More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.58

Awesome80.58%
Worth A Look: 10.07%
Average: 2.16%
Pretty Bad: 1.44%
Total Crap: 5.76%

5 reviews, 109 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Evil Dead 2
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"This film's budget was 3 million? They must have spent 2.8 of it on beer"
5 stars

"Who's the white square-jawed hick, with a chainsaw hand and a big Boomstick? ASH! (you're daaaamn right!) Sam Raimi shows how you can make a good movie with 3 sets (if you count the woods as a "set"), and Bruce Campbell once again proves he's one of the GROOVY-est motherfuckers on the planet.

I'm not kidding about the three sets thing. 98 percent of the film takes place in the woods, at the bridge, or in the cabin. The cabin itself, a seemingly tiny backwoods edifice, seems to go on for room upon room as the camera slams through door after door looking for our hapless hero. Evil Dead 2, is a prime example of how a good film can be made with a mere handfull of sets, characters, and dollars (although the 3 million dollar budget reported at IMDB for this film seems a bit high).

The movie, a sequel/remake/whatever to the original Evil Dead, lightens up a little and introduces an entirely new element missing from the original - comedy. The first Evil Dead, with an even smaller budget, took itself all too seriously, touting itself as "The ultimate experience in grueling horror". Well, it wasn't quite all that, but it was a fairly entertaining piece of B-movie schlock, the only humor provided by the laughable monster effects at the end.

Evil Dead 2 still manages to convey that original sense of horror, from the claustrophobic confines of the cabin, to the "monster cam" view that winds it's way through the misty woods and smashes down doors. However, there are some scenes that are so completely off the wall hysterical (Like Ash fighting with his own demon-posessed hand in a scene reminiscent of "The Three Stooges") that the film blurs the lines and threatens to become an outright comedy. It's remarkable how Raimi keeps the balance between the horror and laughter just right, allowing the audience to laugh and enjoy the ride, without becoming so silly as to not be taken seriously at all.

Bruce Campbell is what makes this film really work, however. Without the square-jawed, slightly thick-headed, and totally bad-assed Ash swinging a chainsaw-hand around and spouting such cool lines as "Swallow this" or "Let's go carve us a witch", this film could easily be as forgettable as any other cheesy B-horror film. Campbell's acting, combined with Raimi's direction, are what seperate this film from the pack.

Although I enjoyed all three films in the series, this is certainly the best. If Evil Dead 1 took itself too seriously as a genuine horror film, then Army of Darkness made the mistake of swinging too far the other way into the realm of pure comedy, almost self-parody (though Ash had some more great one liners). Evil Dead 2 strikes just the right balance, making it an enduring cult classic.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1089&reviewer=258
originally posted: 07/22/01 06:42:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/09/12 David Hollingsworth One of the best horror sequels of the 80s 5 stars
7/18/11 Flipsider The 2nd best horror comedy ever made! (ROTLD is the best.) 5 stars
8/19/08 Shaun Wallner Bloody Awesome!!! 5 stars
7/13/08 Alex Spivey my favorite movie of all time 5 stars
7/13/08 Evil Dead Ed The best horror/comedy ever made! 5 stars
7/08/08 mr.mike It was......dreadful. 2 stars
4/01/08 Justin Best movie ever made. No, seriously. 5 stars
1/07/08 Aaron Commareri Raimi need I say more 5 stars
11/27/07 Dan Rugg Excellent Movie 5 stars
7/10/07 peter price Ash kicks ass 5 stars
12/04/06 DasuberDing Cartoon horror at it's best! GO Bruce, GO! 5 stars
10/06/06 Pritchett The crown jewel of the trilogy, to me...brilliant. People who don't like it should be shot 5 stars
4/24/06 Annie Sequels usually suck, but not this one! Very funny! 4 stars
2/28/06 Indrid Cold Not nearly as funny or gory as people make it out to be. 3 stars
11/25/05 chris exellent film 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands Some of the funniest scenes I've ever seen in a horror spoof. Good, light fun. 4 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon Took the original to new extremes and added a welcome dose of humor to the mix. 5 stars
4/08/05 Jason Kreitzer A great sequel, more brilliance from Campbell, Raimi and friends. GROOVY! 5 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton A flawless, very cool and very funny horror film; Bruce Campbell rocks. 5 stars
11/03/04 C.S. greatest horror/comedy ever 5 stars
9/15/04 Nik Mladenovic If you dont love it, then, well, DIE 5 stars
9/06/04 psycho dwarf strange trilogy, great example right here 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G Eli is a gay name 5 stars
8/06/04 ELI I wasn't slightly entertained 1 stars
7/29/04 American Slasher Goddess Balances horror and comedy so well, one of the best horror sequels out there. 5 stars
7/07/04 Lord Durvok 2 "I'll swallow your soul! MMMRUUAAAAGH!" 5 stars
7/04/04 Samuel definitely a great film. 5 stars
5/05/04 dead next door i liked this one the first time i saw it,but now i hate it with a passion. 1 stars
4/18/04 vlad this film is AMAZING! i liked the 'vine part' (lol) 5 stars
4/12/04 Jaron Evil Dead 2 rules!!!! 5 stars
3/21/04 DaveBwarrior Absolutely Briliant movie 5 stars
3/17/04 PAYNE_KillerZ Highly Entertaining and Better than the 1st film... !~! 5 stars
1/26/04 Eric 1and2 are great.I liked this one more though.funny and scary great stuff 5 stars
1/26/04 American Slasher Goddess Perfect blend of horror and comedy. Brilliant. 5 stars
1/23/04 burikak best comedic horror ive seen!! Ash is COOL!!!!! 5 stars
12/13/03 Samuel I didn't like it as good as the first, but it's still a great horror flick 4 stars
12/13/03 Sid I actually like the first better 3 stars
12/13/03 Karie The possesed on these films look alot scarier than any of the Exorcist films.. 5 stars
12/12/03 Heather One of my favorites... 5 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding The first one is brilliant, but this one..Genius!!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Charlie and the Chocalte FActory Scary and quite funny as well!!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Tommy a great horror movie! 5 stars
12/08/03 john Campbell is better than Buster Keaton in this one - highly original! 4 stars
12/08/03 Sammy This movie got me into watching low-budget, none hollywood movies! It has everything in it! 5 stars
12/04/03 Andrew Callaway Groovy. Best movie of the Evil Dead Trilogy. 5 stars
11/29/03 Samuel Justus Blood_Horror, HE FOUGHT HIS HAND! THEN HE BOLTED A CHAINSAW ON!! 1 stars
11/20/03 jimmy d lol! this movie is funny youll shit your ass while watching it! shit! ya ass! 5 stars
11/19/03 Josh Standlee I would have to back up horror_blood on this one! 5 stars
11/16/03 AshFan See my name? See my boomstick? SWALLOW THIS!!! Ha ha!... Sorry. 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Blew! just a serious horror movie turned into lame unfunny type comedy! 1 stars
9/02/03 Aaron a great movie 5 stars
8/14/03 Tree of Sephiroth Funny as hell. 5 stars
8/14/03 Cybotron As good as the first,but great humor 5 stars
7/05/03 Dave Hopman Just as great as part 1, but with a bigger budget and some dark humor, 5 stars
4/23/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik This is one GROOOOVY movie. 5 stars
3/27/03 snowconehead immaculate cinema 5 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Twisted, demented, freaky, scary, hilarious, and messed-up. Awesome! 5 stars
1/13/03 Stevo raucously funny 5 stars
12/31/02 Bob Hardcore Beats the crap out of any "scream" movie 5 stars
12/22/02 Monster W. Kung Raimi got it right this time. Much better than the first. 4 stars
11/23/02 The best of the four (Including "Into the Woods," a short prequel ED1) Maso- 5 stars
9/25/02 Laurian Diaconescu One of the coolest movie ever made. I take a bow before Campbell and Raimi ! 5 stars
9/01/02 AshFan This beats the original because it adds great humor to the gore. Ash rocks!!!! 4 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol Horror done right. Super creepy, truly funny. And, of course, Bruce is god... 5 stars
7/27/02 IowaBoy The Best 5 stars
7/23/02 snowconehead Incredible 5 stars
7/22/02 The Bomb 69 Groovy!!! 5 stars
7/10/02 .Choadushouse. Easily the best movie ever made. Creativity rules. 5 stars
7/04/02 Kyle Kicks ass! 5 stars
6/20/02 Film Dude Better then the first. Way better. 5 stars
5/30/02 Punk_Ass Cheesy, funny and gory.. What more do you want! 5 stars
5/21/02 David Easily the best on the BMovie circut 5 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barøn Simply the best cult movie ever. 5 stars
4/15/02 Rockitman007 Funny as hell.........(literally) 5 stars
4/10/02 Nick Karner Brilliant! 5 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Fuckng Cheesy 5 stars
3/26/02 Mack Man The world's greatest film masterpiece! Moulin Rouge sucks all kinds of penis 5 stars
3/11/02 Ash Any body that does not like my film is going down!!!! 5 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee My 2nd favorite of the Evil Dead trilogy (w/ Army of Darkness being my favorite.) 4 stars
1/16/02 Peter Herman funniest movie ever 5 stars
10/31/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now this is more funny as & more grotty... Its a instant Classic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/30/01 Mohammad J. A classic. 5 stars
9/29/01 larry fuck all you 5 stars
9/22/01 Groo Kewlest of the Kewl!!! 5 stars
8/12/01 Catherine A sequel better then the original! 5 stars
8/10/01 King Jackass Groovy. 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk In my eyes...flawless. Sam Raimi's best film to date...Bruce Campbell's the man. 5 stars
5/19/01 Tommy best of the series, best film of all time 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart This one is my favorite out of the Evil Dead series!!! GO ASH!!! 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L Like the orginal, only massively gay people don't like it for some reason 5 stars
2/13/01 CJ O' Callaghan Dear God! i see that 66% think this is awsome. Never seen a worse film, in my fucking life! 1 stars
2/09/01 Dark Sol As they raped completly the original story, Raimi did it surprisinly well 5 stars
2/01/01 Randy Tribbett Awesome, pure genious, Cambell & Raimi strike again 5 stars
1/18/01 fifu another cool movie Ash still rules (groovy) 3 stars
10/09/00 Junacy B-movie classic!!! Blended comedy and horror well!! Hail to Bruce Campbell, baby!! 5 stars
6/13/00 Elly Cleary the rating says it all 5 stars
3/18/00 Steve Layne Highly overrated unfunny horror/comedy. Not as good as the first which wasn't great 2 stars
7/27/99 Eric Nowhere as good as Army of Darkness. 1 stars
7/12/99 Starry Knight One of a kind Horror-Comedy 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Not as good as the original. A little overrated but still worth the effort. 4 stars
4/28/99 the DUDE Fucking funny-love the part when Bruce(ash) goes crazy and starts laughing. 5 stars
3/27/99 haden A masterpiece from the man who taught the Coens 5 stars
3/05/99 Don Wilson IT'S THE BEST THING SINCE COTTAGE CHEESE! 5 stars
10/27/98 cyanide rush anyone i've seen it to knows it fuckin rocks 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob The cheapness ADDS to the atmosphere. Great high octane film fun! 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent One of the most ENTERTAINING films you'll ever see AND brilliant filmmmaking to boot 5 stars
10/15/98 philip sucks---no plot just fighting 1 stars
10/05/98 Negative Creep Ash's fight to the death with his right hand is priceless! 5 stars
10/05/98 Yup It suck's. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1987 (R)
  DVD: 27-Sep-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jun-1988 (R)


Directed by
  Sam Raimi

Written by
  Sam Raimi
  Scott Spiegel

Cast
  Bruce Campbell
  Sarah Berry
  Dan Hicks
  Kassie DePaiva
  Denise Bixler
  Ted Raimi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast