More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.47

Awesome78.52%
Worth A Look: 7.41%
Average: 4.44%
Pretty Bad: 2.22%
Total Crap: 7.41%

3 reviews, 117 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Sixteen Candles
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I can't believe she gave her panties to a geek."
5 stars

Fred! She's gotten her boobies!

I had the biggest crush on Molly Ringwald when I was younger, due in no small part to this film.

Sam (Ringwald) is turning sixteen. But her sister's getting married, her grandparents are in town, and she's being pursued by a pretty relentless geek named Farmer Ted (Anthony Michael Hall). She's also madly in love with the school jock, but he doesn't seem to notice her. There's also the matter of that foreign exchange student, Long Duk Dong (Gedde Watanabe). Amid the hectic life, Sam's family seemingly forgets her birthday altogether.

This is probably one of the better John Hughes teenage comedies. It's got a little bit of everything, really. A little bit of teen angst, would-be high school romance, lots of drinking, and Anthony Michael Hall showing off his alleged sexual prowess ("I've never bagged a babe. I'm not a stud.") by charging admission to see Sam's panties in the men's room.

Plus it's got a young John Cusack in a supporting role. You can't really go wrong here.

"No more yankie my wankie. The Donger need food." Now THAT's a funny line.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1062&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/30/98 23:24:18
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/20/11 cody a funny movie with great performances by the cast, hall is awsome and molly is great. 4 stars
2/23/10 PAUL SHORTT OFFENSIVE DESPITE A GOOD STAR PERFORMANCE 2 stars
1/25/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Funny film about being a teenager in the 80's 4 stars
12/07/09 cd I'm having a hard time writing a reaction paper to this film. I just think it lacks depth. 1 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef A sweet, funny story about a girl who wants appriciation and the crazy men in her life. 4 stars
11/21/08 KB5 1 of my all time favorite movies...Jake Ryan! "What's happenin' hot stuff?" Long Duck Dong 5 stars
10/11/08 Colleen H Loved it in the 80's, love watching it with my adult children now. 4 stars
9/29/08 George Barksdale Was worth a look one time, but not twice 3 stars
4/12/08 John Millheim Takes me back to my youth, funny movie and a great classic 5 stars
4/28/07 Dina "my parent's forgetting my b-day just makes it more vivid!" Awesome!! 5 stars
2/09/07 Phantom/16 Lover BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE 16!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/08/06 btvs2678 Still a classic. Great 80's movie 5 stars
5/27/06 Sheena So easy to relate to those tough teen years. 5 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson Some of J. Hughes' best work. M.R. and A.M.H. are both great, but G. Watanabe is a scream!! 5 stars
11/08/04 Kelly Nicole GREAT movie, Jake Ryan, are u out there?? Looking for me?!? 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton Yipp Ringwald was a hottie. 5 stars
8/13/04 Andie farmer ted steals the show fo sho! definitely numero 1 on my movie list! i loathe the bus 5 stars
7/15/04 R.W. Welch Amiable teen rom-com, done with more finesse than most. 3 stars
3/29/04 JimmyC "Dong!!! Grandpa is talking to you!!!" 5 stars
1/27/04 Katie Malone Good film! 4 stars
12/27/03 J The movie was funny, but it didn't add up. ** 1/2 out 4 3 stars
12/26/03 Mason No way Jose. You beat up my face. 5 stars
12/24/03 Katherine A classic. AMAZING!! I love Jake Ryan!! I must find Shermer Illinois. 5 stars
11/23/03 Bill Searcy This film should be rated R 1 stars
6/22/03 cochese cmon people, this movie is WAAAAAAY overrated, watchable, but overrated. 3 stars
5/24/03 Robyn The greatest comedy of all time! 5 stars
5/02/03 Kiko Jones Hughes' first and probably best teen movie 4 stars
2/07/03 Dana Best Film of All Time 5 stars
12/29/02 Kristine Molly Ringwald is my hero because of this movie! It's a classic. 5 stars
12/13/02 Cari "oh sexy girlfriend" *falls out of tree* -Dong LMAO 5 stars
11/13/02 Sonya Best 80 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum "Dong? Dong? Where is my automobile?" Classic stuff 5 stars
10/06/02 elise fuller best movie ive ever seen. love jake ryan 5 stars
7/26/02 Bada Bing Crosby You own a church? Maybe the most quotable movie ever made 5 stars
6/09/02 Teresa Loved the actors:chinese guy, grandparents, geeks... outragious scenes..Can be seen again!! 5 stars
5/20/02 Amanda any sixteen year old loser who adores the popular guy in school must see this movie! 4 stars
2/26/02 Beatrice I love this movie and i love everything about it!!! *\o/* 5 stars
1/31/02 Dragon it rocks 5 stars
1/15/02 Elly i remember when i got this movie for my 16th bday and fell in love! best 80's movie!!! 5 stars
12/25/01 yusuf lolo 5 stars
12/17/01 Sixteen Candles Yo Dude... it's "No more yankie rum, drinky. The Donger need food." 3 stars
12/14/01 Sara Ooh, so 80s! What a lovely film! 5 stars
11/22/01 pattie holt I liked the movie when i was 16 5 stars
11/21/01 topaz I'm at a loss... I'll just say this is a classic movie. I absolutely love it. 5 stars
11/18/01 Abadi Abdulrahman87@yahoo.com 5 stars
11/14/01 spider-tq011.proxy.aol.com About as good as Judd Nelson playing a teenager (or playing anything for that matter) 1 stars
11/06/01 Jeff Hall Racist towards all asians. 1 stars
11/03/01 MC About as good as Judd Nelson playing a teenager (or playing anything for that matter) 1 stars
10/19/01 paula mcculley its a great movieMichael Schoeffling is every girls dream especially mine 5 stars
10/09/01 hailey johnson its a really good movie with lots of funny parts!!!! 5 stars
9/26/01 audrie i loved it !!!! especially molly,she's the best!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/23/01 MAYRA A. RIOS I LOVED THE MOVIE, IT PUTS ME IN A GREAT MOOD! 5 stars
9/17/01 Amy Jake Ryan...Ahhhhh!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/21/01 ANTHONY CABANILLAS I LOVE THIS MOVIE. ITS BEEN MY FAVORITE MOVIE MY WHOLE LIFE. 5 stars
8/12/01 sbephie Definately the best, Jake Ryan, you are amazing!! 5 stars
8/07/01 E-Funk I love Hughes's films...this one is up there, but not top-dawg. 4 stars
7/30/01 Sharon Hunt This is by far my favorite movie. I mean what better way to describe the teenage years. 5 stars
7/29/01 JesseL Only a pathetic loser could have a crush on Molly Ringwald. What a yenta! 1 stars
7/10/01 M "Jake Ryan" is GORGEOUS!!!! 5 stars
6/26/01 Katie May i think that Jake Ryan is the hottest man. And john cusack, has potential. 5 stars
6/24/01 lisa i loved it 5 stars
6/24/01 go it sucks 1 stars
6/23/01 KC Jake Ryan is so HOT! Why'd he disappear??? 5 stars
6/17/01 Blair Wilson That movie is just too funny, but Jake's cute, Go get him Sam 5 stars
6/16/01 Tony Coppola Jake was the best 5 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Mallied? MALLIED! 5 stars
6/10/01 chris bauer the best movie 5 stars
6/05/01 angie micheal schoeffling who plays jake ryan is soooooooooooooooooooo HOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
6/02/01 Jim Ringwald is so whiiinnnneyyyy 1 stars
5/29/01 Serena The Best Movie Ever 5 stars
5/28/01 Heather Sixteen Candle and The Breakfast Club are my all time favorite movies of all time! 5 stars
5/24/01 Deanna If only my sixteen birthday had turned out like this!!! 5 stars
5/18/01 jamie the donger is my hero!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/17/01 meg it was a good movie 5 stars
5/16/01 openface a duck's dong 5 stars
5/11/01 Melanie I love this movie!!!! 5 stars
5/07/01 Pete Wrigley What the hell are you bitchin about? I have to sleep underneath some Chinaman named after 5 stars
5/07/01 Mikado It was OK, funny at parts 3 stars
5/07/01 Molly JAKE RYAN IS HOT!!!! 5 stars
5/05/01 Jada G This is my all time favorite movie! It's a great love/ comeing of age story 5 stars
4/23/01 Robert Stewart Best song for an ending. Tied with Breakfast Club as best movie for the time period. 5 stars
4/20/01 haywood jablowme this sucked ass! 1 stars
4/17/01 Danielle I think this movie rules more than any other, it is definately my favorite movie ever.. 5 stars
4/16/01 Kaitlyn This is the best movie ever made! Its soooo funny I watch it every day! 5 stars
4/16/01 Nate Good film except that the DVD changes some of the original songs, I was appalled. 5 stars
4/11/01 Clarice best movie of the '80s! 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary I've never seen the whole thing, but I'm a huge "brat pack" fan! 5 stars
3/27/01 k-dawg HOT! 5 stars
3/14/01 Jake Farrelly bros. eat your heart out! This is a classic. 5 stars
2/25/01 alex h its every girls wish to have her prince waiting for her outside church 5 stars
2/25/01 Christi It's just like the real thing! 5 stars
2/05/01 BiG PiMP GAY!GAY!GAY! 1 stars
1/31/01 jamie Carpenter this was the best 80's movie ever!!!!! 5 stars
12/04/00 liz i love sixteen candles 5 stars
8/19/00 Kristen I loved it! i relly can relate with Sam, you being a teenager and having crushes and all. 5 stars
5/13/00 Bender I'm not as taken with this movie as some people are, but its still funny and charming. 4 stars
4/13/00 Rita This Movie ROCKS 5 stars
3/07/00 Jenn One of the best flicks EVER! Love those 80's John Hughes films! 5 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski "I can't believe my grandmother actually felt me up," HYSTERICAL!!!! 5 stars
12/02/99 Amy this is the best movie! 5 stars
11/16/99 Lane this movie was bomb!!! i loved it, 5 stars
10/18/99 Christine Filipowski This is my absolute favorite movie of all time, and I think it always will be. 5 stars
9/16/99 strike has the world gone mad!! it's only a John Hughes movie and not even one of his best. 2 stars
8/20/99 Tara This is my favorite movie of all time and it always will be! 5 stars
6/28/99 Chuck Harris - Darren's father. Really thought Darren Harris (Cliff) was great. 5 stars
6/17/99 matchbox20 Classic movie. Buy the movie! 5 stars
5/10/99 Jebey Great film--love Molly, 4 stars
5/03/99 JJ CLASSIC. Too bad half the shit Hollywood is pumping out isn't this fucking good 5 stars
4/24/99 gibb "she go to church to marry oily bohonk" Long Duck rules!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/19/99 It's me One of my all time faves. Hall is So talented -what the hell happened to him? Humm see it! 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo mOLly ringwalds best movie. Plus it has the cool cusaks in it 5 stars
4/07/99 lianesse funny, but anthony michael hall---ahhhhh 2 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm It rocked 5 stars
4/04/99 Albert T.H.E. B.E.S.T. It's sofa city, sweetheart. 5 stars
3/18/99 AMANDA I TOTALLY LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! 5 stars
10/24/98 Kwyjibo Long duk rules!! I like to think of Molly never having sex. She's my generation's virgin. 5 stars
9/30/98 {{{OZ}}} Three words: Long Duk Dong. Funny flick. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1984 (PG)
  DVD: 01-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast