More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.95

Awesome46.67%
Worth A Look: 21.67%
Average: 15%
Pretty Bad: 13.33%
Total Crap: 3.33%

5 reviews, 30 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bull Durham
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Note to hollywood: Pick *one* idea and go with it."
2 stars

Honey, would you rather I were making love to him using your name, or making love to you using his name?

This is the only reason I've seen this movie more than once. In a word: sex. And lots of it. And all with the wrong people. The funny part is, if they had made the movie all about that and only used baseball as a backdrop, this movie could have jived. But no, Kevin Costner wants to catch. And some bonehead decided it'll be a good idea.

I have no problem with baseball as a sport. Even fans are at the top of the sports fan rankings. But dude, there are too fucking many baseball movies out there. When will hollywood realize that so many groups will not be interested in a baseball movie. Like, for example: girls.

But that's not the point of this review. The point of this review is to point out that Kevin Costner sucks, and he ruins every movie he's in. this movie would nto be bad if Kevin's character were not played by him. His character makes no sense. We are supposed to love him and pity him and feel sorry for him and relate to him. But guess what, he's a jerk and Susan Sarandon should move on. They do not make me believe that their torn relationship should be the focus of this movie. Classic case of trying to do too much. Either make it about the game, and this rookie, and how he needs guidance. Or make it about this hostile jerk who actually just needs a woman's love. Pick one, dammit.

So this movie sucks. Don't get me wrong, you might enjoy it, if you lvoe the game. And it's quite funny. But it's a bad piece of moviemaking. 2 sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1088&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/03/98 17:45:02
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/19/16 Suzanne great writing - love all 3 characters 5 stars
6/17/13 Jeff Wilder Brilliant! Characterization and dialogue superb! 5 stars
9/09/10 PAUL SHORTT SMART SPORTS FILM 3 stars
10/18/07 Grady "Never ever let fungus grow on your shower shoes" enough said great movie!!! 5 stars
6/18/07 Oliver Favorite movie of all-time, not just "sports movie", even the role players are brilliant 5 stars
4/30/05 Chris Stephens One of the best baseball movies made 4 stars
4/25/05 OverTheRainbow Love it- especially Tim Burton in a garter belt! 5 stars
4/03/05 Eric best sports film of all time 5 stars
4/01/05 Carolyn Rathburn Long slow deep wet kisses, that says it all. 5 stars
3/30/05 Skeeve Yet another baseball movie which is amazingly more fun to watch than the real thing! 5 stars
1/21/05 Jason Kaul The sexiest movie S.S. has done since Rocky Horror. A must see for baseball fans. 4 stars
12/31/04 DM Proof that Costner was funny shit before he was just.....shit. 4 stars
7/01/04 John excellent dialogue and good story - funny too 4 stars
6/15/04 T. Maj Kevin Kostner is adorable--what the hell happened to him?? 5 stars
4/09/04 M. Rosado "I hate it when people get the words wrong!" 5 stars
1/16/04 Desperado you idiotic dipshits who think this isnt the best sports movie ever,u r just that, dipshits 5 stars
4/29/03 Jin lame 1 stars
4/19/03 Rhoda Dohr I knew this was total crap LONG before flap over Robbins, Sarandon &Hall Of Fame! 1 stars
1/01/03 Jack Sommersby The best sports comedy ever! A masterpiece with magnificent dialogue and acting. 5 stars
12/04/02 Jack Wolverton The Church of Baseball 5 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum More Ron Shelton dumbing down for the sports fan 3 stars
3/17/02 FlaFan Some good lines, but overall I'm not too impressed. 3 stars
9/03/01 spaceworm So good one can even excuse Costner's participation (he's even mostly good in it). 4 stars
5/21/01 R.W. Welch Okay love and baseball pic with a rare look at life in the minor leagues. 4 stars
2/14/01 Jake Typical mindless, trashy, American fare. 2 stars
5/23/00 The Bomb 69 excellent stuff, well written and acted (not a costner fan either) 5 stars
4/15/00 Elvisfan WAY overwritten and Kevin was too smug/knowing which made him annoying to watch 2 stars
7/15/99 GothamDK One of the best sports movies of all-time. Classic lines. 5 stars
5/20/99 Katsat One of my favorite movies of all time 5 stars
10/04/98 {{{OZ}}} I dig baseball movies. And sex. But wasn't all over this movie. Some good bits. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Jun-1988 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1988 (M)


Directed by
  Ron Shelton

Written by
  Ron Shelton

Cast
  Kevin Costner
  Susan Sarandon
  Tim Robbins
  Trey Wilson
  Robert Wuhl
  William O'Leary



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast