More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4

Awesome: 38.36%
Worth A Look42.47%
Average: 6.85%
Pretty Bad: 5.48%
Total Crap: 6.85%

5 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Man Bites Dog
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by K-Dog

"Its violent, funny and everyone who can handle it should see it."
4 stars

This film... well what can I say? DAMN, it's funny.

Made by a trio of Begian film school students it is a mock
documentary that follows around a serial killer on some of his kills.

Sound sick? It gets worse.

Here is a film crew (played by two of the makers) following around a Serial Killer (one of the makers). Talking to him about his job, sex, religion, life.. etc. And you see him intergrate in family functions etc.. then the sick parts come.. The kills. But they are played in such a way that although it is excessivley violent it is fucking hilarious.

Played quite straight, it is very realistic. Mainly due to the fact it is filmed with one camera and in black and white.

But even though it is a comedy it is amazingkly original and well directed, and the script is great.

See it.

Its violent, funny and everyone who can handle it should see it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1093&reviewer=23
originally posted: 10/03/98 18:34:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/17/17 Bruce Abas Sic/brilliance- lead actor off the charts 5 stars
2/07/16 Leo Cardinaels Brilliant cinema but not for everybody: you need to be open-minded. Great movie! 5 stars
8/01/15 francoiskrotoff Hilarious serial killer mockumentary; then troubling mirror-auto-mockumentary; sublime! 5 stars
5/20/15 stanley welles brilliant, deeply compelling and darkly hilarious 5 stars
6/27/12 A viewer Don't waster your time on this horrible film. 1 stars
11/15/10 W.B.T.Neeley Brilliant and satirical, but also overly (and uncompromisingly) disturbing. 4 stars
11/03/10 PAUL SHORTT REPELLENT BLACK COMEDY 2 stars
10/10/10 J. Johnson Wow. The best mock-documentary I've ever seen! 5 stars
5/22/08 mr.mike just OK avant-garde 3 stars
5/18/08 brian One of the most repulsive things I've seen, and that's saying something. 1 stars
1/10/08 Rob from Oakland, CA Mesmerizing. Mind-numbing. Beautifully filmed. Fantastic. 5 stars
1/04/08 Simon Worked for about 40 mins, after that it was just skull numbing and boring. 3 stars
11/27/07 hayley its was so horrific and crap 1 stars
12/16/06 Anna-Rosa I actually thought this was a "must see" film, MAYBE NOT 3 stars
6/24/06 Indrid Cold As far as satires of violence/media go, not nearly as entertaining as Natural Born Killers. 3 stars
11/12/05 Adam Foster Bloody good use of violence, very watchable 5 stars
9/25/05 K. Sear Overated. 3 stars
8/12/05 ES B&W=good, killing babies= bad, killing old ladies with heart conditions= surprising shock 4 stars
3/27/05 Jack Sommersby Simplistic, nihilistic, sensationalistic, unbearable crap. 1 stars
3/23/04 The Green Inferno I'll have a dead baby boy, bartender 4 stars
2/02/04 Sammy One of the most distubing movies I have ever seen, very had to watch but is very worth it. 5 stars
1/16/04 davey crazy mutha fuckin movie. cinema!cinema! 5 stars
6/20/03 Sweeterson Tries too hard to be original 1 stars
12/20/02 Michael Jorgensen The greatest. Predecessor to the danish "Dogma"-films... 5 stars
12/19/02 Kroce Un film incroyable! Plein d'humour et de cynisme, ça vaut vraiement le coup d'oeil! 5 stars
12/12/02 John Zorn SI VOUS AVEZ AIME C'EST ARRIVE PRES DE CHEZ VOUS JE VOUS CONSEILLE "STRASS" 5 stars
12/03/02 Andy Jacob This is the shit wow. Fuckin great movie 5 stars
11/13/02 brian this film kicks ass, i first saw the cut version then had to see the uncut. 5 stars
11/01/02 Charles Tatum For a continent that hate Hollywood, they can sure copy their crap 2 stars
4/18/02 purpura Definitely a must C.. The most perfect mushroom (have they done anything else after that?) 4 stars
2/23/02 GR_eta blatantly humourous in a post-mortem vein 5 stars
1/21/02 Andrzej An intriguing idea that descends into sickest of the sick. Worst film I've seen. 2 stars
10/25/01 Stéphane It's a very special film. The way of filming is nice. 4 stars
5/21/01 jessy the name of the killer is benoit (benny) not remy , which is one of filmmakers 4 stars
4/19/01 sykobilly If it's not your kind of film...watch it any way! 4 stars
3/03/01 mad hatter Twisted. Warped. I loved it. 5 stars
7/20/00 dr_Fardook more fun than a bathtub full of squid and a stick of dynamite 5 stars
4/11/00 Buck Turgidson Sophomoric crap 87 minutes too long 2 stars
4/08/00 Mike Leskow Rent this: Break up with your artsy girlfriend. . . 5 stars
2/14/00 Miss Ice Abyss Darker than anything I had thought dark... and great at it! 5 stars
5/02/99 Peter Koulouris This film is black, black, black comedy at it's best. 5 stars
1/19/99 Chronically hip Surprisingly good film, consdiering it was made by students. Give them a budget! 5 stars
11/24/98 Mr.Pink Absolutely fucking brilliant!!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1993 (NC-17)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast