More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.11

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look30.56%
Average: 16.67%
Pretty Bad: 19.44%
Total Crap: 16.67%

1 review, 30 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Legend of the Lone Ranger, The by Jack Sommersby

Finding Vivian Maier by Jay Seaver

Dom Hemingway by Jay Seaver

Game of Death, The (2000) by Charles Tatum

Blue Ruin by Jay Seaver

That Demon Within by Jay Seaver

Transcendence by Brett Gallman

Amazing Spider-Man 2, The by Daniel Kelly

Hysteria by Jack Sommersby

Congress, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Don't Tell Mom the Babysitter's Dead
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Yeah I'd do Kenny. A pothead who can cook. What's not to like?"
4 stars

YEAH Duchovny. I swear he's in there. He's funny. He's like the stupid villan's sidekick - and he has stupid hair.

Fuck Duchovny (mmmmm fucking Duchovny...)

He is probably the worst part of this movie. Cause he's all slapstick and stupid. But the rest of this movie rocks. Like Kenny. Is so cool. And the little Don Juan kid too. And oversized, stupid looking clothes! Yeah!

In summary: A single mom is going on vacation. She hires a babysitter. The second the mom leaves the old bat turns into a witch. She dies soon after, and the kids decide to dispose of the body, in fear of getting in trouble. Unforutnately they dispose of all the money with the body. So Christina Applegate (the eldest sibling) decides to get a job to support the family. She forges a resume and lands an assistant job at a uniform design firm. She and her siblings spend all the petty cash. When the villaness and David Duchovny disocver this, Christina and her siblings have to be industrious and throw a zero-budget party/presentation to both save the company and cover their asses. Also, the troubled brother, Kenny, cleans up his act, Christina Applegate falls in love with Knox Overstreet from Dead Poet's Society, and her lovable boss Rose gains self confidence and dumps her cheating horny boyfriend.

This movie is so fucking corny. But it's so corny it's funny. Everything is predictable and ubsurd. It's ridiculous to the point of being adorable. I mean, how many movies can have a kid shooting dinner plates off the roof, have him yell "the dishes are done!" and make me laugh? Only one, I think.

Keep in mind this movie is completely retarded, and you'll enjoy it immensly. It's great fun. 4 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1080&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/02/98 01:02:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/03/13 PAUL SHORTT SUPERFICIALLY SILLY COMEDY 1 stars
10/23/10 Jeff Wilder Not a bad teen comedy. Way better than a lot of the awful teen comedies of today. 4 stars
8/11/07 Tiffany Losco This is such a funny movie. I watched it when I was a kid. I love Christina in it. 5 stars
6/03/07 bryan anybody who says this movie sucks is definitely on crack..i love christina applegate!!!!!!! 5 stars
5/26/07 Kimberly Dull This movie isn't great cinema, but somehow I still thoroughly enjoy it. 3 stars
5/28/05 Indrid Cold Cheesy and ridiculous, but surprisingly entertaining 4 stars
5/27/05 Brendan I love this movie. Simple, great performances, good score! 5 stars
4/26/05 Alana This is a great movie that all parents should watch! 5 stars
1/24/05 Jeff Anderson Bland and ridiculous comedy wastes good idea. K. Coogan & J. Cassidy have the best moments! 2 stars
5/07/04 B. Kenton Christina Applegate is so very sexy 3 stars
1/11/04 Samuel sort of funny, but if over ten do not see 3 stars
8/08/03 3man Fairly lame movie 2 stars
3/06/03 Charles Tatum Awful Awful Awful! 1 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby A few laughs, but not nearly enough. 2 stars
9/02/01 Jake Very funny! the story takes fun twists,loved it at the movies. And still do! 5 stars
8/13/01 giancarlo what is the name of the song that kenny listens to in the bath scene? 5 stars
6/28/01 King Jackass Not that bad, but not that good either. 3 stars
4/01/01 Andrew Carden I don't know what to say here. 3 stars
2/14/01 Richard Wright The babysitter's not the only one whose dead. So is the script, from the neck up. Drivel. 1 stars
1/12/01 Bender Not as bad as the title SCREAMS it is. 4 stars
6/10/99 Homer J. Simpson I thought this movie was funny, if over ten do not see 3 stars
5/13/99 ras_jose@yahoo.com idiotic drivel. 2 stars
5/02/99 Whitney Entertaining, but not the best you'll ever see. 4 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm Only in her dreams 2 stars
11/24/98 Lord Of The Dunce You can't legislate mentality. This was dumb. 1 stars
11/16/98 Jules dear lord... 1 stars
10/14/98 Alex F. Applegate is hot. She's a decent actress. Further more, she's hot. Anything she's in is koo 4 stars
10/06/98 Bluntman I saw this movie?!?!?! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! 2 stars
10/03/98 Johny Painful 1 stars
10/02/98 {{{OZ}}} By taking this part, Applegate was consigning herself to nothingness. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jun-1991 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast