More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.53

Awesome80.52%
Worth A Look: 9.09%
Average: 1.3%
Pretty Bad: 1.3%
Total Crap: 7.79%

2 reviews, 65 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Back in Time (Fleet of Time) by Jay Seaver

Annie (2014) by Peter Sobczynski

Inherent Vice by Jay Seaver

Babadook, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

Imitation Game, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Menace II Society
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Superfly

"Well, that sucked."
1 stars

Sometimes a movie comes along that makes you reflect about the world and where it's headed. This is not one of those movies.

Now, I like Samuel L. Jackson just as much as the next guy and I like Laurenz Tate, or however you spell his name, too. However, this movie sucks. The Hughes Brothers are good film-makers, but they are shitty writers. Menace II Society sucks and Dead Presidents sucks simply because they can't write for shit.

Boyz N the Hood is a great "ghetto movie," but that's about the only one I can think of. Menace II Society doesn't really do a good job of teaching a lesson or anything like that. The only people I know that like it are teenaged white kids who wished they lived in the ghetto for some reason.

I can't imagine anyone being stupid enough to kill two people in a convenient store then the person takes the tape and shows it to everyone with two eyes and brags about it. I don't care where this person grew up, why would anyone do that?

To tell you the truth, if I hadn't seen that this was rated #6 on the Top 20 list here at Hollywood Bitchslap out of every movie ever, I wouldn't even had wasted my time writing this. But, I felt that with all the great movies out there, why should something that sucks this bad be rated #6? Hopefully, me giving it a 1 will knock it completely off the list and into the gutter where it belongs.

I could write a better ghetto movie than this and I live in the heart of Minnesota.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1105&reviewer=17
originally posted: 12/10/98 06:46:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/23/09 Jeff Wilder Best of the hood movies. 5 stars
7/17/09 Jerome C. BEST IN DA HOOD MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN 5 stars
8/22/08 weezy since '93,now itz'08 but the movie is still the best.im in south african,'n they lyk it 5 stars
3/05/08 coldwaxa colder than a hookers heart 5 stars
1/27/07 gansta yo this movie mad me a straight up menace in da hood yo 5 stars
10/26/06 teeterz i love this movie 5 stars
1/03/06 Wiseman yes the movie is great, but it is sad reality that this is how bad some states are 5 stars
9/12/04 Gary Schork Love Ghetto movies and this one is tops 5 stars
8/18/04 JBandit My favorite movie 5 stars
6/09/04 Desiree too tight 5 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean The best "hood" flick to come out during the genre's prime in the 90's. 4 stars
4/15/04 Vee Straight up, this movies dope..if you know the deal, you know its real...straights. 5 stars
3/13/04 James Kustes Very depressing film 4 stars
2/15/04 745i Pretty good, don't know wtf youre talkin about 5 stars
12/18/03 Nick Oh hell yeah, hell yeah 5 stars
12/12/03 Andre Catlett Real 5 stars
11/19/03 Zel Touching, yet badass. Very well done film. 5 stars
10/18/03 Lynn Lane Awesome movie with a solid script! 5 stars
10/16/03 Goofy Maxwell M II S captured the 'tude of Mean Streets, & I cared more about these characters. 4 stars
9/22/03 Katy Bryson This film is amazing but very sad and the acting is superb. 5 stars
8/11/03 michael amazin film 5 stars
6/11/03 Master P Jack Sommersby, lick balls......Uhhhh Na Nah Na Nah, That's right, right there, keep likin 5 stars
6/02/03 ashley young very good 5 stars
4/08/03 Brian Courtney Should have won an Oscar!!! 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Overfamiliar and cliched. Nice camerawork, but the dramatic arc is very limited. 2 stars
2/28/03 G Best part: beginning- father's friend says: Who the f... you think you is punk a..!! awesom 5 stars
2/19/03 Precious This movie is one of the best movie you will see , the good acting and reality of plot 5 stars
1/19/03 sammy its great who ever rated dis film is racist. 4 stars
1/16/03 Cory Morris It was the best black movie I have ever, there should have been a part 2 5 stars
12/29/02 jamahl menace 2 society is the shit negro 5 stars
11/07/02 steven white it was great the best movie i have seen in a long time 5 stars
11/05/02 claire d-m this film is the fuckin wickedest 5 stars
8/22/02 Jezzah This film will hit you upside the head, So harsh! 5 stars
5/31/02 Tammie Fuckin good movie! 5 stars
4/26/02 austin petri this movie was fukkin awsome 5 stars
4/20/02 Jessica I loved it!! O-Dog looks so good!! 5 stars
1/31/02 big c hustle damn, this movie is the shit 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Tate was worthy of an Oscar for this one. Just like Joe Pesci in Goodfellas 4 stars
8/13/01 Tim Gee It kicked my butt 5 stars
6/24/01 COMESH DOPE ! 5 stars
6/23/01 Luciano Pablo Nastradamos This film is the best film I've ever seen. 5 stars
6/18/01 Sam Brilliant, Classic tunes in it. 5 stars
4/17/01 carlos stewart this movie is just to damn good 5 stars
4/15/01 Chanice Jones Dis movie is da shit...Fuck ya'll hatas who dont like it. Caine is dope as hell ...mmm...mm 5 stars
3/30/01 tecki ficking good 5 stars
3/18/01 LaToya Hicks I think this was an excellent film!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/08/01 Chino THIS MOVIE IS THE SHIT, awEsome plot and the ending was crazy and sad 5 stars
2/23/01 Jason BEST FUCKIN MOVIE EVER, LOVED, FUCK THOSE WHO SAY OTHERWISE 5 stars
2/19/01 Tyrone One of the greatest movies ever made, also one of the most powerful 5 stars
2/16/01 Mart Dawg Best damn movie ever, fo real Larenz Tate was the shit 5 stars
2/11/01 Paul Lareen a fucking cool film 5 stars
1/16/01 Richard Probert This film is fukin great. Watch it before you go out on sat night with the boys. 5 stars
1/13/01 miller what can u say except fucking hits the spot 5 stars
10/19/00 thewolf Great Movie 5 stars
9/01/00 Rob Oh damn..the best "ghetto" movie ever made. Great directing, acting, everything.. 5 stars
5/22/00 EZ AS My most fav movie eva 5 stars
4/17/00 Justin Powerful, disturbing, shocking, utterly compelling 5 stars
1/16/00 JonnyAngel It's alright 3 stars
10/21/99 Phat Mac One of the best movies ever...Larenz Tate has Oscar winning performance..a must see for all 5 stars
8/11/99 Japtalian Larenz Tate should have been nominated for an oscar. This movie is scary. 5 stars
7/09/99 Kliment An incredible movie....... 5 stars
11/29/98 Mike F I made 10 bucks off of this film. 5 stars
11/27/98 G Even better than Boyz. Tate is incredible 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink The Hughes brothers will surely one day make a classic based on the evidence here... 4 stars
10/10/98 Nate Dogg My favorite comin' of age in the hood flick....beautiful visuals... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-May-1993 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1994 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast