More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.71

Awesome46.15%
Worth A Look: 15.38%
Average: 15.38%
Pretty Bad: 9.62%
Total Crap: 13.46%

2 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


ABBA: The Movie
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Watch that scene, diggin’ the dancing queen"
5 stars

ABBA – The Movie is a bouncy, exuberant pop concert souvenir of ABBA’s autumn 1977 Australian tour and, to date, the only Australian-Swedish co-production. The film is a snapshot of Australia at the time and a record of the Australian public’s extraordinary ABBA-related frenzy.

Robert Caswell’s thin plot - a disinterested DJ is told to pursue ABBA for an interview - precludes a concert-only film or much acting from the band members. The film may be an advertisement for ABBA’s music and latest album, but there’s also an entertaining streak of self-deprecation and parody running through it, as if the filmmakers couldn’t quite believe the adulation the band was receiving.

The haphazard filming by a mixed Swedish-Australian crew meant the film had to be patched up in Sweden afterwards and mostly came together during the editing stage. But the ambitious decision to film in Panavision was worth it, and the concert scenes (with vocal and instrumental overdubs in the studios later) are sensational. The key Australian cast of Robert Hughes, Tom Oliver and Bruce Barry are fine, considering the chaotic nature of filming.

Prior to this, Hallström had directed Swedish television and one feature, as well as ABBA’s video clips. He shows considerable directorial flair. The tight editing (of Lasse Hallström, Malou Hallström and Ulf Neidemar), and vibrant music and cinematography (of Jack Churchill and Australian Paul Onorato) make ABBA The Movie an altogether successful and sadly underrated rock movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1095&reviewer=104
originally posted: 07/23/03 13:31:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

2/09/17 Louise People here are really rude. If u r not a fan, why bother seeing it? 5 stars
1/02/09 John Bad movie, but the blondes wiggling was fine 2 stars
11/08/08 Stefan 5 stars for Agnethas ass 5 stars
3/26/08 Dan Funny in places. And yes, the blonde WAS really that hot! 4 stars
5/16/07 Bobby Great concert footage! It's a shame the entire show wasn't filmed and left out cheezy plot 4 stars
12/15/06 Jim The movie was alright. They seemed to be still a bit choreographed in the 1977 concerts. 4 stars
6/13/06 Adolf Agnetha's ass looks really good in this movie! 3 stars
1/28/06 agnetha's butt Agnetha's Butt: The Movie ...god sounds good 3 stars
10/28/05 Bubba S Outstanding live concert footage, interrupted by a silly fictionalized plot. 4 stars
1/17/05 Gullytrap The dad from 'Hey Dad's in it! 2 stars
12/11/04 Ian W Outstanding music and visuals, authenticity, and humour -- yes,and Agnetha's ass IS awesome 5 stars
10/17/04 Ian Agnetha's ass Awesome! - movie sucks 2 stars
6/16/04 Richard E. Clark While I was teaching at a Coast Guard Lorsta in Alaska, we watched the movie over and over. 5 stars
2/27/04 AJ LOVED THIS MOVIE,ABBA WERE AHEAD OF THEIR TIME IN EVERY WAY 5 stars
8/28/03 Yanko Simeonov It's very very cool film! 5 stars
8/12/03 Ronald van Ommen Very Good Movie 5 stars
7/29/03 Brian Gimme Gimme Gimme I cant get enough of that abbasolutely friggin brill flashback to the 70' 5 stars
5/27/03 matthias abba were the best pop group ever, their movie is as stunning as their music! 5 stars
1/26/03 blonde admirer yes yes yes!!! 5 stars
1/15/03 Jeff Seen it 50+ times and counting ! 5 stars
11/17/02 schnulli schnulli 2 stars
11/10/02 Daniel I like it a lot, but probably wouldn't do much for non-Abba fans. 4 stars
10/25/02 Bavo The movie sucks but Agnetha's ass blows your brains out. It's truly amazing! 5 stars
4/12/02 Agnetha It is the most amazing, funny film I ever saw, Agnetha is the best and she is so cool!!!! 5 stars
1/16/02 Andrew Carden It's Like A 2-Hour Version Of Abba: The True Hollywood Story. 4 stars
9/18/01 hex I need to know where I can order or rent the Abba movie. 5 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Of course Agnetha is sexy! But the movie looked terrible. ABBA "The Concert" was better 2 stars
6/02/01 Andrew Worth having for the history 4 stars
5/15/01 Nairb Agnetha is the sexiest woman I've ever seen 5 stars
2/15/01 viking Come on, Abba weren't all that bad !!! 4 stars
12/16/00 Alexa I SAW THE ABBA THE MOVIE AND MY COMMENTS ARE IT IS THE BEST EVER ALL TIME MOVIE! 5 stars
11/29/00 jade ace music and great fun!!! 5 stars
4/19/00 cv what a stupid piece of crap 1 stars
10/24/99 Lame-Oh yucky 1 stars
1/06/99 Schizofrenic This is not dance or techno music, it's pure disco shit. 1 stars
12/23/98 Aadel I WANNA CHEK THE MOVIES 5 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider Pretty crappy, isn't it? Techno forever, screw disco! 1 stars
11/24/98 Lord Of The Dunce If you find this movie, see it. It's hilarious cos it's so darn bad. 1 stars
11/13/98 Jules There was a movie????? 1 stars
10/09/98 Korny Island So no it isn't even funny. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1978

UK
  N/A

Australia
  16-Dec-1977 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast