More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.74

Awesome: 16.67%
Worth A Look: 11.9%
Average23.81%
Pretty Bad23.81%
Total Crap23.81%

3 reviews, 24 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Great Expectations (1998)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Beautiful in most aspects, but still empty."
2 stars

He smokes Kools. Haha.

Is it an update, or is it a remake?

Either way, it ain't very good.

Dickens gets bastardized as the filmmakers were apparently trying to catch the lightning in a bottle that was the DiCaprio/Danes Romeo & Juliet. Except they forgot to make the movie hip.

Character development is out the window. We know nothing about the people and how they came to be the way that they are. Ethan Hawke sails through as Finn, the artist who wants Estella (Gwyneth Paltrow, sorely in need of a little Weight Gainer 2000). Estella's a bitch, though, trained to break men's hearts by Ms. Dinsmoor (Anne Bancroft, going full-blown hammy).

There's not enough plot here to tie everything together, and you wonder if there's anything else Finn sees in Estella other than her radiant beauty. Pining after a woman just because she's pretty seems kinda shallow.

If you like seeing 10-year-olds lick each other's faces in the water fountain, this is your movie.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=110&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/07/98 23:37:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/09/09 Anonymous. gwyneth paltrow was bad casting, too tall next to ethan hawke. 4 stars
11/12/06 Katrina The orginal is so much better 3 stars
8/14/06 Tan If you get the style, you will LOVE it. Best seen without reading Dickens' previously. 5 stars
8/24/05 Danny It was pretty good - Hawke is a really good actor. Paltrow sucks. 3 stars
7/23/04 Shaz It DOES state it's loosely based on original, Amazing movie, beautiful & unique cinematog. 5 stars
5/29/04 mairy a film not worth seen 2 stars
1/17/04 LIAM JACKSON de niro's characer was fucking odd 2 stars
9/02/03 Eugene Wong The story line is great 5 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Hawke's scribblings worse than Viggo Morentsen's (A Perfect Murder) Gorilla-Brush technique 1 stars
3/23/03 Gina Grant The Best Movie EVER! 5 stars
2/10/03 R.W. Welch Update of Dickens works fairly well but has weak spots. Nice cinematography. 3 stars
10/20/01 Tam Interesting and artsy, but not brilliant. Gwyneth Paltrow is sultry & dead sexy ;-) 4 stars
5/10/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I've seen roadkill prettier than Gwyneth Paltrow. 3 stars
12/03/00 scott wahls agree totally with kanatcha, so it was a loose adaption, it hit me where it hurt baby 5 stars
11/22/00 Pionek Wieczysty Rings agonizingly true for the hoplessly infatuated. 5 stars
3/25/00 Helen Tracey romantic but bollocks 2 stars
4/20/99 Fox Moldie You go in the movie with great expectations..But..come out with low expectation. 1 stars
2/26/99 Elizabeth Gwyneth Paltrow kicks ass. 4 stars
2/19/99 Piz Smooth flowing movie, very engaging, great for anyone who has ever been scorned. 4 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle Worst movie Ive evere seen, comming from me thats BAD! Gweneth needs a bullet...soon! 1 stars
1/07/99 Jo Mama call me a sissy-boy, but i found it touching and sad. (Plus I have a hard-on for Gwenyth) 4 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha some people just dont get it i guess 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I didn't have great expectations for this. Love it when I'm right. 1 stars
8/15/98 {{{OZ}}} It's Ethan Hawke. It's gotta be shite. Can't he grow a decent beard? 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  30-Jan-1998 (R)
  DVD: 07-Jun-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast