More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.27

Awesome: 14.66%
Worth A Look43.1%
Average: 11.21%
Pretty Bad: 16.38%
Total Crap: 14.66%

10 reviews, 56 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Bohemian Rhapsody by Rob Gonsalves

Fireworks (2017) by Jay Seaver

Knuckleball (2018) by Jay Seaver

Roma (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Detour by Peter Sobczynski

Anna and the Apocalypse by Peter Sobczynski

Chuck Steel: Night of the Trampires by Jay Seaver

Suspiria (2018) by Rob Gonsalves

Outlaws, The by Jay Seaver

Unstoppable (2018) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Arlington Road
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Contractual obligations made me do it!"
1 stars

Shitty movie that runs all over the place, has no cohesion or thread and is punctuated with a series of not only improbable and unexpected, but completely illogical turns.

Arlington road starts with some erratic tossing together of flashbacks and vignettes to merely set up motivation to explain later events in this sub-sub-par action thriller.

Tim Robbins gives a good performance in a role that makes little sense. Joan Cusack is deleriously creepy as the stepfordesque but evil Cheryl Lang. I'd watch this movie again just to see her deadpan her lines.

Jeff Bridges. Man. what was he thinking. and where does the whole kidnap the boy thing fit in? At the end of the movie you see where the story was trying to go there but it takes almost two hours of mind-numbing and nervewracking string of events with no apparent deeper connection before you "Get it". And although the surprise end is supposed to come off as clever, the idea of it is more clever than the execution. So kudos to director Mark Pellington for trying to get really weird and psychological but I'm sorry, the oscar is NOT going to you.

The movie looked like it was tacked together and the story got all fragmented in the process. But I admit that I was grossly fascinated at how bad this movie was and simply turning it off would have been the easy way out.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1072&reviewer=67
originally posted: 12/09/99 21:35:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/12/17 morris campbell effective but routine 4 stars
3/16/15 Anne Could be a 5 star if less melodramatic. Dynamite ending, relevant today! 4 stars
11/03/14 Dan Worst ending ive seen in a while! While the movie was ok, the ending ruined it. 2 stars
8/29/08 Shaun Wallner boring! couldnt watch the whole thing. 1 stars
7/03/08 PAUL SHORTT WELL ACTED, OFTEN INTENSE AND CERTAINLY ATMOSPHERIC 4 stars
9/21/07 amy i didnt understand realy probably becasue i missed some of it 3 stars
9/11/07 juice75 love the movie 5 stars
5/29/07 action movie fan great moive spies next door great thrills and action one of the best of ,99 5 stars
10/01/05 Adam Good acting but story a little weak in parts, ending is a bitch 4 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson Tim Robbins' chilling, understated performance & Mark Pellington's stylish direction ROCK!! 5 stars
2/25/04 LIAM JACKSON Robbins' seemingly innocent neighbour hiding murderous intentions was chilling 5 stars
4/08/03 Mystique a great tim robbins 4 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Full-throttle, mesmerizing thriller. Bridges' and Pellington's work are outstanding. 4 stars
8/14/02 Ted V. stylishly creepy, Tim Robbins' acting was great 5 stars
8/01/02 Charles Tatum Seriously flawed story 1 stars
7/27/02 I Can't Swim Over-rated trash to give those paranoid among us another hive 2 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi good storyline, the ending is very unfortunate....all the actors do a great job... 4 stars
2/05/02 Aiken Drum These where the acts of just one man. I feel safe now. 5 stars
1/22/02 Mad Max FU, Bill head! 4 stars
9/15/01 palaboy after witnessing the events that happened in DC&NYC, u have got to see this movie! 5 stars
5/23/01 Bada Bing Crosby Fast forward to the last 20mins, that's the only part worth seeing at all 4 stars
5/03/01 Bueller The ending SUCKED! In the movies, all villans should die. Especially over the top villans! 2 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe Very excellent thriller which I enjoyed watching it over and over again! 5 stars
3/08/01 sanja I love to see the main role dead 4 stars
1/09/01 Sully Keeps you on the edge of your seat. Loved it. Disregard the moronic comments below. 5 stars
11/22/00 The Bill Head I would rather gargle pieces of glass mixed in with mutated baby chuncks than see it again! 1 stars
2/12/00 Richard Wright Over-the-top acting, an implausible plot... but gotta say, LOVE that ending! 3 stars
12/10/99 Starla Bad. Very disjointed and apparently pointless. The ending was a cop-out. 2 stars
12/10/99 JonnyAngel Worked for me. 4 stars
12/10/99 stuart buxton While unevenly paced, Arlington Rd remains one of the more chilling releases of the year. 4 stars
12/05/99 Eric S. Despite implausibilities, Jeff Bridges' performance and the ending make this film work 4 stars
11/20/99 George Nedelchev Intelligent, well-acted, well-shot. 4 stars
11/14/99 Matthew Smith an urban thriller with an ending that you haunt you for days to come 5 stars
11/02/99 Crikkit This movie really makes you think. A must see for Tim Robbins fans. 5 stars
10/30/99 Bozo Hey! Watch that "Yanks" shit! I thought it sucked too! Feel better? 2 stars
9/18/99 RelliK Sick Puppies(That's you, the Yanks) 4 stars
9/11/99 Timbo Annoying as a case of crabs 1 stars
9/11/99 Kevin Way Yet Another Conspiracy Movie. 3 stars
8/26/99 Sylvia phantastic thriller 5 stars
8/24/99 Pierce Lanson Bloody good film!!-Tense thriller, great performances! 5 stars
8/16/99 Brigid O'Connor Not as good as expected 3 stars
8/13/99 elizaveta Truly amazing film - Constantly on edge from the first scene to the devastating last!!! 5 stars
8/10/99 yoon ji -san f 4 stars
8/01/99 Obi Wan Came in with no expectations...but was satisfied with what I left. Defn8ly an HBO flick 3 stars
7/27/99 David Kindred Some good points at beginning, but tried too hard to screw you in the end. 2 stars
7/23/99 Jo Jo, The Idiot Circus Boy Mmm.....feed me to Mystery Science Theater 3000 1 stars
7/23/99 Mr. Morden Wonderfully acted, but very poorly written. Hilariously bad at times. 2 stars
7/23/99 PhilmPhreak Just saw it and barely remember anything about it 3 stars
7/19/99 Malbert Pretty disturbing-Tim Robbins was incredibly creepy 4 stars
7/17/99 buddy Wow, great film, much better than that other thriller, Gen Daughter 5 stars
7/11/99 Majawat Well done character film, with a great trick ending. 4 stars
7/10/99 PurityJustBegs A very paranoid and dark thriller! Flawless acting, intelligent story..a superb thriller! 5 stars
7/09/99 Matthew Bartley Very chilling 4 stars
1/06/99 The Dude VERY COOL THRILLER Tim Robbins is fucking great. 5 stars
11/24/98 Johny Mediocre thriller until great ending. Intense direction. 3 stars
11/23/98 Chris Very Intense, Awsome Ending... Go see it. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-Jul-1999 (R)
  DVD: 26-Oct-1999

UK
  N/A

Australia
  12-Aug-1999


Directed by
  Mark Pellington

Written by
  Ehren Kruger

Cast
  Jeff Bridges
  Tim Robbins
  Joan Cusack
  Hope Davis
  Robert Gosset
  Mason Gamblet



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast