More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.66

Awesome84.12%
Worth A Look: 7.65%
Average: 2.94%
Pretty Bad: 1.18%
Total Crap: 4.12%

5 reviews, 140 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Princess Bride, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"A Great Adventure For Both Kids And Adults"
5 stars

Another Rob Reiner classic, The Princess bride is a fantastically well made action/comedy flick. I really enjoyed it the very first minute I saw it, and since I like medieval stories very much, well, that also added to my enjoyment, and no matter whether you’re young or old, this film WILL make you laugh, cry, and jump with excitement, and of course, will entertain you a lot.

The film is the story of beautiful Buttercup (Robin Wright-before Penn), who found true love with a servant of her house, Westley (Cary Elwes), but then he goes away and “dies.” Then Buttercup is forced to marry Prince Humperdinck (Chris Sarandon), but is kidnapped by a gang of outlaws that consists of Vizzini (Wallace Shawn), Inigo Montoya (Mandy Patinkin), and Fezzik (Andre The Giant). Then The Dread Pirate Roberts (before Westley) comes to her rescue, and Inigo and Fezzik, join him to both rescue Buttercup and avenge Inigo’s father who was killed by six-fingered Count Rugen (Christopher Guest).

The story is told through the words of a grandfather (Peter Falk) as he reads the book to his grandson (Fred Savage). That was a pretty nice intro on what later the film starts to throw you in. As the movie progresses, you start to get an immersed in the movie’s unique blend of action and comedy. Now why is it unique? Basically for the simple reason that, all along the film, you start to notice that this is nothing else but a simple and well-made parody on fairy tale stories. This is seen throughout the few scenes where the grandson yanks the grandfather about the kissing and that the good guys win and bad guys die, and all that shit. Sure there are many thrilling sequences that can startle and thrill many youngsters and teenagers like me, but adults will find themselves laughing at out loud at the many pranks and jokes that the film gives out. But that last part is the key to the film, since usually parodies are overblown and pretentious, this film manages to keep it straightforward, limit the jokes to words, but cleverly puts the dialogue in specific and strategic points, and then fill it with the usual storyline whilst adding lots of action. The film though, playing it straightforward, manages to smoothly overcome any formulaic clichés and goes on to deliver its message and it’s thrills in a very clever and funny way, all in an adventure story.

I’ve read that this film is comparable to This Is Spinal Tap (Reiner’s directorial debut), since both make fun of distinctive subjects, one in Rock mockumentary and the other one in fairy tales. One of the things that impressed me, besides the story telling, were the swashbuckling scenes. Those were the films finest moments. The final message of true love was pretty much the other side of the blade on what the film was telling, and is always made fun off due to the grandson’s objection. That was also great and also hilarious.

The performances of the actors were great all around, with Cary Elwes his finest performance to date, Robin Wright was also great in her first role, and so were Patinkin, the late Andre the Giant, and Sarandon, as well as the rest of the supporting cast. Billy Crystal in that makeup was unrecognizable, but he was essential to the parody of witches.

In the end, I recommend this film to you and you family. It’s a great film and a great action/comedy/adventure parody, and pretty much one of Rob Reiner’s best films. Go and enjoy the film, and watch out for those rodents of unusual size!!!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1111&reviewer=235
originally posted: 08/16/01 14:42:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/23/17 Suzanne FINALLY watched it; fantastic swordplay and beautiful love story 5 stars
4/13/15 jokerass lol 1 stars
2/17/15 roxelena *beep* 1 stars
2/15/15 filmiw23 most supid film ever made! this is not really comedy movie 2 stars
2/08/15 russel shit LOTR ruleeessssssssssssss.... 1 stars
1/22/15 zachary LOTR is far better 1 stars
1/09/15 movie nerd bullshit lord of the rings is soooo much better 1 stars
5/19/10 ikkin74 One of my favorites! Great family film! 5 stars
3/02/10 the dork knight I had NO idea those quotes were from this movie. 5 stars
10/07/09 Danny MOVIE MAGIC! I appreciate it more than I did in 87. Best "fantasy" film ever ~ 5 stars
1/14/09 clatz One of my all time favorites 5 stars
10/03/08 PAUL SHORTT AN EFFECTIVE COMEDY, AN INTERESTING BEDTIME TALE AND A BEAUTIFUL FANTASY FULL OF ADVENTURE 5 stars
6/17/08 Johnnyfaye The story of the 6 fingered man is one of the best scenes in film history. 5 stars
3/16/08 Lala ALMOST as good as the book...but the whole family watches & we all recite lines by <3!! 5 stars
2/26/08 pkr is good. i like. 4 stars
2/14/08 kaitlin i absotlutely love this movie!!! 5 stars
12/03/07 Bnorm Guilty pleasure for me; loved it! So freaking funny.... 5 stars
10/20/07 Kathy Amazing!!!!!! 5 stars
7/15/07 the film judge WHAT A FILM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/02/07 -marshall. there are commonalities here that parallel life itself. 5 stars
5/27/07 pam an awesome movie. people who dont like it dont have any intelligence or a sense of humour 5 stars
5/05/07 Indychick If youdon't love this movie, someone has sucked a bit of your soul 5 stars
2/15/07 Andrew Only shrek comes anywhere near this film for heart & humour. Basicaly awesome 5 stars
2/01/07 cole i love it. its almost perfect 5 stars
12/04/06 Mandy Quinn It was absolute crap!!!!! so unrealistic 1 stars
10/17/06 AJ Muller our generation's Wizard of Oz - all that you wish 5 stars
10/05/06 Indrid Cold Looks like a made-for-Disney channel crapfest, but actually quite funny and memorable. 4 stars
9/04/06 michelebspy A bit cheezy but still one of my favorites 4 stars
7/11/06 David Cohen A chick flick even guys will love 5 stars
5/26/06 Michele awesome always loved it 5 stars
1/09/06 Jim Great movie 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor One of the best of the 80's. Magical how spellbinding this movie is. 5 stars
5/23/05 Nicole Great movie - really surprised to see it in HB's top 20! 5 stars
5/15/05 Alex The only movie I can recite line-for-line. Goldman also wrote "Butch Cassidy..." 5 stars
5/08/05 susan varney great imagination 4 stars
5/07/05 Michelle Gerardot this has been my favorite movie for the past 15 years, I love it!! 5 stars
5/04/05 Greg Plank The only "chick-flick" worth watching as a guy. Whoever wrote this needs to make movies. 5 stars
5/01/05 tootie1961 good!! 4 stars
4/21/05 Colleen Goldrick A funny timeless movie 5 stars
3/29/05 craig varney great comedic fantasy 5 stars
3/24/05 Holly Dawson full of funny one liners! my family LOVES this movie! 5 stars
3/04/05 your worst goddamn nightmare such an irresistable, charming movie ***** 5 stars
2/17/05 dbx aburdly fantastic 5 stars
12/13/04 Zofi Daboodoo AMAZING!!!!! Worth watching time and time again. 5 stars
12/11/04 amanda turner great 5 stars
12/09/04 Kristina Williams inconceivable! 5 stars
11/21/04 Kiki Excellent movie. You can't just see it once. You are guaranteed to watch it over and over. 5 stars
11/21/04 Zeus I give it a 5 just because it has Andre the Giant 5 stars
7/27/04 DM Anyone who doesn't love this movie sucks monkey cock 5 stars
6/08/04 Melissa it was fantastic i watched it for english but ended up hiring it causse i loved it 5 stars
5/24/04 R.W. Welch Fractured fairy tale has sharp writing, clever schtick. Nearly awesome. 4 stars
4/30/04 Gray charming and fun 5 stars
4/13/04 Mr X One of the few movies that's better than the book version 5 stars
3/08/04 Blain Wolfe I so toally loved it ya it was so awsome especially when this guy kissed this girl 5 stars
1/25/04 KTB Simply perfect! 5 stars
1/24/04 CC Great Fantasy...Better than LOTR 5 stars
1/21/04 Betty White Nothing special really. Good ensemble & nice music, but that's all. 3 stars
1/16/04 Dean an unfortunate title for a great movie 5 stars
12/21/03 Matt One of my all-time favorite films. 5 stars
11/29/03 john a perfect adventure - a perfect romance and a delightful comedy 5 stars
10/11/03 Cat I'll just say that this is probably my favorite movie of all time. It's incredible. 5 stars
8/06/03 Double G great movie 5 stars
7/20/03 Nicole One of my all time favorite of the fantasy/fairytale genre! 5 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald everything you want from a fairy tale and so much more 5 stars
6/29/03 Persephone AWESOME 5 stars
5/11/03 Blutarski Charming, a work of art 5 stars
5/02/03 Dan_A My favorite, since I've been 6 5 stars
4/30/03 Neil Sedaka More euphoric than sniffing N2O on Am. Idol, more memorable than "Build Me Up Buttercup." 5 stars
4/09/03 JL This is one of the greatest movies EVER! Worth more than 5 stars! 5 stars
3/14/03 Pat Some people love this movie others hate it i loved it 5 stars
1/07/03 Vince "No more rhymes now, I mean it!" "... anybody wanna peanut?" 5 stars
12/28/02 Emma I've loved this movie since I was a kid :-) 5 stars
12/11/02 Andrew it rocks 5 stars
12/10/02 Caitlin This is one of my all time favorite movies. 5 stars
11/10/02 Jay Classic! One of the best movies ever! 5 stars
10/18/02 Charles Tatum Treacly, cutesy, headache inducing crap 1 stars
10/03/02 Gizzy pretty damn disappointing 2 stars
9/28/02 Movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
9/23/02 Justin A classic fairy tale movie! 5 stars
9/03/02 Shannon Sorry, but all the quotes from this one drive me nuts! 3 stars
7/29/02 Captain Midol If you have a pulse, you'll be laughing. This from the most jaded, cynical broad around. 5 stars
4/04/02 cat really great movie! Robin & Cary are great together. 5 stars
3/18/02 Danie The princess bride is the best movie ever. 5 stars
2/26/02 Butterbean I made panty pudding while watching Elwes. A wonderful fairy tale 5 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Hey...it's good rollicking fun. 4 stars
2/17/02 Clarance way to go mr fred savage!---but stick to wonder years my friend..you were soo money 3 stars
1/29/02 MF We used the theme song as the processional for our wedding. Need I say more? 5 stars
1/25/02 murat great one of the greatest adventure,comedy love movie of all time.An all time high 5 stars
1/11/02 max zhang Girls put out with added effort after watching this baby 5 stars
1/06/02 Dan A Loved it the first time and the 50th time 5 stars
12/26/01 Phil M. Afficianado It didn't do much for me. Sorry, as I know you all love it. I'll see it again to be sure. 3 stars
11/28/01 ferring had to watch it for school, i can't remember being impressed, xcept for elwes, mmmmmmmmmmmm 3 stars
11/23/01 Will Diamond How could anyone not like this movie? 4 stars
11/14/01 Zizzerzazzerzuzz I love this damn movie. Read the book! 5 stars
11/13/01 Thee_Guitar_God He went off to war? Did you even watch this movie asshole? 4 stars
11/13/01 Robert Just gets better with age 5 stars
11/04/01 CV Tharp Good movie, but the book is genius 4 stars
10/30/01 mr. Pink A funny zany fairytale 4 stars
10/23/01 Soggy Bottom Boy Classic humorous heroic quest, acting is right on the money. A modern-day fairy tale. 5 stars
9/01/01 Butterbean I want to fuck Cary Elwes. That white boy makes me moist 5 stars
6/11/01 Mulie I like Falk. Take it to the House. 5 stars
6/07/01 Kim Guignard The best movie ever made for the young at heart 5 stars
5/24/01 moose It's fantastic!! 5 stars
5/23/01 Cara The best movie!!! The most quotable and funny. 5 stars
5/22/01 Francois Asselin French version is very funny 5 stars
5/17/01 kristi sandgren It rocks! i love the whole story. 5 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One Hil-fuckin'-larious 5 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart The movie has everything!!! YAY!!! 5 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Utterly magnificent. Humor, action, romance, fantasy...what's not to like?? 5 stars
3/23/01 Inigo Montoya There's something you should know, I am not really left handed. 5 stars
2/23/01 Steve in Prague GRAET flick..."my love is like a storybook story" best love song next to "The Rose" 5 stars
2/20/01 Fleur Rapmund It is so awesome I'm writing a "mémoire" on it!! 5 stars
2/19/01 The Bomb 69 funny stuff, witty and charming 5 stars
12/29/00 EvilDead-Ash A Fantasy classic alongside The Dark Crystal, Last Unicorn, Heavy Metal and Labyrinth. 5 stars
11/11/00 Creeper R.I.P., Andre. 5 stars
10/01/00 Lance The most tolerable chick-flick ever... to put it another way, this movie is GREAT. 5 stars
8/20/00 InigoChick Wondeful beyond imagining. 5 stars
7/29/00 Jinx If you think this movie is only OK, you're not paying attention. 5 stars
5/30/00 perverted pixie This movie, along with "Labyrinth" and "The Goonies", was a firm childhood favourite. 5 stars
3/01/00 Ionicera practically a cult classic 5 stars
12/08/99 michael harari its the best movie that ive ever seen 5 stars
10/21/99 Catt Hall Mmm,if you repress the images of that pansy of a pigtail that Westley 'wears',IT KICKS ASS 5 stars
10/17/99 Tom Jasper Full of wonder and awe for adults and children alike 5 stars
10/08/99 Mike Henderson The Second Greatest Story Ever Told 5 stars
10/07/99 sophia962 Perfect balance of wit and heart. Disney wishes it could make a movie this cool and sweet. 5 stars
7/16/99 Kevin One of my 3 favorite Line movies. Truly inventive-I've seen it way too many times. 5 stars
7/11/99 Daria Very funny and romantic. 4 stars
7/09/99 The Frog Do NOT miss this movie. period. 5 stars
6/25/99 David Keech A great fairy tale, and a satire on the same. Funny shit. Inspired casting too. 5 stars
6/22/99 Elizaveta I love Mandy! 5 stars
5/04/99 Big Dog Stop ryhming and I mean it, does anyone have a peanut? 5 stars
4/21/99 lucas jackson This was an outstanding family movie,especially Andre the Giant 5 stars
4/18/99 Sykokat My favorite move of all time. Enchanting and Hilarious! 5 stars
3/04/99 Czarina I drooled through the whole thing and I've seen it about 5000 times 5 stars
1/24/99 donkey_dew One of the few videos that deserved a place in my video library. awesome. 5 stars
11/23/98 Peter Guys, Girls..No matter how old you are, if you do NOT like this movie you should get help ! 5 stars
11/17/98 Jules I loved the book and, gasp, I loved the movie too... 4 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce I really epected to hate this film, but fuck me if it wasn't funny as hell. Great movie. 5 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob Pure magic, created by pure hearts, filmed with a pure eye. 'Anybody want a peanut?' 5 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} Was made to watch this by a girl, but I have to admit it was funny as hell. Loved it. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1988 (PG)
  DVD: 13-Jun-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1988 (G)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast