More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.27

Awesome: 15.91%
Worth A Look34.09%
Average: 25%
Pretty Bad: 11.36%
Total Crap: 13.64%

1 review, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Oculus by Jay Seaver

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

subscribe to this feed


Deep Rising
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"So utterly familiar, yet it works more than most of its kind"
3 stars

OK, I like monster movies. Granted, they're not as imaginative and brilliant as in the 50's, when stuff like The Giant Mantis, I Married a Texan, or Ladybug! was challenging audiences with dialogue like "Look, a giant aphid! Run!", but a big slimy monster and a body count of 8 or 10 suits me just fine.

A sense of humor is integral to corny-ass monster movies. If you play it too straight, the audience wakes the small iota of intelligence they ususally reserve for road-rage exclamations and fingernail chewing, and they get angry: "Oh, yeah, like I'm supposed to believe he could still crack wise while he's being swallowed from the waist down by some gooey monster." or "That completely fictional and non-existent monster looks so fake, doesn't it? Doesn't it?" Deep Rising recognizes it's own familiarity and cliches. It offers a few good peformances, and more than its share of jolts and real bloody mayhem.

Seems this fancy-shmancy luxury liner is experiencing some technical difficulties (see plot keyword: sabotage) when it's attacked by some huge wet and green thing that's been hibernating in some deep freshwater blahblahblah. Anyway, we see a small amount of freaking out rich idiots, then we get to meet our heroes. Scrappy captain Treat Williams (in full-on pseudo-Indy mode here) and his racially and stereotype-balanced crew show up at the ship. They go on board with some aggressive treasure-hunting nutbags, and they all systematically get eaten in some particularly nasty scenes.

Our hero finds the only hot and sexy survivor, sticks to her like white on rice, they escape some of the ick, and make a split-second escape/slaying of the creature. Strictly by the numbers here, kids, but it worked for most of the time. Adequate and well-timed comic relief helped, and some especially nasty villains always raise the blood a little, and it's that much sweeter when they get turned into reverse sushi. Widely despised, but pretty darn cool for monster fans.

Delivers the goods pretty accurately, with a good amount of sexy babes, brutal killings, and a neato-looking monster. This one makes me feel like I'm 12 again when and watching some horror movie that my parents would ground me for watching, and what's wrong with that? Nothing. It's dumb, loud, bloody and silly, but in a cool way.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=108&reviewer=128
originally posted: 10/19/99 20:47:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/06/11 Shaun A Fun popcorn movie! 4 stars
9/02/07 Danny One of the funniest films i've ever seen, and some great kills 5 stars
7/30/07 David Risser Beats Octopus any day 4 stars
6/26/06 MP Bartley goofy, but fun. 3 stars
8/24/05 ES It had some scary and tense parts, plus Famke Janssen my favourite flavour 4 stars
1/24/05 Jeff Anderson A NO BRAINER TO BE SURE, BUT A TERRIFIC NO BRAINER AND LOTS MORE FUN THAN ANACONDA!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/03/04 Sugarfoot Pretty decent... 3 stars
8/31/04 Teresa Gonzales A good movie if you're in for a laugh 4 stars
5/14/04 John cool set up deteriorates into complete nonsense with bad sfx rather quickly 1 stars
3/18/04 Umbrella Corporation. That giant Octopus wuz our BOW-Weapon an... DAMMIT USE THE MEMORY-ERASER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/07/03 marc_ian_a Excellent ! (5 stars) :) 5 stars
7/13/03 3man This was worse than Leviathan and Deep Star Six combined. Even Famke couldn't save it. 1 stars
4/02/03 Gray acting, story, directing, SFX yep all good 4 stars
1/15/03 Amanda Simmons good 5 stars
1/13/03 Jack Sommersby Unassuming, colorful, energetic fun! Williams is appealing as the hero. 4 stars
12/14/02 Zefram Mann Damn fine rental film. The scene where they find the remains was pretty damn good. 4 stars
11/05/02 Jim Surprisingly entertaining piece of trash, sidekick steals the flick, and Famke red ... mmm. 4 stars
9/28/02 Eric Hey, it delivers non-stop action, thrills, laughs, scares. Damn, this has it all! 5 stars
9/13/02 Steve Cossaboom This is two movies for the price of one - two BAD movies! 1 stars
6/02/02 stud okay 4 stars
1/16/02 David A. It's action--fun to watch one time around. 4 stars
11/30/01 Shams Huque Entertaining...the first time. Famke Janssen is gorgeous. 3 stars
10/31/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Despite the gore in it, it was good but a sea monster?!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
10/29/01 Gary Unsurprisingly bollocks monster movie, but a LOT of fun, and Janssen is v. sexy. 2 stars
9/25/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This one is really a knock-off, but it has some faults in it but still... Its a classic! 3 stars
5/22/01 Connoisseur good monster flick - funny, fast-paced, and exciting 4 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin The sea critters are the true stars 4 stars
10/27/00 dan non-stop thrills and excitement! 5 stars
10/13/00 Josh This movie made me embaressed to be of the human race. 1 stars
10/13/00 Jason It was pretty good, if you compare it to Heathers...go see the symphony! 2 stars
10/13/00 Josh This movie made me embaressed to be of the human race. 1 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Half-digested, still-living victims. If sci-fi can be called "fluff"...here it is. 1 stars
10/19/99 Stu Kept getting worse, scraping the cliche barrel with broken fingers - oddly addictive, tho. 2 stars
3/20/99 the DUDE Gross movie at times those were the best parts 3 stars
1/10/99 Jo Mama kinda entertaining...then again, i like to watch Famke...heh heh heh. 4 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Okay shit. And I mean shit. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Hollywood must learn. Consumer. Not. Stupid. 2 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} Hack! Sptooey! Grunt! Eep! Gah! Why? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jan-1998 (R)
  DVD: 06-May-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast