More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.28

Awesome58.2%
Worth A Look: 24.59%
Average: 6.56%
Pretty Bad: 8.2%
Total Crap: 2.46%

3 reviews, 104 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Evil Dead, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"So Bad It’s Good"
4 stars

Holy shit from Shinola, this fucking movie rocked. It was pathetic but it rocked. This film was dumb, but it rocked. This film was stupid, unrealistic, idiotic, and terribly acted, but it FUCKING ROCKED. If you take it seriously, this film couldn’t be any dumber, but if you take it as it is, this film couldn’t be any better.

Simple plot: 5 friends, Ashley “Ash” J. Williams (Bruce Campbell for Christ Sake!!!!), his girlfriend Linda (Betsy Baker), Scotty (Hal Derlich), Cheryl (Ellen Sandweiss), and Shelly (Sarah York) all go towards a cabin in the woods to spend the night and have some fun. During the night, as dinner is being served, they start to notice some strange oddities in the house. Shelly is the one that feels it the most, and starts feeling uneasy. Then Scotty and Ash discover a basement where it leads to a room, where they find all types of weird stuff, among them a Sumerian book called the Necronomicon (The Book Of Dead), a tape player, and a Sumerian knife. They play the tape and soon they find out that the house once belonged to an archeologist, whom with his wife, was researching the origins of this book, but as the voice of the researcher starts reciting the book out loud… THE EVIL HAS AWAKENED!!!!

[Evil laugh]
BUA HA HA HA HA HA HA HA!!!!
[/Evil laugh]

At first they dismiss it as mindless rubbish, but Cheryl soon starts feeling uneasy about it. After dinner, she sees something in the forest, and soon goes outside to find out what. Then comes the classic scene when a tree rapes her. She comes back crying and persuades Ash to take her back home. But soon they realized that the bridge that crosses the road is destroyed. They have no choice to return. But back in the house, Ash realizes that an evil force has started to posses their friends one by one, including his girlfriend Linda. The only way to kill the “dead” is to dismember them completely. Now Ash has to do the impossible, use whatever weapons he can, to stay alive and fight these evil dead that have possessed their friends. The question is, can they be stopped?

Was there anything bad in this film? Yes, a lot of it, but incredibly, it worked towards this movie’s greatness. Anything good? Well, the idea of the story is surprisingly solid, and it makes you wonder what a great movie could’ve been had more money being pumped up (the budget was a low $3000). The story needed a little bit more development since the storyline was too rough, but hey, those are the flaws that an Indie movie tends to have. But then everything else, including the bad things, redeem this movie in such a surprising way, that made this movie a benchmark for many other horror B-movies to come.

I’m not sure people noticed this on the big screen, but when I rented the DVD, you can tell in the outdoor night scenes, there was a rectangular patch which showed the moon being darkened by some black clouds like if it were a separate film being projected towards another big screen. I couldn’t help it, I giggled. I was expecting something scary, and something kind of bad, the results were mixed, but great. The tree rape scene was pretty scary but also hilarious. The makeup on the zombies was laughable but effective largely thanks to the sound FX. The rest of the FX ranged between the interesting, the gross, the crappy, and the hilarious. You have to be stupid enough not to notice the milk, the Karo syrup, and the rice with green peas stew, all mixed with blood, coming out of the zombies. It looked stupid and laughable at times, especially the decapitation scene, but it also worked effectively well. What was also interesting was the huge buckets of blood they used on this film, TONS of it, but the interesting thing is that it wasn’t as scary as you would thing, and you’ll end up most of the time laughing. Suspense is most of the time present, and its also effective, and the romantic scenes between Ash and Linda worked really well. The cinematography was way interesting since it uses the camera to show the evil spirit that chases these guys, and with some nice sound FX added to it, it makes probably the scariest parts of the movie. The ending was thrilling, until the last scene, which was hilarious beyond belief, but once again, despite the reek of it, it works. Now isn’t that something?

The acting was hammy, over the top and so stupidly hilarious, but Bruce Campbell stands out from the rest of the bunch, despite being pretty bad himself. In fact Campbell’s acting makes Sylvester Stallone look like Richard Burton, and its pretty much the perfect example of the word “camp.” The script features some of the stupidest funniest one-liners ever, but the ideas are solid as brick. One may wonder how could this film, which is so bad, with a lot of lame acting, crappy music, shoddy FX, and campy comedy, be any good? The answer is Sam Raimi. They guy directed this film superbly, with slapstick humor and wit, and despite the aforementioned bloody awful flaws, his direction of the film stands as a unique example on how the creativity factor wins over the budget factor. Hands down to this guy, he definitely had the talent back in those days to progress to the very top, and he did. Now I’m not a big fan of campy movies (crap like Showgirls, The Pirate Movie, The Quick And The Dead, among others), but I really dig this one, as I would dig the other two movies.

In the end, this film is recommended to every fan of horror there is out there, and to everyone in general. I can’t believe I managed to like a film as this one. It was stupid, dumb, unintentionally funny, but DAMMIT, IT ROCKED. A definite horror classic that is too fun to be bad. It’s all just pure, gory entertainment at its best. See it, and JOIN US!!!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1090&reviewer=235
originally posted: 10/27/02 07:35:07
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

11/07/17 MORRIS CAMPBELL A must for horror fans with strong stomachs 5 stars
8/20/13 PAUL SHORTT PLOTLESS, PUTRID, LOW-BUDGET HORROR RUBBISH 1 stars
6/14/12 matthew thompson Dalldorf Classic! 5 stars
2/09/12 David Hollingsworth One of the best horror films of the 80s 5 stars
7/18/11 Flipsider My all time favorite movie. Easily the best low budget horror movie ever made! 5 stars
10/12/10 Karamashi One of the greatest horror films ever. Classic. 5 stars
12/26/09 Chad Dillon Cooper Made by a real fan of horror movies. 5 stars
7/13/08 Alex Spivey amazing first film 5 stars
7/13/08 Evil Dead Ed One of the best horror movies ever made! 5 stars
6/14/08 mr.mike Gorehound rates it so-so , with claymation effects and the oldest "teenagers" since 90210. 3 stars
6/04/08 ASH This movie is the SH!T 5 stars
5/10/08 Siggie Did we watch the same movie? This is a Bruce Campbell classic! 5 stars
4/01/08 Justin Not as good as 2, but still decent 3 stars
3/11/08 NoOLINp I thought this one was hilarious. 5 stars
10/06/06 Pritchett A classic and an absolute MUST for Halloweentime viewing. 5 stars
8/26/06 Alex Thorne they better not even think of remaking this one... 5 stars
5/19/06 chienne The 1st time I watched it, I was terrified, the 2nd time...i pissed myself laughing. 1 stars
4/21/06 Becky Bruce Campbell is my hero. Hime and Sam Raimi are the best 5 stars
11/27/05 cr a very scary,gory, freaky and little chessie, but cool as hell 4 stars
10/27/05 chris a good film although ive seen better 4 stars
7/12/05 Burt Ward A classic. 5 stars
6/08/05 Agent Sands This genuine campiness can't make up its mind whether it's a spoof or not. 4 stars
4/17/05 Cary Gordon Shows the very root of an idea perfected in the sequel. 4 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold The only movie of this type you need to see is Dead Alive. 2 stars
4/08/05 Jason Kreitzer Terrific, a wild mix of Romero, Hooper, Larry, Moe and Curly. A modern classic. 5 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton A rollercoaster ride of gore; still one of the best horror films to this day. 4 stars
1/18/05 robby supa-gory!!!! 5 stars
9/05/04 psycho dwarf If Ash ruled...sex offender registration for vegetation, chainsaws for every citizen, i.e. 5 stars
8/19/04 ELI BLOODBLOODBLOOD!!!! :) This movie was funny 5 stars
8/13/04 McGraw God, it's Evil Dead! What more do you want?!? 5 stars
8/06/04 Anthony G bruce campbell fucking owns you niggers!? 5 stars
7/23/04 satanius Ash is my favorite superhero!!!!! 5 stars
5/05/04 dead next door lots of gore,but also very slow. 2 stars
2/03/04 ghost Never has anything so crappy been so great 4 stars
1/26/04 Eric What can I say....Its a legend.Bruce should have his own horror show!! 5 stars
1/26/04 American Slasher Goddess One word:Classic 5 stars
12/13/03 Samuel gore, good cast, backwoods,Great directing..... my favorite ingredients to a horror movie!! 5 stars
12/13/03 Sid Cheesy B movies are my favorite, FUCK mainstream!! 5 stars
12/13/03 Karie A pretty damn good flick!! 4 stars
12/12/03 Heather alot of ppl say that 'Evil Dead 2' is better, but i actually like the first!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Captain Spaulding One of the best horror movies of all time!! 5 stars
12/12/03 Charlie and the Chocalte FActory Ash kicks ass!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Tommy Evil dead is great!! 5 stars
12/08/03 john gory and scary and - surprise - spooky and eerie at the same time - 5 stars
11/19/03 Josh Standlee So this was the film that made Bruce Campbell a star. Groovy! 5 stars
11/02/03 J The bloodiest scary movie ever made!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Gumby-like special fx at the end, but the rest of the movie was ok! 3 stars
7/27/03 J Evil Dead is really good better than those other movies call scary. 5 stars
7/04/03 T3 The best horror movie, not to high tech, not fake looking, just that good. 5 stars
7/04/03 Dave Hopman Great horror movie! Evil Dead II is even better, but Army of Darkness is a comedy. 5 stars
6/27/03 Jimmy Yearwood Drive-in freaks must see..better tha the last 2 16MM classick ..look carefully at the moon 5 stars
6/14/03 Alice This was one of the 1st horrors I ever saw. It scared the hell out of me. A classic ! 5 stars
5/15/03 AshFan Ash in his wimp mode; he'll get cooler, though 4 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Truly moving. 5 stars
4/15/03 Matt Haynes "Way ahead of ots time." 5 stars
3/05/03 K. B Best horror flick ever made. Nuff said. 5 stars
2/03/03 Turtle Ash is THE horror icon for our time and any time. Sam Raimi's camera work is amazing. Scary 4 stars
1/16/03 Paul Coleman Great low budget horror flick. Sam Raimi knows what he's doing. 4 stars
12/29/02 Jack Sommersby Overrated; decent build-up but hackneyed follow-through. 3 stars
12/15/02 Monster W. Kung Well, it's ok. I find the subsequent decision of going straight into comedy more appealing. 3 stars
11/17/02 MC Rage Hella cool!, Inspiration for DOOM, totally classic. 5 stars
10/27/02 Charles Tatum Bad is bad 2 stars
9/01/02 AshFan What is that coming out of Zombie Linda's mouth, milk?! 3 stars
6/25/02 the ultimate experience in grueling horror YEAH! The gore the merrier--unintential comedy,tree rape,cool FX... who wants some??? 5 stars
5/30/02 Punk_Ass Great directing, inventive Camera shots for the time, and amazing sfx for a low bugdet film 5 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron Can't describe it. 5 stars
4/09/02 Rockitman007 Bruce Campbell is the man 5 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz My balls itch 4 stars
2/27/02 Shrike bugger this and just watch part 3 1 stars
1/16/02 Peter Herman Ash is the dumbest fuck I have ever seen 5 stars
1/12/02 rb very very good and scary 5 stars
1/02/02 Mad Max Beauty in and of itself 5 stars
12/10/01 anup this film is still the most horrifc flick i have ever seen. 5 stars
12/09/01 Keith One of my favorite all-time movies. It actually scared me! 5 stars
10/31/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This was the First!!!!!!!! I think the scond one was better but, this was not as good 2 stars
10/06/01 The $1.98 Pyramid The Evil Dead Rules. 5 stars
10/04/01 Phoenix Its low-budget gives it a loveable quality. 4 stars
9/29/01 Palaboy this is truly one of the great horror classics 5 stars
8/12/01 Catherine A low-budget film that works! 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk The one that began the odyssey...completely original in every way. 5 stars
8/01/01 King Jackass How can you hate this movie? 4 stars
5/23/01 Gary Enjoyed the pov demon shots...the tree scene was cool 4 stars
5/19/01 Tommy fucking mad film, classic b-grade horror 5 stars
4/25/01 Ralph Rainwater I never get tired of this film. Have to watch it at least once a year. 5 stars
3/28/01 Jesse L ONe of the greats!!! Only gay people don't like it for some reason 5 stars
3/09/01 fifu ok bruce campbell picked up the movie the the weakest of the three 3 stars
2/16/01 The Bomb 69 tree love rules!!! I'm still laughing in delight, didn't make much sense though 5 stars
2/09/01 Dark Sol How incredible a movie can get from a low budget. Sam Raimi did it with success. 5 stars
2/06/01 Mister Char that was a great movie, try to count how many times he is thrown into bookshelfs. 5 stars
1/21/01 Jone-Z This is some pretty nasty stuff.....that's probably why I loved it 4 stars
1/18/01 fifu a cool movie Bruce campbell rules 3 stars
10/19/00 David Peterson this movie was gross, distgusting and made me puke...and i loved it. 5 stars
7/03/00 DAVID They sure dont make movies like this anymore (just that scream crap). 4 stars
1/14/00 Robert T Best fuckin' horror movie ever made!!! 5 stars
12/08/99 Eric S. Somehow, the film's conclusion lost track of the suspense and went for the gore 4 stars
9/25/99 Josh Graves Two words. FUCK YEAH. 5 stars
9/24/99 tom huynh best horror movie of all-time 5 stars
7/12/99 Starry Knight You haven't seen anything till you see a woman being raped by a tree 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Darkly comical - just like all good horror movies should be. A fucking classic. 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) The absolute most fucking scary movie I've ever seen, EVER 5 stars
10/27/98 cyanide rush bested only by the sequel 5 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Sheer terror on a shoestring budget. This is THE horror film to watch with the lights ON!! 5 stars
10/24/98 Vincent Perhaps the greatest independent horror film ever made 5 stars
10/03/98 Johny What Sam Raimi can do with a camera and a buck... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  15-Apr-1983 (R)
  DVD: 05-Mar-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1983 (R)


Directed by
  Sam Raimi

Written by
  Sam Raimi

Cast
  Bruce Campbell
  Ellen Sandweiss
  Hal Delrich
  Betsy Baker
  Sarah York
  Philip A. Gillis



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast