More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.43

Awesome65.22%
Worth A Look: 21.74%
Average: 5.8%
Pretty Bad: 5.8%
Total Crap: 1.45%

4 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lucy by Daniel Kelly

White Storm, The by Jay Seaver

Giovanni's Island by Jay Seaver

Let's Be Cops by Daniel Kelly

Frank by Jay Seaver

Dead Snow: Red vs. Dead by Jay Seaver

Land Ho! by Jay Seaver

Another Me by Jay Seaver

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For by Brett Gallman

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Weird Science
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"How 'bout a nice, greasy pork sandwich served in a dirty ashtray?"
4 stars

Gotta love those 80's John Hughes sexcoms.

Gary and Wyatt (Anthony Michael Hall and Ilan Michael-Smith) are two geeks. But they've got a computer, and in the mid-80's, that's all you really needed.

So they made a woman. A living, breathing, aerobicizing woman.

But she had these really weird powers, and she used them to help the guys become popular, which, in the end, they could've done all along.

They don't make movies like this anymore, which is too bad. It's a decent comedy with fantasy elements and the staple of 80's movies, teenage sex. Oh, and it's got Bill Paxton in his best film role ever.

Harmless and funny as hell.

Chips, dips, chains, whips, sex, drugs, rock and roll, candlewax on the nipples, witchcraft.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1063&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/07/98 23:52:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/11/11 Heather Furmanek A cult classic! 5 stars
2/23/10 PAUL SHORTT TASTELESS, SEX OBSESSED COMEDY 1 stars
1/17/10 Dane Youssef Fine for it's time, but just plain doesn't hold up. TV episodic by today's standards. 3 stars
8/11/09 CTT Really crude, but still memorable stuff 4 stars
2/11/08 karen very funny and entertaining 5 stars
12/21/07 David Cohen Thought it was great as a kid, now I'm not so sure 3 stars
12/06/06 David Pollastrini boring, dull, etc. 2 stars
5/27/06 Sheena crazy...sexy....cool 5 stars
11/21/05 Frank Rountree Excellent movie, very funny, great casting! 5 stars
8/12/05 ES Loved this film, still love this film, despite Bill paxton being in it 5 stars
5/21/05 hl a cult classic 5 stars
2/05/05 peter classic 80's flick good fun 5 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson I have two words. BILL PAXTON!!! He alone saves this film in an insane, funny performance. 3 stars
11/04/04 Josh Standlee Best line: "You die, she walks out of here with a severe limp!". 5 stars
7/12/04 trina aguilar it's a whacky combation of a sex pot and 2 nerdy geeks 5 stars
5/10/04 altafur rahman This film takes the hilarity and reality and create a duality. 5 stars
2/07/04 Joe Domico Favorite part...has to be the Bar Scene...Classic 80's...Fats man let me tell you my story. 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel a pretty funny movie!! 3 stars
9/06/03 scott summer best film ever 5 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Very funny ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
1/29/03 Pinkline Jones Much funnier than Angela's Ashes 5 stars
9/08/02 AshFan "If you're gonna fart, squeeze cheese!" 4 stars
11/29/01 HM3 "Good mornin' turdbrain" "Why don't you shut up, bitch!" 4 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Hall Is A Teen Idol To Me, but In This He's Just Not Funny. 2 stars
11/22/01 Mike Lyond On Dutch TV tonight. Pretty 80's, pretty bad. :-) By the way, B.Pullman is not B. Paxton! 2 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Cool as hell! There should be a remake with Elizabeth Hurley 5 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Wouldn't it be COOL to make a woman....make 'er as sexy as you want???!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
8/07/01 E-Funk It's all about Chet...Paxton rocks, LeBrock rocks, this movie rocks. 5 stars
8/05/01 Robert Lee Ramey Liked it as much as Lady in Red 5 stars
7/31/01 the scarecrow shut up Andrew Carden, this is a classic 5 stars
4/15/01 Gary GREAT! 5 stars
3/30/01 rrhunter77 Reminds me of BeDazzled with Elizabeth Hurley or viceversa. 5 stars
3/10/01 tttone69@hotmail I wannnnnt Kelly labrock after this movie 5 stars
8/02/00 Bender Hilarious dialogue really makes the film. 4 stars
4/13/00 Rita John Hughes rules. What else is there to say? 5 stars
4/06/00 Tyler Blase Another great that came out of the 80's 5 stars
2/07/00 steve layne Not Hughes' best all around teen movie but it has the best one-liners. 4 stars
4/19/99 SciFi Good flick. Run don't walk to rent/buy it 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) one of the awesome 80s teen movies. plus it has a classic oinga boinga song 5 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm 2 words: Kelly Labrock, 2 more: Thank You 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink PUH-LEAZE!!!!!!! 2 stars
11/09/98 Lord Of The Dunce A great example of 80's teen angst nerds aagainst the world comedy. DOWNEY JR WITH BIG HAIR 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob 'Why do you always have to fuck with a fantasy?' Just enjoy it! 4 stars
10/19/98 Johny Goofball 80s teen film 4 stars
9/30/98 {{{OZ}}} Fair movvie, but Kelly LeBrock pisses me off. Early Bill Pullman is funny. Disbelief city. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Aug-1985 (PG-13)
  DVD: 01-Nov-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jun-1985




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast