More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome: 20.25%
Worth A Look45.57%
Average: 24.05%
Pretty Bad: 3.8%
Total Crap: 6.33%

6 reviews, 43 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


SpongeBob SquarePants Movie, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Manic, aggressively silly stuff -- and lots of fun"
4 stars

I'm one of the unenlightened souls who have never gotten around to watching the "SpongeBob SquarePants" TV cartoons that so many kids and adults are fond of these days, but now that I've seen the movie, I may have to start watching it, at least in small doses. Is it always so energetically merry, so unabashedly, single-mindedly silly? I'm not sure I could take it on a regular basis. Watching 82 minutes of it in a theater made me as giddy and hyper as if I'd eaten a pound of cotton candy and washed it down with crack.

SpongeBob SquarePants (voice of Tom Kenny), as you know, is a man-child sponge who lives in a pineapple under the sea, sort of the Pee-Wee Herman of the ocean. His best friend is Patrick (Bill Fagerbakke), a rather dumb starfish. Others have made speculations about these two, but I shall not.

As the film opens, SpongeBob is hoping to be made manager of the new Krusty Krab restaurant that is opening next door to the Krusty Krab restaurant in which he already works. But there is precious little time to worry about such matters, because the evil Plankton (Doug Lawrence), who runs the Chum Bucket across the street, has plans to steal Mr. Krab's recipe for his famed Krabby Patty sandwich and run him out of business. To that end, he steals the crown of King Neptune (Jeffrey Tambor) and frames Mr. Krab for it. Before Mr. Krab is executed for the crime, it is up to SpongeBob and Patrick to journey to the dangerous Shell City, whence no traveler has ever returned, and retrieve the stolen crown.

The movie is crammed with the indefatigable lunacy of a Bugs Bunny cartoon, with everything from subtle pop-cultural references to funny voices to good old-fashioned cross-dressing played for laughs. It feels completely guileless, innocent even, but with subversive wit lurking just beneath the surface. (The images of SpongeBob's ice cream-induced "hangover" are among the funniest, cleverest animation I've seen all year.)

At the preview screening I attended, the kids loved it, but I heard the adults laughing a lot more often. Kids aren't even going to know who David Hasselhoff is, let alone why it's funny that our heroes should meet him on a beach. But they will find it funny when he propels himself through the water and SpongeBob and Patrick ride him like a jet ski. I mean, who wouldn't? Find it funny, I mean. Not ride David Hasselhoff like a jet ski.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=11159&reviewer=247
originally posted: 11/24/04 17:52:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

10/14/09 Quamel Williams 205-420-3155 Spongebob is the best ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
9/03/08 Shaun Wallner Never laughed so hard in my Life!! 5 stars
10/03/07 wall lame 1 stars
6/17/07 Tiffany Losco funny, sponge bob is so silly. 4 stars
1/28/07 William Goss Has some moments that are both aggressively batshit insane and genuinely snickerworthy. 3 stars
12/06/06 Dude STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/12/06 Hotapplepie A good fun movie that mixes the comedy of the show with new style art. 4 stars
8/23/06 Kris i think spongebob sould marry Sandy Cheeks 5 stars
8/15/06 sharnae i love the spongebob movie so much i think spongebob is my boyfrind 4 stars
8/14/06 Sharon this movie makes me wanna throw up!! it makes me feel sick!! 1 stars
4/03/06 JRE this movie makes the cartoon look horrible. 1 stars
2/14/06 Quigley it had its moments of classic spongebob humor, but a movie probably wasn't necessary. 4 stars
9/18/05 tony Peice of fucking shit son of a bitch cartoon. sponge bob needs to fucking die!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
8/27/05 EZ Nice ass Patrick 4 stars
8/11/05 charisse i love spongebob 5 stars
8/08/05 Del True to the TV show 4 stars
8/07/05 Elaine My eight-year-old son and I thoroughly enjoyed the zany humor. 5 stars
8/05/05 Stephanie Garzon it was not funny... it was hallarious 4 stars
6/30/05 Peter L The movie is the Marx Brothers standard for this century. Full of Quotable Quotes. 5 stars
6/30/05 Eric Crooks It could have been better. 4 stars
6/07/05 Darcy I like the 1/2 cartoon.... 2 stars
6/02/05 me dont even look 1 stars
5/22/05 Cham If you like the show, the movie will surely please you. 3 stars
5/19/05 wendy rogers I LOVE Spongebob and the movie was ok but not nearly as good as the shows! 4 stars
5/17/05 Neon Very Funny 5 stars
5/05/05 Kristi i had so much fun watching the movie! spongebob is my fave cartoon!!! 5 stars
5/02/05 Teri TORTURE 2 stars
4/21/05 julie it was so funny 5 stars
3/06/05 sbpat21 I turned it off feeling really, really good. 5 stars
3/05/05 tatum It's a cartoon, and they address all this on the series, Evangelica! 4 stars
2/25/05 Gray stonerriffic crap 2 stars
2/25/05 Evangelica Schnapfenschalz Full of goofs - teardrops, sweat droplets, bubbles, fire - all under water! 3 stars
2/08/05 Jeff Anderson It's not ashamed at what it is. A COLORFUL, HIGH-SPIRITED, & HILARIOUS GOOD TIME, SO THERE! 5 stars
2/01/05 Mary Anne Love the show - liked the movie, but would have been funnier at 30 minutes. 3 stars
1/12/05 Tom Benton Not as good as the show, but it has its moments. 3 stars
1/09/05 Lauren Thompson Thats the humour of this movie, a sponge working in an underwater burger joint. 5 stars
12/01/04 KingNeutron Spongebob roxxors your theator! Only weak point was Hasslehoff. 4 stars
11/30/04 Trigger Greatest cartoon ever made. 5 stars
11/23/04 me Fricken awesome: wanna see it a jillion times more!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/22/04 Wendy Livingood Vance I figured out that I went to highschool with Kent O! My daughter loves Spongebob. 3 stars
11/21/04 bullit16 I love the show ... but the movie just didn't do it for me 3 stars
11/21/04 Kristina Williams he lives in a pineapple and I love him 5 stars
11/15/04 Jimmy Kustes I was expecting much more songs 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Nov-2004 (PG)
  DVD: 01-Mar-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jan-2005




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast