More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.53

Awesome80.52%
Worth A Look: 9.09%
Average: 1.3%
Pretty Bad: 1.3%
Total Crap: 7.79%

2 reviews, 65 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Snow White Murder Case, The by Jay Seaver

At the Devil's Door by Jay Seaver

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Menace II Society
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by CaptNish

"Screw Boyz N the Hood...this is where it's at..."
5 stars

Goddamn, this movie is incredible...

Albert and Allen Hughes bring us this incredible drama about a young man who just wants out of the hood.

Menace stars Tyrin Turner as Caine, a boy who has lived with violence all of his life. At a young age, he witnesses his father (Samuel L. Jackson) commit murder over a money dispute. His best friend O-Dog (Larenz Tate) is what he calls "America's worst nightmare...young, black, and doesn't give a fuck." During a carjacking, Caine's cousin is killed, and he is left critically wounded. He recovers and begins spending a lot of time with Ronnie (Jada Pinkett Smith), the wife of the man who was like a father to him, Pernell (Glenn Plummer). Pernell is serving up a life sentance and asks Caine to take care of his wife. When Ronnie gets a job away from the hood, Caine decides to go with her and turn over a new leaf.

This film is not just another "growing up in the hood" flick. The visual style reflects the Scorsese influence that the Hughes brothers have spoken of in interviews. The risks that the script takes make the movie all that more real and convincing. Instead of feeling like you are watching a Dr. Dre video, you are left with the idea and thought of how incredibly hard it is to live in a place where the law isn't too concerned whether you live or die.

A definite two thumbs up and a must see even if you are not a fan of the genre.

And Larenz Tate is definitely an absolute bad ass for the entire flick...

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1105&reviewer=43
originally posted: 10/13/98 04:55:36
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/23/09 Jeff Wilder Best of the hood movies. 5 stars
7/17/09 Jerome C. BEST IN DA HOOD MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN 5 stars
8/22/08 weezy since '93,now itz'08 but the movie is still the best.im in south african,'n they lyk it 5 stars
3/05/08 coldwaxa colder than a hookers heart 5 stars
1/27/07 gansta yo this movie mad me a straight up menace in da hood yo 5 stars
10/26/06 teeterz i love this movie 5 stars
1/03/06 Wiseman yes the movie is great, but it is sad reality that this is how bad some states are 5 stars
9/12/04 Gary Schork Love Ghetto movies and this one is tops 5 stars
8/18/04 JBandit My favorite movie 5 stars
6/09/04 Desiree too tight 5 stars
5/24/04 Butterbean The best "hood" flick to come out during the genre's prime in the 90's. 4 stars
4/15/04 Vee Straight up, this movies dope..if you know the deal, you know its real...straights. 5 stars
3/13/04 James Kustes Very depressing film 4 stars
2/15/04 745i Pretty good, don't know wtf youre talkin about 5 stars
12/18/03 Nick Oh hell yeah, hell yeah 5 stars
12/12/03 Andre Catlett Real 5 stars
11/19/03 Zel Touching, yet badass. Very well done film. 5 stars
10/18/03 Lynn Lane Awesome movie with a solid script! 5 stars
10/16/03 Goofy Maxwell M II S captured the 'tude of Mean Streets, & I cared more about these characters. 4 stars
9/22/03 Katy Bryson This film is amazing but very sad and the acting is superb. 5 stars
8/11/03 michael amazin film 5 stars
6/11/03 Master P Jack Sommersby, lick balls......Uhhhh Na Nah Na Nah, That's right, right there, keep likin 5 stars
6/02/03 ashley young very good 5 stars
4/08/03 Brian Courtney Should have won an Oscar!!! 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Overfamiliar and cliched. Nice camerawork, but the dramatic arc is very limited. 2 stars
2/28/03 G Best part: beginning- father's friend says: Who the f... you think you is punk a..!! awesom 5 stars
2/19/03 Precious This movie is one of the best movie you will see , the good acting and reality of plot 5 stars
1/19/03 sammy its great who ever rated dis film is racist. 4 stars
1/16/03 Cory Morris It was the best black movie I have ever, there should have been a part 2 5 stars
12/29/02 jamahl menace 2 society is the shit negro 5 stars
11/07/02 steven white it was great the best movie i have seen in a long time 5 stars
11/05/02 claire d-m this film is the fuckin wickedest 5 stars
8/22/02 Jezzah This film will hit you upside the head, So harsh! 5 stars
5/31/02 Tammie Fuckin good movie! 5 stars
4/26/02 austin petri this movie was fukkin awsome 5 stars
4/20/02 Jessica I loved it!! O-Dog looks so good!! 5 stars
1/31/02 big c hustle damn, this movie is the shit 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean Tate was worthy of an Oscar for this one. Just like Joe Pesci in Goodfellas 4 stars
8/13/01 Tim Gee It kicked my butt 5 stars
6/24/01 COMESH DOPE ! 5 stars
6/23/01 Luciano Pablo Nastradamos This film is the best film I've ever seen. 5 stars
6/18/01 Sam Brilliant, Classic tunes in it. 5 stars
4/17/01 carlos stewart this movie is just to damn good 5 stars
4/15/01 Chanice Jones Dis movie is da shit...Fuck ya'll hatas who dont like it. Caine is dope as hell ...mmm...mm 5 stars
3/30/01 tecki ficking good 5 stars
3/18/01 LaToya Hicks I think this was an excellent film!!!!!!! 4 stars
3/08/01 Chino THIS MOVIE IS THE SHIT, awEsome plot and the ending was crazy and sad 5 stars
2/23/01 Jason BEST FUCKIN MOVIE EVER, LOVED, FUCK THOSE WHO SAY OTHERWISE 5 stars
2/19/01 Tyrone One of the greatest movies ever made, also one of the most powerful 5 stars
2/16/01 Mart Dawg Best damn movie ever, fo real Larenz Tate was the shit 5 stars
2/11/01 Paul Lareen a fucking cool film 5 stars
1/16/01 Richard Probert This film is fukin great. Watch it before you go out on sat night with the boys. 5 stars
1/13/01 miller what can u say except fucking hits the spot 5 stars
10/19/00 thewolf Great Movie 5 stars
9/01/00 Rob Oh damn..the best "ghetto" movie ever made. Great directing, acting, everything.. 5 stars
5/22/00 EZ AS My most fav movie eva 5 stars
4/17/00 Justin Powerful, disturbing, shocking, utterly compelling 5 stars
1/16/00 JonnyAngel It's alright 3 stars
10/21/99 Phat Mac One of the best movies ever...Larenz Tate has Oscar winning performance..a must see for all 5 stars
8/11/99 Japtalian Larenz Tate should have been nominated for an oscar. This movie is scary. 5 stars
7/09/99 Kliment An incredible movie....... 5 stars
11/29/98 Mike F I made 10 bucks off of this film. 5 stars
11/27/98 G Even better than Boyz. Tate is incredible 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink The Hughes brothers will surely one day make a classic based on the evidence here... 4 stars
10/10/98 Nate Dogg My favorite comin' of age in the hood flick....beautiful visuals... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-May-1993 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1994 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast