More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.59

Awesome80.85%
Worth A Look: 9.93%
Average: 2.13%
Pretty Bad: 1.42%
Total Crap: 5.67%

5 reviews, 111 user ratings



Evil Dead 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"A fucking riot from start to finish"
5 stars

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw the original Evil Dead. It was such a badly made film, but its shortcomings worked for it and in the end it made for unintentional escapist fun, which made it awesome. Now, a little bias had entered my head when I learned that the sequel, Evil Dead 2: Dead By Dawn was mostly a rework of the first one; in other words, a semi-sequel. But once I popped the DVD in and the film rolled off, it was actually more than I expected. Director Sam Raimi, aware of the unique audience response to the first film’s unintentional humor, decided to explore this rare format, and with an actually bigger budget available ($3 million, compared to the first one’s $300,000), comes up with a semi-sequel which ends up being a complete fucking riot, and a much better film than its predecessor. Who would’ve thought that possible, especially in the horror genre?

The first part is a complete rework and remembrance of the original. This time, Ash (Bruce Campbell again for fuck’s sake!) and his girlfriend Linda (Denise Bixler) visit a mountain cabin owned by Professor Jay Knowby (John Peaks) and his wife Henrietta (Lou Hancock), and there, Ash discovers that they’ve disappeared, no one home. At the same time, he discovers the Sumerian Book of the Dead (Necronomicon), along with the ritual dagger and a reel-to-reel tape that contains the Professor’s translations of the book’s hieroglyphics. Obviously, as they are read out loud, THE SPIRITS OF THE DEAD ARE AWAKENING!!!

BUAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

And the evil goes and possesses Linda, and she turns into a zombie. And you know, Ash kills her, dismembers her, buries her, but keeps the head. The head bites his hand, which later becomes possessed. All through the night he has to endure this Evil up till dawn when he almost turns into a zombie. At the same time, Knowby's daughter Annie (a very hot Sarah Berry) and Knowby's partner Ed Getley (Richard Domeier) have arrived with missing pages of the Book of the Dead, and head to the cabin on foot (because the bridge is destroyed), guided by a pair of local rednecks Jake (Dan Hicks) and Bobbie Joe (Kassie Wesley). When they arrive, Ash mistakenly shoots Bobbie Joe, and Jake knocks him out and locks him in the fruit cellar. Annie thinks Ash killed his father, and plays the reel tape looking for answers, then the night comes, and all hell is about to break loose once again.

OK, pure and simple, this film is a riot. What was at first unintentionally funny in the first one, is exploited here in the second one, combining elements of horror, suspense and comedy. ED2 brings out a very interesting and very original mix. Sam Raimi takes production values and artistic quality and burns them to the very fullest within the $3 million budget. As I said earlier, in the first movie, the basic idea is highly solid, and instead of completely rehashing it and make another mindless formulaic horror sequel (as most horror sequels tend to be), Raimi expands the idea, and makes it a much more interesting, accessible and entertaining story from start to finish.

There are several memorable moments amongst the film. The best of them comes from Bruce Campbell’s Ash when he has to act by himself on the set, putting a hilarious, over-the-top one-man show, and even doing a Three Stooges tip-of-the-hat antic that is just fucking awesome. The expression on his big-ass-chinned face and his laughter when he hacks off his possessed hand and the laughing room and mirror scenes are big highlights. Ash’s character is also broadly developed too. In the first one he was just a clueless fuck, but in the second one, he’s still clueless at first but is morphed into one of the most memorable, most badass heroes in recent memory. Groovy, indeed.

The cinematography and editing are completely pushed to the limit, as Raimi employs every possible shot everywhere, including a Point-Of-View shot of a human eye that goes right into Bobbie Joe’s mouth. The screenplay is perfect, with several memorable quotes and one-liners that add to the entertainment. The ending is laughable, but it’s supposed to be, and it will leave you with a big grin on your face and wanting more. Raimi’s direction is also perfect, and showcasing his talents that would lead him toward better things in later years.

The acting is excellent, largely due to the over-the-top performance of Bruce Campbell. He and Raimi’s direction are the reasons why this film is as fun as it is. Sarah Berry is hot, and does quite a good job here, very memorable since this was her only major role in film. The rest of the cast is also good.

In the end, this film managed to prove that horror isn’t all cheap shocks and shit-ass suspense, and that there is still plenty of uncharted territory within the genre. Evil Dead is a certified horror/comedy classic, a truly entertaining ride, and one of the few films (even fewer in the horror genre) that manage to be much better than their predecessors. 4.5-5

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1089&reviewer=235
originally posted: 11/27/03 08:51:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/25/17 Chaz Walter The ultimate sequel. 5 stars
10/30/16 morris campbell the best horror sequel ever 5 stars
2/09/12 David Hollingsworth One of the best horror sequels of the 80s 5 stars
7/18/11 Flipsider The 2nd best horror comedy ever made! (ROTLD is the best.) 5 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
7/13/08 Alex Spivey my favorite movie of all time 5 stars
7/13/08 Evil Dead Ed The best horror/comedy ever made! 5 stars
7/08/08 mr.mike It was......dreadful. 2 stars
4/01/08 Justin Best movie ever made. No, seriously. 5 stars
1/07/08 Aaron Commareri Raimi need I say more 5 stars
11/27/07 Dan Rugg Excellent Movie 5 stars
7/10/07 peter price Ash kicks ass 5 stars
12/04/06 DasuberDing Cartoon horror at it's best! GO Bruce, GO! 5 stars
10/06/06 Pritchett The crown jewel of the trilogy, to me...brilliant. People who don't like it should be shot 5 stars
4/24/06 Annie Sequels usually suck, but not this one! Very funny! 4 stars
2/28/06 Indrid Cold Not nearly as funny or gory as people make it out to be. 3 stars
11/25/05 chris exellent film 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands Some of the funniest scenes I've ever seen in a horror spoof. Good, light fun. 4 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon Took the original to new extremes and added a welcome dose of humor to the mix. 5 stars
4/08/05 Jason Kreitzer A great sequel, more brilliance from Campbell, Raimi and friends. GROOVY! 5 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton A flawless, very cool and very funny horror film; Bruce Campbell rocks. 5 stars
11/03/04 C.S. greatest horror/comedy ever 5 stars
9/15/04 Nik Mladenovic If you dont love it, then, well, DIE 5 stars
9/06/04 psycho dwarf strange trilogy, great example right here 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G Eli is a gay name 5 stars
8/06/04 ELI I wasn't slightly entertained 1 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess Balances horror and comedy so well, one of the best horror sequels out there. 5 stars
7/07/04 Lord Durvok 2 "I'll swallow your soul! MMMRUUAAAAGH!" 5 stars
7/04/04 Samuel definitely a great film. 5 stars
5/05/04 dead next door i liked this one the first time i saw it,but now i hate it with a passion. 1 stars
4/18/04 vlad this film is AMAZING! i liked the 'vine part' (lol) 5 stars
4/12/04 Jaron Evil Dead 2 rules!!!! 5 stars
3/21/04 DaveBwarrior Absolutely Briliant movie 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Highly Entertaining and Better than the 1st film... !~! 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric 1and2 are great.I liked this one more though.funny and scary great stuff 5 stars
1/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Perfect blend of horror and comedy. Brilliant. 5 stars
1/23/04 burikak best comedic horror ive seen!! Ash is COOL!!!!! 5 stars
12/13/03 Samuel I didn't like it as good as the first, but it's still a great horror flick 4 stars
12/13/03 Sid I actually like the first better 3 stars
12/13/03 Karie The possesed on these films look alot scarier than any of the Exorcist films.. 5 stars
12/12/03 Heather One of my favorites... 5 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding The first one is brilliant, but this one..Genius!!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Charlie and the Chocalte FActory Scary and quite funny as well!!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Tommy a great horror movie! 5 stars
12/08/03 john Campbell is better than Buster Keaton in this one - highly original! 4 stars
12/08/03 Sammy This movie got me into watching low-budget, none hollywood movies! It has everything in it! 5 stars
12/04/03 Andrew Callaway Groovy. Best movie of the Evil Dead Trilogy. 5 stars
11/29/03 Samuel Justus Blood_Horror, HE FOUGHT HIS HAND! THEN HE BOLTED A CHAINSAW ON!! 1 stars
11/20/03 jimmy d lol! this movie is funny youll shit your ass while watching it! shit! ya ass! 5 stars
11/19/03 Josh Standlee I would have to back up horror_blood on this one! 5 stars
11/16/03 AshFan See my name? See my boomstick? SWALLOW THIS!!! Ha ha!... Sorry. 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Blew! just a serious horror movie turned into lame unfunny type comedy! 1 stars
9/02/03 Aaron a great movie 5 stars
8/14/03 Tree of Sephiroth Funny as hell. 5 stars
8/14/03 Cybotron As good as the first,but great humor 5 stars
7/05/03 Dave Hopman Just as great as part 1, but with a bigger budget and some dark humor, 5 stars
4/23/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik This is one GROOOOVY movie. 5 stars
3/27/03 snowconehead immaculate cinema 5 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Twisted, demented, freaky, scary, hilarious, and messed-up. Awesome! 5 stars
1/13/03 Stevo raucously funny 5 stars
12/31/02 Bob Hardcore Beats the crap out of any "scream" movie 5 stars
12/22/02 Monster W. Kung Raimi got it right this time. Much better than the first. 4 stars
11/23/02 The best of the four (Including "Into the Woods," a short prequel ED1) Maso- 5 stars
9/25/02 Laurian Diaconescu One of the coolest movie ever made. I take a bow before Campbell and Raimi ! 5 stars
9/01/02 AshFan This beats the original because it adds great humor to the gore. Ash rocks!!!! 4 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol Horror done right. Super creepy, truly funny. And, of course, Bruce is god... 5 stars
7/27/02 IowaBoy The Best 5 stars
7/23/02 snowconehead Incredible 5 stars
7/22/02 The Bomb 69 Groovy!!! 5 stars
7/10/02 .Choadushouse. Easily the best movie ever made. Creativity rules. 5 stars
7/04/02 Kyle Kicks ass! 5 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude Better then the first. Way better. 5 stars
5/30/02 Punk_Ass Cheesy, funny and gory.. What more do you want! 5 stars
5/21/02 David Easily the best on the BMovie circut 5 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn Simply the best cult movie ever. 5 stars
4/15/02 Rockitman007 Funny as hell.........(literally) 5 stars
4/10/02 Nick Karner Brilliant! 5 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Fuckng Cheesy 5 stars
3/26/02 Mack Man The world's greatest film masterpiece! Moulin Rouge sucks all kinds of penis 5 stars
3/11/02 Ash Any body that does not like my film is going down!!!! 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee My 2nd favorite of the Evil Dead trilogy (w/ Army of Darkness being my favorite.) 4 stars
1/16/02 Peter Herman funniest movie ever 5 stars
10/31/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now this is more funny as & more grotty... Its a instant Classic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/30/01 Mohammad J. A classic. 5 stars
9/29/01 larry fuck all you 5 stars
9/22/01 Groo Kewlest of the Kewl!!! 5 stars
8/12/01 Catherine A sequel better then the original! 5 stars
8/10/01 King Jackass Groovy. 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk In my eyes...flawless. Sam Raimi's best film to date...Bruce Campbell's the man. 5 stars
5/19/01 Tommy best of the series, best film of all time 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart This one is my favorite out of the Evil Dead series!!! GO ASH!!! 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Like the orginal, only massively gay people don't like it for some reason 5 stars
2/13/01 CJ O' Callaghan Dear God! i see that 66% think this is awsome. Never seen a worse film, in my fucking life! 1 stars
2/09/01 Dark Sol As they raped completly the original story, Raimi did it surprisinly well 5 stars
2/01/01 Randy Tribbett Awesome, pure genious, Cambell & Raimi strike again 5 stars
1/18/01 fifu another cool movie Ash still rules (groovy) 3 stars
10/09/00 Junacy B-movie classic!!! Blended comedy and horror well!! Hail to Bruce Campbell, baby!! 5 stars
6/13/00 Elly Cleary the rating says it all 5 stars
3/18/00 Steve Layne Highly overrated unfunny horror/comedy. Not as good as the first which wasn't great 2 stars
7/27/99 Eric Nowhere as good as Army of Darkness. 1 stars
7/12/99 Starry Knight One of a kind Horror-Comedy 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Not as good as the original. A little overrated but still worth the effort. 4 stars
4/28/99 the DUDE Fucking funny-love the part when Bruce(ash) goes crazy and starts laughing. 5 stars
3/27/99 haden A masterpiece from the man who taught the Coens 5 stars
3/05/99 Don Wilson IT'S THE BEST THING SINCE COTTAGE CHEESE! 5 stars
10/27/98 cyanide rush anyone i've seen it to knows it fuckin rocks 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob The cheapness ADDS to the atmosphere. Great high octane film fun! 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent One of the most ENTERTAINING films you'll ever see AND brilliant filmmmaking to boot 5 stars
10/15/98 philip sucks---no plot just fighting 1 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep Ash's fight to the death with his right hand is priceless! 5 stars
10/05/98 Yup It suck's. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1987 (R)
  DVD: 27-Sep-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jun-1988 (R)


Directed by
  Sam Raimi

Written by
  Sam Raimi
  Scott Spiegel

Cast
  Bruce Campbell
  Sarah Berry
  Dan Hicks
  Kassie DePaiva
  Denise Bixler
  Ted Raimi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast