More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.22

Awesome56.52%
Worth A Look: 21.74%
Average: 13.04%
Pretty Bad: 4.35%
Total Crap: 4.35%

3 reviews, 51 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

Art of Self-Defense, The by Jay Seaver

Crawl by Peter Sobczynski

Swallow by Jay Seaver

Perfection, The by Rob Gonsalves

Luce by Jay Seaver

Last Black Man in San Francisco, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


This is Spinal Tap
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A half hour joke stretched over two hours."
3 stars

So far as the scale of cult-films that everyone loves but I don't get why, goes... this ranks highly.

Okay, there's some funny moments in the rock mock-umentary, but nothing like the funny moments in something like the unheralded Canadian mock-umentary, Hard Core Logo.

It's amusing, and if you listen real close you can have a chuckle, but really it wasn't worth a second viewing.

And if one more person pokes me in the ribs and says "but you have to listen to the lyrics, man, they're funny as hell!" I'm going to blech on them.

And it has Fran Drescher. Nuff said.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1112&reviewer=1
originally posted: 01/31/99 14:27:38
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/09/12 stanley welles i have bumped my head before and found more humour, only fools would find this funny 1 stars
6/07/11 Silkworm Fucking Brilliant. If you watch this film use "Dobly" 5 stars
8/09/10 John Aster Habig The film that accidently changed rock music 4ever. The parodies outdid original subject. 5 stars
4/18/10 PAUL SHORTT MEDIOCRE ROCK SATIRE 2 stars
8/29/09 Julian A fantastic piss take - so funny 5 stars
7/20/08 michele the 2 foot high stonehenge scene had me on the floor 4 stars
5/20/08 matt if you don't like this, you can lick me love pump 5 stars
12/15/06 Allan Johnson One hell of a funny film 5 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist RockStar was a lame attemt at a rip-off of this legendary classic. 5 stars
7/11/06 Joseph P. Hughes Great Movie, drivin me out of my mind, How could you leave the DVD behind? 5 stars
1/11/06 tg great film 5 stars
8/12/05 Kelly wheres the stage?-you must listen to the commentary on the dvd its hilarious 4 stars
8/03/05 ALDO rock and roll through and through 5 stars
6/29/05 Burt Ward shitty band 1 stars
5/01/05 Indrid Cold Several memorable scenes, but not wall to wall hilarious. 4 stars
5/16/04 nigel Intelligent, clever comedy.... OHHH TONIGHT IM GONNA ROCK YOU...TONIGHT! 5 stars
4/05/04 Snickerdoodle And oh how they played, the little children of Stonehenge 4 stars
1/18/04 Littlepurch Very weird and a bit slow but also very funny. 4 stars
1/02/04 HorrorScribbler Amusing 4 stars
8/09/03 Will Green IF YOU DO NOT LIKE THIS MOVIE, YOU WILL DIE IN THE ASHES OF HELL AND BE TRAMPLED BY HITLER 5 stars
8/02/03 john This movie goes to 11 5 stars
8/02/03 DM Hilarious- Stonehenge scene still has me laughing 5 stars
6/25/03 michelle Utter garbage 1 stars
6/19/03 John Aster Habig It seems to be made as a Behind The Music spoof 5 stars
1/07/03 Vince "Maybe we could just change the choreography and keep the dwarves clear.." 5 stars
10/31/02 Steven Excellent Movie 5 stars
10/08/02 King Richard I'm still laughing from this movie 5 stars
7/04/02 KMG I GIVE THIS MOVIE AN 11 OUT OF TEN! 5 stars
1/22/02 Derek Smalls "It's like they can talk, but they can't swear." Very funny parody!! 5 stars
12/05/01 Skip Young One of the best comedies. A masterpiece. 5 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Badly Done and Scripted Movie With Barely Any Momentum. 2 stars
7/05/01 Matthew Bartley LAUGHED CONSTANTLY 5 stars
3/15/01 Rael Perhaps the funniest film ever made. 5 stars
1/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy My favorite alltime comedy, seeing this before one of my college finals was the ruin of me! 5 stars
1/18/01 Bub Perhaps if I saw it before Waiting for Guffman and Best In Show I would've liked it. 2 stars
12/21/00 fifu weird and funny i would give it a 3 and a 1/2 3 stars
12/09/00 Viking The funniest rock movie ever !!! 5 stars
10/22/00 YOUR Movie Expert Great Movie and DVD. The plot is...ROCK AND ROLL!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/09/00 Mickey E. Suttle Kicks Ass. The DVD is awsome with all the deleted/extra scenes and the audio commentary is! 5 stars
8/26/00 Frank Carr Great parody, but works best if you're a rock musician or been around them 5 stars
7/11/00 David Inglis The only film I've watched more than 3 times (and it still creases me) 5 stars
1/15/00 Mic Quite funny in parts, rarely hilarious, often slow. 3 stars
7/04/99 J-Dogg Not as funny as I expected but the ultimate mockumentary, next to "Forgotten Silver." 4 stars
2/11/99 Vick Di Brecci Shit sandwich. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink The scene with the midgets dancing on stage cracks me up even when I just think about it! 5 stars
11/24/98 DrEvil Brilliantly skewers both rock stars and films about them. Funny as hell. 5 stars
11/13/98 Jules When I was in a highschool band I loved it. Now it seems a little less great... 4 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob An excellent example of spontaneous creativity! 5 stars
10/11/98 J-Guy being a musician, I am one of those people that is obsessed with this movie. it is rad. 5 stars
10/11/98 Johny "This one goes to eleven" 4 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} I never really saw why so many people are obsessed with this film. Funny, but boring mostly 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1984 (R)
  DVD: 14-Aug-2008

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1984 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast