott Schwartz
  R.D. Robb



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast