More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.74

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look: 11.9%
Average23.81%
Pretty Bad23.81%
Total Crap23.81%

3 reviews, 24 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Great Expectations (1998)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"what did they do?"
1 stars

What? What?

Granted, I hated reading Great Expectations when I read it in school. But what did they do?

They took out all the important plot points that defined the characters. We are left wondering, why was Estella such a bitch? And why did she suddenly change? Why was that crazy old lady so damned crazy? And why are we supposed to forgive the prisoner after he meesed up Fin so badly? We are left with a boring, undefined, sad, pathetic love story.

It wasn't enough that they changed the time, place, and most of the character's names. They changed the story so much it should only be "loosely based on", not a remade Great Expectations.

The best part of this movie was the costuming.

And it's a fun game to play to count how many scenes you can find in which characters are NOT wearing green. (Me: three, but they took place in green rooms instead... does that count?)

Bleah. One spork.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=110&reviewer=6
originally posted: 08/30/98 12:13:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/09/09 Anonymous. gwyneth paltrow was bad casting, too tall next to ethan hawke. 4 stars
11/12/06 Katrina The orginal is so much better 3 stars
8/14/06 Tan If you get the style, you will LOVE it. Best seen without reading Dickens' previously. 5 stars
8/24/05 Danny It was pretty good - Hawke is a really good actor. Paltrow sucks. 3 stars
7/23/04 Shaz It DOES state it's loosely based on original, Amazing movie, beautiful & unique cinematog. 5 stars
5/29/04 mairy a film not worth seen 2 stars
1/17/04 LIAM JACKSON de niro's characer was fucking odd 2 stars
9/02/03 Eugene Wong The story line is great 5 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Hawke's scribblings worse than Viggo Morentsen's (A Perfect Murder) Gorilla-Brush technique 1 stars
3/23/03 Gina Grant The Best Movie EVER! 5 stars
2/10/03 R.W. Welch Update of Dickens works fairly well but has weak spots. Nice cinematography. 3 stars
10/20/01 Tam Interesting and artsy, but not brilliant. Gwyneth Paltrow is sultry & dead sexy ;-) 4 stars
5/10/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I've seen roadkill prettier than Gwyneth Paltrow. 3 stars
12/03/00 scott wahls agree totally with kanatcha, so it was a loose adaption, it hit me where it hurt baby 5 stars
11/22/00 Pionek Wieczysty Rings agonizingly true for the hoplessly infatuated. 5 stars
3/25/00 Helen Tracey romantic but bollocks 2 stars
4/20/99 Fox Moldie You go in the movie with great expectations..But..come out with low expectation. 1 stars
2/26/99 Elizabeth Gwyneth Paltrow kicks ass. 4 stars
2/19/99 Piz Smooth flowing movie, very engaging, great for anyone who has ever been scorned. 4 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle Worst movie Ive evere seen, comming from me thats BAD! Gweneth needs a bullet...soon! 1 stars
1/07/99 Jo Mama call me a sissy-boy, but i found it touching and sad. (Plus I have a hard-on for Gwenyth) 4 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha some people just dont get it i guess 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I didn't have great expectations for this. Love it when I'm right. 1 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} It's Ethan Hawke. It's gotta be shite. Can't he grow a decent beard? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jan-1998 (R)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast