More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.37

Awesome67.65%
Worth A Look: 14.71%
Average: 10.29%
Pretty Bad: 1.47%
Total Crap: 5.88%

1 review, 62 user ratings


Latest Reviews

To Be Takei by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Hal by Jay Seaver

I, Origins by Greg Ursic

Boyhood by Daniel Kelly

Uzumasa Limelight by Jay Seaver

Goal of the Dead by Jay Seaver

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

subscribe to this feed


Pretty in Pink
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by CaptNish

"Gotta love 80's teen angst...."
5 stars

Another beautiful example of the talent that John Hughes used to be....

Here's the skinny on this classic tale of a poor girl tryin' to get with a richie bitch....

Andie (Molly Ringwald, staple of the Hughes community) is poor. Her father (Harry Dean Stanton) is out of work, and her mother dead. Andie becomes more or less the parent of her father and runs the household and keeps general order. She even makes her own clothes to save money. But, because she's poor and her clothes are ugly, she ain't too popular in school. All the little richies make fun of her and her "uncool" friends, and live with that "higher than thou" richie/popular attitude. Well, one of these richies, Blaine (Andrew McCarthy) falls for our young, pretty heroine, and tries to bring her into his world. Of course, all the rich bitches treat her like shit.

Then you have Duckie (Jon Cryer). The Duck Man has loved Andie for forever and a day. He rides his bike by her house everyday. Once this whole Blaine thing occurs, he shuns the one woman he loves and becomes an utter douche bag. So, Andie's friends don't like Blaine and the richies. Blaine's friends think Andie is trailer trash and shouldn't be given the goddamn time of day. Will their love pull through?

Well fuck, of course it does. John Hughes has this uncanny way of making everything all right in the end. This movie is yet another classic 80's flick that was good then, and is good now. And it's cool to check out a young Gina Gershon lookin' all hot an' shit (even though she's not kissing any other chicks in this flick). Plus, you got Annie Potts lookin' all fresh an' shit as Andie's boss and friend/mentor. All that, doubled with the infamous "Jon Cryer/Try a Little Tenderness scene" makes Pretty in Pink a great flick. And it's got Andrew "Dice" Clay taboot.

If only John Hughes would write more movies like this...

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=1113&reviewer=43
originally posted: 10/13/98 03:54:13
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/08/14 mjwaoeo USA 3 stars
2/23/10 PAUL SHORTT SLICK AND WELL ACTED 3 stars
4/03/09 Dane Youssef Fun, sweet and full of humor and colorful characters you just SO want to spend time with. 4 stars
3/31/08 hannah CRAPPY MOVIE 1 stars
3/16/08 Pamela White great teen movie with some brains 4 stars
11/19/07 Erica Munro I love this film totally 80's and totally high school! 5 stars
8/26/07 luana summers i love this film because make me cry 5 stars
5/22/07 Shell Andrew McCarthy is H-O-T!!! I'd do 'im 5 stars
1/24/07 johnnyfog I want Duckie's glasses 5 stars
6/08/06 btvs2678 Great teen love story! Love Ducky. 5 stars
5/27/06 Sheena A movie any teen can relate to 5 stars
5/24/06 Billy R.I.P. (Rip It, Please!) 2 stars
9/27/05 Daveman Nice film, most remarkable is how it reminads of just how much another world the 80's was 3 stars
2/17/05 Janet Crandall use to love it 4 stars
1/18/05 Jeff Anderson Totally predictable and mean spirited. H.D. Stanton and A. Potts are way too good for this! 1 stars
10/17/04 donna jones BEST FILM EVER!!!!!!!!!!LOVE IT 5 stars
1/17/04 John yeah....great 5 stars
8/15/03 Elspeth Face it, America *loves* the Duckman, dig? 5 stars
5/20/03 R.W. Welch Generally your basic teen movie though Cryer has a standout turn. 3 stars
2/07/03 Nicole Smith I liked this film--definately an 80's! 4 stars
10/26/02 Charles Tatum Sweet and funny, but no Sixteen Candles 4 stars
9/25/02 Ben Wasden Not as good as Sixteen Candles or Ferris Bueller's Day Off, but it's still entertaining. 4 stars
8/15/02 rachael a brilliant film - a classic 5 stars
7/09/02 gail i think the end were he said i'll love u forever was the best part 5 stars
5/26/02 Hols Duckie is by far the best thing in this film. The worst thing is he didn't get the girl. 5 stars
4/18/02 Brandy S. Love 'em all: Hughes movies, the 80's, & Andrew McCarthy rocks. Call me nostalgic. 5 stars
4/15/02 Vitality1 I wanted to be Molly Ringwald when I was a kid. Great 80's flick. 5 stars
2/11/02 PL Great and funny 5 stars
12/22/01 NIkki McHattie AWESOME TOTALLY COOL 5 stars
10/31/01 Lisa Yates I love this movie! Great casting, Andrew McCarthy is so sexy!!! Woo-Hoo!!!!!! 5 stars
10/27/01 Andrew Carden Great Soundtrack, Ringwald Is Excellent. It's The Suporting Cast That Needs Help. 4 stars
10/02/01 jenny A simple, plain movie, but worht seeing. Andie fits better with Blane then with Duckie 5 stars
9/30/01 Smriti Shrivastava i just loved the movie. the star cast was good; overall the film leaves pretty good impact 5 stars
8/23/01 Kristi Mofett I really like this movie, it is one my favorite 80s classics. 5 stars
7/29/01 JesseL This movie makes me want to HURL! only girls twelve or under could like it! 1 stars
6/22/01 chacha why on earth would anyone pick blaine over the duckman???? blane ruins movie. 4 stars
6/14/01 david baumstark great movie 5 stars
6/08/01 danielle i love this movie! 5 stars
4/18/01 Alexander DeLarge You should be ashamed of yourselves. John Hughes is a pioneer, learn some respect!! 5 stars
4/04/01 Lisa I love this movie, and I have to write a paper on it, could someone get a SCHOLARLYopinion? 5 stars
3/08/01 Alex Moir Molly ringwald is dueschbag! 1 stars
3/08/01 blair knight jon cryer is awesome as duckie!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
3/07/01 Brady Best Movie Ever!!! 5 stars
1/27/01 Soggy Bottom Boy This one was good, although not the most memorable Hughes film. 3 stars
1/24/01 Kayti Doody I loved it and Duckie rocks 5 stars
12/20/00 Rob One of my favorites that I seldom remember when asked, but always enjoy watching again. 5 stars
11/01/00 Josh This is one of Brigid's favorite movies 5 stars
9/14/00 Long Duk Dong Annie Potts, Jon Cryer, and Andrew McCarthy - the only reasons to see this okay Hughes film 3 stars
9/06/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble The only teen flick from the '80 worth watching. But where were the black kids? 5 stars
9/04/00 rocio excellent movie and andrew is so cute 5 stars
8/23/00 Kamia Zucchi This is my favorite movie ever!!!! I absolutely love it. 5 stars
2/16/00 Kyle Broflovski "Blow me, buttwad, coming from you I take that as a compliment!" *Teehee* 5 stars
7/21/99 Tristynn my fav movie of all time...This is great...... 5 stars
6/17/99 matchbox20 John Cryer is awsum in this 5 stars
4/10/99 Michael Grimm My wife seems to like it 5 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink A. Potts and J. Cryer are terrific! Very enjoyable fluff. 4 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty Oh this movie brings back memories!!! But really it is sooo cute, is'nt it ! 5 stars
11/13/98 Jules Hey, I went to highschool in the 80s... 4 stars
11/11/98 Maegs We used to rent this every weekend and swoon. I still love this movie--Ah youth! 5 stars
11/06/98 Lord Of The Dunce Nostalgia for the TV generation. A John Hughes benchmark. 5 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob John Hughes lite. Basically the same as Some Kind Of Wonderful. 3 stars
10/10/98 {{{OZ}}} A classic. Names like Blane, Steff, Iona and Duckie? So 80's. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Feb-1986 (PG-13)
  DVD: 29-Aug-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1986 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast