More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.78

Awesome41.46%
Worth A Look: 26.83%
Average: 12.2%
Pretty Bad: 7.32%
Total Crap: 12.2%

2 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Star Wars: Episode VIII : The Last Jedi by Jay Seaver

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Big Chill, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Die, Kevin Costner, DIE!"
4 stars

What an awesome movie. You should really go see it, if only for the soundtrack. And plus, who among us DOESN'T want to see Kevin Costner commit suicide?

This movie is the ultimate proof that Hollywood is actually smart, but for unknown reasons chooses to be stupid. When they shot this movie, it was full of flashbacks with Kevin Costner in 'em. They were cut out. SMART. Why didn't people learn from this. Kevin Costner needs to be cut out of movies a lot. Like, always.

Anyways, the premise of this movie is: College buddies grow up. Lose contact. Are brought back together by the funeral of the most promising among them, who had never amounted to anything and ended up killing himself.

It's a bonding movie, people. It's not for everyone. It gets way mushy. But hot damn, what music.

It's also very entertianing. There are a lot of laughs. I enjoy movies that have bitter, dissilusioned women in it. And any monologue that starts "they're all either gay or married" means I'll see that movie at least twice. But that's probably just me.

More than any of that, this movie is moving. Because it's well acted, and very well written, and directed better than average. But it's really the writing that gets ya. I for one am usually not impressed with movies that try to make you feel for the characters. But in this one, it's not a goal, it's just a given.

Although this is more than likely one of your parent's favorite movies, I promise it's worth it for anyone. Parents are only usually wrong. Not always. 4 sporks up.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1073&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/02/98 01:18:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/07/14 David Hollingsworth a cultural milestone of 80's cluelessness 5 stars
10/13/13 David H. a classic for the pre-80s anxiety 5 stars
8/24/13 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING SATIRICAL COMEDY, WITH GOOD PERFORMANCES 4 stars
9/07/12 Phineas My,how empty and boring life in the US would've been without the Baby Boom Generation,huh? 1 stars
6/15/09 Jeff Wilder Not bad, But Return of the Secaucus 7 covered the same territory better. 4 stars
4/09/07 mb Warm story ... Hollywood morals. 4 stars
5/06/06 dionwr Crap--second re-do of "Return of the Secaucus Seven" 2 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A You're scaring me, Goss. 5 stars
5/02/06 William Goss Haven't seen it. 3 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius boomer brilliance 5 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH absinthe of malice 4 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj This is why everyone hates baby boomers 2 stars
6/13/04 Mikey This film was geat, just as relevant today as then 5 stars
1/24/04 Elena Interesting as a character study but the plot goes NOWHERE. 3 stars
9/07/03 Kyle Don't really understand why this was so popular. Some good tunes, though 3 stars
6/23/03 ttiinnaa a classic. god I love this movie 5 stars
11/24/02 the desertsage I had to go thru college with idiots like this! 1 stars
4/08/02 R.W. Welch Inconsequential but well-written "me generation" ensemble piece. Some historical interest. 3 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden It Was Crappy and Totally Worthless. A Waste Of My Intelligence. 1 stars
9/03/01 spaceworm Costner phenomenal as dead wrist. 2 stars
12/04/00 Sandide A stroll down a memory lane of broken glass 5 stars
10/28/99 dave the best 5 stars
3/02/99 Rachel cut my teeth on this flick, thanks to my dad. Loved it in the 80s, still love it. 5 stars
12/09/98 AnnieBee We love it here in Ann Arbor but overall? Rent it and buy the soundtrack instead. 4 stars
11/25/98 little jerry Profoundly mediocre. 1 stars
11/22/98 Bic Wood Great entertainment 5 stars
11/17/98 Jeff C. Great movie 15 years ago, rent it--not worth the price of admission 3 stars
11/07/98 grunter proto-thirtysomething; rich middle-aged white folk patting themselves on the back; eeyuck. 1 stars
10/07/98 Bluntman It's one of my mom's favorite movies. I loved it too, but not at all as much. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Nov-1998 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast