More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Worth A Look: 21.74%
Average: 5.8%
Pretty Bad: 5.8%
Total Crap: 1.45%

4 reviews, 45 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Bound for the Fields, the Mountains, and the Seacoast by Jay Seaver

Trumbo (2015) by Jay Seaver

Creed by Peter Sobczynski

Joseph: King of Dreams by Jaycie

Good Dinosaur, The by Jay Seaver

Good Dinosaur, The by alejandroariera

Victor Frankenstein by Jay Seaver

Exhibition (1975) by Charles Tatum

D2: The Mighty Ducks by Jaycie

By the Sea by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Weird Science
[] Buy posters from this movie
by CaptNish

"What ever happened to Ilan Mitchell-Smith??"
5 stars

Heh, a missle in the kitchen....Oh that's rich!!!

Weird Science is one of those classic 80's films that I loved as a kid and love even more now that I'm older. And goddamn, can I relate to this one. Yah see...I was, and still am to some degree, a dorque.

Peep this: You have two guys, Gary (Anthony Michael Hall) and Wyatt (Ilan Mitchell-Smith). They're high school dorks. What are they all about? Chicks man. Namely, Deb and Hilly. But of course, they can't obtain their desire cause, well, they're dorks. So, when Wyatt's parental units go away, Gary pretty much moves in for the time that they are gone with him and his brother, Chett (Billy Paxton). Well, screwing around on Wyatt's computer one night (an old fuckin' Apple which is funny lookin' as shit), they decide to make a woman (oh the nights me and my friends have sat around "making women"). This little joke somewhat backfires (but in a good way), and they actually create a real woman. A genie of sorts taboot. She makes wishes come true and make them cool as ice. Hijinx ensue.

The movie kicks ass. The bar scene alone is reason enough to watch. The saddest thing about this movie is to realize that John Hughes was a God. Not THE God but a god, like a lesser one. Maybe not a god, but he was up a high ranking angel or something. Point, this dude put out the coolest flicks. Weird Science is definitely one of those movies that made him the King of Cool...until he started making shitty kid flicks. Anyway, when you got a flick with Bill Paxton, AMH, and Kelly LeBrock in undies and a cut off top that'll make yah nut your shorts, you just can't go wrong.

As I've said before, they just don't make movies like this anymore...

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 10/01/98 01:19:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/11/11 Heather Furmanek A cult classic! 5 stars
1/17/10 Dane Youssef Fine for it's time, but just plain doesn't hold up. TV episodic by today's standards. 3 stars
8/11/09 CTT Really crude, but still memorable stuff 4 stars
2/11/08 karen very funny and entertaining 5 stars
12/21/07 David Cohen Thought it was great as a kid, now I'm not so sure 3 stars
12/06/06 David Pollastrini boring, dull, etc. 2 stars
5/27/06 Sheena 5 stars
11/21/05 Frank Rountree Excellent movie, very funny, great casting! 5 stars
8/12/05 ES Loved this film, still love this film, despite Bill paxton being in it 5 stars
5/21/05 hl a cult classic 5 stars
2/05/05 peter classic 80's flick good fun 5 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson I have two words. BILL PAXTON!!! He alone saves this film in an insane, funny performance. 3 stars
11/04/04 Josh Standlee Best line: "You die, she walks out of here with a severe limp!". 5 stars
7/12/04 trina aguilar it's a whacky combation of a sex pot and 2 nerdy geeks 5 stars
5/10/04 altafur rahman This film takes the hilarity and reality and create a duality. 5 stars
2/07/04 Joe Domico Favorite part...has to be the Bar Scene...Classic 80's...Fats man let me tell you my story. 5 stars
12/10/03 Samuel a pretty funny movie!! 3 stars
9/06/03 scott summer best film ever 5 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Very funny ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
1/29/03 Pinkline Jones Much funnier than Angela's Ashes 5 stars
9/08/02 AshFan "If you're gonna fart, squeeze cheese!" 4 stars
11/29/01 HM3 "Good mornin' turdbrain" "Why don't you shut up, bitch!" 4 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Hall Is A Teen Idol To Me, but In This He's Just Not Funny. 2 stars
11/22/01 Mike Lyond On Dutch TV tonight. Pretty 80's, pretty bad. :-) By the way, B.Pullman is not B. Paxton! 2 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean Cool as hell! There should be a remake with Elizabeth Hurley 5 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Wouldn't it be COOL to make a woman....make 'er as sexy as you want???!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
8/07/01 E-Funk It's all about Chet...Paxton rocks, LeBrock rocks, this movie rocks. 5 stars
8/05/01 Robert Lee Ramey Liked it as much as Lady in Red 5 stars
7/31/01 the scarecrow shut up Andrew Carden, this is a classic 5 stars
4/15/01 Gary GREAT! 5 stars
3/30/01 rrhunter77 Reminds me of BeDazzled with Elizabeth Hurley or viceversa. 5 stars
3/10/01 tttone69@hotmail I wannnnnt Kelly labrock after this movie 5 stars
8/02/00 Bender Hilarious dialogue really makes the film. 4 stars
4/13/00 Rita John Hughes rules. What else is there to say? 5 stars
4/06/00 Tyler Blase Another great that came out of the 80's 5 stars
2/07/00 steve layne Not Hughes' best all around teen movie but it has the best one-liners. 4 stars
4/19/99 SciFi Good flick. Run don't walk to rent/buy it 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo ( one of the awesome 80s teen movies. plus it has a classic oinga boinga song 5 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm 2 words: Kelly Labrock, 2 more: Thank You 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink PUH-LEAZE!!!!!!! 2 stars
11/09/98 Lord Of The Dunce A great example of 80's teen angst nerds aagainst the world comedy. DOWNEY JR WITH BIG HAIR 5 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob 'Why do you always have to fuck with a fantasy?' Just enjoy it! 4 stars
10/19/98 Johny Goofball 80s teen film 4 stars
9/30/98 {{{OZ}}} Fair movvie, but Kelly LeBrock pisses me off. Early Bill Pullman is funny. Disbelief city. 4 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  02-Aug-1985 (PG-13)
  DVD: 01-Nov-2005



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast