More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.96

Awesome38.71%
Worth A Look: 36.02%
Average: 13.98%
Pretty Bad: 4.84%
Total Crap: 6.45%

14 reviews, 102 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Finding Neverland
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Abhishek Bandekar

"Fable"
4 stars

“Children should never be made to go to bed…they wake up a day older”. This statement by James Matthew Barrie, creator of ‘Peter Pan, Or The Boy Who Wouldn’t Grow Up’, in director Marc Forster’s moving and reassuring fable, ‘Finding Neverland’, captures the quintessence of the film. Based on the original play, ‘The Man Who Was Peter Pan’ by Allan Knee, this cinematic adaptation has at its core a very simple but true message- if only we believe, we can preserve our innocence(and in the world we live, that is the single most difficult thing to preserve).

J.M. Barrie(Johnny Depp), coming out from a theatrical disaster(his recent play has been lambasted by the critics), meets the Davies boys in a summer that would lead to his creation of Peter Pan. Barrie, himself never having lived his own childhood(his brother died when Barrie was a child, and his mother called him by his brother’s name to fill her void), finds in the boys a purity that enthralls him to an extent where it begins to feed the artist and the locked up child within him. Barrie starts to frequent the Davies household causing much uproar, albeit hushed, in the Victorian circles. Both, his relationship with Sylvia Davies(Kate Winslet)- the widowed mother of the children, and his intent behind spending afternoons with young kids are questioned. But to Barrie, this is an opportunity to imagine as he has never done before and perhaps also, a chance to repair. A chance to repair the childhood that he had lost by infusing it in Peter Davies(Freddie Highmore), a boy who seems to have grown up too soon. Barrie creates a world of wonder around the boys by weaving imagination and we can see his next play taking shape. And in Barrie’s imagination(as he must’ve preferred in reality), Peter transforms into Peter Pan- the boy who wouldn’t grow up!

Johnny Depp is a rare actor who doesn’t allow his good looks to limit his acting range. His performance as Barrie is near perfect. Watch how his closeness to Sylvya never translates into attraction. Similarly, notice his coldness when in the company of his wife, Mary(Radha Mitchell), and the merry glint in his eyes when with the children. Depp’s performance is worthy of his Oscar nomination. Kate Winslet excels as the ailing widow, but we have come to expect good performances from her. Radha Mitchell is a revelation in her small part and Dustin Hoffman adds his own style of dry wit in a small role as Charles Frohman- Barrie’s impresario. But the standout performance is by Freddie Highmore as Peter- the boy who inspired Peter Pan. Freddie performs remarkably and tugs at your heart every time he speaks. The emotional array that this kid covers is unbelievable, and his is-without a doubt- one of the best child performances in years.

David Magee, the man behind the screen adaptation, keeps his screenplay fluid and uncomplicated. He knows that this is not a biopic. Thus, taking liberties, he uses the prospect to tell a magical tale where all you need is imagination. As Frohman points out in the movie, “The critics have made it important…but what is it? What?...It is a play!” Sometimes all we need is a little imagination. No wait…that is all we need! And the boy shall never grow! Reviewed on the 30th, January 2005

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=10919&reviewer=398
originally posted: 04/06/05 14:47:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Chicago Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Chicago Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Mill Valley Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Mill Valley Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2004 Leeds Film Festival. For more in the 2004 Leeds Film Festival series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2005 Palm Springs Film Festival. For more in the 2005 Palm Springs Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

10/19/09 Liberty Man Great story and Depp as he should be. Enough with the pirate already. 5 stars
10/06/09 Bryony An amazing film I cry everytime lol Kate & Johnny both did an AMAZING job I love it!!! 5 stars
12/11/08 charles surmion its so cool i want to try and try... 4 stars
9/26/08 Shaun Wallner Great story! 5 stars
5/16/08 PAUL SHORTT TUGS AT THE HEARTSTRINGS LIKE A TOE-FINGERED HARPIST 1 stars
5/09/08 Courtney This movie is corny, boring and has expected 'twists' 1 stars
2/17/08 SamanthaP Johnny and Kate Winslet were amazing as always, and it was super sad at the end. 5 stars
9/05/07 John Just amazing 5 stars
8/11/07 Tiffany Losco Boring, I didn't like it. 2 stars
5/16/07 mia It was a sad story that contains inspiring messages 5 stars
1/15/07 jeannie karlsen Looking at Johnny Depp was enough of a reward, plot was however, boring 4 stars
11/11/06 Bill Hi all 4 stars
9/08/06 Thomas Semesky FINDING NEVERLAND! Fine me a plot first. Boring!! 2 stars
7/13/06 EZ To bad there is no 0 stars rating 1 stars
6/11/06 Dave Webber I thought this was totally maudlin and manupulative, 2 stars
5/22/06 Diane P very charming, my daughter enjoyed it as well 4 stars
5/06/06 Ashley Hinz I don't like Johnny Depp, but I enjoyed this. 4 stars
2/10/06 Samantha A nice twist for adults on the classic story, while children might find it boring 4 stars
10/14/05 Yves Caraan I didnt enjoy watching 2 stars
10/12/05 Jennifer Free You would think that it was for kids, but they were totally bored, and so was I. 3 stars
9/20/05 Jonathon Holmes perfect filmmaking at its finest 5 stars
9/14/05 Koopy the Loopy I love Kate, but this was a little too boring 3 stars
9/13/05 ray mero Two of the boys he helped raise committed suicide...the movie is a sappy and demented. 1 stars
8/26/05 EZ Let's go make make the worst play ever while talking with the worst accent possilbe 1 stars
8/20/05 Sara B. Slow to get going, at times oddly NOT engaging. Still has charm for Depp fans. 4 stars
8/12/05 yuko brilliant actors and story 5 stars
7/26/05 Laura Lee Macleod Kinda boring...but Depp is a magnificent actor 3 stars
6/17/05 Andy Far better than the professional critics suggest. Switch off the analysis, let it happen 4 stars
6/17/05 DM Sappy in places but very well-acted. 4 stars
5/29/05 Jake Good film but not oscar worthy 4 stars
5/22/05 Cham Great acting, pretty moving, way too sappy for words. 3 stars
5/05/05 Kristi Achilleos very good movie! pleasant to watch :) 4 stars
5/01/05 Steve Newman Absolutely excellent. Some moments makes you feel uneasy - awesome 5 stars
4/29/05 Charlie Crappy ending, but an interesting plot and story. 3 stars
4/29/05 kathleen4691 A great family film...for parents who want their kids to learn about extramarital affairs. 2 stars
4/23/05 Kim Great fantasy. 4 stars
4/20/05 Sharon Fernando Excellent glimpse into Peter Pan's inspiration. 4 stars
4/17/05 David Siegel Better than the professional reviews. A good background "study". 4 stars
4/09/05 Denise wonderful 5 stars
4/05/05 killbill03 If you can buy into it, you may really like it. 4 stars
3/28/05 Charlene Javier Gets better after repeated viewings... 5 stars
3/28/05 Emma Excellent, one of my favourite films. 5 stars
2/20/05 lj wouldn't see it twice 3 stars
2/19/05 Captain Craig I didnt think truly great film could be made anymore. Every aspect was suberb! 5 stars
2/16/05 Melody Arneil One of the few films of 2004 that moved me to tears. LOVED IT! 5 stars
2/14/05 Angela Saunders Great movie, definite must see for a Peter Pan fan! 4 stars
2/11/05 H.P. Lovecraft I expected a little bit more for a best picture nominee. 3 stars
2/05/05 axe Like "Pan", better experienced in an audience with children. 4 stars
2/05/05 Melissa Johnny Depp - couldn't have been better! 5 stars
2/05/05 Ann Klonicki Johnny Depp is superb 5 stars
2/04/05 Mirella Rodriguez Who doesn't love Johnny? Great movie, great acting. 4 stars
2/04/05 craig varney can't find a better recent movie 5 stars
2/04/05 Debbi Kalstein interesting interpretation 5 stars
2/03/05 Clifford C Gardner Not great, but worth your time 4 stars
2/01/05 Danita Berg Beautiful....brought tears to my eyes. 4 stars
2/01/05 Gladys Paradowski Didn't achieve its objective, whatever that was. 2 stars
2/01/05 Lynda Eby Love Johnny Depp! 4 stars
2/01/05 Elena this was nice but everything shown was just so obvious and not deep 4 stars
2/01/05 Alison Mosbeck I don't see how anyone could NOT like this...a very imaginative film 4 stars
1/30/05 Charlene Javier Completely magical! 5 stars
1/30/05 malcolm Depp was a little too understated, but the film was great 4 stars
1/30/05 Garnet Leib So-SO 3 stars
1/30/05 Marilyn not to exciting 3 stars
1/30/05 Fred Pellerito Even though I'm a big Johnny Depp fan, this movie was nothing more than average 3 stars
1/29/05 Lisa Clarizio Johnny Depp's an excellent actor but just mediocre in this movie 2 stars
1/27/05 Roz How good is Johnny Depp?!! Charming story, great supporting cast, excellent art direction. 5 stars
1/27/05 Richard R. Lowe Better than awesome. Absolutely brilliant. 5 stars
1/16/05 Jamy I LOVE JOHNNY DEPP! He is a great actor and awsomeinseration to me in alll of his movies. 5 stars
1/14/05 green gremlin a superior "Shadowlands". Johnny Depp was simply awesome 5 stars
1/12/05 Heather Take some Kleenex 5 stars
1/10/05 KCobain A real treasure. Very powerful and emotional. 5 stars
1/06/05 Elizaveta A little too much like "Shadowlands." Still, its good but not great. 3 stars
1/05/05 Helen Bradley Poor editing too slow paced great stars failed by bad script too long 2 stars
12/30/04 The Mockingbird perhaps only too sweet for this cynical world. Wonderful acting all around 4 stars
12/27/04 efrain great movie. one of the best of 2004 5 stars
12/27/04 Suzz very fine acting; interesting storytelling 4 stars
12/14/04 A F Beautiful Film. Almost had some tears. 5 stars
12/08/04 Judy This film thrilled and moved me by its emotional honesty. 5 stars
12/08/04 Titus Nothing earth shattering, but a good (emotional) movie. 4 stars
12/06/04 Ron Cisco Moving, brought me to tears, the actor who plays 5 stars
12/04/04 Denise johnny rules 5 stars
11/27/04 Zohran Mamdani Amzing, brought me to tears! 5 stars
11/27/04 Destiny Pifer Wonderful movie! 5 stars
11/27/04 ajay good movie, but the ending went on about 10 minutes too long. 3 stars
11/26/04 Rudy Depp should have done more drugs in this film. 1 stars
11/25/04 Roger Yes, it's VERY good. 5 stars
11/25/04 T. Maj Conventional movie bio; Johnny Depp always worth watchoingnj 4 stars
11/24/04 Geoff Very good movie. Touching performances all around 4 stars
11/23/04 vagile Wonderful except for heavy handedness in last scene 5 stars
11/21/04 Kristina Williams You gotta love Johnny? 5 stars
11/20/04 kyla robertson Excellent movie. Johnny Depp is Amazing 5 stars
11/20/04 Tanaporn yes,it 's good 3 stars
11/19/04 matt wakeman Beautiful and tender. 4 stars
11/12/04 Paul Gaughan Absolutely fantastic ! I thought Winslett was brilliant as the Widow. Depp as good as ever 5 stars
11/12/04 Janet Wyatt Great drama lifted with flights of fancy. All the actors were superb. 4 stars
11/11/04 alex Disappointingly ordinary - clunky script and generally dull 2 stars
11/09/04 janyne mason i think it has a crap storyline, otherwise ok. 3 stars
11/08/04 Camdyn Nix Breath taking 5 stars
11/08/04 Emilia This film will be hailed alongside other Holiday Classics such as It's a Wonderful Life, et 5 stars
11/08/04 Karen Minton Terrific movie, Johnny Depp great 5 stars
11/07/04 Buffetblvd This film was magnificent - don't miss it!! 5 stars
11/03/04 Bronwen Johnny Depp is amazing. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  12-Nov-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 22-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast