More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.94

Awesome: 33.33%
Worth A Look37.5%
Average: 20.83%
Pretty Bad: 6.25%
Total Crap: 2.08%

2 reviews, 36 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

Art of Self-Defense, The by Jay Seaver

Crawl by Peter Sobczynski

Swallow by Jay Seaver

Perfection, The by Rob Gonsalves

Luce by Jay Seaver

Last Black Man in San Francisco, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Waking Ned Devine
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A slow-moving chuckle."
3 stars

Touted as this year's Full Monty, Waking Ned Divine is no such thing. It's a worthy enough movie, but not in the class of the Montsters.

When a local in a small Irish village wins the lottery, two old crones decide to figure out who the winner is and shower them in generosity, in order to get a share of the pool. When they find the winner, and find he died of shock from his win, they decide to take his place and claim the cash. Cue lots of quirky Irish locals, some small-town humor, a naked motorbike ride or two and a lot of 'feel-good'.

Waking Ned Divine takes some time to get started. In fact, if you arrive fifteen minutes late, you'll not miss too much. The longer it goes, the better it gets, but it's no mental challenge. You can pretty much predict what will happen way before it does, right down to the climax.

The performances... well let's just say it's in the Out To Sea category. Nothing challenging, nothing outrageous, nothing of note. Old folks kicking up their heels. The subplots are distractions, and really contribute little to the overall in any way other than filler.

So it all sounds very negative, eh? Well, it's not fantastic, but in reality Waking Ned Divine is a sweet film that will make you chuckle a time or two. You won't hate it, you just won't rave about it.

Worth a quick look if it's on at the $2 theatre near you and Life Is Beautiful has moved on.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1075&reviewer=1
originally posted: 12/29/98 18:44:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

8/05/17 Suzanne sweet, funny - love the music - Bannen and Kelly are delightful 4 stars
8/13/08 PAUL SHORTT A LYRICAL TALE AS SWEET, SIMPLE AND REFRESHING AS A SUMMER SHOWER 3 stars
2/14/05 Luis paniagua I really love it, excellent film, locations perfect, 5 stars
12/12/04 Christopher amazing movie all about religion, life, liberty, happiness. best movie ever created 5 stars
11/19/04 screb you could watch much worse 3 stars
10/17/04 Jasmine_xoxo The Naked old guys are the funniest thing I have ever seen. Watch this movie! 5 stars
9/27/04 alicia you'll feel happy watching it 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton It had it`s moments 4 stars
5/23/04 DM I feel so much better now 4 stars
6/07/03 amazing great 5 stars
2/26/03 Nevs Good fun 4 stars
12/17/02 Jarran Heywood Wish I had the guts to pull that off 5 stars
10/02/02 Paul Davis Good Entertaining Film 4 stars
9/12/02 Isabelle Superb! Beautiful acting, gorgeous scenery, music and story enchanting. 5 stars
6/21/02 R.W. Welch Fey Irish comedy, skillfully plotted and acted with fine cinematography. 4 stars
1/23/02 Andrew Carden Stupid Comedy That Runs Too Long. 2 stars
10/24/01 Diana Great Film, great Music, great landscape, great Fun 5 stars
8/01/01 hoppilong this movie was excellent. Well written and directed. 5 stars
3/22/01 Monday Morning I was disappointed, and I'm even Irish. 3 stars
1/12/01 Matt69 Man the people in this movie know how to drink. 5 stars
12/20/00 Angus moorehead my family in the ole country can really make movies 5 stars
12/09/00 Viking Those Irish know how to make a great comedy 4 stars
3/26/99 Asim Iqbal Fucking awesome script film + tiny budget. 5 stars
3/18/99 Scott Stipe I really liked it, saw it on christmas 5 stars
2/27/99 Joel I love it! I think it's a great idea with cool development. 5 stars
2/01/99 Bridgette eh. funny at times, boring at others. 3 stars
1/19/99 shiraz a winning little film with moments of teary-eyed irish charm and almost slapstick laughs 4 stars
1/15/99 Charles Dubé Delightful film, fantastic performances by both Bannen & Kelly. A great reccomendation. 4 stars
12/30/98 jvt I downright hate this movie now 1 stars
12/22/98 Jim Niles imaginative, well-done 4 stars
12/18/98 Bryan Nice fantasy. 4 stars
12/06/98 Mr Showbiz Cute with a capital C. A twinkle-toed Irish comedy. 2 stars
12/01/98 Kirgo Sweet film. No full Monty . 4 stars
11/11/98 Chris I wouldn't recomend it to my friends but to my parents they will love it. 5 stars
11/09/98 Johny Harmless, but not engaging enough for me 2 stars
10/19/98 Aint-It-Cool It's a radiant little movie, don't miss it. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  20-Nov-1998 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1998 (PG)


Directed by
  Kirk Jones

Written by
  Kirk Jones

Cast
  Ian Bannen
  David Kelly
  Susan Lynch
  Eileen Dromey
  James Nesbitt



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast