More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.28

Awesome58.2%
Worth A Look: 24.59%
Average: 6.56%
Pretty Bad: 8.2%
Total Crap: 2.46%

3 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Evil Dead, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Pope

"This is a classic?"
2 stars

All I had ever heard about this movie was that it is a true classic, something not to be missed. So I finally remembered it while at the local cinematic crapository. After watching it twice to make sure I hadn't missed something, I have to ask the question, "This is a classic?"

I probably hate this movie more than I would have if people hadn't tried to convince me that this was a great bit of horror. In most cases I can deal with gaping holes in the plot when it comes to this genre because I don't go in expecting Lawrence of fucking Arabia. But with my hopes raised so high, it hurt to watch this stinker.

I just can't figure out why people like this movie so much. The characters are total morons, and that's saying quite a bit for a horror film. Even Bruce Campbell's character sucks, a total bumbling fool with no personality. Having seen a lot of his later stuff, I can't believe it's the same actor.

Anyway, one thing that really makes me scratch my head is the inconsistency when it comes to how Ash deals with his possessed friends. The first one is psychotic, and gets locked in the basement. Fine, that makes perfect sense. But when his girlfriend gets taken over, he just lets her sit in the doorway basically ignoring her? He does the same thing with his other friends, until they attack him. Then he smacks them around. Then he goes back to ignoring their most likely still-living corpses. What's going on here? Ya got me.

Another thing that really, really annoys me is this: When someone is finally, truly dead, he goes outside to bury them. Now maybe I'm just a slow loser, but it would probably take me a good hour or two digging these massive graves he dumps the bodies in. Why's that such a big problem? Because whenever he goes outside to do this, the evil that chases everyone else around outside LEAVES HIM ALONE FOR ABSOLUTELY NO REASON!

The only good reason for watching this movie is to see this girl get attacked by the forest and fucked by a tree. That one sequence saves this movie from the dreaded One Star of Doom. No I am not weird, now leave me alone.

I hate this movie. Go watch the follow-ups Evil Dead II, or Army of Darkness. At least those two realize they're not very horrific and play up the laughs.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1090&reviewer=122
originally posted: 10/17/99 13:29:34
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/07/17 MORRIS CAMPBELL A must for horror fans with strong stomachs 5 stars
8/20/13 PAUL SHORTT PLOTLESS, PUTRID, LOW-BUDGET HORROR RUBBISH 1 stars
6/14/12 matthew thompson Dalldorf Classic! 5 stars
2/09/12 David Hollingsworth One of the best horror films of the 80s 5 stars
7/18/11 Flipsider My all time favorite movie. Easily the best low budget horror movie ever made! 5 stars
10/12/10 Karamashi One of the greatest horror films ever. Classic. 5 stars
12/26/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Made by a real fan of horror movies. 5 stars
7/13/08 Alex Spivey amazing first film 5 stars
7/13/08 Evil Dead Ed One of the best horror movies ever made! 5 stars
6/14/08 mr.mike Gorehound rates it so-so , with claymation effects and the oldest "teenagers" since 90210. 3 stars
6/04/08 ASH This movie is the SH!T 5 stars
5/10/08 Siggie Did we watch the same movie? This is a Bruce Campbell classic! 5 stars
4/01/08 Justin Not as good as 2, but still decent 3 stars
3/11/08 NoOLINp I thought this one was hilarious. 5 stars
10/06/06 Pritchett A classic and an absolute MUST for Halloweentime viewing. 5 stars
8/26/06 Alex Thorne they better not even think of remaking this one... 5 stars
5/19/06 chienne The 1st time I watched it, I was terrified, the 2nd time...i pissed myself laughing. 1 stars
4/21/06 Becky Bruce Campbell is my hero. Hime and Sam Raimi are the best 5 stars
11/27/05 cr a very scary,gory, freaky and little chessie, but cool as hell 4 stars
10/27/05 chris a good film although ive seen better 4 stars
7/12/05 Burt Ward A classic. 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands This genuine campiness can't make up its mind whether it's a spoof or not. 4 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon Shows the very root of an idea perfected in the sequel. 4 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold The only movie of this type you need to see is Dead Alive. 2 stars
4/08/05 Jason Kreitzer Terrific, a wild mix of Romero, Hooper, Larry, Moe and Curly. A modern classic. 5 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton A rollercoaster ride of gore; still one of the best horror films to this day. 4 stars
1/18/05 robby supa-gory!!!! 5 stars
9/05/04 psycho dwarf If Ash ruled...sex offender registration for vegetation, chainsaws for every citizen, i.e. 5 stars
8/19/04 ELI BLOODBLOODBLOOD!!!! :) This movie was funny 5 stars
8/13/04 McGraw God, it's Evil Dead! What more do you want?!? 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G bruce campbell fucking owns you niggers!? 5 stars
7/23/04 satanius Ash is my favorite superhero!!!!! 5 stars
5/05/04 dead next door lots of gore,but also very slow. 2 stars
2/03/04 ghost Never has anything so crappy been so great 4 stars
1/26/04 Eric What can I say....Its a legend.Bruce should have his own horror show!! 5 stars
1/26/04 American Slasher Goddess One word:Classic 5 stars
12/13/03 Samuel gore, good cast, backwoods,Great directing..... my favorite ingredients to a horror movie!! 5 stars
12/13/03 Sid Cheesy B movies are my favorite, FUCK mainstream!! 5 stars
12/13/03 Karie A pretty damn good flick!! 4 stars
12/12/03 Heather alot of ppl say that 'Evil Dead 2' is better, but i actually like the first!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding One of the best horror movies of all time!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Charlie and the Chocalte FActory Ash kicks ass!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Tommy Evil dead is great!! 5 stars
12/08/03 john gory and scary and - surprise - spooky and eerie at the same time - 5 stars
11/19/03 Josh Standlee So this was the film that made Bruce Campbell a star. Groovy! 5 stars
11/02/03 J The bloodiest scary movie ever made!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Gumby-like special fx at the end, but the rest of the movie was ok! 3 stars
7/27/03 J Evil Dead is really good better than those other movies call scary. 5 stars
7/04/03 T3 The best horror movie, not to high tech, not fake looking, just that good. 5 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Great horror movie! Evil Dead II is even better, but Army of Darkness is a comedy. 5 stars
6/27/03 Jimmy Yearwood Drive-in freaks must see..better tha the last 2 16MM classick ..look carefully at the moon 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice This was one of the 1st horrors I ever saw. It scared the hell out of me. A classic ! 5 stars
5/15/03 AshFan Ash in his wimp mode; he'll get cooler, though 4 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Truly moving. 5 stars
4/15/03 Matt Haynes "Way ahead of ots time." 5 stars
3/05/03 K. B Best horror flick ever made. Nuff said. 5 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Ash is THE horror icon for our time and any time. Sam Raimi's camera work is amazing. Scary 4 stars
1/16/03 Paul Coleman Great low budget horror flick. Sam Raimi knows what he's doing. 4 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Overrated; decent build-up but hackneyed follow-through. 3 stars
12/15/02 Monster W. Kung Well, it's ok. I find the subsequent decision of going straight into comedy more appealing. 3 stars
11/17/02 MC Rage Hella cool!, Inspiration for DOOM, totally classic. 5 stars
10/27/02 Charles Tatum Bad is bad 2 stars
9/01/02 AshFan What is that coming out of Zombie Linda's mouth, milk?! 3 stars
6/25/02 the ultimate experience in grueling horror YEAH! The gore the merrier--unintential comedy,tree rape,cool FX... who wants some??? 5 stars
5/30/02 Punk_Ass Great directing, inventive Camera shots for the time, and amazing sfx for a low bugdet film 5 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron Can't describe it. 5 stars
4/09/02 Rockitman007 Bruce Campbell is the man 5 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz My balls itch 4 stars
2/27/02 Shrike bugger this and just watch part 3 1 stars
1/16/02 Peter Herman Ash is the dumbest fuck I have ever seen 5 stars
1/12/02 rb very very good and scary 5 stars
1/02/02 Mad Max Beauty in and of itself 5 stars
12/10/01 anup this film is still the most horrifc flick i have ever seen. 5 stars
12/09/01 Keith One of my favorite all-time movies. It actually scared me! 5 stars
10/31/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This was the First!!!!!!!! I think the scond one was better but, this was not as good 2 stars
10/06/01 The $1.98 Pyramid The Evil Dead Rules. 5 stars
10/04/01 Phoenix Its low-budget gives it a loveable quality. 4 stars
9/29/01 Palaboy this is truly one of the great horror classics 5 stars
8/12/01 Catherine A low-budget film that works! 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk The one that began the odyssey...completely original in every way. 5 stars
8/01/01 King Jackass How can you hate this movie? 4 stars
5/23/01 Gary Enjoyed the pov demon shots...the tree scene was cool 4 stars
5/19/01 Tommy fucking mad film, classic b-grade horror 5 stars
4/25/01 Ralph Rainwater I never get tired of this film. Have to watch it at least once a year. 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L ONe of the greats!!! Only gay people don't like it for some reason 5 stars
3/09/01 fifu ok bruce campbell picked up the movie the the weakest of the three 3 stars
2/16/01 The Bomb 69 tree love rules!!! I'm still laughing in delight, didn't make much sense though 5 stars
2/09/01 Dark Sol How incredible a movie can get from a low budget. Sam Raimi did it with success. 5 stars
2/06/01 Mister Char that was a great movie, try to count how many times he is thrown into bookshelfs. 5 stars
1/21/01 Jone-Z This is some pretty nasty stuff.....that's probably why I loved it 4 stars
1/18/01 fifu a cool movie Bruce campbell rules 3 stars
10/19/00 David Peterson this movie was gross, distgusting and made me puke...and i loved it. 5 stars
7/03/00 DAVID They sure dont make movies like this anymore (just that scream crap). 4 stars
1/14/00 Robert T Best fuckin' horror movie ever made!!! 5 stars
12/08/99 Eric S. Somehow, the film's conclusion lost track of the suspense and went for the gore 4 stars
9/25/99 Josh Graves Two words. FUCK YEAH. 5 stars
9/24/99 tom huynh best horror movie of all-time 5 stars
7/12/99 Starry Knight You haven't seen anything till you see a woman being raped by a tree 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Darkly comical - just like all good horror movies should be. A fucking classic. 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) The absolute most fucking scary movie I've ever seen, EVER 5 stars
10/27/98 cyanide rush bested only by the sequel 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Sheer terror on a shoestring budget. This is THE horror film to watch with the lights ON!! 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent Perhaps the greatest independent horror film ever made 5 stars
10/03/98 Johny What Sam Raimi can do with a camera and a buck... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Apr-1983 (R)
  DVD: 05-Mar-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1983 (R)


Directed by
  Sam Raimi

Written by
  Sam Raimi

Cast
  Bruce Campbell
  Ellen Sandweiss
  Hal Delrich
  Betsy Baker
  Sarah York
  Philip A. Gillis



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast